Opinion Can Dustin Martin be the GOAT? (Answer: no)

Bad day for the haters, its been a bad year, well its been a bad decade to be honest

Not bad for a washed up footballer who has had an "average" or "decent" season

Dustin Martin has been selected in the All Australian squad of 44 players for season 2023

Reading this thread through, must be an embarrassing, but hopefully humbling process for the prolific, public haters of all things Dustin Martin

It is quite incredible that Dusty could still be considered arguably the best player in the competition, even though he is 32 years old

I guess that is why he is the goat.

I am not expecting any apologies form the usual suspects, I would not actually see them anyway as I have them on ignore, but I do hope in time, they find the peace of mind to deal with the reality that is all things Dustin Martin, not for me, not for Dusty, but for their own piece of mind, as I can only imagine how much emotional energy it must be taking to argue against something you do not believe in

Incredible that he is still playing at this level at 32 years old, goatish actually.

Yes it’s equally amazing that Jamaine Jones COULD be considered the best player in the game.

But like Martin, he isn’t.

I wrote this in October 2020

And I was right then and am right now

Second to lethal , daylight to third

Goat of the modern era

This thread is a ripping re-read
Not too far off the mark I reckon.

As for your last sentence, I reckon you read the first couple of posts from the main protagonists in these threads and you get the gist of the remaining 330+ that they post after that. Circle jerk city for a couple of them in here.

In saying that, there’s a couple of tiger supporters who have done a magnificent job reeling them in. Watch a couple in particular that they keep reeling in keyboard mash over the summer.

Probably bay worthy though.

Carey's finals performances sh*t on anything Martin's done.
lol, it's not even close. Martin runs amok with no tag at all. Playing in a champion team, far superior to the Kangaroos of the mid 90's and Carey carried his side to finals + grand finals playing on the likes of Silvagni, Jakovich, Langford, Roos, Dunkley, Leppitsch, Fletcher. He was so dominant that he stood out as the clear best player on the ground in many of the finals played.

How many times can you say that about Martin? 2 or 3 times?
Even in a couple of his grand finals, there were two or three players of equal dominance who could have won the Norm Smith.

This is when it all started falling apart for Geelong fans December 2020, it it’s been downhill ever since unfortunately

It took 2 months from the grand final for reality to set in

Not too far off the mark I reckon.

As for your last sentence, I reckon you read the first couple of posts from the main protagonists in these threads and you get the gist of the remaining 330+ that they post after that. Circle jerk city for a couple of them in here.

In saying that, there’s a couple of tiger supporters who have done a magnificent job reeling them in. Watch a couple in particular that they keep reeling in keyboard mash over the summer.

Probably bay worthy though.
The lack of self awareness here is startling.

As far as midfielders who've played this century, Martin was a clear 4th behind Ablett, Judd and Voss. He was ranked higher than Hird and Buckley though (but closer to those two than Ablett and Judd) and I think that's fair enough.

Can't wait for more off topic "triggered"s though.

Occam's Razor, trully, 300 posts in a thread regarding an opposition player that murdered your Cats.
Okay. And the purpose of these posts of yours are?

Vicariously imagining anguish of a Geelong supporter? Wow, what a hero.

Hodge and Mitchell murdered them better and are two of my nominees for players of the century, but are also not the greatest of all time.

As an aside, at least half of my posts in this thread are dismissing the lazy troll posts for what they are. So there's 150 for comments like this. The same way that 90% of blaisee's are the same generic crazed rants.

Okay. And the purpose of these posts of yours are?

Vicariously imagining anguish of a Geelong supporter? Wow, what a hero.

Imagining? You've provided the evidence yourself quite clearly.

The purpose of my post is very clear and relevant to your previous reply. You replied to a comment about 300 posts, then started to defend yourself by attacking said poster:

Most posts talking about posts goes to you in a landslide victory, which is a whole lot sadder on the meta scale on football forum posting.

