List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

I'm very worried about the go-home factor with Hunt. Brighton Grammar, Sandringham Dragons.... that means that he doesn't ever want to leave Melbourne according to some around here

In all seriousness though, getting non-wa talent to move across is a big win for the club (he's no superstar, but definitely a handy AFL player). Was Redden the last one we managed to get? Hopefully it shows more players that there is opportunity (inside and outside of footy) at the biggest club in the country.

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Must have missed that - when did Hunt play for the Sandringham Dragons? I think you will find it is the Sandringham Zebras which is not at all the old TAC or current NAB cup, it is a much lower level. He was an anomaly in his draft year for not having played at that level.

There is a big difference with a mature 27 year old versus a pimply faced 18 year old being able to cope with the thought of leaving mummy and daddy.

There have been a range of kids not wanting to be drafted interstate. JHF was probably always wanting to stay home but Norf needed to have a win and not let the No 1 pick go to someone else (100% should have been Pies with Daicos at 1, Dogs with Darcy at 2 then the live pick - this club has a habit of forever learning by mistake). The talent was good in 2021 so should have done the deal with the Crows and had the extra draft picks. That is not hindsight, that was stated by myself and the vast majority of football supporters.

Why did the Suns take Rankine who was always a flight risk instead of not pairing Rozee with his best mate in Lukosius?And now he is the latest Sun to want out.

Chad Wingard told GWS he would leave at the first opportunity so he slid to Port. With some maturity, he decided relocation as being OK. Good decision by GWS to let him go.

As you say, Redden and now Hunt are good additions.

This is why it's gone wrong:

Would not touch, Gold Coast can have him and good luck to them dealing with his baggage.
How much of that is being at a basket case like North though? It’s not a good look but it’ll bring his price right down. Would the Amon compo get it done? Swapping Willie for Thomas wouldn’t be a bad trade at all

How many of their other talent chucked a wobbly and were idiots on social media, though? Being in a bad side is not an excuse to be a knob. If Brady Hough did similar I'd be demanding for Brady F***-off.

Do you have link to his outburst or a screenshot?

Somewhere in this thread.

Not that i think its any chance, but for the right price you'd definitely have a crack at Thomas. The guy oozes talent and his huge crime is being a bit immature as a 21 year old. His 2nd half of 2021 was looking like one of the best young talents in the league. If you can get that on the cheap side be nuts not to consider it

I got the feeling TT was a bit of a party boy, happy to live the life and skate by doing just enough.
Not what we need (for the cost anyway)

Dunno but that’s potentially two of their most talented players wanting out within 24 hours. They’ve got some serious issues. These are opportunities that we at least need to be having a look at.

He’s not a reject from another club, he’s one of their key players with a bit of an attitude problem that could be ironed out with a change of scenery.

If, and only if, it was for the Amon compo I’d have a look. The chances of you finding anyone like him, talent wise, at that pick is quite low. It’d be a gamble but these sorts of things can shorten the rebuild.

We need to find other avenues of acquiring top talent because we’re not going to get any favours in free agency (not that we should be looking here at this stage of the rebuild) and the quality players wanting to come here by trade are non existent

So do I and a brief read of the Melbourne board solidified my opinion haha.

I agree with your assessment, but at risk of going around in circles, I don't think he warranted 3-years. We have been restrained by a lack of cap flexibility in the past few years due to poor list management, and if the past few trade periods have shown us anything, it's that cap flexibility and list spots are becoming increasingly more valuable (to point where they are exchangable for good picks). It's not hard to imagine this current Eagles management being slow to recognising this changing trend in the footballing landscape as well.
If you're trying to get someone to move interstate, a 2 year deal won't cut it in most instances. He couldve stayed in Melbourne or gone to another Victorian club.

I'm talking about players who get regular games.

Anyone in here seen Elijah Hewett play for Swans league side?
Yeah, I have a few weeks back at the end of August. I actually spent most of the game specifically watching him and what he did off the ball. This was my post from the day after:

Was at the game (although I missed the 4th quarter which is when he kicked the goal because it was raining and the mrs wanted to leave).
He was fairly average in the first 3 quarters. Poor decision making with the ball in hand (slow to dispose of the ball and threw a couple of teammates under the bus with dinky, floaty disposals.) I think one was towards the end of the 2nd quarter and he did a loopy little kick to a teammate who got absolutely crunched. Without the ball he seemed to just jog around not doing much, didn't seem to work too hard at offering teammates outlet options, just sort of jogged up and down the middle of the ground.
He did have one good kick which was part of a scoring chain, hit the leading forward right on the chest with a long kick from the wing. He does seem to have a mature body, didn't look out of place in that respect considering he was playing with full grown men.
He started in the middle everytime he was on the ground but then seemed to revert to an outside seagull kind of game (not sure if that was just the role he was given on the day or not), very little interest in tackling or going in and under to get the ball.
Actually reminded me a fair bit of Masten to be honest.
I wouldn't be drafting him inside the top 10, mid-late first rounder imo.

Interesting what happens to Rotham now. As a defender he hasn’t looked good since early 2021 and his lockdown work is his weakest part of his game. Would be nice to try him Wing but I suspect a couple kids will get that plus the seniors that might rotate through there to accommodate the kid in the midfield

Adelaide tried to poach rotham last year . I wonder if we could get a sneaky upgrade or future pick

Getting hunt will allow JJ ,hough,chesser,witherden and yeo to all play other roles
Very astute pick up

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app
This is a good point that many are overlooking. They had started playing Hough on a wing in second half of the year- having hunt means he can stay there are starting building toward on-ball minutes if he progresses.

A huge backwards step for Tarryn Thomas this year. Any club would be mad not to have a little look but North hold the cards as he is contracted.

I reckon he would have been one of the first targets for Clarkson to sit down with and see if he can get his career back on track but obviously, the connotations there take on an entirely different meaning now.

I'd absolutely do 26-39 for Thomas.

Yeah it's a risk, but there's arguably more chance of him staying straight and knuckling down in a new club environment than that draft pick has of coming good.

That being said, he's hardly the Superstar he's being talked up as. Not too dissimilar to Kelly I reckon. 4th string mid who would probably excel in a better team with some support and.... haha! So not us.

I'd absolutely do 26-38 for Thomas.

Yeah it's a risk, but there's arguably more chance of him staying straight and knuckling down in a new club environment than that draft pick has of coming good.

That being said, he's hardly the Superstar he's being talked up as. Not too dissimilar to Kelly I reckon. 4th string mid who would probably excel in a better team with some support and.... haha! So not us.

There’s no chance North move him whilst contracted for some 2nd / 3rd round picks imo, I’d do 20 and a future 3rd for him if so, he has genuine talent