Preview Changes v Western Bulldogs, EF 2015

Sadly just saw the pieces you wanted to. Was in our best early when alot of the team were absent. Love supporters who look for the errors to suite their bias. A number of our upper tier burn the ball consistently with no calls for their head.

Guess every team needs a whipping boy.

Not a whippy boy but a player that has choked a lot in the 2015 season. Lets see how he handles the heat in W1. I will let him go for now, until he plays on Saturday.

Did I hear correctly that Rowe (or maybe it was Dillon) was saying Mackay was a "MUST" to come back in?

The more I look at it the more I just see them bringing MacKay in for Lyons as the only unforced change, was set up last week when he was talked up to be playing the most 'AFL like' footy in the SANFL. He'll probably come in and they'll be tossing up who to start as Sub him or Atkins (Youth Vs Experience on big stage)

Whilst all the focus is on Stringer, getting the match-ups right on Dickson & Crameri are very important neither are natural opponents for our defenders built strong & around that 185-190cm height, Crameri pushed up the ground dragging his opponent with him leaving heaps of space for Stringer inside 50 earlier in the year not to mention I still have nightmares about Dickson kicking a bag of goals against us. The main reason I wanted Cheney in was to play on Dickson & only on Stringer as a last resort if Talia/Hartigan wasn't working out, Brown kept him quiet earlier in the year but would still prefer him to play on the Dahlhaus/smaller fwd mid type.

Also not letting elder Bob Murphy off the lead to run around free as a dog (pun intended) off half back will help our effort a lot more than last time. Need to lock him down.

Need Jacobs to hit it to our players and avoid being pickpocketed like on the weekend & Round 4, will back our midfield in over theirs this time around, Bont is a freak for them but still don't feel he does as much damage as he should when he has ball in hand, we'll just back one of ours against him I feel, hope it just doesn't backfire.

The more I look at it the more I just see them bringing MacKay in for Lyons as the only unforced change, was set up last week when he was talked up to be playing the most 'AFL like' footy in the SANFL. He'll probably come in and they'll be tossing up who to start as Sub him or Atkins (Youth Vs Experience on big stage)

Whilst all the focus is on Stringer, getting the match-ups right on Dickson & Crameri are very important neither are natural opponents for our defenders built strong & around that 185-190cm height, Crameri pushed up the ground dragging his opponent with him leaving heaps of space for Stringer inside 50 earlier in the year not to mention I still have nightmares about Dickson kicking a bag of goals against us. The main reason I wanted Cheney in was to play on Dickson & only on Stringer as a last resort if Talia/Hartigan wasn't working out, Brown kept him quiet earlier in the year but would still prefer him to play on the Dahlhaus/smaller fwd mid type.

Also not letting elder Bob Murphy off the lead to run around free as a dog (pun intended) off half back will help our effort a lot more than last time. Need to lock him down.

Need Jacobs to hit it to our players and avoid being pickpocketed like on the weekend & Round 4, will back our midfield in over theirs this time around, Bont is a freak for them but still don't feel he does as much damage as he should when he has ball in hand, we'll just back one of ours against him I feel, hope it just doesn't backfire.

Bob Murphy is in doubt with a groin issue and if he does play why couldn't we run with Brown as the lock.down.defender?

Brown usually gets the dangerous small forward however WB don't have a Cyril or Thomas type

If not Brown I would prefer Kerridge over DMac because Keg can not only lock down on Murphy but can also hurt him on the scoreboard

Bringing in a DMac and Wright now for a Atkins or Knight would lose me and would send the wrong message IMO

We have played our best footy in the later parts of the season with Wright and DMac out of the side and those players like Rat and Knight need to be rewarded

I'd back lever on stringer, and push a loose back to intercept marks

Stringer had no impacts against North when tarrent played loose and again mid season against Geelong and the pies!
He then got matched up one and one for the next 4 games and kicked 17

Lever is as good as anyone to get his fist to ball and compete

Set VB loose in defence or bring in cheany to play intercept

Bob Murphy is in doubt with a groin issue and if he does play why couldn't we run with Brown as the lock.down.defender?

