Preview Changes: R3 vs Port Adelaide

Rate our selections for this week

Our coaches are def worried about our lack of experience around the center square and center circle. If Sloane's even close to fit he's definitiely staying. Reckon Hately and Berry good chances to come in this week, sounded pretty happy with their SANFL performances over a few weeks. Perhaps Murph or Macadam or Hamill might too. All 3 for a bit of experience, the latter two for speed.

Sounds like Filthy might be given a block in the SANFL. Same for MIlera.

Fog and McHenry chances to be booted out for lack of discipline, sounds like the coaches were pretty peeved. Bad timing by Fog, goes out this week, Berg stays in and Tex comes back and we start winning, he stays in and Fog stays in the SANFL.

My changes I reckon they'll do
Fog, McHenry, Soligo and Pedlar out.
Laird, Berry, Hately and Macadam in.

Are we at the point where we can start pushing consistent games on our high draft pick lads?

Out: Himmelberg, Murray, Sloane
In: Thilthorpe, McAsey, Hately

I know we got Hately cheap, but there must be something there if he initially was a pick 14..
He might be that big-bodied mid we're missing. We just need to persist with his development.

Our coaches are def worried about our lack of experience around the center square and center circle. If Sloane's even close to fit he's definitiely staying. Reckon Hately and Berry good chances to come in this week, sounded pretty happy with their SANFL performances over a few weeks. Perhaps Murph or Macadam or Hamill might too. All 3 for a bit of experience, the latter two for speed.

Sounds like Filthy might be given a block in the SANFL. Same for MIlera.

Fog and McHenry chances to be booted out for lack of discipline, sounds like the coaches were pretty peeved. Bad timing by Fog, goes out this week, Berg stays in and Tex comes back and we start winning, he stays in and Fog stays in the SANFL.

My changes I reckon they'll do
Fog, McHenry, Soligo and Pedlar out.
Laird, Berry, Hately and Macadam in.
Given the alleged reasons for their omission, then TT and Milera should be given a block in the SANFL.
It's illogical in the extreme to get them back into the side after one trial where they have shown little!

If Nicks employs the backwards handball to exit stoppage we deserve to lose.
That would suggest we actually have a player on the defensive side of the contest. No doubt that defensive side player will undoubtedly be sucked into the contest allowing Boak to continually stroll out of the centre unopposed and deliver the ball directly to whatever pleb they've decided will kick 4 goals that evening never to be repeated this season.... No doubt probably Motlop

That would suggest we actually have a player on the defensive side of the contest. No doubt that defensive side player will undoubtedly be sucked into the contest allowing Boak to continually stroll out of the centre unopposed and deliver the ball directly to whatever ever pleb they've decided will kick 4 goals that evening never to be repeated this season.... No doubt probably Motlop

Yep, the midfield doesn't play as a cohesive unit (could say the same for the entire side). It is why all the players around a stoppage get sucked right in to the contest, individuals playing for themselves. I agree with the talk on here that either they are being coached poorly or they are just not listening because this stuff was happening when we played an experienced squad, we just won the ball more.

I'm totally down with dropping Fog and or Himmelberg and playing Worrell and McAsey also Hately in the middle for Sloane and Berry for McHenry

**** it, let's try something, obviously what we're doing now is trash, forward line can't get worse

Are we at the point where we can start pushing consistent games on our high draft pick lads?

Out: Himmelberg, Murray, Sloane
In: Thilthorpe, McAsey, Hately

I know we got Hately cheap, but there must be something there if he initially was a pick 14..
He might be that big-bodied mid we're missing. We just need to persist with his development.
The problem with Hately is we've seen little evidence of him being prepared to use his big body to the advantage of his teammates around him since entered the AFL system. If he can bring that he might yet be a decent player but he needs to have a bigger impact around the contest before I'm on board.

Burns was talking him up so expecting him to be an in

I'm totally down with dropping Fog and or Himmelberg and playing Worrell and McAsey also Hately in the middle for Sloane and Berry for McHenry

fu** it, let's try something, obviously what we're doing now is trash, forward line can't get worse

Let's try something? How about...

B Laird - Frampton - Doedee
HB Jones - McAsey - Smith
C Dawson - Schoenberg - Sholl
HF McHenry - Butts - Rowe
F Sloane - Murray - Gollant
R Himmelberg - Rachele - Pedlar

I Cook - Hinge - Hately - Keays

Burns was talking him up so expecting him to be an in
Sounded like he's a chance but to be honest I'd bring Berry in before him on the proviso he will see a reasonable amount of midfield minutes.
From the sound of it it's going to perhaps hinge on Sloane putting his hand up, Laird it sounded like is a given in.

