List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2016 part 2 - see Mod Warning p 281

Wells is an absolute star and the best player we've been linked to so far - would be stoked if we got him. The only problem seems to be hit fitness levels and stamina, as he played a ridiculously low % of games this year, most in the mid 70's as well as a 68%, 66% and a 54%.
He is 32. Will play 1 season only to be replaced 1 year later

One is looking at it from a talent scout perspective so his veiw may see it slightly different to us regular watchers perspective. Ie saw what he needed to know we have a player.

So you're saying footy recruiting is not like art where all opinions are equally valid? Interesting.

This footy club must be smoking the tail pipe from my car and watching Cheech and Chong movies.
Recruiting has beens from other clubs is not the answer moving forward.
We have a good talent pool on our injury list , that should be firing up on all cylinders next season , also a good talent pool from our reserves that can be rookie drafted.
Our last game against hawthorn is enough to convince we are on the march to finals next season
Providing we don't sustain a long injury list
Save the war chest and push for a youth policy , if they decide to get wheel chair bound recruits
Then aim for Jay Shultz.
Personally I would keep Witts and hold Cloke till contract expiry, surely Cloke can re invigorate himself with the Club for next Season .

Get off the Grass pie/admin
The most sensible words spoken on this thread to date

Maybe the trade chips are being used for something much greater. The veterans we have been linked to save our use and potentially fill a need getting some experience into the team next year.

Maybe NDS plays the role that Bucks wanted Pendles to play this year. Pendles just too important not to be in the engine room. No doubt NDS has the skill and a 1 year deal will help while Scharenberg gets going again.

The club is bereft of leaders and full of young kids. We are losing a lot of players this year and not all of what we bring into the club need to be superstars. We need some experience and depth. Better to get some of these guys than load up with more 18 year olds.

The list is very young, and now with Cloke, Toovey, Swan, Caff all gone, it will be even younger. Witts will net us a reasonably good draft pick. What do you all suggest we have as a backup? Maric costs us nothing and may only be there for a year. It was written in an article that the pies were looking robust him in a playing/coaching role as it did with Hudson. Makes sense, although I would have preferred Munson. However, from all reports, Maric seems to have the qualities of a coach which is why the Tigers want to keep him in that capacity. So saves the club some $ to spend elsewhere on the department, and an experienced backup for injury.

Would have preferred Mayne on a 3 year deal, but obviously we needed to trump North.

I'd be shocked if we landed all veterans that we have been linked to, but the fact is we need some experienced players.

I'd stay away from this guy, give him a real wide berth.

(Skip to 2:03 for the reference)

I'd love to hear why? I can't see that he offers anything, and certainly not 500k a season?!?
I agree, the reported 500k over 4yrs is well and truly over the top for me. I'm hoping that's not accurate, so putting that aside.....

With Cloke out the door, the current key forwards on our list are Moore, White, Cox and Gault (who I expect to be delisted).

We have two options, don't bring in another key forward during the trade/ draft period OR bring in another key forward. Personally I think we desperately need another key forward on the list next year.

Unfortunately it looks like we don't have the trade currency to trade in any A grade forwards this year.

So the only real options are to draft the best available kid in the draft and/ or target the best available free agent. The best available kid is unlikely to have much impact next year, so we need the best available free agent and that is Mayne (or Vickery).

So long story short, given we need a KPF, I'm Ok with us targeting the best available KPF free agent. (as long as the $$ and contract length are OK)

A few people were askin about the Irish kid Rian O'neill that was meant to do a trial and could've filled a KP on the list. Last minute he turned it down. Copping a lot of shit for it coz it's a once in a lifetime opportunity!

As for the following:

Mayne- will fill the defensive forward role that Blair is currently playing. Better height and more strings to his bow. Fas, Elliot and the likes of present great fire power so the high pressure defensive role is a must. Goldsack could fill that role but injury prone.

Wells- Adds depth and pace. Great user. Experience!

Dal Santo- not sold but someone mentioned they heard he was not going to play seniors and just help develop kids.

Maric- Same as above but would have to if Grundy is injured. Great leadership and helps create a good culture.

These players add experience that will help the kids. They will be front loaded contracts that will allow money next year for a big fish. Our list is very good. I know we didn't make finals but we cannot be far off if we are knocking the likes of Cats, GWS, WC and nearly Hawks off.

I would be asking for next years picks for the likes of Cloke, Witts etc so we have some currency for this so called big fish!

I agree, the reported 500k over 4yrs is well and truly over the top for me. I'm hoping that's not accurate, so putting that aside.....

With Cloke out the door, the current key forwards on our list are Moore, White, Cox and Gault (who I expect to be delisted).

We have two options, don't bring in another key forward during the trade/ draft period OR bring in another key forward. Personally I think we desperately need another key forward on the list next year.

Unfortunately it looks like we don't have the trade currency to trade in any A grade forwards this year.

So the only real options are to draft the best available kid in the draft and/ or target the best available free agent. The best available kid is unlikely to have much impact next year, so we need the best available free agent and that is Mayne (or Vickery).

So long story short, given we need a KPF, I'm Ok with us targeting the best available KPF free agent. (as long as the $$ and contract length are OK)
That's great and all, but Mayne is not even close to being a KPF.

Are we linked to anyone good/under 30 yet?

Wells is a quality player mind, if his level wasn't to drop next season and he stayed fit he makes us a better team for sure.

But at 31/32, both those questions aren't easy to answer.

Mayne and Hoskin-Elliot

Are we trying to rort the FA compo system in reverse? Offer big contracts to Mayne and Wells (which their current teams won't match) to trigger decent compo for them for rebuilds. They then look after us on another deal. Ie: North drop their interest in RFA Brown or pay us overs for a Marley type?

This is really the great hope when money is factored in.

Paying that type of money must have a pay-off elsewhere or we're entering early Roman Empire craziness times.

This is how I would value the picks ups.

Wells = A+.. Amazing player with the class/speed we need and get him for free, injuries are a concern but meh easily best 22 and will help our issues getting the ball out of the defensive 50 safely

Mayne = C+.. Decent pick up, best 22, a little old though for a reported 4 years.

Maric = C.. Need a back up ruckman but.. That's what he is, nothing more than a back up ruck at the end of his career

Dal Santo = D.. He's very slow and would surely be a one and done.. Doesn't add much of a need as his disposal wasn't that great this year.. He's also very outside. Hopefully doesn't rob games from Maynard and Smith if we do pick him up.

It isn't 100% confirmed yet.

But anyway, if it does happen. How many seasons of good footy does he have left do you think?

Will be 32 before the season kicks off, has injury concerns. You could get two very solid years out of him, worth the punt imo. A majestic footballer in full flight.

Yeah, I suppose if you put it that way. Good point!

When you consider swan, Elliot and faz would be in the sub 120 mark it makes us look a lot better. Williams and Langdon were also pushing into the top 100-150 last year

That's great and all, but Mayne is not even close to being a KPF.

Spot on. Half forward flank size, skills are average at best, doesn't kick enough goals (59 in last 3 years), tackles well but surely that's not enough to grab him? Very happy to be proved wrong but to me he would add nothing. If there's no quality in the free agents we don't have to take one...
Reckon he (like most forwards at freo) eventually struggled pretty badly because of rossy lyons game style... will be interesting to see how he goes at the pies if he gets there. Reckon much more upside than most ppl think

Sounds like bucks is doing a voss.they recruited fev staker Buchanan and others and how did that work out.

When did Bucks take over list management? And in any case, a lot of the guys being mentioned are free agents and don't require us to give up picks. Nothing like what Brisbane did at all... We get some experience in, keep the young guys and add some more youngsters. Win, win, win!

Plus the forward set-up was pretty shit at Freo this year. I reckon Pav was a bit of a lame duck so Mayne might have got a lot more attention.

In our set-up he'd be part of the furniture. Which is why my main concern is price more than anything. But if the price is about triggering Freo compo for favours then it needs to be seen broadly/holistically.