Review Cats defeat gallant Pies by 6 points to get into another PF

17/19 finals appearances since I got into footy. It can only go downhill from here for me, right? That’s what opposition fans have been telling me since I was 12 years old.

13 years of jealous people being very wrong

Your footy experience has been very fortunate.

Many of us saw decades of nothingness - with the exception of the light shone by GAS - and heartbreak.....until 2007.

So, after the heart rate returning to normal, here are my thoughts on last night.

Firstly, I have to give Collingwood huge praise. Despite the loss that is probably their best performance of the year. For sheer pressure and intensity alone they had us rattled for large parts. Reckon they are a few inside mids and a key tall from being a definite flag contender, if they already aren't.

Now on to us.

I said earlier this week that if we could shake that QF monkey we'd be hard to beat. And that opinion hasn't changed. The pressure of last night I hope holds us in good stead for a fortnights time and hopefully the following week. The performance itself wasn't great, we struggled to get flow into our game, we fumbled, stumbled and slipped our way throughout much of the game, but I attribute that to the immense Collingwood pressure and the pressure of the occasion. This is something we've failed to handle for most of the past decade. But at crucial times, when we were clean we made it count and when Collingwood couldn't do likewise we took full advantage. Definite tick to the mindset of the group and the changes implemented this season to our game.

That intense, pressure game is something we haven't had for a while, such has been our fixture. So getting it and managing to cope with it, just, and get the result can only help us for next week. We need to bring the heat and attack on the ball that at times was a little inconsistent yesterday. Failure to do so just won't get the job done.

Jezza. As if this season hasn't already shown that he has been worth every cent, yesterday reaffirmed it. Was central to everything good we did. Please hook that goal from the boundary and the response to the crowd to my veins.

Chuckie. Absolutely thrilled for him. Stuck it right up all those critics. They had valid points too, but he answered it in the best possible way. That mark and goal in the last quarter could go down in folklore.

14 wins in a row. It's sort of been forgotten amidst the jubilation of last night, but this is a remarkable achievement for the entire club.

1 down, 2 to go. Don't let it slip boys.

So I avoided making rash conments in the heat of the moment here, watched the replay this morning in bed with a coffee.. Highly recommend. Also I'm not reading 30 something pages of discussion, so if my points have already been made... Well I don't care
Also long post incoming

Cracking contest to start with, pressure insane.. Old Geelong rolls after after that 1st quarter and doesn't have the guts to win that game from there. If nothing else, we are made of sterner stuff this time round.

I think the umpiring complaints more stem from the fact Pies fans expect HTB every single time they tackle someone than it being poor... It was umpired differently to how games have been following the more traditional finals approach of "letting it go" I can see frustration with that but it didn't favour one side or the other so therefore who cares.

First the not so good....
  • In the heat of the moment I was really dirty on Rhys, on replay I was a bit harsh. He didn't hold his marks and he was a touch flat footed but he did compete well, I think his lack of game touch as big an issue as anything... Back him in still, he'll get a hell of a lot from that pressure cooker environment than Ceglar did from destroying a kid in a bruise free game weeks ago... But also wouldn't surprise to see Scott put his arms round him like he did with Rohan this week if questioned.
  • Blitz was a bigger concern, he was hesitant at times and a sign of a player battling is when they slip over, this sounds stupid but he was worried himself when he tied his hair back... He was changing something the same way players sometimes randomly pull socks up or down to try just reset their mind. Again back him in, he's too important and his year has been too good to throw the baby out with the bathwater.
  • Kolo being hurt is unfortunate for him, but many here have been suggesting he misses out for weeks anyway, so now if he is out it is hardly the end of the world. With SDK, Stew, Jack and Zuth we have enough cover, and I'd suggest they likely play O'Connor back in the situation as well.
Also can't go without mentioning the dumbest piece of play I've ever seen with Kola freezing up on the goal line, at least that brain fart didn't cost us
  • Stengle arguably with his worst game of the year and Hawk also battling hurt... In particular Moore had a huge impact which is super rare for an opponent of Hawk, but Tom kept working and found a way to get involved in a few goals late..
  • Fumbles Fumbles Fumbles... Hopefully a result of the pressure and we are better for it, but the side absolutely tightened up especially early.