Brown usually gets the dangerous small forward however WB don't have a Cyril or Thomas type

Murphy plays in defence though; no way Brown plays forward for us.

I reckon Knight is a great option to play on Murphy.

Brown takes Dalhaus when he's forward or whoever they have rotating forward (Hunter, Daniel).

The focus will be on plenty of other players but I reckon we need VB to have a great game in defence, putting his body on the line to block space and kill aerial contests, plus hitting his targets by foot and being brave by taking the game on up the middle.

Dogs absolutely carved us up in round 4 but we can perform a far higher level when we're on.

Can't wait!

These two were out 2 highest ball winners for the day. Not happening.

And they both burned the ball.

Love it when people quote total possessions as a means of how good someone played.

Henderson was beyond woeful. He's a massive soft c*ock that gets beaten by his opponent time and time again. He's useless. Give me someone that can actually defend and dispose of the ball efficiently any day of the week.

Ohh and if you want Crouch hand balling blindly out of a pack like he was always does, either to an opponent or one of our own players who's already under pressure, then be my ****ing guest mate!!

At least players like CEY and Thommo try to work their way through traffic to find a suitable target.

If people can't see just how average Crouch has been with his clearance work then they really need to open their ****ing eyes and smell the roses. Sure his work in and under has been good, but when he does get the ball he is using it badly, both by foot and by hand. I thought he was supposed to be good at handballing hey? He's only delivering on half of his job at hand, and the results are consistently poor.

I don't know about you guys, but going into finals with Crouch in the side is a huge concern of mine right now, especially against a side with as much outside and skillfull talent like the dogs.

If we are going to go into this game with an inside plodder, may as well go in with someone who can actually ****ing kick the thing properely (grigg).

Bringing in a DMac and Wright now for a Atkins or Knight would lose me and would send the wrong message IMO

We have played our best footy in the later parts of the season with Wright and DMac out of the side and those players like Rat and Knight need to be rewarded
Spot on. Unless they are really struggling for legs (in which case we should have rested them) we must give them the chance to play finals. They've earnt it and its critical for their development. THey are the future.

Run and carry destroys us between the arcs. It's been a weakness for yonks. Has been said many times, but we still can't get close to arresting the damage.

When opposition teams choose to run-and-carry, you have to revert back to ordinary one-on-one footy....not Zones. When you try to block up space between opponents with Zoning, rather than actually shut down individual opponents themselves....this plays right into the oppositions' hands. Countering this gameplan also means you need to have a greater degree of speed and fitness, cos you're chasing a lot more....rather than waiting for long kicks to come in. And it's this lack of pace that is a major issue for us - that's the core issue in my books.

Not sure we need Talia Lever and Hartigan against the Dogs.
Cheney for Hartigan

Grigg hasnt played Footy in a Fortnight. Wouldnt mind a big strong body with a good engine in finals.

Kerridge for Lyons.

Be careful what you say about Hendo... most of the to$$ers on the Adelaide crows facebook forum love him and think he's great. sure hendo had 29 touches the other day but geez how many times doesn't he turn it over? and how soft are his hands? he's a liability. Im not a fan at all.
I wouldn't go too crazy with changes this week. maybe 2 changes. Dickson, Stringer, Crameri and Redpath are the worries for me.. Dickson always kills us! I think we need to bring Cheney in.

Not sure we need Talia Lever and Hartigan against the Dogs.
Cheney for Hartigan

Grigg hasnt played Footy in a Fortnight. Wouldnt mind a big strong body with a good engine in finals.

Kerridge for Lyons.
Stringer, Redpath, Crameri and Dickson.. hell yes we need Hartigan.

The upper tier are that because they most often perform at higher levels. This, "well, Sloane was poor today, no ones calling for him to be dropped" type view is monumentally stupid. If Sloane was poor for months on end his head would be called for. VB's best these days is very average, he is a footballer who provides little now and that won't change going forward.
Spot on.

Preview Changes v Western Bulldogs, EF 2015