Discussion BRENDON Goddard and Free Agency (Thread Closed)

:)

You've already got one of our favourite sons, don't be greedy now.

:D..yes, and they (X and Goose) are two of my favorite Saints, just wish it had worked out for X, such a lovely person, we all took to him straight away...Goose is a brilliant get for us....seems to be finally putting it all together again...poor bugger took years to get over his leg etc..

..and so the addition of BJ would be most welcome...promise we'd look after him well!:p:thumbsu:

...seriously folks, he's not going anywhere but Seaford.....He's a Saint..and will stay that way.

:D..yes, and they (X and Goose) are two of my favorite Saints, just wish it had worked out for X, such a lovely person, we all took to him straight away...Goose is a brilliant get for us....seems to be finally putting it all together again...poor bugger took years to get over his leg etc..

..and so the addition of BJ would be most welcome...promise we'd look after him well!:p:thumbsu:

Both Raph and Xavier seem to be terrific guys. I always thought that X had more ability at AFL level, but unfortunately was even more injury prone than his slightly more robust brother.

Toilet paper vs Tissue paper really.

If BJ was to go, I wouldn't mind him going to Brisbane tbh. They're probably last on my 'most hated teams' list.

Good news that he says he wants to stay but until he signs a new contract with us I will still have my doubts. His body language on the field at the moment certainly doesn't look like he's keen to play for St Kilda, he looked disinterested again against Sydney.
Totally agree Plugger he seems to me he has gone back to his bad habits in telling team mates to pick up players when he is only a few metres away himself, always seems to be pointing to his team mates, dont get me wrong i like the guy when he is on song:thumbsu:

...seriously folks, he's not going anywhere but Seaford.....He's a Saint..and will stay that way.
No worries, just send Jack Redden our way and we're golden :D

His slimy manager Dan Richardson is egging him on to take the GWS offer, which was upped last week significantly, regardless of what Richardson is saying in the press.

Very disappointing. It's pretty much an inevitability when there's commission involved, but it's still terrible nonetheless.

No worries, just send Jack Redden our way and we're golden :D

:eek:..U mad??!..:eek:

..not worth it, no use to you guys, he's lazy, undisciplined, doesn't get along with his team mates, won't train, never smiles....and doesn't even get along with his house mate!!!........nah, he's a dud, better leave him for us to suffer in silence and we'll just have to put up with him, couldn't land you good Saints with such a player as him..

;)

Too often, I think, we supporters expect that, because playing footy IS so dominated by correct technique, physical fitness and talent, that the players are machines. Slot them in that role or spot, they should play well. The playing effects of the players' psychology - let alone the emotional wellbeing - is ignored. Or at least it's ignored when it doesn't suit us: when Goddard's emotion is about him "playing for the jumper" and that means he plays well, we love that emotion; but when it's him feel flat, distracted, frustrated, we berate the "machine" for daring to not do what any robot should do and not have emotions.

The emotional scarring of the last four years for our players are immense. Those scars are all the more deep for key players such as Goddard, Hayes, Riewoldt, because they KNOW that, if they had been "on" the way they could be, on those days in September (or October) that really mattered, just that little bit more, they might have got what they have dedicated their lives to attain. "So close" stings deeply.

Some will process that different, and clearly have. Technically, I don't think Goddard has been able to manage his grief (and that's what it is) particularly well, when compared to Hayes, or Milne for example. But I say "technically", because it is too easy to moralise and say that there is a correct way managing grief in a moral sense, and that he should "deal with it" or "harden the hell up". I say "technically", because emotional injury is very similar to physical injury, and the ability to heal in a physical injury can often come down to physical attributes (muscle tone, etc), not just behaviour (pushing too hard, etc). You can do everything "right" and still keep getting injured. I suspect that psychological and emotional injury is rather similar.

I think Goddard has also had emotional injury upon injury, not least at present because of the stress of working out his contract under a great deal of scrutiny. In that sense, he's playing injured. Worse, he's playing injured without getting the recognition of that from many of the fans that are supposed to love him.

Sometimes, the emotional damage is so great that, like physical damage, you have to quit - just talk to Xavier Clarke about that... and I suspect the same might be happening to Kosi right now. No shame in that. That's life.

Sometimes you can get past it. Lenny seems to have done so. MAYBE Roo has (I'm not so sure). Hopefully Goddard can. But if he needs to go somewhere else, or stay with us, for his emotional well being (especially long term), I wish him the best wherever he goes.

Great post! I tried to say something similar in another thread but it was a jumbled mess - this is my favourite post in memory I've ever read on BigFooty

..not worth it, no use to you guys, he's lazy, undisciplined, doesn't get along with his team mates, won't train, never smiles....and doesn't even get along with his house mate!!!........nah, he's a dud, better leave him for us to suffer in silence and we'll just have to put up with him, couldn't land you good Saints with such a player as him..

;)

Bloody hell id hate to see what he could do at a real club :D:po_O

Why was it upped last week? Not like his form has improved

I reckon they're struggling to get signatures, big time. Trent West got locked away last week, defs would've been one they were banking on.

Anyone else think BJ wouldn't be the best fit for a young, struggling side like GWS? Would fit a Freo type much better, doesn't have to lead and set by example, can go about his footy without as much opposition focus etc. I mean he's already looked at times this season like he's ready to blow, and we're a middle of the table side. Can't even imagine how he'd go in a side that would drop 10+ on the spin by 100 points.