I'm not one to try and bash the Sloane ... but it is getting hard to defend him.

I did not particularly like the insight we got into our captain in that docu-series of 2020 that had Sloane in the Brad Crouch scene showing some real delusion for where we were at - and what it would take to get out of the funk. He seemed to want to be everyone's friend - hark back to the good ol days - not call it as he saw it. (btw, I thought it did the opposite for Nicks - handled it really well)

I'm starting to think he might see himself and the group as the same thing - ie doing what is best for him and the group, is the same as doing what is best for the group :-(

This article: Crows skipper sent for scans, gun mid set for Showdown return

Has this amazing quote in it:

The bit that piqued my interest was the "once the game was dusted it was good to get Soley on" bit?

That speaks volumes to me. Opposite of "next man up". Where is the trust in his team mate to be able to come on and perform? Very ordinary from the captain.

The other issue is that Sloane had already told the world in his media appearance it was "tender" going into the game and then that his first kick it pinged - a day or so later Burgess says that he was injured in an incident early in the game????

Just when I thought we had a more honest approach at the club.

Hopefully he is rested or at least played as a forward.

Burns asked if Sloane not at full fitness is better than playing a younger player at full fitness.

"It depends. Will he put his hand up to play? If it's yes, he'll play".

Ugh.
Really pissed me off listening to Burns, all I heard was experience v inexperience. What message does that send to the squad? No mention of senior player poor skills and decision making? Their shit game plan

If list management hadn't intervened Jake Kelly and an injured Tom Lynch would definitely be playing over Hinge and Cook, and we'd probably also have Mackay lining up on a wing with Sholl in the twos

What is the point of experience if they aren't capable of winning games of footy? The only upside to picking experience is to limit the 100 point beltings which wouldn't be a risk of happening in the first place if the club was actually capable of recruiting well and developing it's players. They're all just covering their own arses.

‘Test’. It’ll be a jog through followed by an, “feel ok mate”. “Yep coach, I’m right to go.” Then in a few weeks, heroically playing injured will be rolled out as an excuse for his crap output.
Will aggravate it 2 minutes after we activate the sub for another player and leave us short on the pine

It’s the same shit year after year at the AFC.

Have to play the experienced guys in the key roles (eg centre square). Guess what, how do your junior guys gain experience when you don’t give them opportunities.

No success until yet another regime change.

The AFC is like working for the Government, it’s all about tenure.

To be honest, I like the " soldier on" attitude he has.

You can interpret it as lack trust in team mates, but he obviously has the attitude that you play through pain. Never take that away from a player. This is the epitome of leadership in sport

BUT, our selectors then need to tell him enough is enough. Too battered to be effective. They should make the decision. Not Sloaney.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

That is one huge BUT you have there.

So we expect every player to say “I’m playing” even if that is to the detriment of the side … and we should see that as “The epitome of leadership”?

I'm not one to try and bash the Sloane ... but it is getting hard to defend him.

I did not particularly like the insight we got into our captain in that docu-series of 2020 that had Sloane in the Brad Crouch scene showing some real delusion for where we were at - and what it would take to get out of the funk. He seemed to want to be everyone's friend - hark back to the good ol days - not call it as he saw it. (btw, I thought it did the opposite for Nicks - handled it really well)

I'm starting to think he might see himself and the group as the same thing - ie doing what is best for him and the group, is the same as doing what is best for the group :-(

This article: Crows skipper sent for scans, gun mid set for Showdown return

Has this amazing quote in it:

The bit that piqued my interest was the "once the game was dusted it was good to get Soley on" bit?

That speaks volumes to me. Opposite of "next man up". Where is the trust in his team mate to be able to come on and perform? Very ordinary from the captain.
I saw the documentary at the time and that bit always struck me. He came across as borderline delusional and someone who thought it would magically get better - yet here we are still.

Someone has to get into the ears of these guys and say if you are not fit, don't play.

Soligo misses out on a games worth of experience only to come on when the game was well and truly lost. What is the benefit?

A captain puts the team first, they don't play under an injury cloud and then put there hand up to come off once the game is over.

That is one huge BUT you have there.

So we expect every player to say “I’m playing” even if that is to the detriment of the side … and we should see that as “The epitome of leadership”?
Every player wants to play every week, so yes it's all about the selectors not picking them.

Preview Changes: R3 vs Port Adelaide