Prediction Changes: Round 17 Vs Carlton + pre-match discussion

Is there any truth to the “Jackson had a niggle so didn’t play in the ruck or midfield “ line? If so I’d rest him as well and give Kuek a go as a forward with Treacy to continue as second ruck.
Jackson > Kuek
Fyfe > Brodie
Switta > Sturt

We need goal kickers and Kuek and Sturt are the best we have in the shed.

We also need a big body in the midfield, if Fyfe can’t play time to bring Brodie back into the team, his defensive effort can’t be worse than Fyfe.

Why is Fyfe contracted for another two years?

He can't dispose of the ball anymore without turning it over
I think you can certainly make a case for your position.
But I think there is room on a list for aging icons providing you don't make the Eagles' Error of Too Many, Too Crumbly, Too Fat. Too Dear.
Fyfe's club presence and limited on-field role is worth $400K/year for 2 years and does have some X factor about it.

I think you can certainly make a case for your position.
But I think there is room on a list for aging icons providing you don't make the Eagles' Error of Too Many, Too Crumbly, Too Fat. Too Dear.
Fyfe's club presence and limited on-field role is worth $400K/year for 2 years and does have some X factor about it.
he's like having an extra captain/coach out there - he's always encouraging the kids

If Fyfe stays in it has to be in the mid. He can't kick a set shot and isn't quick enough to pressure, so pointless as a forward. In the guts he's still got strength and great footy IQ, makes others around him better in a sacrificial role. I'd like to see Banfield back in that mid-sized forward role, or Sturt.

I actually thought we were the better side last game, just couldn't get on the end of stuff and then some interesting choices around the final centre bounces sealed it. Should be a tight game, which we should win, but probably won't for some reason or other.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app
This. Fyfe played like that St Kilda game. I just knew watching that something wasn’t quite right. Fyfe played well against Essendon and started ok against WB. As game wore on and he spent more time forward his inability to leap and move with any speed became a liability.

The Plantar fasciitis is chronic issue. He will need a spell and for mine was the right sub call. What wasn’t the right call was then having JT in ruck along with at one pt MJ and Erasmus in the middle. I thought Erasmus was unlucky in the first couple of centre bounces. He got his hands to the first one but was being scragged and held. Then the re-bounce he got called for holding the Bont which looked exactly the same as the previous one.

Once that goal was kicked our centre clearance A team incl. Darcy, Brayshaw and Serong needed to be in the middle but instead MJ and I think JOM joined Erasmus and JT in the ruck. The bulldogs got going and game over.

Fyfe started playing mid forward a lot more this game replace him with another mid forward. I’m happy with either of Sturt or Banfield. What I liked from Banfield in the WAFL was his attack on the contest and 7 tackles. Had some nice i50’s. Sturt kicks goals and has brought more pressure this year but loses contests at times too easily i50.

Hughes already fumbles a bit too much. A couple of crucial times he looked up and ahead before he had the ball. Added to that was an issue with finger that was being taped and he was clearly in pain. He has had a good season (when moved to backline) but for mine a good opportunity to bring in Worner.

I don’t think Erasmus a terrible sub. The week before Sturt did nothing special as sub and everyone was saying the same thing. If you want an upgrade to sub I guess Brodie is a good option. The form of Erasmus for Peel has been much better than Brodie. Freddy might be an x-factor sub option.

One issue with the sub is JL is ultra conservative and leaves it until as late as possible, and often too late. The sub has more impact coming on in the early/mid 3rd quarter. We could have won the North and possibly Richmond games if he had been proactive to bring Walters on earlier. Pretty hard for youngsters like Erasmus and Sturt to do anything when they come on so late. Sturt actually had one of his most productive performances on a per minute basis against Richmond.

My changes this week:
Out - Fyfe (managed/injured), Switta
In - Brodie, Sturt
Sub - one of Brodie/Erasmus, but plan to swap them early 3rd quarter

Still leaves us too small in the midfield compared with Carlton, but not sure Erasmus + Brodie into the starting 22 will help too much considering Erasmus is so raw. It might be a game to give Young more midfield minutes and work something else out down back. Also if Jackson is fit then he can have cameos and Sturt provides more cover for that. We continue to play too many small forwards and toss a coin for Switta versus Freddy, but Freddy gives us a bit more height and x-factor in front of goal.

You’d think the journalists might have asked jl in the presser why Johnson, Erasmus and Treacy were in the middle with the game on the line, and why Jackson wasn’t rucking when Darcy was resting. That loss felt like it was caused by coaching. Lobb did nothing all day, that I noticed, until he was given Treacy as an opponent to ruck against and while Treacy’s effort was there, Lobb dominated him.

It's a great learning experience is why. It's not like JL wouldn't know that Serong, Brayshaw and Darcy/Jackson would be more likely to win the bounce.

Wish we had depth for Treacy, one goal in four games for a wannab KPF is disgusting.

Yeah but at the end of the day he's still getting a couple chances a game. Just got a severe case of the yips, getting a lot of no scores. Darcy too, has been getting plenty of mark inside 50 but his set shots have gone to shit. Plenty of no scores, touched off the boot etc.

