Unofficial Preview Changes & Pre-match Discussion - Round 4 vs. WCE. Sat 09/04, 4:35pm MRVL

I believe Wilson may come in for Madge. Trial him down back?? He has been playing well in the VFL. If I were Cameron, I'd be sweating a bit with Cox's three goals and HO work. We beat WCE with three ruckmen and their defence doesn't like Cox.
He's shown he's not up to it as an AFL defender, and he is significantly weaker than Madgen. If Wilson makes it into the team it will be through an injury to Mihocek/Henry/AJ

AJ for De Goey seems the obvious move now… unless they want to try Wilson instead.
Johnson would be hard to resist from the weekends' performance. Wilson had a great week before that.

Reef may get midfield minutes.

Nah. Have to keep playing Henry. Henry for Wilson maybe but we've got to be developing youth.
Needs to gain confidence in his ball handling. He's a fumbling machine at the moment, I think that VFL with that bit of extra time for a couple of weeks will manage his development better.

De Goeys tackle gets a week. Definitely 2 movements and the 2nd takes Dangerfields head into the ground. His arms are pinned so clearly a risk of head trauma. Don't think there will be any appeal. Pretty cut and dried.

One thing to remember I reckon is the sling tackle with arms pinned is a relatively recent arrival to AFL. It is dangerous. Its why these actions have been taken.

Needs to gain confidence in his ball handling. He's a fumbling machine at the moment, I think that VFL with that bit of extra time for a couple of weeks will manage his development better.
I agree some VFL time for Henry helps. He does some great things but in the main looks uncertain about being out there. His missed mark was a classic case of not going because he was worried what was coming the other way. In the end that was no one. His attack on the ground contest is timid also. he has done that too often in the last few weeks. I think he would benefit from a few weeks of ripping it up in the VFL, and he will do that based on his best AFL work.

Having just read "The Boys Club", which details the corruption and vindictiveness at the top of the AFL, I wonder what there was in the Collingwood election process that went against McLaughlin's wishes and has led to the succession of over the top suspensions to Collingwood players while players from other clubs have their misbehaviour forgiven.
The overturn of Sloane's eye gouging on the grounds that "I wouldn't do that" is a clear indicator that there is something fishy going on. I think there is some payback going on, as St Kilda was paid back for Grant Thomas' comments about umpires and their egos. Remember the conversation on the plane back from Fremantle where the umpire said "now I know what it's like to get a win"?

I agree some VFL time for Henry helps. He does some great things but in the main looks uncertain about being out there. His missed mark was a classic case of not going because he was worried what was coming the other way. In the end that was no one. His attack on the ground contest is timid also. he has done that too often in the last few weeks. I think he would benefit from a few weeks of ripping it up in the VFL, and he will do that based on his best AFL work.
Heaps of talent, but he's just not attacking the ball confidently yet.

De Goeys tackle gets a week. Definitely 2 movements and the 2nd takes Dangerfields head into the ground. His arms are pinned so clearly a risk of head trauma. Don't think there will be any appeal. Pretty cut and dried.

One thing to remember I reckon is the sling tackle with arms pinned is a relatively recent arrival to AFL. It is dangerous. Its why these actions have been taken.
There's one angle where its pretty clear the his head doesn't hit the turf, but as your brother has pointed out, it doesn't have to hit the turf to be deemed high contact. Yeah, he's not getting off, unfortunately

Except his arms aren’t both pinned. He had an arm free to break the fall for the entire duration of the tackle. Did you even watch a replay of it before posting this?

Don't disagree, but you need to get your club doctor onside. He is the one who has to make the assessment that a player is likely to be out for at least 12 days. Was just dumb luck that a bloke who had had 4 touches was the one to suffer a game-ending injury.

Melbourne couldn't do it in last years GF.
They discussed it and Viney offered, but the club doctor would not agree.

Agree with some of the guys in here, were one tall player short in defence.
Bite the bullett toss a coin Kelly or Mcmahon.
out sidebottom, whe, ginivan, madgen camerom
in Johnston, C Brown, Mcrae .Kelly cox

i am more then happy to turn over and try every player on our list.
Lets not get ahead of ourselves its a year of consoladation and rebuild.

our players got up the field too far and the zone fell apart, often multiple unmarked cats running fwd vs 1 pie defender in that last quarter.

Once Geelong got ascendency at the contested ball we were exposed.

no worries. He mentioned it in his post game interview after the hawks vfl game a couple weeks ago.
I'm new to the VFL side of things. Always had interest in it but never a way to watch. It's much better than what I thought.

His arms are not pinned and he lands on the shoulder. Absolute disgrace that he was suspended

Potential to cause injury, like Rioli’s hit on Rowell or Atkins elbowing Ginivan in the head? Play on both of those times. It was gutless from the club not to take this to the tribunal

I'm new to the VFL side of things. Always had interest in it but never a way to watch. It's much better than what I thought.
Its pretty good. I've only been going since about 2017/2018. Its a good way to keep an eye on the future prospects. The standard is pretty good too.

Except his arms aren’t both pinned. He had an arm free to break the fall for the entire duration of the tackle. Did you even watch a replay of it before posting this?
I will grant you he got one arm free during the tackle which was not the arm that could break the fall. They were both initially pinned. Doesn't change the basics, double movement with arm that could break the fall pinned. Its pretty much exactly what they are trying to ban

What is it with this myth that both arms need to be pinned as some threshold for a dangerous tackle? Guessing you "didn't even read" the Tribunal Guidelines before posting that? Having a left arm free to break a fall on your right side doesn't exactly give the player an air bag. Here is an excerpt from the Guidelines item 4.3(E)3:

"In determining whether the application of a tackle constitutes a Reportable Offence and whether the offence is Careless or Intentional, without limitation, regard may be had to the following factors, whether...:

"The Player being tackled is in a vulnerable position (e.g. arm(s) pinned) with little opportunity to protect himself..."

See that brackety thingy? It means that one arm pinned can also put the tackled player in a vulnerable position.