List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

If I'm a betting man, I reckon SOS is already in contact with the Swans looking at their picks 25 (now 27) and 32 (now 34).

Our 2020 second round pick would no doubt be on offer, which could suit the Swans who would be looking to add points for access to their 2020 academy boys.

Come on SOS, one final knock out punch 👊😬

If I'm a betting man, I reckon SOS is already in contact with the Swans looking at their picks 25 (now 27) and 32 (now 34).

Our 2020 second round pick would no doubt be on offer, which could suit the Swans who would be looking to add points for access to their 2020 academy boys.

I am with you, I get this impression SOS isn't done yet, would love him to trade back in for Robertson!

Whilst your here 😉

Why is this kid, just a rookie? He was second in goal kicking for the comp (was when I last checked) and has won the Knights bandf the last two years, I think. Yet there is no love.

Have you seen much of him?
Seen heaps of him and has been a favourite but he tests so poorly for speed and with his small size aswell it really works against him for the next level, Hrovat although more a mid was in the same boat

McAsey and GWS first 2020*

love the Kemp pick. I had him in the top 5. Would have loved Flanders and Kemp but I’m stoked just to get Kemp. Philp definitely a stretch, would have rather’d Sharp, Bianco, or Taylor. But gotta back the scouts in.

I hope clubs release the footage for live trading like what happened last yr. I think Sydney taking Stephens meant we didn’t want to trade up to 6 so we probably pulled the pin on the deal. That’s just how I read it.
Would love to see some footage as well. Last nights first round was enthralling.

They weren’t failed bids they where extra time to get our trade done, we knew both Freo and GWS would match, halfwits how come we all new what SOS was doing but the experts are oblivious to what’s going on.
Spot on.

I guess, I like many, get locked in on a player (Robertson) and find it slightly concerning we pick a guy, not picked for the champs, over the captain of the best side and the best player from the champs.

When it was our selection, I honestly thought we'd take one of Robertson, Taylor or Rivers. Very happy with Philp though.

Balmer thinks Robertson might slide to pick 27. At that point I'd be extremely keen to trade back in and get him. He'll probably end up being the James Worpel of this years draft.

Nah, I reckon most of work he did last night. Otherwise he would have kept pick 22 to do more work overnight....
I am sure there will be heaps of live trading today by more clubs but most of it will be minor stuff to get more points for next years live bidding situations.
But the first few picks today may change hands based on deals worked out last night and as we speak. That will be interesting to see in first 20 minutes of tonights draft coverage. But I do not think we will be involved. Our next pick probably not until second hour of night.

After listening to Stephen Wells....

I get the feeling we'll be sending our 2020 first round pick to the Cats for #24 (or whatever it is now).

I hope we're just sliding our 2020 first in exchange for that pick.

Would be stoked if we took Robertson with it.

Seems quite a risky trade from our perspective.

And while Kemp is similar in ways to Setterfield, the most important way is that they're both versatile. Don't think any club is going "Two Bontempelli's? How can we possibly fit both of them in alongside Cripps?!" Cripps goes forward and the midfield still has a height advantage (and Kemp is quick). Kemp or Setterfield have a spell in the backline, or on a wing, or in the forward line, and yep, the midfield is still Cripps + a big mate.

not to mention one of our weaknesses has been depth, especially in the midfield rotation.

we are finally starting to build a strong bunch who wont slow just because cripps or walsh is having a breather. setterfield, gibbons, dow, kemp, philp, jsos, kennedy, o'brien, sps gives significant flexibility.

murphy & curnow won't be here forever too.

In hindsight I do wonder if we’d been better off holding the #22 and not trading up the two spots. Might have been some very good offers coming in overnight (likely future picks). Then we could trade back in a bit later (possibly by combining future second/third).

It probably doesn’t matter in the end but it will be interesting to see what happens with this first pick tonight.

Philp is the type we need and he was unlikely to be there at 22. So we took our player Hawthorn style

Anyone got a list of players that got injured in there draft yr or didn't play much footy in there first yr
ie J Selwood, N Riewoldt, P Cripps that turned at to be guns just as reassurance to those having meltdown over taking Kemp
Lever was coming off a knee reco in his draft year

Hey guys sorry to intrude! Very shrewd work last night and it had me a little intrigued. What was the purpose of the second trade of 22 and 55 for 20? Was it thought that Philp would go in those 2 picks, otherwise you could have had the first selection tonight (more time to think) and a free shot later on? Just curious

Richmond.

Another annoying selection as I had him rated at exactly 20 in early November and changed my mind a bit lol

So he is one I liked from last year and it was as that inside mid, to me he look liked Tom Green lite with his ability to win clearances and release to his teammates. He is a player I thought was very stiff not to make Metro selection at the time much like Ross was last year and just re affirmed to me I should really stick to my guns sometimes.

His skills can be lacking at times especially by foot but he really does excel at winning clearances and bursting from stoppages, tackles well and can even go forward and take a mark.

The thing that really impressed me was in his last game in the first final, there was a boundary throw in inside 50 and the Knights best forward is D’Intinosante but he is a rookie prospect at best and you would think in a situation inside 50 that the more highly touted Philp would be wanting to win the clearance and kick the goal but what he did was identify his teammate as the most dangerous option and payed a fantastic block which you guessed it led to a goal to D’Intinosante.

So this showed not only his footy smarts but also his ability to play team footy and despite having the skill set and many players in his position wanting to show off and kick a goal he did the team thing that turned out for the best in that situation.
Can Philp kick with high efficiency. Please expand because I thought the whole philp v robertson choice was a preference of a surgeon over a butcher

I guess, I like many, get locked in on a player (Robertson) and find it slightly concerning we pick a guy, not picked for the champs, over the captain of the best side and the best player from the champs.
Well that is why you have a recruiting department who build lists not just pick players. Otherwise, you or I could watch videos and turn up on draft night and ring in picks. I have a lot of confidence when we target players that are also targetted by Hawthorn, Sydney and Richmond (Philps and stephens)

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread