List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
Briz is correct and you are wrong.

Before being rude and telling others to stick to their lanes maybe go get a licence and learn how to drive yourself first.;):cool:
Miss U GIF by giphystudios2021

What is the chat around Longmire?
Commentators on the ABC reckon one of the three interviewed will only be a senior assistant coach to Cox or Longmire ....
I don't think so .
No chance we're not that savy , devious .
That we’re offering Longmire $1m+ a season for 5+ seasons.

Aim being to either get Longmire or make the Swans match the offer and commit to him for so long that there’s no light at the end of the tunnel for Cox to take over the senior gig there. Thereby having him reconsider the WCE offer.

No indication on whether Longmire is seriously considering it or not, just that the offer has/will be made.

get both, offer 59 for both of them
No that's stupid would only take Prior as he offers us something
Dev offers nothing
Would rather go to the draft its just to deep there better talent than Dev later in this draft
Zac Johnson, Will Hayes would rather those two than Robertson

Not trying to pick at you necessarily, just counter-arguments for some of what youve said.
But I agree with the consensus on here that it has to be a mid first. Even listening to our coaches during the year, when we got beaten badly they always talked about the midfield contest letting us down.
This can be fixed by having some mids whose job is not to win clearances, but to not lose them. Every team has some of these types except us.
Kelly is a selfish player, Yeo is out #1 clearance winner, and Reid is young so accountability and defensive work rate isnt really there.
Classy outside players can come later, they are useless if we can’t win at the contest. Prime Gaff wouldn’t have got a touch for us the last couple of years.
Geelong is a strong counter-example to this.
Build a competitive midfield first then add some outside class or half back flair. We simply don’t have enough support for Harley and too many question marks around our midfield mix going forward. Back line is dicey too but there is some promising signs with Ginbey, Hough and maybe Maric and Hedwards. Ideally get a guy like Busslinger in before Gov hangs them up.

If we genuinely don’t rate the top midfield picks this year compared to next, why not trade pick 3 into next year? Would Tigers take it and gift us pick 1 next year for Sharp? Seems counterintuitive to delay bringing in talent but maybe we can bolster enough with trade ins and milk another year of decent footy from our veterans before making deeper changes next year.
We really cant push our picks back further, I doubt we even consider it tbh we want to get good faster as we saw with last year trying to bring this years 1st forward to get Curtin or Caddy.
More likely to bring our F1 into this year if I had to guess.
Or split 3 + 23 for 6 + 9 and trade one for an F1 and keep one this year along with 13?

Or just say ** ** it and throw everything at Chad then bring in the role players around him and Harley. Gotta show him some improvement and ease the load on him so he believes it’s worth staying long term.
I do think this idea of "support for Harley" is overblown. Hes not JHF, he doesnt need a "partner" right now, Yeo is still there and Hewett will join them next year in some capacity.
I hope we draft at least one gun mid and address some other needs, but the reality is unless they are a freak like Harley/Daicos/Ashcroft, an 18 year old is unlikely to give us a significant boost over the next couple of years. And we will see decreased output from veterans (Gov/Yeo) who have stood up well for us recently.
This output can be covered with the right role players and natural development. Our midfield wont have Trew, and shouldnt have Petch/Duggan/Ginbey, theyll hopefully be replaced by actual mids like Dev or Parfitt or something. Thats not minor.
So do we focus solely on the draft and build slowly but risk losing Harley or do we be more aggressive targeting some established 20-24 year olds and try and rise up the ladder while guys like Jake and Oscar are still in their prime? Maybe a mix of both but it’s a delicate balance with Tassie approaching.
Imo has to be a mix. We can recruit role players that are gettable(that just happen to be mostly mids this year) while picking up our future stars via the draft.

Good teams have 6-7 A-graders. We have 3 right now. If our 1st pick this year and next can be counted on then thats 5 for us. Just need 1-2 from other picks or even the 2026 draft and we are fine.
stallon will stick to his guns which is totally fine, and he highlights the important point that we have multiple areas of need.
Im sticking with it now partially because everybody is so against it :sweatsmile:
I do think its just as viable as going with a mid though

No that's stupid would only take Prior as he offers us something
Dev offers nothing
Would rather go to the draft its just to deep there better talent than Dev later in this draft
Zac Johnson, Will Hayes would rather those two than Robertson
Saying Dev offers nothing is just inaccurate.
He came equal 5th in the VFL BnF after playing only 13 out of 18 games, hes in his early 20s, and hes an inside mid who can play a defensive role.
A clear need position wise, and a clear need age wise. Cant just have teenagers and Yeo/Kelly in the middle

Reid and long are the only ones I’ve seen consistently in our team play on touch footy on the move with there hands. Brisbane were so clean yesterday in multiple chains Ashcroft and Neale created so much openings with slick hand passing. Can’t afford to be fumbling in tight these days I hope we prioritise midfielders with good movement and ability by hand

It’s why I love Murphy Reid (if the rumours aren’t true) he’s easily the best offensive mid in this draft imo and his hands and general footy IQ are impeccable. Defensive side of his game is a concern though.

Saying Dev offers nothing is just inaccurate.
He came equal 5th in the VFL BnF after playing only 13 out of 18 games, hes in his early 20s, and hes an inside mid who can play a defensive role.
A clear need position wise, and a clear need age wise. Cant just have teenagers and Yeo/Kelly in the middle
You have over rated Dev
He is a very poor user of the footy, who has no versatility to his game
He is a defensive mid and nothing else
One position players need to be very good at what they do to offer value
He doesn't have it

You have over rated Dev
He is a very poor user of the footy, who has no versatility to his game
He is a defensive mid and nothing else
This is quite literally one of our most urgent roles to fill. His job wouldnt be to kick the ball much, or to do other roles. Just plonk him at 70-80% CBAs and rotate Yeo/Reid/Kelly/Hewett/whoever else around him.
Most teams have someone to do this role, we have nobody.
Yes he may not be a great player but its a small step to fixing our midfield
One position players need to be very good at what they do to offer value
He doesn't have it
Hes never had a real go at AFL level in his role. Hes been at half forward most of the time or hes been the bench rotation.
Brisbane hardly have a weak midfield

We could do far worse for a throwaway pick in the 50s/60s

stallon will stick to his guns which is totally fine, and he highlights the important point that we have multiple areas of need.

But I agree with the consensus on here that it has to be a mid first. Even listening to our coaches during the year, when we got beaten badly they always talked about the midfield contest letting us down. Classy outside players can come later, they are useless if we can’t win at the contest. Prime Gaff wouldn’t have got a touch for us the last couple of years.

Build a competitive midfield first then add some outside class or half back flair. We simply don’t have enough support for Harley and too many question marks around our midfield mix going forward. Back line is dicey too but there is some promising signs with Ginbey, Hough and maybe Maric and Hedwards. Ideally get a guy like Busslinger in before Gov hangs them up.

If we genuinely don’t rate the top midfield picks this year compared to next, why not trade pick 3 into next year? Would Tigers take it and gift us pick 1 next year for Sharp? Seems counterintuitive to delay bringing in talent but maybe we can bolster enough with trade ins and milk another year of decent footy from our veterans before making deeper changes next year.

Or split 3 + 23 for 6 + 9 and trade one for an F1 and keep one this year along with 13?

Or just say ** ** it and throw everything at Chad then bring in the role players around him and Harley. Gotta show him some improvement and ease the load on him so he believes it’s worth staying long term.

I hope we draft at least one gun mid and address some other needs, but the reality is unless they are a freak like Harley/Daicos/Ashcroft, an 18 year old is unlikely to give us a significant boost over the next couple of years. And we will see decreased output from veterans (Gov/Yeo) who have stood up well for us recently.

So do we focus solely on the draft and build slowly but risk losing Harley or do we be more aggressive targeting some established 20-24 year olds and try and rise up the ladder while guys like Jake and Oscar are still in their prime? Maybe a mix of both but it’s a delicate balance with Tassie approaching.

The answer to all your questions is simple, how do we ensure Harley stays and signs an extension. Ie what scenario has the highest risk or greatest reward.

Kicking the draft can down the road might net you a better player but delays development of the group.

Provided we get Hawks F1, id be more interested in using our F1 and trying split it for one pick in this yrs and one in next year's drafts.

We could still end up with 2 mid first rounders in 2025 to throw at warner, but have anouth mid first rounders this year to along with 3 13 23.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Look I think Starcevich is a great player but he really gives us nothing we don't already have. Hough is the guy who can play smaller and with another couple of preseasons also taller than he is. Like Starcevich he's a decent kick but not line breaking or creative with it.

Starcevich is someone I wanted the club to draft when I was involved with footy but not in a professional capacity. I've seen him all the way through. He's a really good player but not what the club needs. TBH it's pretty much the only role on field we have covered since the club started of the rebuild.

TDK is average imo. Worth picking up as a free agent but not overpaying for.

Farrell is a good player and potentially useful but not spectacular.

Zach Reid needs to get his body right but if he does he would be a player of interest to me.

Also TBH McVee is good but not a huge upgrade on what the club has.

If the club is looking at defence we need 1 genuine future high level key defender and 2 elitely skilled quarterback types. You aren't looking for the complete single player in one as one highly skilled defender can be shut down, two, not so much. So you can pick them up a little cheaper in general but one needs to be able to kick 60 metres, still be very skilled and good defensively. The other you don't worry so much about defensive capabilities but offensively they need to have truly elite vision and be surgical with their kicking. You don't need Lewis Jetta here (some of his skill work from D50 is the best i've seen in the modern game) with the depth and penetration of the kick but the mid range kicks (30-40) are super important. They have to be able to perform them with the vision and penetration like Jetta could do over 50-60m and that player needs to be able to run and carry as well. Again because they have deficiencies they are slightly cheaper players to draft.

Make no mistake however most clubs recognise this as the way forward so when I say cheaper I no longer mean pick up your half backs and outside players with picks in the 30's. It just means depending on the draft and number of those types they are available in that next grouping back. If one is truly elite as a junior then i'd have no issue spending a top 3 pick on one, but generally they tend to go between pick 7-20.

Farrell covers the first QB type and I think Liam Ryan could do the other role.

My rankings are

1. James Peatling
2. Angus Sheldrick
3. Riley Garcia
4. Jaxon Prior

5. Greg Clark on a wing

6. Dev Robertson
7. Jack Carroll

8. Zac Langdon shooting at goal from 50 out

9. Liam Baker
10. Jack Graham

I know it’s easy to latch onto the media’s convienient and simple take that Baker and Graham are waiting to see if we get McQualter as coach before agreeing to come to us but I think it’s also reasonable to think that they just want to have a chat with whoever the new coach is. They can then see if they’re even still wanted and if so, what the plan would be for them and the rest of their career.

Regardless of your view on whether we should want them or need them, I think it’s pretty fair that they wait.

On the same token, it would be silly for Garcia, Carroll etc to request a trade to us without knowing the coach’s plan for them but I guess it’s not as sexy of a news story as the links between the Tigers players and McQualter.

Why not both?
More a list space thing mate...I want to lots of picks in this years draft.

I'd like him for the defensive mid role, he's just got better skills (than Dev) and a quick footy brain.
He might be short but he's a tough hombre.

* I think he's the best option in terms or relative cost vs return.

More a list space thing mate...I want to lots of picks in this years draft.

I'd like him for the defensive mid role, he's just got better skills (than Dev) and a quick footy brain.
He might be short but he's a tough hombre.

* I think he's the best option in terms or relative cost vs return.
How many picks do you want/think we should use?
If we delist Rotham, LEdwards and Witho, then trade out Barrass and Darling, we have 8 list spots. Trade in 2 mids and use 6 picks. I dont think we should go too young and the club thinks so too with all these early-mid 20s guys we have been inquiring about

I know it’s easy to latch onto the media’s convienient and simple take that Baker and Graham are waiting to see if we get McQualter as coach before agreeing to come to us but I think it’s also reasonable to think that they just want to have a chat with whoever the new coach is. They can then see if they’re even still wanted and if so, what the plan would be for them and the rest of their career.

Regardless of your view on whether we should want them or need them, I think it’s pretty fair that they wait…
Absolutely. It's ridiculous chat to suggest they only want to come if mcqualter gets the gig. The only people who are in a rush are the impatient punters, not the players, the window isn't even open yet.

They wouldn't be doing their due diligence if they didn't wait to chat to the new coach and see how he see's them fitting into his side. Their managers wouldn't be doing their jobs if they didn't tell them to hold fire on selecting a club.

That we’re offering Longmire $1m+ a season for 5+ seasons.

Aim being to either get Longmire or make the Swans match the offer and commit to him for so long that there’s no light at the end of the tunnel for Cox to take over the senior gig there. Thereby having him reconsider the WCE offer.

No indication on whether Longmire is seriously considering it or not, just that the offer has/will be made.

Chess Board Loop GIF by Xbox

I like it a lot!

Happy Got You GIF by Bounce

With big Joe maybe retiring Brisbane should be the team looking at darling especially with hipwood supposedly having the dreaded OP .

Could lose both their tall forwards for next season in their window.

I'm sure darling fully paid for 1 year and Dev cash off their books would be worth a fair bit to them .
Good post. Darling going to the best team of the last 4 years rather than the shittiest. Better weather and the chance of a flag. Only issue would be salary cap and they can’t afford to send good picks back for us to cover the salary.

Absolutely. It's ridiculous chat to suggest they only want to come if mcqualter gets the gig. The only people who are in a rush are the impatient punters, not the players, the window isn't even open yet.

They wouldn't be doing their due diligence if they didn't wait to chat to the new coach and see how he see's them fitting into his side. Their managers wouldn't be doing their jobs if they didn't tell them to hold fire on selecting a club.

Agreed.

Plus the incoming coach should sign off on incoming trades. It would be unprofessional to trade in a role player who the new coach may not rate or need for their game plan.

Good post. Darling going to the best team of the last 4 years rather than the shittiest. Better weather and the chance of a flag. Only issue would be salary cap and they can’t afford to send good picks back for us to cover the salary.

Dev and Tunstill would be what we would be looking for.

Two average salaries off their cap and we pay some of his first year.

CHARLIE BANFIELD

14 disposals, 6 marks, 3 goals

A father-son prospect for West Coast as the son of two-time Eagles premiership player Drew, the 188cm forward showed some great signs. He kicked three goals during a big second half, which also included a nice contested mark in the fourth quarter.

Charlie was the only one of ours to get a write up. Walley probably deserved one

Luke Urquhart says hi then. Is as good in tight and by hand as nearly anyone in the draft, just can’t kick.
He seemed like he'd raced up the draft order at one stage but haven't heard much about him since . What do you think his draft range would be? Seems a definite upgrade on trew

On SM-S921B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Reading through the thread recently I like how people are like 'let's get a role player from this team, or a role player from that team'..can we get a god damn competently great player first?

We're in this position to begin with because 90% of our team are role players and not very good ones

Thats what our top picks at the draft are for.

Trading role players in and out isnt addressing the aquisition of elite players. So a totally different discussion.

Unless we trade for a Warner or Bilton and give up our top picks. Warner's value certainly didnt go up after the GF at least.