The Good stuff
  • Jezza... Don't need to say much, huge game, got through and now gets 2 weeks to rest up.
  • Gary F##CKING ROHAN.. mighty, shanked that early chance but didn't go into his shell, worked his arse off and got involved, that pack mark was huge and set shot was perfection. No reason why he can't back it up
  • Tom Atkins 4th quarter, I said to my boss if you asked him to line up the biggest baddest guy to ever play the game and try go through him help us win a game he wouldn't hesitate and would enjoy it. That last quarter he was manic, it was the Port game again.. I don't reckon I've seen a player who wants the body contact and contest like he does.
  • Zuth was fantastic, when the whips were cracking early he arguably kept us in it and his awareness of when to launch and attack or be conservative is really good.
I can go on about more here but quickly I thought Jed was really good, christ he is a reliable finals player. Reckon he's been good in quite a few finals we haven't been good in. Several times last night he neutralised a situation where we were outnumbered, Elliott got a few marks off the lead quickly but one care we coughed the ball up in the middle and he had the entire 50 to work in, another there were 3 Pies streaming in and Jed got caught hedging who he was covering a bit. Overall I thought he was good.
Max Holmes is developing so well, enormous running power, has the belief that he can run away from people now, also the oppo are starting to learn his pace and worry.. He caugh J Daicos holding the ball purely cos Daicos knew he couldn't run round him and panicked a bit.

Lastly kudos to the skip, felt like his influence was enormous, now he gets 2 weeks to freshen up to lay it all on the line again.

Was it out best game, absolutely not but I reckon we will take plenty from it and just have to hope we are better for it and ready to go in the prelim

Oh another thing.

How bloody good was the skipper? He's been managed to perfection this year. Even if it's understandably not as often anymore, when it comes to the crunch, he showed he can still do it on the biggest stage.

I thought Stewart played a really critical role on Saturday, somewhat outside his comfort zone.

Perhaps it was because Kolo was out with injury, but he seemed to be forced to play a lot more of a defensive role than usual.

He wasn't just an interceptor, but won or halved a lot of crucial aerial contests.

I've often thought, even at this stage of his career, that he had the ability to become a great defender as well as an already excellent (rebound/attacking) backman. Brilliant to see signs of it in a huge final.

I think the umpiring complaints more stem from the fact Pies fans expect HTB every single time they tackle someone than it being poor...
So much this. Morons.

loved the intelligence and thoughtfulness of C scott during the presser.

the media spent the first five minutes fishing around for a negative degrading headline of " geelong finally wins first week" nonsense and obsessing over the past. His responses were pure class and brilliance and gives you a glimpse of the healthy stimulating culture and environment the club has created that promotes a mindset of development and growth as opposed to some toxic culture that obsesses over past mistakes and errors which does nothing to anyone but create negativity and resentment.

his simple quote of " you never step into the same river twice" was very spot on. Nothing is ever exactly the same twice, and there are always too many circumstances that make comparing it to a previous moment entirely different and irrelevant. You can only focus on what is infront of you and how to increment.

It is no wonder we have been so successful for so long with senior staff having philosophical approaches like this that create a genuine culture of trust and improvement that 99% of workplaces lack entirely.

i thought the umpires put the whistles away late in the game and it was better for the theatricals and atmosphere, but collingwood fans wanted special treatment
I’ve watched it three times now. Lots of moments that they didn’t call for either team. Some may have been frees, but once they stopped giving them - the Players adjusted and just played. Plenty of obvious ones were called.

What was the interest? And why the secrecy do you think?
I reckon he doesn't want to divulge their thinking as to when and why JH goes forward.
I like his reply, as he said sometimes he and other coaches give too much away.

