List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

Hard to believe he wouldn't have contributed more than Gardys 6 touches and 3 hitouts, or Gaspars 4 touches and 1 mark

Exacta-mundo.

The game was different back then too. A handful of efforts from a player of Fido's calibre could have produced 2-3 goals at minimal cost/risk of him doing SFA else in a pocket all day.

Tsatas is sliding for a very good reason; he's a turnover merchant

I watched his "highlights" and damn near half of his kicks or more went to the opposition

Guy can find the ball on the outside, sure. Which is another yellow flag because guys that can't win their own football may not transition to AFL as well as someone who does.

But, but, but when he fills out, he will be the big bodied mid we are looking for!

With our strength and conditioning team, would you back them to produce a midfield bull and stack the muscle on him, given their track record? I wouldn't

I have reservations on Ginbey, but I would prefer him to Tsatas. Which is saying something

Seeing a lot of bombers fans who are confident they will take Phillipou over Tsatas

I watched his "highlights" and damn near half of his kicks or more went to the opposition

Guy can find the ball on the outside, sure. Which is another yellow flag because guys that can't win their own football may not transition to AFL as well as someone who does.

But, but, but when he fills out, he will be the big bodied mid we are looking for!

With our strength and conditioning team, would you back them to produce a midfield bull and stack the muscle on him, given their track record? I wouldn't

I have reservations on Ginbey, but I would prefer him to Tsatas. Which is saying something
Maybe they chose the highlights badly.
I watched the Vic Metro v Vic Country final and thought he swung the game in the 3rd qtr. Picked up 30 disposals and 5 clearances in his first champs game for the year after injury. He provided some crucial run in a game that was pretty tight until then.
There has also been some games for Oakleigh were he has dominated. Against the eventual premiers Sandringham he had 38 possessions and 13 I50's and was BOG.
I'd be stoked to get him at 9. Would make me feel better about trading back from 2. Eagles are lacking players who can find the ball. Gaff has dropped off and Sheed has been patchy. We don't have a lot of high possession run and spread players.

Don't think he'll be an inside bull but could become ok inside like a Macrae ot Josh Kelly

Perfectly understandable for a player who’d never played in a grand final in his ten year career to say he was fit to play.

And perfectly understandable for the medicos to overrule him in the interests of the team.

Unless it's Shuey. Then it's all well yes you've torn one hammy but you have another, what's the worse that could happen?

This would seriously upset the apple cart at the end R1 beginning R2. I will not use any assumptions for pick slides due to bid matches as it gets too complicated. The effects on the maths for the points is minor - it tells the story.

Example - Pies bid at 16 knowing it could be good for their picks at 25 and 27. GWS have 18 and 19 so would need to sell both. The buyers who will give maximum points are those with later picks.

Who are the likely buyers

Fremantle - could offer 30, 43, 44 and Norf's future priority R2 which is valued at say 20
View attachment 1556131

Hawthorn - who hold 24, 41, 48, 50, 52, and 65 could off all of most of those for 18 and 19
View attachment 1556134

So Fremantle get in 2 picks before our 20 and 26 and sweep up the local talent. I could see them doing it if Allan was still there. They would also be able to take a first rounder at 18 and then wait for the market to come to them at 19 and possibly snag a future R1

GWS could also set up individual deals with a number of clubs, some could also include a commitment to a trade back later (albeit it with different picks).

None of the above would be of any benefit to West Coast unless we were buying. If we see the right 2 targets there at 18 or 19 and our own pick 20, I would be happy to jump in at 18 offering 26 and Port's future R3. I'd even look at our own F3 provided GWS threw in pick 57

Fremantle can’t trade that future second tied to North as they have already traded out there future first & there future second. They’d somehow have to get another future second from somewhere else.

Yep, doesn't seem like much. But to take a ruckman that early in the draft you'd want one that is at least 204cm, rather use our late picks to take either a Knobel or Broadbent is my point.

Plenty of ruckman taken recently are pretty tall;
  • Reeves 211cm
  • Mirkov 210cm
  • Draper 205cm
  • Conway 205cm
  • Colina 213cm
  • McAndrew 209cm
  • Smith 206cm
  • Ryan 206cm

Seems like a bit of trend with clubs of late, as mids are going from 180cm to 190cm+ so are the rucks clubs are looking at are taller too. The above are all recent (past 4 years) that clubs are picking up.

The guys that are sub 203cm either have really big frames like Darcy, where they can use their body to advantage or have exceptional leaps to make up for the height deficit.
Personally, I'm not so sure. He might have a good wing span to compensate?

Also, his contested marking looks very good, I think this outweighs a small deficit in height. It's not like Sandilands vs Grigg, he'll still split most contests at worst.
He's a flat 3 sec 20 meter and has very good endurance plus a ripper mark. All at 202cm

Of those Rucks you've listed, Reeves and Draper are pretty good. The rest are meh at this stage although still young.

I think he looks pretty good but it's just an armchair opinion :)

Perfectly understandable for a player who’d never played in a grand final in his ten year career to say he was fit to play.

And perfectly understandable for the medicos to overrule him in the interests of the team.
He must be one of our most unlucky players for timing. Started just after 94 and his career finished just as we for back to the pinnacle.

From what the draft watchers on here say about him - I don't want him at all. Bad disposal and can't win his own ball. We had Patrick Naish off the rookiee list with the same attributes!

One understated play that I heard on the HS podcast is if somebody bids on that Harry Rowsten bloke (GWS acacdemy) before their first pick of the second round. Would mean the GWS pick is eaten up and we have the first pick on the second day - which would be golden as its worth alot, as clubs come calling bigtime.

So in short, this Harry Rowsten bloke is a jet and jump on the bandwagon for a bid inside 20. I'm looking at you Swans.
Hoping so, but feel he's not quite good enough.

What order would you want them in mate?

Hopeful of a running back later on with a 5th?

Also, his contested marking looks very good, I think this outweighs a small deficit in height. It's not like Sandilands vs Grigg, he'll still split most contests at worst.
He's a flat 3 sec 20 meter and has very good endurance plus a ripper mark. All at 202cm

Of those Rucks you've listed, Reeves and Draper are pretty good. The rest are meh at this stage although still young.

George first pre injury, but now Konstanty. He's come from a soccer background and a little later to footy, but developed really nicely. He's got an almost complete game. Then George, as he has real talent that will make him a very good forward. Clarke isn't quite as good, but still has some nice qualities and pressure that he should have a decent small fwd career.

Running half back later, yes please if Kaleb Smith was still there. The other who I had in my ratings at 30 odd is Callum Verrall (Eastern Ranges), seems to be getting no love at all from any draft watchers. I think he's a great option and possible steal later in the draft. He's big bodied, but provides really good run and drive, good kick, overhead and one on one. Maybe I was smoking crack, but literally haven't seen him mentioned really on any draft boards. Truth be told, we really shouldn't have to - Rotham should be it. I just think it got coached out of him, he's quick and has a good kick. Frustrating. Foley is the other, wish one of them would just take the opportunity!

Lots to love about Barnett, he's exceptional around the ground and his running. His tap work was just ok for mine. I'd just like to wait until later in the draft or target Mitchell Edwards next year, already 205cm at 17 and has a pretty complete game.

George first pre injury, but now Konstanty. He's come from a soccer background and a little later to footy, but developed really nicely. He's got an almost complete game. Then George, as he has real talent that will make him a very good forward. Clarke isn't quite as good, but still has some nice qualities and pressure that he should have a decent small fwd career.

Lots to love about Barnett, he's exceptional around the ground and his running. His tap work was just ok for mine. I'd just like to wait until later in the draft or target Mitchell Edwards next year, already 205cm at 17 and has a pretty complete game.
You would think at this stage that Mitch Edwards will go first round next year although 12 months is a long time in player development.

Guess my point is that we currently only hold one 1st rounder for next year and do we blow that on a ruck? Even if we ended up with 2 first rounders is he going to be in the right position for those picks.

If Barnett is still there around pick 20 maybe we grab him as its always tough to position yourself perfectly in a draft to grab a particular player. If we miss Barnett then hopefully Edwards falls for us next year.

I'm always waiting for someone to mention reach/wingspan when it comes to ruckman. It's always just height mentioned. I never see reach mentioned in stats at drafts. Height is relevant to a degree but not if a smaller ruckman has a better reach.

And i really wanted Ned Reeves back when he was an option. 100% goal kicking accuracy at testing and super tall. We couldve got him for next to nothing.

Who knows, but with NAB pulling the pin on sponsoring the draft there's a very real possibility that next years will be a Zooper-draft...
My guess is it will be sponsored by Flight Center, so all the Vic Metro bedwetters can get home on the cheap.

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hewett has explosiveness many others don't posess. He's also a genuine midfielder.

He was the brightest prospect 12 months ago, clearly 2022 hasn't gone his way entirely but him being exposed to league level footy and playing against men rather than beating up on Colts level isn't a small thing.

Can't go wrong with him I reckon. Bit of FIGJAM is fine. Darling had question marks around him pre draft yet the minute he got into an AFL system he became about the biggest vanilla soy sipping vegan white bread footballer you can get.
Hewett has way more off-field issues than just having a bit of FIGJAM. Very poor character.

At worse Barnett is a ruck / forward. We need one of those to complement Oscar.

If we throw the cash at English in one or two years Barnett would be a nice ruck partner.

Hewett has way more off-field issues than just having a bit of FIGJAM. Very poor character.

If that is the case you can scratch the Eagles. The melts will be hard I can see it.

Our club doesnt draft bad boys. Too afraid the Vic media and AFL House will grab the pitch forks again.

Sounds Richmond bound then at what, pick 30?

Pies at 16/17 maybe? Clubs that pick footballers first and forget about the rest.

In regards to Hewett..........

Has he been charged with something?

Did he break the law?

Are charges incoming?

Will it prevent him from playing football?

Will a football environment and good role models be an advantage to the kid?

Can he turn his life around or should we just send him to jail now?

There seems to be so many people running around atm saying "oh i heard what he did and it's bad, he has so many issues, oh we can't take him ...............but i can't say what he did'

If someone actually knows then just say it, no more posting links to some vague thread somewhere else or speaking in cryptic riddles.

The posturing on this board sometimes is enough to make someone want to commit hari-kari.

In regards to Hewett..........

Has he been charged with something?

Did he break the law?

Are charges incoming?

Will it prevent him from playing football?

Will a football environment and good role models be an advantage to the kid?

Can he turn his life around or should we just send him to jail now?

There seems to be so many people running around atm saying "oh i heard what he did and it's bad, he has so many issues, oh we can't take him ...............but i can't say what he did'

If someone actually knows then just say it, no more posting links to some vague thread somewhere else or speaking in cryptic riddles.

The posturing on this board sometimes is enough to make someone want to commit hari-kari.

He likes the new club song.