• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

C Section C Section 2008

2008 C Section Premiers

• Ajax

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Ormond

• Monash Blues

• Rupertswood

• Whitefriars

• MHSOB

• Oakleigh

• Hampton Rovers

• Parkdale Vultures

• Mazenod

What's the betting market like for the 2008 C Section premiership?

Jas

I saw a fair bit of C grade last year and of the remaining clubs Rupo were a standout but having read the arrivals & departures thread they may be a little weakened. Having said that they played an outstanding brand of ammo footy, well organised and coached!
Mazenod were next best and got the absolute best out of their charges without any real stars they were committed and seemed to really play for each other, an excellent club!
Ormond & Friars (my team) had their moments but were a way off Mazenod & Rupo.
Suggest that Ajax will be very good in C grade (flat track bullies), MHSOB numbers looked thin last year and they may need a couple of years to regroup so not sure they will rebound straight away and may struggle in an even C grade.
Don't know anything about Oakleigh and remember some of your players from when we last played the rovers 2002 so wonder how old your list is?
Monash not to be underated either as they had some talent but lacked consistency and cohesion. Parky had some real stars but they looked old and the game I saw at Friars was a cracker but if they lost some key players I reckon they would be in real trouble.
Ormond have some great pick ups and may threaten for the finals but need to be wary of changing too quickly big name recruits aren't always the answer!
The mighty Friars have been booted off their oval for the season and so this will rpesent a real challenge. I believe that they have some players back from o/s but based on last year may need another year to get players together! Who knows they may be a surprise packet ( I Hope) but not sure about playing list as I haven't been down there yet.

KB will have a good idea on the clubs as I reckon he's got a fair idea and a fair and unbiased assessment of clubs. I look forward to some vocabularly repetee with him throughout the year especially after a couple of grogs on Saturday evening. Anyway lets just hope that it rains and teams can prepare for the year ahead!

My updated ladder prediction

Rupo
Ajax
Maz
Ormond
Friars
Oakleigh
Hampton
Monash
Parkdale
MHSOB

Jas

I saw a fair bit of C grade last year and of the remaining clubs Rupo were a standout but having read the arrivals & departures thread they may be a little weakened. Having said that they played an outstanding brand of ammo footy, well organised and coached!
Mazenod were next best and got the absolute best out of their charges without any real stars they were committed and seemed to really play for each other, an excellent club!
Ormond & Friars (my team) had their moments but were a way off Mazenod & Rupo.
Suggest that Ajax will be very good in C grade (flat track bullies), MHSOB numbers looked thin last year and they may need a couple of years to regroup so not sure they will rebound straight away and may struggle in an even C grade.
Don't know anything about Oakleigh and remember some of your players from when we last played the rovers 2002 so wonder how old your list is?
Monash not to be underated either as they had some talent but lacked consistency and cohesion. Parky had some real stars but they looked old and the game I saw at Friars was a cracker but if they lost some key players I reckon they would be in real trouble.
Ormond have some great pick ups and may threaten for the finals but need to be wary of changing too quickly big name recruits aren't always the answer!
The mighty Friars have been booted off their oval for the season and so this will rpesent a real challenge. I believe that they have some players back from o/s but based on last year may need another year to get players together! Who knows they may be a surprise packet ( I Hope) but not sure about playing list as I haven't been down there yet.

KB will have a good idea on the clubs as I reckon he's got a fair idea and a fair and unbiased assessment of clubs. I look forward to some vocabularly repetee with him throughout the year especially after a couple of grogs on Saturday evening. Anyway lets just hope that it rains and teams can prepare for the year ahead!

My updated ladder prediction

Rupo
Ajax
Maz
Ormond
Friars
Oakleigh
Hampton
Monash
Parkdale
MHSOB
where are the friars playing and i hope the beer is cheaper at the new venue

They have been very fortunate in being allowed to share Bulleen Cobra's ground. However there is a lot of speculation out here in the Eastern suburbs about Donvale FC and Mitcham FC merging due to money problems! If this happens this could be a real lifeline for the Friars and may potentially open up a playing & training venue, not to mention availabilty of players as Friars loses players to both clubs amongst others in the EFL!

It wouldn't suprise me to see Oakleigh & Hampton Rovers around the middle of the ladder (between 5th-7th). History shows that clubs that played off in the grand final from the previous section usually struggle in their new section and takes about a year or two to get used to the higher standard of football in their new section. I reckon the final 4 would be Rupertswood, Ormond, Mazenod and AJAX. But where would the grand final be played at? Sandringham, or somewhere more centrally located ie Punt Rd, Richmond? Don't play the C Section GF at Sportscover Arena-it's not worth it.

Hey jase,
so where does that leave Carey and Rupo who both came up and played in a grand final and Prelim respectively and therefore got used to the standard pretty quickly?

Ridiculous post.