This. Fyfe played like that St Kilda game. I just knew watching that something wasn’t quite right. Fyfe played well against Essendon and started ok against WB. As game wore on and he spent more time forward his inability to leap and move with any speed became a liability.

The Plantar fasciitis is chronic issue. He will need a spell and for mine was the right sub call. What wasn’t the right call was then having JT in ruck along with at one pt MJ and Erasmus in the middle. I thought Erasmus was unlucky in the first couple of centre bounces. He got his hands to the first one but was being scragged and held. Then the re-bounce he got called for holding the Bont which looked exactly the same as the previous one.

Once that goal was kicked our centre clearance A team incl. Darcy, Brayshaw and Serong needed to be in the middle but instead MJ and I think JOM joined Erasmus and JT in the ruck. The bulldogs got going and game over.

Fyfe started playing mid forward a lot more this game replace him with another mid forward. I’m happy with either of Sturt or Banfield. What I liked from Banfield in the WAFL was his attack on the contest and 7 tackles. Had some nice i50’s. Sturt kicks goals and has brought more pressure this year but loses contests at times too easily i50.

Hughes already fumbles a bit too much. A couple of crucial times he looked up and ahead before he had the ball. Added to that was an issue with finger that was being taped and he was clearly in pain. He has had a good season (when moved to backline) but for mine a good opportunity to bring in Worner.

Banners did seem more physical in that wafl game than usual. Think at end of the 3rd quarter he hit the oppo player with a hard attack that almost started a melee then he proceeded to run up to that player and apologise lol

Think he spent some time on the wing besides forward and had some penetrating kicks inside 50

Yeah but at the end of the day he's still getting a couple chances a game. Just got a severe case of the yips, getting a lot of no scores. Darcy too, has been getting plenty of mark inside 50 but his set shots have gone to s**t. Plenty of no scores, touched off the boot etc.
Of course he is young and developing but there is a chance he won't put it all together. Our premiership success depends on it imo.

Gotta be Brodie back for Fyfe. We need a pure clearance specialist against Carlton or we get bullied in the middle & lose.
It may tell us something about whether we have an eye to be future already if it’s Ras rather than Brodie. We might decide development in 2023 is worth going for Ras rather than Brodie. (Or it could just be that whoever they pick they believe will give us most chance of winning :think:)

I really don't like that. Brodie is 24 and is contracted for three more years. He IS our future. We need to be figuring out how to get back his impact from last year, because he was huge.

We could have had Amiss side by side with JVR.

I wish we picked him up with our second pick as we have Johnson as our third. Erasmus looks ok but the value of quality KPF are invaluable. Seeing Sturt struggle at the top level too

We could have had Amiss side by side with JVR.

I wish we picked him up with our second pick as we have Johnson as our third. Erasmus looks ok but the value of quality KPF are invaluable. Seeing Sturt struggle at the top level too
We COULD have. But that's all hindsight. Erasmus was basically a unanimous top 10. JVR was a chance of sliding to our third pick. Johnson was almost a certainty to be gone by the end of the first round. There was a close to zero percent chance of Erasmus and Johnson both lasting to out third pick. No one could have seen it coming.

There was a very good chance we miss out on Johsnon if we take JVR.

We COULD have. But that's all hindsight. Erasmus was basically a unanimous top 10. JVR was a chance of sliding to our third pick. Johnson was almost a certainty to be gone by the end of the first round. There was a close to zero percent chance of Erasmus and Johnson both lasting to out third pick. No one could have seen it coming.

There was a very good chance we miss out on Johsnon if we take JVR.
Game is still won in the middle, and we were losing Mundy.
I like our tall forwards but we mess around with the ball instead of getting it down there quickly.
I’d even take Hall first this year and add him to the rotations.
Than a Sanchez or Collard type to increase goal output.
Erasmus is going to be good if we give him a chance.
Crowley good.

As I’ve already said I think we should select Brodie but I reckon we should also be looking at Colyer. He is always busy, has real pace & an experienced head on his shoulders.

All of Freddy, Shultz & Switta should be considered expendable if we’re serious about rewarding form over reputation.

Hamling, Worner & Wilson all deserve consideration too. I would really like to see Hamling in particular given another chance to see if he can still blanket a forward & he always made good decisions & worked well in the system.

Kuek? Are you having a laugh he’s miles off it.
There is also no chance of JOM being dropped he’s been pretty solid.
Sturt is the first cab off the tank for Switta or Freddie.
Then I’d have Brodie in for Fyfe.
Drop Hughes I agree, and maybe put Aish back there and bring in Worner or Ras from the start.
Whoever from Switta or Freddie is dropped can be sub

I liked you post despite disagreeing with the last part. I know Worner has been collecting heaps of the burley at WAFL level but I don’t think they want to play him in the firsts as he is to slow. If Young was injured I think he could be a good replacement, but we can’t have both in the team at the same time. This is also why I’m surprised at people saying Young should go into the midfield. He hasn’t got the explosive pace (or brute strength) you need to get out of trouble at clearances and would just make our midfield slower.

Prediction Changes: Round 17 Vs Carlton + pre-match discussion