Who do you want to get a contract?

• Coby Burgiel

• Sandy Brock

• Neither

Results are only viewable after voting.

Quick links

List Spots Available
  • One on either main OR rookie list to be filled as a SSP selection following train on assessments.
  • Current train on players -
    - Sandy Brock

SSP signing dates
  • Monday, November 25, 2024 – Thursday, December 19, 2024
  • Monday, January 13, 2025 – Friday, February 21, 2025

Players out of Contract (16) - 2025
  • Tim Kelly (26/7/94) - Signed a 6 year contract (2020-25) in October 2019
  • Dom Sheed (10/4/95) - Signed a 4 year extension (2022-25) in April 2021*
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jeremy McGovern (15/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Jack Hutchinson (10/11/01) - Automatic 18 month contract (2024-25) when drafted in May 2024
  • (R) Tyrell Dewar (27/3/04) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in June 2024
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

I did say if we want to keep him.
I agree with you somewhat, I've already said 7 years is too much. It's a big call to let your captain and a quality tall forward just leave though so I don't think it's a black and white situation.
Considering the current contract climate 3 years will get laughed at, no chance he signs on for that anywhere.
5 years is probably the sweet spot but I have a feeling we'll probably have to go to 7 to keep him. I guess we could heavily front end the contract as much as we're able to, so it's not as big a deal if he breaks down towards the end of his career

Pity we can't go back to contracts where you get a retainer and then you get x amount per games played. Not the players fault of course but clubs need to fight back against these Managers and players demanding these big contracts and not having to do much to get them.

Yeah I suppose we have to be realistic, someone will likely offer him a contract for 7 years so if we want to keep him that's likely what we'll have to do as well.

5 plus a trigger is what we should stick to.

Which is under what others will offer however you need to offer more to encourage anyone to move.

The Eagles do not shaft club captains. We just don't. So even if Oscar retired early due to injury he would still be looked after post retirement in some capacity.

FFS it's standard Colin Young tactics.

He's gone out, found interested clubs and gotten early but conditional contract offers for his player and then tries to leverage the media, fans and the player against the club to get the longest, highest paying deal he can where the player wants to stay.

Oscar is no moron (unlike a lot of players), is a club captain and needs to stand on his own two feet and not use his manager to back the club into a corner. If he allows McDougall and Young to orchestrate it then the club needs to call the bluff and if he wants to go he can go. If he allows his managers to orchestrate it and stays he needs to be stripped of the captaincy.

The club has to continue to focus on a team first policy or this rebuild won't work and it has to take a stand. By the time the club is ready to contend Allen will either be at the end of his career or at the very least falling away like Darling was the last couple of years but without the durability. It is the clubs area of most coverage in regards to young talent so IMO there is no better time/player for the club to make a stand over.

Off field has changed in all areas, youth has been extensively brought in, coaches have been mostly changed, now you make a stand about it being a new beginning and as a club you draw a line in the sand. Either you're part of the team and the future or you're not.

If the club allows this to play out the way Young & co like it to, it will have huge contract ramifications and negatives in the future. We did the right thing in letting Barrass walk, if Allen wants to go down the same path, let it. The worst case scenario is the tone is set, Allen leaves and the club gets tier 1 draft compensation in what is most likely a top 4 pick.

After dealing with all of these ****wit managers this year and knowing their tactics inside and out, the club needs to continue the team first policy it has adopted.

Warner Jr is another complication. Will Chad want his brother to come as well.
I would also think picking a player in the MSD might be awkward unless it is a local lad who wants a six month contract
Clarke will have to be a lot better this year.
yes, believe it will be a 2 player deal, don't come home with suspected homesickness and leave brother behind.
Corey is a similar player to Chesser, would have thought he might cost a F3rd or 4th round pick.

yes, believe it will be a 2 player deal, don't come home with suspected homesickness and leave brother behind.
Corey is a similar player to Chesser, would have thought he might cost a F3rd or 4th round pick.

His brother is not that great. To say to club to take his brother seems a bit of a stretch unless the club sees genuinely a role for him.get him for a year, the delist him just to get Warner?

It would be epic bastardry/wastage all around.

He’s very undersized for the modern game and has a poor aerobic profile, little to no chance he makes it as a ruck at AFL level. He’s aggressive and competes hard, holding his place as a KPF that can take F50 ruck contests is about as good as he can hope for but has J Williams and A Reid well ahead of him there not to mention the other KPFs.

Evans getting through as a rookie is increasingly unlikely. He’s made the 28 man AFL academy squad so will be right under everyone’s nose so that’s 3 picks then 3 more if we can squeeze our 2R on before a bid. The rookie list shouldn’t be an issue

We’ve got 3 FS/NGAs (hopefully after our first 3 picks) which is 5 main list spots we need assuming we and a player via SSP as a rookie and not main list. That’s before player trades and free agency. Hunt will be 30 at the end of next year I don’t see us delisting other players aside from those mentioned before him. Chesser isn’t getting a 2R or an early 3R if he has a bad year, he’ll just be delisted but I think he’s going to surprise everyone next year will a role that’s not out on the gimp wing running away from the ball.
agree, unless Livingstone can find a new position, KDEF in the mould of H Edwards he probably is the first out.
Forgot about Evans, you are 100% correct, good problem to have.
I guess it really comes down to what WC think of all our FS/NGAs and if they are better than another player.
But I can see WC drafting 3 top players like Rodriguez/Curtin/HH and then taking the 3 FS/NGAs which is 6 list spots if no Warner deal?
Going to be hard to do and get Warner x 2, which I believe they will get done, but draft 2 top players like Rodriguez and Curtin and Warner x 2 is probably doable with 3 FS/NGAs. 7 additions without chasing a decent ruck?
Hope your right about Chesser, which position do you see him playing?

He's gone out, found interested clubs and gotten early but conditional contract offers for his player and then tries to leverage the media, fans and the player against the club to get the longest, highest paying deal he can where the player wants to stay.

Oscar is no moron (unlike a lot of players), is a club captain and needs to stand on his own two feet and not use his manager to back the club into a corner. If he allows McDougall and Young to orchestrate it then the club needs to call the bluff and if he wants to go he can go. If he allows his managers to orchestrate it and stays he needs to be stripped of the captaincy.

The club has to continue to focus on a team first policy or this rebuild won't work and it has to take a stand. By the time the club is ready to contend Allen will either be at the end of his career or at the very least falling away like Darling was the last couple of years but without the durability. It is the clubs area of most coverage in regards to young talent so IMO there is no better time/player for the club to make a stand over.

Off field has changed in all areas, youth has been extensively brought in, coaches have been mostly changed, now you make a stand about it being a new beginning and as a club you draw a line in the sand. Either you're part of the team and the future or you're not.

If the club allows this to play out the way Young & co like it to, it will have huge contract ramifications and negatives in the future. We did the right thing in letting Barrass walk, if Allen wants to go down the same path, let it. The worst case scenario is the tone is set, Allen leaves and the club gets tier 1 draft compensation in what is most likely a top 4 pick.

After dealing with all of these ****wit managers this year and knowing their tactics inside and out, the club needs to continue the team first policy it has adopted.
100%

His brother is not that great. To say to club to take his brother seems a bit of a stretch unless the club sees genuinely a role for him.get him for a year, the delist him just to get Warner?

It would be epic bastardry/wastage all around.
He has been 1st up player when Sydney have needed someone and sub in a club that's just played in a GF, can't be that bad and also stuck behind an elite midfield.
Club would know where he sits, would comfortably see him at least taking a Petch role as depth and definitely more upside.
Would be on a much shorter contract, 2 years to see where he sits?

This is why we probably don't need to cut too deep this year. Most people can find five easy cuts, getting Warner in will take a couple of picks, keep one high pick and get in Banfield and Walley. If we draft five or six more 18-year-olds we will be wildly unbalanced in the opposite way to two years ago. Warner is the perfect age to partially address that.
If we get Corey Warner as a package deal with Chad, or chase Starcevich, that's when we have issues with list spots.
Corey might have to be part of the deal for Chad and Starcevich is a FA at an ideal age going into his prime.

Both wouldn't cost any picks, so we'd need to free up an extra spot.

Surely we have some leverage with Oscar. What's the worst that could happen? He signs a massive deal with someone else and we get pick 3 for free? I expect Oscar to sign on for a reasonable, front-loaded deal but this situation seems to favour the club more than Oscar.

I think we are in a very strong position with Oscar.

Firstly he will only be a restricted FA hence we have a massive salary cap space and can match.

Next - we see what the AFL will be offering and if it is say pick 3 or 4, then we can assess which one we want more.

No decision has to be made really until trade week. We will have seen another full year of Oscar and see how durable he is. We will also see another season with Jack Williams and determine what he is worth. We will also have a first full preseason and year into Archer Reid so start to see what is possible. On top of that Shanahan gets to show what he can do and I have high hopes for him.

If Oscar gets the monster 7 year deal from another club, they may even need to pony up. If the Dons go for Oscar, they have 2 x R1 picks which ay or may not be better than a pointy end compo pick. We can always force the trade.

Expecting Colin Young to change is wishful thinking. He has always been a sly kent in working the media.

So we have a lot to learn in 2025 before we jump to conclusions but at least this year we will have options.

Player managers are paid to look after their clients not the clubs.

They also get a cut.

Nothing you don't already know.

You can't blame a dog for behaving as a dog. So player managers will behave like a player manager.

When a client is coming out of contract sure they do test the water to get a feel what the market is willing to pay. As they should as it is their job to look after the player.

They then inform the player and the player decides if they move for more money or stay.

So no surprises player managers do what you are saying. It is the nature of the job.

Saying that I'm sure there are some total flogs as player managers. Watching some of the trade doco's they do look pretty unprofessional and carry on like cowboys.

How do you give two likes?
Oscar is a grown man, he needs to act like on.

This is why we probably don't need to cut too deep this year. Most people can find five easy cuts, getting Warner in will take a couple of picks, keep one high pick and get in Banfield and Walley. If we draft five or six more 18-year-olds we will be wildly unbalanced in the opposite way to two years ago. Warner is the perfect age to partially address that.
tend to agree with 6 more 18yo kids.
Warner's x 2, 24 & 22 next year fill the list profile.
Draft 1 high pick, WC 1st round, Curtin or best KDEF which is probably him, probably mid to late 1st. Draft Banfield, Walley giving 4 new draftees and 2 Warner's.
Probably almost done list at that stage, 2026 will most probably only have Gov, Brockman, Flynn to delist/retire or another underperforming player.
Draft 2, FA or trade in 2?

As much as allens a fan fav, I reckon the majority of the fans will be siding with the club on this matter.

I think we are in a very strong position with Oscar.

Firstly he will only be a restricted FA hence we have a massive salary cap space and can match.

Next - we see what the AFL will be offering and if it is say pick 3 or 4, then we can assess which one we want more.

No decision has to be made really until trade week. We will have seen another full year of Oscar and see how durable he is. We will also see another season with Jack Williams and determine what he is worth. We will also have a first full preseason and year into Archer Reid so start to see what is possible. On top of that Shanahan gets to show what he can do and I have high hopes for him.

If Oscar gets the monster 7 year deal from another club, they may even need to pony up. If the Dons go for Oscar, they have 2 x R1 picks which ay or may not be better than a pointy end compo pick. We can always force the trade.

Expecting Colin Young to change is wishful thinking. He has always been a sly kent in working the media.

So we have a lot to learn in 2025 before we jump to conclusions but at least this year we will have options.
If a club offers Oscar a contract worth band 1 compensation and you match, not a chance any club would then trade for Oscar. Every club in the competition would walk away.

Isn't that wonderful. Win a grand final and suddenly our resident Briskent becomes the official spokesman of every club in the land, and I assume you have proxies from the Tassie Devils.

You consistently fail to look at the big picture of some posts

Then you come in and sound like you are the expert and narrow in on a minor point.

As I have said before, that was a piss poor post and we expect better from you.

Wake Up Netflix GIF by Patriot Act

List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition