List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion - 2022 Off Season Edition

Contract status of all players now fully updated

With GWS reportedly being reluctant to trade their first pick tonight (after a night of applying aloe Vera cream to a sensitive body part), clubs may come calling for our pick with all but one of Ryan, Cowan, Barnett, George and Clarke still available and in demand.

There’s talk of Adelaide putting Norths F2 on the table in pursuit of Barnett. I would want more than a straight swap. They have Collingwood’s F3 but that’s in the 50 range. They also still hold their own F2 which we could then send back our own F3, Ports F2 at a pinch

So 23 and our F3 for Norths and Adelaide’s F2 if they’re really keen. Would need us trying to use Ports F3 to trade back in to the late 30’s/early 40’s range to use a 4th pick

Melbourne are also keen on George so if he gets past GWS then go after their and Freo’s F2 picks to move from 38 to 23. Or Melbournes F1 and 38 for 23 and our F3

Tell Essendon we’ll bid on Davey or trade 23 for 25 if they send us their F3

There’s other options but thanks to Sydney we might get some attractive offers for our pick

Still get Burgiel with 29 and jump back latish to get someone like Smith, Lemmey, Broadbent, Gilbey or Hagan whilst boosting our 2023 draft hand
Id very much like Barnett at 23. A real risk reward choice but could pay off big time.
GWS might be a chance to take him at 22 as Himmelberg has gone to defence and their Rucks are patchy.

If not Jakob Ryan is a fav of mine. Seems pointless to get an extra 3rd rounder for a slide when there's still 3-4 legit players available.
Jed Hagan is another im hoping for at 29. Massive sleeper of this draft.

Id very much like Barnett at 23. A real risk reward choice but could pay off big time.
GWS might be a chance to take him at 22 as Himmelberg has gone to defence and their Rucks are patchy.

If not Jakob Ryan is a fav of mine. Seems pointless to get an extra 3rd rounder for a slide when there's still 3-4 legit players available.
I’m pleasantly surprised by how many good options we have in front of us still

There’s good options at each pick if we use them plus scope to manufacture a beneficial trade as an alternative

Its literally 2deg on average all winter colder than Melbourne.

You really think you can tell the difference between 12 and 14 deg whilst playing a game of AFL?!
Yeah but Melbourne is an actual city with things to do and stadiums that have great protection from the elements that allow proper footy to be played. Whatever they build in tassie will be a wind blown hellscape unless the give it a roof.

Plenty of good options, and I'm with you that I'd prefer we take pick 24 (after we bid on Davey), but also agree with Keys that we would be mad not to listen to offers.

After yesterday our glaring needs have changed to the following:

KPF
Small Forward
Ruck

At 23 the best ruck is quite possibly available - but if not or we don't rate him that much better than some others then they will be available either very late or rookie
Small forwards will be available at 29 (unlikely Clarke, but some other options)
KPF's 23 is a reach. 29 may well be a reach for many/most of them. Likely a pick around the mid-30's will get Lemmey probably Keeler also, and there are others like Scully who may be RD at best.

Basically, unless there is someone who we rate as too good to pass up then trading down isn't all that bad as the talent is once again even (and guys like Hayes, J Ryan, Cowan, Hustwaite are not filling massive needs for us).

Yeah but Melbourne is an actual city with things to do and stadiums that have great protection from the elements that allow proper footy to be played. Whatever they build in tassie will be a wind blown hellscape unless the give it a roof.

It's the first part that is the issue. Hobart, whilst nice for a visit, is very, very quiet.

Plus the opportunities outside of footy will be more limited (due to the size and population of the state).

My theory based on nothing at all:

If we had taken Mackenzie, Clark or even Tsatas with our first pick we would have taken a flyer on Ed Allan at 14

But because we took Ginbey - a backman turned midfielder (classic WC) - we opted for a safer, traditional mid in Hewett over Allan, a bigger risk

*Hobart.

Launceston isn't windy at all.

I chortle at the WC media saying our strategy "paid" off.

Unless we had planned on taking Ginbey at 2/3 - then we won't know whether it has paid off.

If Ginbey/Hewett is better than say Wardlaw - then sure - but it's going to be a number of years before we can say it "pays off"

Just like Chinese State Media, the leadership always nails it!

I think we will definitely have some of our preferred selections available at both of our picks tonight - the bids have seen to that. I even think some players we would have been happy taking with our 4th pick will still be on the board in the mid-30s or beyond. Ideally they'd be available at our last pick, wherever it falls - but I hope we're working the phones offering hypothetical trades of future picks in case we decide to pull the trigger and grab someone we like with a 5th pick.

View attachment 1563880
Here are what I believe are the 2023 picks that each club is now holding.
So its really only GCS and us who hold full draft hands. We need to somehow turn our extra picks into a second R1 selection.
GCS would be the most likely to trade their R1 selection due to their academy selections but they are already stocked up with picks

The kids getting actual midfield minutes is important. The idea of Culley. Hewett, Ginbey lining up against Dunkley, Neale and McLugggage does not fill me with joy though.

The majority of the minutes will/should still be taken up by Yeo. Shuey, Sheed, Kelly. Importantly probably two of them plus a kid.

Importantly we now have options. We don't have to flog the older guys with all their minutes in the middle, we can play them forward/back for periods and pro-long their legs.
Y'all fergittin' a supa fit Nicnat !!