Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVII

Most players are fringe players early in their careers.
Unless you’re a Walsh/Daicos type, it’s rare for a player to dominate from season 1.
I’ve seen enough from Kemp ( small sample admittedly) that if persevered with and allowed to settle in one position, being 3rd tall fwd, that he will become a valuable member of the side, and a potential nightmare for the opposition to match up on.
I can see him EASILY, replacing the 30 goals that Owies kicked, with the addition of better defensive pressure.
I look at the improvement by Waterman this year, and envisage Kemp becoming that type of player for us.
He gives us so much flexibility up forward. He’s a natural lead up fwd, can take a pack mark, has some wheels and is aggressive.

I’m amazed you can’t see that.
Absolute lunacy to trade him for a pick in the 30’s

100 percent.

The guys is 23 and has played 44 games. showed more than enough to be a valuable contributor.

Old mate Peter Ryan stating we are seeking Pick 32 from the Saints.

Surely the club would only ask that if they were able to project/anticipate where a Campo bid would come in?

a pick for campo 1 at 32 requires 584 points minus the 197 point discount - so 387 points. 63, 68 and 69 cover that assuming they have moved up 5 picks through other academy and fathers son picks - which is conservative given ashcroft, kako etc will be churning up heaps of picks

therefore - its fine if he does it anyhow
If we are to trade Kennedy and Kemp we want them to secure pics before the Campo bid - it’s not about being able to meet the points requirements.
Austin wants to add more quality young players as well as the Campos - and any bid which swallows early selections rather than the very tenuous picks in the 60s we currently have reduces his capacity to access the best options.

Old mate Peter Ryan stating we are seeking Pick 32 from the Saints.

Surely the club would only ask that if they were able to project/anticipate where a Campo bid would come in?
Was also reported we wanted more than a future 2nd so there's some agents and sides leaking all sorts of nonsense I think

I would have jumped at a second-rounder for Kemp, he doesn't have the composure or ability one on one to ever be a good defender.
Me too , I don’t rate him , not good enough for backline , forward line , 1 good game , midfield can’t see it , I would have def take a future second … this year 32 too risky … if he turns out to be a really good player I will be suprised

If he wants to bid on Lucas at Pick #32 all power to him, we wouldn't match. He wouldn't be stupid enough to do that.
Exactly this.

It would be terrible list management for anyone to do that for a player most value as a rookie pick.

We wouldn’t match, nor should we. We have access to the Camporeales at a discount, we don’t have an obligation.

List managers largely aren’t vindictive. They do what’s best for their clubs, the bid shenanigans are fan driven and fanciful

All the investment in Kemp and then trade for first and/or second round picks on a speculative player?

What are we? A feeder club?

No thanks.

We're hunting for a cup and imo Kemp is part of that hunt.
Feel exactly the same way, with the move up forward looking to suit his ability and strengths much better, he looks like he is only beginning to tap into his potential…
**** StKilda i wouldn’t be giving him away for anything…

Dogs look like they’re getting pick 25 for Caleb Daniel.. will happily take that off their hands for Matt Kennedy!

What is stopping SOS from bidding on Ben Campo at the proposed traded '32' knowing we're committed to the family? A complete ##### act but I wouldn't put it past him.....
Why do we have to match him if that happens? He’s on an AFL list at that point, I don’t think we’d owe him anything.

Im hopeful Kemp doesnt move but i will stick to my guns on the clubs actions will reflect our salary cap position more than any positive spin that was put out throughout the year.

A club in the window that never really pushed for Houston
Who is prioritising the draft
Who squeezed out our best small forward
Who will probably trade a contracted Kennedy
Who is shopping in the bargain bin for players
Who traded out a contracted player last season

And may trade a young developing defender

Is doing so because the salary cap is in trouble

How many here remember Pearce in 95?
Basically came out of nowhere, complemented Sticks and The Duke perfectly.
Thats the role I see Kemp playing.
He was my favourite player back in the day, went to my first game of footy in 95 against Adelaide at Optus Oval only to see him get knocked out and stretchered off right underneath me.

Kemp definitely fits that mould though and would apply an extra level of pressure that didn't exist this year.

Im hopeful Kemp doesnt move but i will stick to my guns on the clubs actions will reflect our salary cap position more than any positive spin that was put out throughout the year.

A club in the window that never really pushed for Houston
Who is prioritising the draft
Who squeezed out our best small forward
Who will probably trade a contracted Kennedy
Who is shopping in the bargain bin for players
Who traded out a contracted player last season

And may trade a young developing defender

Is doing so because the salary cap is in trouble
The salary cap should be a challenge given our list profile.

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVII