Oppo Camp Brodie Grundy (Traded to Melbourne 2022)

You had to say five years as the past two have been no good and this one is heading the same way.

Gawn at the moment is vastly superior - he can actually mark a football, kicking has improved and is a leader. You could argue that Gawns workload is less because he has Jackson as support.

Grundy being 2nd or 3rd behind Gawn still makes him elite?

Looks like we’ll have to specify that from now on

I think Cox is more harshly treated than Grundy - especially for this season. The criticism of Cox is more personal than that of Grundy.

Cox was basically the last player added to our list, yet is critiqued like he is the million dollar player on a long term deal.

Collingwood "supporters" must have changed drastically over the years. I can't recall this venom being sprayed at Tuddenham or Thompson when they took on the board for better pay and conditions, or Peter McKenna or Mick McGuane when they left to play for the Blues. I'm pretty sure that people that talked like a few of you do (from the safety of your keyboards)...might have been run out of Victoria Park with their tails between their legs just by the average Pies folk who heard their BS in the crowd.

You're jealous hatred for one of our own COULD be misconstrued as trolling (we used to call it stirring) but I for one wonder what you feel it achieves? You're jealous that BG makes more $$$ than you think he should yet you take it out on the bloke himself (not his manager OR the list manager who framed the deal....THEY made the deal, BG simply agreed to the offer...I know I've done the same...I guess I shouldn't have taken the $$$ on offer for my services at the time)

After years of this same story WE GET IT, you guys don't like BG or his earning capacity. Can you accept that some of us still want to barrack for the bloke and NOT have his name bandied about like he was Judas or something akin?

I'm happy BG plays for the Pies, I like watching Collingwood players who have a go and play for their team mates (which he does). When or if the coaches decide that he needs to retire or be moved on so be it....but until then I'll support him alongside all the other Pies players.

You're not critically analysing the situation, you're into character assassination and you believe you'll win by keeping on battering away. You won't.
He's an elite athlete playing in an elite competition, under the supervision/instruction of professional and elite coaches. And we're (you the haters and we the supporters)....we're nothing more than onlookers.

Venom? Can you please also post this in the Madgen, Brown brothers, Adams and WHE threads? Those players cop it a lot more than Grundy and the posts about them have been far more vicious!

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think Cox is more harshly treated than Grundy - especially for this season. The criticism of Cox is more personal than that of Grundy.

Cox was basically the last player added to our list, yet is critiqued like he is the million dollar player on a long term deal.
I know what you mean. It's pretty stupid when people expect everyone on the list to be a gun.

Heaven forbid people on a discussion forum want to discuss issues that affect the club and who could imagine that people actually have differing opinions. 😲😲

Let's not forget there were some Collingwood fans who actually believed Buckley could coach and would lead us to a premiership, wonder how many of them are the same deluded souls who think Grundy, who doesn't want to win a premiership, will lead us to the promised land...

I'm always amazed by people who seem to want to come on discussion forums in the hope that everyone agrees with them so they can feel better about their opinions. The fact you call any opposing opinion as trolling clearly puts you in that category!
I forgot how much of a flog you were in your absence

Of course you were.

Unfortunately this is where the uneducated in the game believe the stats. They must be right…….

Well, until they are explained to the naive.

Grundy is elite in inside 50’s at 4.2 per game. Until you know that it’s from his dump kicks that mostly get intercepted and rebounded for goals or shots on goal from the opposition.

Grundy is elite at contested possessions at 11 per game. No shit he is a Ruckman and one that taps to himself. Of course he’ll get many chances at contests that he causes himself. Added to his almost 90% game time in the ruck. Well you know the rest.

He is elite at ground ball gets. Now let’s repeat that. GROUND BALL GETS. I’m too polite to even explain what that means. But I’ll say one thing. If a Ruckman is on the ground getting the ground ball. It means he isn’t standing taking marks. FMD.

He is elite at clearances at 6 per game. The same reason he is elite at contested possessions. BECAUSE HE TAPS TO HIMSELF. Hawkins does the same for the Cats. But that’s in the forward line and he kicks goals with it. Grundy just turns the ball over most of the time instead. But we’ll get to that later.

And finally he is elite at tackles. At 4.2 per game. But I suspect that’s a consequence of tapping to yourself and keeping the ball around you. So it goes with the territory. But that one I’ll take his elite status in.

Now,

Disposal efficiency per game 54%
Kicking efficiency per game 38%
Effective kicks per game 3.4
Intercepting possession per game 2.4

Goals per game 0.4

Marks per game 1.8
Marks inside 50 per game 0
Contested Marks per game 0.2
Intercept marks per game 0.4

He is non existent defensively so there’s no point even comparing him well below average. God forbid he go back and take a relieving defensive mark. Or an interception for that matter. That may actually help us win a game especially in the past that we’ve lost by a few goals each. It’s those things that could have made a difference.

So in all the things that you want a Ruckman to be elite in he is below average. And he is only elite in things you want your mids to be elite in. And Super Coach points……WTF.

The fact that he only takes 0.2 contested marks per game. Is laughable. You know what that means we have to wait 5 games before he actually takes a contested mark. Don’t you think that’s a little like shutting the gate after the horse has bolted.

The fact he gets so much of it. Yet butchers it and turns it over escapes everyone.

That’s ok though people like you enjoy getting fed like chooks with the splatterings on offer from the drongos on Champion Data. Their telling you Grundy is one of the best Ruckman in the comp……On the contrary.

And if those at the club aren’t waking up to these damning stats then they need their arses handed to them for their own negligence.

Great, it is good to see that you are actually looking at Grundy's stats because your first post suggests you didn't even bother.

Now, as for your interpretation of the stats. Well, that is obviously subjective like my opinion is of Grundy's performances this year to date and we are obviously at polar opposites in regards to our opinions. Which fine by me!

You can be rest assured though that my opinion is free from influence and based on sound knowledge and experience in the game, combined with a well rounded understanding of statistical data.

As for Grundy, he will continue on as the number one ruckman at CFC and as one of the best ruckman in the AFL, I assume unperturbed by public opinion.

Great, it is good to see that you are actually looking at Grundy's stats because your first post suggests you didn't even bother.

Now, as for your interpretation of the stats. Well, that is obviously subjective like my opinion is of Grundy's performances this year to date and we are obviously at polar opposites in regards to our opinions. Which fine by me!

You can be rest assured though that my opinion is free from influence and based on sound knowledge and experience in the game, combined with a well rounded understanding of statistical data.

As for Grundy, he will continue on as the number one ruckman at CFC and as one of the best ruckman in the AFL, I assume unperturbed by public opinion.
Better go to Specsavers

I know what you mean. It's pretty stupid when people expect everyone on the list to be a gun.
Grundy of course was a gun player and as such received a gun,s contract but has been woefully short of that since 2019 and looks like coming up short this season also. We got smashed int he VFL yesterday without a ruckman when we had 3 playing thursday night and not 1 of them had much influence on the result really dreadful and all of them were to blame.

The club knew young Begg would not come up and be able to play and yet still picked the 3 of them it was dreadful and as bad as selection as an during Buck,s era. The Sun,s of course have 2 of our former ruckman and either would b very handy now particularly Moyle.
This does not take into account the choice of Cox over Lynch which was a mistake IMV,we really need Bassirou to come on then maybe we could piss all 3 off at the same time.

I don’t know why the criticism isn’t warranted.

As our highest paid player, isn’t it reasonable to expect him to be in our best handful of players week in, week out? He barely breaks even over the past 2 and a bit years.

Think Bucks, Swanny, Pendles over the past 20 years. Look at the big money players of today: Petracca, Gawn, Martin, J.Reiwoldt, Dangerfield, Hawkins, to name a few. Consistent high level performance with few average/poor games.

I don’t know why the criticism isn’t warranted.

As our highest paid player, isn’t it reasonable to expect him to be in our best handful of players week in, week out? He barely breaks even over the past 2 and a bit years.

Think Bucks, Swanny, Pendles over the past 20 years. Look at the big money players of today: Petracca, Gawn, Martin, J.Reiwoldt, Dangerfield, Hawkins, to name a few. Consistent high level performance with few average/poor games.
Statements like "He barely breaks even over the past 2 and a bit years" is just totally untrue

I suppose you were applauding the recruitment of Gary Shaw for a record $300,000 figure, along with the likes of David Cloke and Geoff Raines. That nearly bankrupted the club, during those halcyon days of the mid to late 80’s.

Not at all (applauding the recruitment of G.Shaw) but I understood it in the climate at the time. The power clubs at the time (Richmond, Carlton, Essendon and the like) were all heavily recruiting from oppo lists after North Melbourne bought the 75&77 flags. If you didn't match them or at least attempt to then you were going backwards.

I'm also always "amused" when people use the term "almost bankrupted the club"....yeah it happens to suburban/country clubs and to the Fitzroy's and Sth Melbourne's of the world (especially when the wigs at AFL house want cheap expansion clubs to move immediately interstate!) BUT Collingwood is never gonna go under whilst it has the supporter base (and very wealthy supporter base too) that it has always had.

Gary Shaw was a bust (so were Teasdale, Kekovich and Peter Eakins) but Cloke and Raines were ok.

Heaven forbid people on a discussion forum want to discuss issues that affect the club and who could imagine that people actually have differing opinions. 😲😲

Let's not forget there were some Collingwood fans who actually believed Buckley could coach and would lead us to a premiership, wonder how many of them are the same deluded souls who think Grundy, who doesn't want to win a premiership, will lead us to the promised land...

I'm always amazed by people who seem to want to come on discussion forums in the hope that everyone agrees with them so they can feel better about their opinions. The fact you call any opposing opinion as trolling clearly puts you in that category!

Lol....been waiting for ya Eddie. I actually have no problem with people having opinions or expressing them on here....but repetitive, illogical, diatribe and petty insults just get wearing don't you think?

Absolute nonsense. Trying to denegrate the suppoprters who want better performances from their highest paid player, is just to sooth your own agenda. How can we dislike him when he haven't even met him. It's about his lack of output since he signed the ridiculous contract. No wonder our club has a history of failure, it's supporters like you that were always happy with near enough that made us the biggest flops in GF history. Grundy is not worth the 1.2 mill a season we are paying him and as a 50 year supporter I will continue to be displeased with his contract until he he retires

Ok...now we're getting somewhere!
Finally we can blame the real culprits!!!
It's people like me what done it!

Funny that people like me (65 year member) keep going to watch the boys (and now the girls) play. You'd reckon we'd have figured it out by now that we're the problem!

You want better performances....get yourself down there and help out mate, ask the committee what you can do, move the witches hats, make the gatorade, cut the oranges!

Can we attempt to deal with your final sentence: "Grundy is not worth the 1.2 mill a season we are paying him and as a 50 year supporter I will continue to be displeased with his contract until he he retires"
  • First of all its your opinion and good on you for having it, I (and others I'm sure) disagree with it but I'm also sure you wouldn't begrudge me having it (wheras others on BF regularly belittle and demean other supporters who do enjoy watching Grundy play)
  • Being displeased with his contract won't ever change it will it? Flogging a dead horse never did anyone any good now did it? Least of all the horse.

Rob is one of the nicest posters on this forum. For him to fire up shows how poor the Grundy bashing has been.
No one would disagree that Grundy’s current form is down on what he is capable of. The constant references to his contract are pointless as that is not going to change.

By current form, you mean the last 3 years since he signed his contract!

Lol....been waiting for ya Eddie. I actually have no problem with people having opinions or expressing them on here....but repetitive, illogical, diatribe and petty insults just get wearing don't you think?

Illogical? Like people thinking Grundy is going a great job, I’d agree that’s illogical.

Did lol at a poster who loves to level insults at other posters liking your post though, oh the irony.

Illogical? Like people thinking Grundy is going a great job, I’d agree that’s illogical.

Did lol at a poster who loves to level insults at other posters liking your post though, oh the irony.
Roy is a better person and poster than I. I can't resist levelling insults at people like you :)