What an odd reply. Your attempt at deflection is too reiterate someone is commenting a few times about posting history.

I guess if Bigfooty didn't want us to know who the top contributors were in a thread, there would be no option to check. But there it is, and there you are.

In any case, you've now freely admitted that Martin lives rent free in your head after he destroyed your beloved cats. Your campaign to now destroy Dustin Martin's reputation (along with other Cat's supporters) is all plain to see.

I've see this phenomenon after 2008, with Rioli. Cats supporter just couldn't hack Rioli getting any kudos after he turned the game in our favour in 2008 Grand Final. Obviously that grand final loss is particularly upsetting because Geelong prior to that game, thought that was, the best team ever.

The purpose of my post is very clear and relevant to your previous reply. You replied to a comment about 300 posts, then started to defend yourself by attacking said poster:

What an odd reply. Your attempt at deflection is too reiterate someone is commenting a few times about posting history.

I guess if Bigfooty didn't want us to know who the top contributors were in a thread, there would be no option to check. But there it is, and there you are.

In any case, you've now freely admitted that Martin lives rent free in your head after he destroyed your beloved cats. Your campaign to now destroy Dustin Martin's reputation (along with other Cat's supporters) is all plain to see.

I've see this phenomenon after 2008, with Rioli. Cats supporter just couldn't hack Rioli getting any kudos after he turned the game in our favour in 2008 Grand Final. Obviously that grand final loss is particularly upsetting because Geelong prior to that game, thought that was, the best team ever.
Rioli was another gun. So not really sure about this point you're lazily attempting to make. Especially given how highly I rate that whole Hawthorn side.

Matera carved us up in the 90s. You guessed it: another gun, one of the best wingmen ever.

Nick Davis did in 2005 and while he was good, I don't think he was one of the best forwards this century and it has nothing to do with that fateful evening.

Williams in '95 torched the Cats and he used to play for us! I've no issue calling him one of the best midfielders last century. Same for SOS as a full back.

Too many Hawks from '89 to count. Champion side, the best one to beat Geelong in a grand final.

One of our best chances at a flag in recent years was 2016, a home prelim against an interstate side, heavy favourites. Buddy carved us up; Papley destroyed us. Best forward this century and one of the best smalls of the past decade.

But yeah I can't rate players fairly if they or their side dominated my side in finals. That's definitely it.

‘Destroying Dustin Martin’s reputation’ = agreeing that he is a superstar and an all time great of the competition

‘Couldn’t hack Rioli getting any kudos’ = Cats fans generally being more than happy to acknowledge fully that a combination of Luke Hodge and a brilliant burst of footy by a fat c**t from Port Adelaide had the biggest impact on the result.

‘Rent free’ = I need a new social media based buzzword to try and strengthen my stance.

Mate we follow Geelong. There are a lot of people who have inflicted pain on us. Peter Matera. Dermott Brereton. Luke Hodge. Nick Davis. Stewart Dew. Dustin Martin. Max Gawn. Any defensive rotation of John Worsfold, Guy McKenna, Ashley McIntosh and Glen Jakovich.

I don’t really understand why the whole ‘you just don’t rate him because he hurt you’ thing would apply for some players and not for others.

Why on earth would so many cats fans rate Luke Hodge A+ and rate Rioli an A because ‘they hurt us’ when they both played for the same team and Hodge hurt us more?

Perhaps maybe it’s just what we actually think?

If you think there’s a chance someone thinks something, because they think it, you’ll generally find that you’re right.

He's now a forward who floats up to the midfield, not a midfielder who drifts forward to do maximum damage. Disposals are great but Richmond lack goal kickers. They need Dusty the elite finisher. His one goal today shouldn't have even happened as it followed a hospital handpass to injure his team mate in what was a blatant missed HTB.

Even including that, 5 forwards kicked more big ones: Evans, Rioli, Powell-Pepper, Lord and Bolton.

Richmond need 20 disposal and 4 goal games from Martin, not 33 and 1s.

Let me destroy Mr Meow and his arguments in one fell swoop.

In the AA thread, he's quoting Nic Newman's, ground ball gets, pressure acts, tackles and..... clearances, yes clearences, on why Newman should be in the AA as a half back flanker as oppposed to contested marks, intercept marks, 1-on-1 defensive contests, meters gained.

Bryan Cranston Mic Drop GIF

In the AA thread, he's quoting Nic Newman's, ground ball gets, pressure acts, tackles and..... clearances, yes clearences, on why Newman should be in the AA as a half back flanker as oppposed to contested marks, intercept marks, 1-on-1 defensive contests, meters gained.

You chose to cherry pick some stats but not others, the most important metric of all being coaches votes. Newman intercepts better and has a far better defensive/pressure game, and greater impact on results. He's lost 2 more defensive 1v1s for the year than Redman, WOW. 15 extra pressure acts and 33 extra tackles might just negate opposition more than those 2 contests.

Nice of you to completely ignore the two slam dunk rebuttals to your "but it's only cause that player hurt you" stretch. I'm sure you find it baffling that I rate those Hawks so highly, but I do.

I wonder if he was "probably #1" during that quiet first half of the season. I'm sure there was a good reason to only focus on the last part of the season, by which point Richmond's goose was already cooked. His best two games came when it was impossible for them to make finals. For a "big time" player you couldn't make that up.

Pendlebury and Dangerfield by comparison were great in the first section of the season to set their team up (Dangers hammy then broken ribs first game back were death knells for our season; Pendles staying injury free undoubtedly helped the Pies stay at the top).

What's the point of a wet sail if your boat is already half sunk?

In his first 10-games of the season he averaged 20 touches, kicked 13 goals and had 67 score involvements. Averages of 20 / 1.3 / 6.7. Not too shabby after a heavily interrupted 2-seasons.

Those numbers in this supposed ‘quiet’ patch rang a very eery bell, but I couldn’t quite nail it …. then it came to me… GAJ’s 2019 season averages in the top of the ladder team:

20 / 1.4 / 6.7.

It probably shows the esteem you hold Martin in that 20 / 1.3 / 6.7 in a team that was 15th with 3 wins is regarded as a poor return.

That’s actually pretty high praise.

You chose to cherry pick some stats but not others, the most important metric of all being coaches votes. Newman intercepts better and has a far better defensive/pressure game, and greater impact on results. He's lost 2 more defensive 1v1s for the year than Redman, WOW. 15 extra pressure acts and 33 extra tackles might just negate opposition more than those 2 contests.

Nice of you to completely ignore the two slam dunk rebuttals to your "but it's only cause that player hurt you" stretch. I'm sure you find it baffling that I rate those Hawks so highly, but I do.

I didnt reply to the other post because it was a nothing post.

You''re posting crap about Dustin Martin, you were not in the forum when those other players were playing, right? And the other ones, the internet didn't even exist. So it's impossible to tell if you'd been a troll then too but guessing how misleading you are, I would suppose yes, but keep telling how Hawthorn were so good in 1989.

1693229223232.png

Newman with more coaches votes and will poll well in the GC match - one of the few Carlton supporters attribute to their season's revival - whereas Redman's season somewhat fizzled out along with Essendon's. Most people expressed surprise at Redman's inclusion including Essendon supporters. I'm not surprised you decided to be contrarian for the hell of it though.

I didnt reply to the other post because it was a nothing post.

You''re posting crap about Dustin Martin, you were not in the forum when those other players were playing, right? And the other ones, the internet didn't even exist. So it's impossible to tell if you'd been a troll then too but guessing how misleading you are, I would suppose yes, but keep telling how Hawthorn were so good in 1989.
By that logic you're posting crap about me, clearly I must have induced psychological damage on you if I am not drawing your unbridled praise? Nope, I'm not moronic enough to try and connect those dots simply because someone's opinion is different to mine.

Your theory on me pretending to rate those players highly as some kind of "gotcha" is a strong one though. There's probably a giant conspiracy where I'm part of a Geelong illuminati that downgrade players who have won football matches against our club, but to the public eye we will only reveal one such downgrade: that Martin is not the greatest player of all time.

Compelling stuff.

In his first 10-games of the season he averaged 20 touches, kicked 13 goals and had 67 score involvements. Averages of 20 / 1.3 / 6.7. Not too shabby after a heavily interrupted 2-seasons.

Those numbers in this supposed ‘quiet’ patch rang a very eery bell, but I couldn’t quite nail it …. then it came to me… GAJ’s 2019 season averages in the top of the ladder team:

20 / 1.4 / 6.7.

It probably shows the esteem you hold Martin in that 20 / 1.3 / 6.7 in a team that was 15th with 3 wins is regarded as a poor return.

That’s actually pretty high praise.

Given we'd somewhat met in the middle on the AA thread, it's almost surprising that you're trying to revive this. Almost, but not quite.

We're even introducing Strawmen into the argument at the last hour with "poor return". This is almost worth it just to get you to painfully explain to me how poor Richmond have been this season. Nobody seems to care except you.

Newcombe should almost be awarded the Brownlow for getting those kinds of numbers and coaches votes in a terrible Hawthorn side. And Breust may even be elevated to full forward. N.Daicos and Butters slip out of the side for me, by virtue of having easy rides in top 4 sides.

Given we'd somewhat met in the middle on the AA thread, it's almost surprising that you're trying to revive this. Almost, but not quite.

We're even introducing Strawmen into the argument at the last hour with "poor return". This is almost worth it just to get you to painfully explain to me how poor Richmond have been this season. Nobody seems to care except you.

Newcombe should almost be awarded the Brownlow for getting those kinds of numbers and coaches votes in a terrible Hawthorn side. And Breust may even be elevated to full forward. N.Daicos and Butters slip out of the side for me, by virtue of having easy rides in top 4 sides.

Wasn’t Toby Greene’s career elevated by you because he hasn’t been in a team as good as Martin? But now Martin plays in a poor team it’s irrelevant to his forward related stats? Ok, interesting.

Let’s keep it simple then:

Martin’s 2023 first 10 x games averages:
20 / 1.3 / 6.7

Ablett’s 2019 season averages:
20 / 1.4 / 6.7

———

And now the season is over we can assess total season averages without picking and choosing specific rounds etc….:

Martin 2023 v Ablett 2019

Disposals: 23.6 v 20.1 (Martin by 17.4%)
Marks: 4.7 v 3.7 (Martin by 27%)
Goals: 1.25 v 1.4 (GAJ by 12%)
Goal assists: 0.8 v 0.8 (equal)
Tackles: 1.9 v 4.5 (Ablett by 236%)
Inside 50’s: 5.0 v 4.8 (Martin by 4%)
Contested: 9.8 v 8.3 (Martin by 18%)
Effective disposals: 15.6 v 13.5 (Martin by 16%)
Clangers: 3.5 v 3.8 (Ablett by 9%)
Contested marks. 1.1 v 0.4 (Martin by 275%)
Clearances : 2.9 v 2.0 (Martin by 45%)
1%ers: 1.4 x 0.7 (Martin by 100%)
Pressure acts: 16.4 v 14.1 (Martin by 16%)
Score involvements : 7.7 v 6.7 (Martin by 15%)
Metres gained: 373 v 378 (Ablett by 1%)
Turnover: 4.5 v 4.7 (Ablett by 4%)
% teams scores: 32.2% v 28.3% (Martin by 14%)

So Ablett wins :

Metres gained (by 1%)
Tackles
Goals
*clangers
*turnovers

Martin wins every other category, including 10 of them by 14% or more.

Opinion Can Dustin Martin be the GOAT? (Answer: no)