I was only talking about teams that have struggled to come to grips with playing in their new sections over the years, not just last year's. But could the VAFA please not play the C Section GF at Sportscover Arena-like I said, it's not worth it. What about Cheltenham or Moorabbin, because there's a fair chance Sandringham might want to use Trevor Barker Oval in case of playing in a VFL finals match at home if they qualify on top of the VFL ladder come September and that match clashes with the C Section Grand Final. So that's something the VAFA might take into consideration when selecting their finals venues.

Yeh, like blacks who spent a year in C and Rupo who have flown through the grade or even Oakleigh and SMD who spent only one year each in their respective sections.

Quite the opposite of what you said and there is very little if any adjustment needed to a new grade if the team coming up has a good squad. Don''t forget the Reds who jumped several grades very quickly.

If my memory serves me right, didn't Mazenod go from E(or is it now D4?) to A Section in 7 years, or was it 8? I think it was 7 years, correct me if I'm wrong.

Jase, we love ur ideas it keeps these threads going. but didnt anyone ever teach u if u have nothing good to say dont say it at all.

the best team in any grade will move up to the next grade at the end of the year. there is nothing else to it.

What would happen if Sandringham wins the right to host the VFL preliminary final at home, and it clashes with the C Section Grand Final which is due to be played at Sandringham. Which would take precedence-the VFL preliminary final involving Sandringham or the C Section Grand Final? Because don't think for one minute that the C Section GF venue would be played at Sandringham. The VAFA would have to draw up a contingency plan in place in case of the likelihood of Sandringham being awarded the right to host a VFL preliminary final. Maybe Mentone Reserve, where they hosted the Div.3 SFL Grand Final between Black Rock & Mt Waverley would be a good venue for the C Section GF.

Or what if the Ammos grab Mitcham as a new VAFA venue and play multiple finals there.

dropping like flies at rupertswood

stay tuned for further developments.

Brianspeaking / sausage roll are you able to confirm yarrawonga rumors ?

Brennan heading to UK for cricket

Ajax V Ormond GF.

I still think Rupertswood will be the team to beat this season and will be my tip for the flag and they will have adequate replacements taking the places of those players who have left, but it won't be as easy for Rupo as we first thought it would be only several months ago.

Jas, the SFL Div 3 GF was at Mordialloc. Great ground for finals footy, i think it will host the Div 1 finals this year. Maybe Parkdales ground go be a good for C Grade.

Take a cut lunch with you to Parkdale, D2 GF day there was nothing to eat or drink by 1/4 time of the ones. The Werribee reserves coaches couldn't have eaten it all by themselves, perhaps someone forgot to tell Parkdale they were hosting finals.

Ground was ok though, concrete middle with sand pit goal squares, great for finals:thumbsu:

Rupo and Jackas by the length of the flemington straight. Two proud clubs clearly above the rest. Nods and Friars to make up the numbers.

A the other end - hampton to struggle to win a game (#$#$ weak when it counted) and MHSOB. Monash and Vultures to win just enough to stay up.

Sorry Jas - nothing personal mate! You just need to face facts pal!

I would have thought a prelim counted when they flogged Mentonians and gained promotion?
By the way, how were Bull-Temp the year before when all they had to do was lose round 18 by less than 70 points at home to make the finals and lost by 90 and missed?

Re: SLF Div 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Spanner View Post
Who's coaching Black Rock
A guy called Chris Moore. Former premiership coach at Oakleigh AFC. He is bringing with him Doug McKenzie as playing assistant coach who is a likely type. Chris will be from all reports a bit of a hard ass and a fire and brimstone type. Should be interesting to see how things go.

Any reports on training numbers under Chris so far?
House is offline Report Post Reply With Quote

dropping like flies at rupertswood

stay tuned for further developments.

Brianspeaking / sausage roll are you able to confirm yarrawonga rumors ?

Brennan heading to UK for cricket

Ajax V Ormond GF.

hhhmmm where do these rumours come from ????? I know,,,he has grey hair, wears glasses, large belly and could have possibly resided himself in yarrawonga in earlier times,..... am I close ????. :rolleyes:

Recently saw Hampton Rovers training..Good numbers but they seemed very young..Have they lost many players from 2007?

How many hampton under 19s will be going up from last years grand final team? Have they lost any?

Rupo is looking for a name such as the Rupo Roosters or the Rupo Bombers, or the Rupo flies (as some have suggested), at the moment we are the Rupo rhinocerouses ( could be deadly, quick and very slippery ), but i reckon we might be the Rupo Titans and you all will remember the titans!!!!!
Jack, can you spell rhinocerous, not a bad word!!!!

Rupo is looking for a name such as the Rupo Roosters or the Rupo Bombers, or the Rupo flies (as some have suggested), at the moment we are the Rupo rhinocerouses ( could be deadly, quick and very slippery ), but i reckon we might be the Rupo Titans and you all will remember the titans!!!!!
Jack, can you spell rhinocerous, not a bad word!!!!
but you are still from scumbury