Autopsy Cats lose to Saints by 7 points - should have been more

Let's appreciate Neale's goalkicking. He might be butterfingers right now but that is a beautifully accurate set shot.

Was a shame he fluffed a few marks where he got his hands to the ball but couldn't clunk it, especially that sliding chest mark he fumbled in the 3rd term.

Still don't know how he didn't get a free when his opponent all but molestered him in the last quarter and nothing was paid.

Far too inconsistent. 1 good game a month from Bowes.

I wasn't as impressed with Clark as some others are, and these two players are intrinsically linked at this club.

14 touches @50% is okay for a young player. But that's about it.
I did like Clark's disposal early but he predictably faded and the clean disposal left him.

If he can't run out a game play someone who can

Ruck is definitely needed but we don't have one (he's in the injury room).
Ah we have a premiership ruckman who is fit. Dekoning labours around the ground without a care in the world. He needs to speak with his brother.

Clark is exactly the same as zuthrie. Rarely if ever makes a poor decision but has the body of an under 14s kid which is more of an issue for an inside mid than a back pocket.

Yes he's a terrier, can't fault the effort, but he gets thrown around a bit, bounces off them. Good kick when clear.
Zuthrie is a good comparison, he's definitely stacked on the muscle, and obviously they had more faith in him than us.
Only hope it can work out as well for Jhye, given time.

I did like Clark's disposal early but he predictably faded and the clean disposal left him.

If he can't run out a game play someone who can

He stood up more than Dangerfield, Holmes and a few others when the chips were down.

Was a shame he fluffed a few marks where he got his hands to the ball but couldn't clunk it, especially that sliding chest mark he fumbled in the 3rd term.

Still don't know how he didn't get a free when his opponent all but molestered him in the last quarter and nothing was paid.

Commentators said both were holding, hence the play on.

Watching the game and the way teams are countering us even a bit last year is through control and uncontested marks. Stk did this very well but it certainly doesn’t help when you are second to the ball and losing every 50/50. Our pressure an effort was totally and we looked like we had a soft kill the week before. Despite how bad we were we still had enough chances to win. Too many had really bad nights.

I thought Blitz was absolutely superb tried his guts out, played everywhere. Lawson was great again and stands up against the tide. COS was great and is showing heaps. Clohesy added grunt and helped us halve some contests. I thought we just didn’t have enough winners and we leaked easy goals to often. Frustrating loss

True but surely there is a player in a state league that could fit our needs... If Darcy Fort was here,he would be our starting ruck

I've been saying that since Fort's last season with us when he was regularly in the bests in the VFL but never picked for the seniors. Then in 2023, a year in which we were reduced to plopping Gary Rohan in the ruck at times, we could've got Sam Naismith in the mid season draft. He'd have been handy for three or five games towards the end of 2023. Instead we recruited Mitch Hardie who we also, for unfathomable reasons, never had any intention of playing in the seniors.

Before the game in his pre-match interview, Lyon more or less outright stated that he didn't rate our midfield outside of Smith and Holmes. His quote was something like, "[Before he was a late withdrawal] we were going to tag Smith, now we just have to make sure Holmes doesn't get off the chain." And he was right.

Ollie Henry has a lot of talent, but he's not the best team player.

I don't know if kids use the word these days, but back in '90s we'd have called him a "hungus" because he always look to have a ping at goal evem of giving it off is thr better option.

Ollie also, as you stated, spoils his own team mates at time by going for marks he has no right to fly for.
I like this because you brought up 'Hungus'..I made a thread about that term a while ago and got lampooned with nobody claiming to have heard it before. Makes me feel better despite the loss.

But yeah, there's just something abut St.Kilda at Marvel where they just seem to bar up against is. Higgins would usually flop around and do SFA, but is dangerous and kicks 4, and Jones, for heaven's sake he's been at best a try-hard for years, yet he's dishing passes off like he's peak Sam Mitchell. But we cannot find ourselves 40 points behind and expect to win, although in the end we could well have, numerous chances wasted or just not taken in that last 10 minutes....reminded me of the GWS game last year in that respect except we never held the lead, whereas we did then until the Green goal.

I reckon since Rd 1 2023, we've lost Stewart early on in games as often as we'd lose Cockatoo early in a game, he seems to often cop either a hit or in this game a gammy knee...although Clohesy was really good. I guess just onwards and upwards, although next week against the Lions at the Gabba won't be easy at all. Indeed the next few are tough, we'd do well to be 3-3 by the end of them.

I absolutely love him. Kid is made of concrete

I'm not sure how he fits in the 22 when we are fully fit but he's a real goer and I love him too. At worst he deserves the chance to put himself in the shop window for other clubs.

let me break this down for all cats supporters.

Losing a game against the Saints who are a useless is a disgrace. This sort of game should have been a 5-6 goal win. The fact that we were clearly outplayed for 95% of the game is an indictment on us.

If you think I’m wrong, you’re an idiot and need to get help soon.

Tonight was a complete shit show!
How are you a member of BF for this long and yet only have a few hundred posts?

Last edited by a moderator:
Disagree. There would be a clause in the contract for such a thing.

The clause doesn't apply when the court case isn't finalised. And cases like Jack de belin are a clear reason why it doesn't, especially for a type of court charge that has a historically low conviction rate. But that's a discussion for another thread.

I went to the game tonight. I was taken aback by our lack of pressure in the first half. A few times we had players hemmed in, and an outnumber, yet they still managed to clear and, in some cases, score a goal. Our lack of pressure and manning up encouraged them to run and take risks and it paid off for the most part.

Not sure if that was the case for the whole game, however, we played a short half forward line at times. A couple of times we scrapped the ball to our CHF from the centre stoppage and their HB line helped sweep the ball away.

Overall, very disappointing effort, although our kids tried hard and it was good to see Clohesy kick his first goal in senior footy.

What we know is that Clohesy and O'Sullivan will stay in the side. Well done.

Knevitt I am not so sure about.
I'm certain Knevitt stays in

On a night where we had one player make it 20 disposals Knevitt had 16 disposals, 7 tackles, 11 contested, and a goal.

He's still on the journey but he was easily in the better half of players

I like this because you brought up 'Hungus'..I made a thread about that term a while ago and got lampooned with nobody claiming to have heard it before. Makes me feel better despite the loss.

But yeah, there's just something abut St.Kilda at Marvel where they just seem to bar up against is. Higgins would usually flop around and do SFA, but is dangerous and kicks 4, and Jones, for heaven's sake he's been at best a try-hard for years, yet he's dishing passes off like he's peak Sam Mitchell. But we cannot find ourselves 40 points behind and expect to win, although in the end we could well have, numerous chances wasted or just not taken in that last 10 minutes....reminded me of the GWS game last year in that respect except we never held the lead, whereas we did then until the Green goal.

I reckon since Rd 1 2023, we've lost Stewart early on in games as often as we'd lose Cockatoo early in a game, he seems to often cop either a hit or in this game a gammy knee...although Clohesy was really good. I guess just onwards and upwards, although next week against the Lions at the Gabba won't be easy at all. Indeed the next few are tough, we'd do well to be 3-3 by the end of them.
Hungus or simply hungo for short. Yep, I don't know about anyone else, but as a man in my early forties who grew up in Geelong, it was such a common term in the '90s for a kid who hogged the ball.

Autopsy Cats lose to Saints by 7 points - should have been more