I hope Rohan doesn't think he has buried the monkey. We need two more just like that one.
He just needs to play his role. If he doesn't kick any but creates 3-4 goals for others just by competing.. that's a win imo. We literally have 3 AA"s in the forward line around him
It doesn"t rest on his shoulders

Stanley stays in for me. Ceglar no chance of running with Gawn. Not even a tough decision.

Agree. Even though his effort last night was a shocker, I think you have to back Stanley after a season of consistently good form, where he used his attributes to great effect. Only caveat is fitness - I wonder if Stanley is still wary of the leg injury from few weeks back (perhaps contributing to the panicky efforts in the greasy conditions). If not fit, then Ceglar.

If fit, Parfitt just has to play - both Demons and Lions have very good midfields. Even more important if the conditions are greasy. For me, it is Miers v Menegola v MOC. I’d like to back Gryan but can see the benefit of Sam’s footskills, ability to kick goals from the 50 and size (perhaps even the utility of being able to play back if we need to). Demons and Lions both have some good small forwards - MOC could be needed for them, but if we loose the midfield it may not matter anyway. Bews and the Zachs can provide the small forward cover.

Going to essentially depend on our list fitness, ground conditions and match ups/roles but without any insights on those IMO just Kolo out, Parfitt in. MOC again sub.

I thought Stewart played a really critical role on Saturday, somewhat outside his comfort zone.

Perhaps it was because Kolo was out with injury, but he seemed to be forced to play a lot more of a defensive role than usual.

He wasn't just an interceptor, but won or halved a lot of crucial aerial contests.

I've often thought, even at this stage of his career, that he had the ability to become a great defender as well as an already excellent (rebound/attacking) backman. Brilliant to see signs of it in a huge final.
Agreed. I think like Duncan, because there were a couple of errors, some people overlooked his importance on the game. Stewart and Zuthrie got 1200m gained between them - comfortably the two highest on the ground. That was often when they were being bombarded and had to steady the ship.

Like you said he was involved in a lot of important aerial contests and dog fights around several Pies. He and Bews effectively mastered all of these situations.

A few frustrating times our defence lost its shape and Collingwood had open men in the forward line or a bloke got into space. We kind of pulled them apart in the same way, it was a weird game like that. A few moments our zone unravelled.

However I thought the actual competitive work and intercepting of Stewart, Zuth, Bews and SDK (actually, Duncan too when he was back) was brilliant. Whereas Collingwood's defensive excellence fell off after Moore and Maynard. Daicos and Noble were great attacking rebounders but didn't offer much lockdown. Once the midfield battle evened up just before quarter time, they let us score 11.9.75. Whereas our defensive group adjusted and put the clamps on as the game progressed. It was mids who got off the chain scoring wise late on.

i thought the umpires put the whistles away late in the game and it was better for the theatricals and atmosphere, but collingwood fans wanted special treatment
Yep- they let plenty go for both teams and it was a better game because of it. The umps understood the last quarter- good on em.

He just needs to play his role. If he doesn't kick any but creates 3-4 goals for others just by competing.. that's a win imo. We literally have 3 AA"s in the forward line around him
It doesn"t rest on his shoulders
It was the intent really. Two other times he was really close to getting a mark inside 50. One, the kick to him fell short. The second, he almost clunked a tricky one but it spilled. Other times he flew and made sure the ball hit the deck. Was also going hard at the footy when it spilled onto the deck.

It reflects a big change in system with our forward group - keeping it alive, locking it in, pressuring their defenders etc. It doesn't always come off but it really grinds down opposition over a whole game until eventually blokes get off the chain.

just finished watching mcraes presser... pathetic sook.

terrible body language darting his head around everywhere slouching, complaining and whinging about the umpiring saying they will be getting "clarification" from the AFL lol, my god.... it went very much both ways mcrae, collingwood don't get special treatment.

in between talking about how amazing he thinks collingwood are and how the umpires got everything wrong, he needs an attitude adjustment.

i think that was just the realisation that they couldnt play better than they did yet still lost. I felt that game hit a nerve more than any of their others have.