He wouldn't be going to GWS for fit, he'd be going for money. Can't see him wanting to go to Freo because I don't think the difference in money would be worth it. He wouldn't get the million dollar offer Cloak got, it's when you start talking 1.5 or whatever it was he was offered you'd probably start thinking about it.

Comparing Cloke to Goddard is like comparing Peter McKenna to Peter Hudson.

One bloke is given the silver service ball, the other had to work for it.

No comparison there

P.S. Much like Roo these days too.... Roo presents but the service is usually shit.

Would fit a Freo type much better, doesn't have to lead and set by example, can go about his footy without as much opposition focus etc.

It was recently revealed that Fremantle had a sizeable war chest and would be interested in Goddard if its pursuit of Collingwood's Travis Cloke hit the wall.
The clear understanding is that Goddard is not interested in rejoining former Saints coach Ross Lyon at Fremantle.

Really?

Find that hard to believe.

All the senior players respected him.

I agree sounds like bullshit. Lyon took us to more Grand Finals then anyone ever before?
Just wish Ro$$ wasn't so interested in the ASX.
Having said that you can't deny his success at St.Kilda/failure to win a flag can you. o_O

I don't he'll leave. i don't think he'd like to be in a developing side that by the time he retires in 5yrs will probably be reaching their peak with the crop of kids they have. With everything that has gone on with his family i see Brendan being a loyal person, loyal to his family and loyal to the saints.

I think he'll sign a new 3 year deal on similar money he is on now.
as for psychological damage.. maybe. I don't think he's very happy at his own form and as a player ( and i think i was exactly the same during my career) takes playing very seriously and his form has him frustrated, he's looks to be a very insular player, thats not bad but his sole focus is on his performance without seeing the full picture around him.

maybe he is injured but he does seem slow this year, you see the lack of effort at times but you also see some great things he does, I hope he can be seen to be enjoying his footy.

... and i think i was exactly the same during my career ...

Career as in AFL career (like Goddard) ? Now I'm curious !?

;)

We'd need someone who never smiles around the club to fill the hole if Goddard( I'm sure they sang "for he's a sombre good fellow" at his 21st )left . Not so sure I like the other traits though.

What - you don't like his modelling skills?

images

Fiery Goddard embraces calmer side
Since 2010, when many were naming him close to the best player in the competition, he has returned to his former status as Good Rather Than Great Goddard, finishing ninth in the best and fairest last year. All of which annoys the hell out of him.
Two years on, he thinks his own expectations crushed him. ''I probably did that to myself, to be honest. On the back end of '09 and '10 and at the start of last year I had very high expectations. I could go one way and get ahead of yourself and think you're going well. I actually went the other way. I raised my expectations too much. I was trying too hard and trying to do too many things. It was unrealistic what I was trying to do.''
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/fiery-goddard-embraces-calmer-side-20120724-22nit.html

No formal offer to Goddard

ST KILDA is yet to put a formal offer to Brendon Goddard for a new contract.

If this is surprising, there is an explanation. In short, both parties have been keeping their options open.

Goddard has put on record more than once his desire to remain with the Saints and to play out his days with them. The club says it wishes to keep him. There has been no breakdown in talks, or impasse.

Unlike Travis Cloke, whose management has been hawking him to various clubs, in an apparent bid to gain leverage with Collingwood, Goddard has not tested the market. His manager, the discreet Dan Richardson of Elite Sports Properties, has talked only to St Kilda.

Given those set of favourable circumstances, it is curious that he has not been re-contracted by round 19.

St Kilda fans, and those of clubs which might covet the gifted Goddard, are entitled to wonder whether he is certain of staying with the Saints.

As a restricted free agent, he can be purloined by the club of his choice if the Saints don't match that offer.

Why the delay? Firstly, Goddard did not want to talk about a new deal until he had settled into the season and seen the landscape of the new St Kilda. Goddard, who flourished under Ross Lyon, wished to see how the Saints functioned under Scott Watters and his coaching team; he had to see the shape of the program before committing.

Richardson reiterated last night that Goddard's wish was to stay with St Kilda, but would not comment further on Goddard's contractual situation. The Saints, too, were silent. Until now, they have been blessed to stay under the cover of the Cloke imbroglio.

The Saints waited for Goddard; now, Goddard is waiting for them.

The All-Australian publicly indicated his wish to be a Sainter for life several weeks ago. The Saints, while wishing to keep him, clearly were mindful of their salary cap position - which has been tight as a drum - and of the need to impose some austerity on their player payments regime, for the future's sake.

It is fair to say that while the Saints want Goddard, they don't want him at an exorbitant price.
There is also little downside for them, if he was to source a serious offer. They can always match it. Or, if they like the notion of getting a first-round pick - usable any time in the next few years - they can decide not to match the terms.

Goddard is understood to be paid in the $550,000 range this year, the last of a three-year contract that was signed late in 2009. At 27, with a sound body, he is the most marketable of the club's senior players.

The odds always favour incumbency in contract negotiations, and, thus far, no club - not even Lyon's Dockers - have pushed for Goddard. Each party wants the marriage to be continued. The question is, on what terms? Given that vows have been exchanged but the book hasn't been signed, there must be slight doubt about the relationship continuing.

Goddard is understood to be paid in the $550,000 range this year, the last of a three-year contract that was signed late in 2009. At 27, with a sound body, he is the most marketable of the club's senior players.

Surely if he's on that now he cant get pay rise given his form in last 2 years!! Would be absolutely ridiculous if he did.