List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

Would really like Hewett, showed impressive leadership yesterday, dual sided, tough, goal kicker. Can't really see a weakness in his game. If Wardlaw/Phillipou clearly shows they're more talented though we should be taking them.

I'd like to see us explore splitting our picks if it got us Hewett and another top end talent, however i don't have a lot of faith in WCE to take that initiative.

Would really like Hewett, showed impressive leadership yesterday, dual sided, tough, goal kicker. Can't really see a weakness in his game. If Wardlaw/Phillipou clearly shows they're more talented though we should be taking them.

I'd like to see us explore splitting our picks if it got us Hewett and another top end talent, however i don't have a lot of faith in WCE to take that initiative.
We did exactly that just last year.

I think it's because it's hard to do. They did it last year with Chesser so there's no reason they wouldn't do it this year.... if the opportunity arises.

First, the club actually has to want Hewitt over Sheezle, Phillipou etc
Let's say North take Warlord
We have to then pretend we want Sheezle or Phillipou
Then we need to approach Essendon or Hawthorn (or have them approach us). This relies on them really really really wanting Sheezle or Phillipou (and also buy our bluff that we want Sheezle etc).
If it's a pick for the next pick, no problem, but if we are swapping pick 3 for pick 5, then we have to be sure whoever has pick 4 doesn't want Hewitt.

It's just not simple to do and that's why it doesn't happen much. Generally all the clubs tell Twomey who they are taking before the draft. It seems to be a mutual agreement to all publicly declare the order. Ok, if you're taking this player, we will take this player etc.

We did exactly that just last year.
Fair enough, was a ridiculous offer from port though, way to good to refuse. We aren't exactly known for being pro active on draft day, splitting picks etc.. We've never moved up in the draft order to get a top ten pick. First time in a long time we will have a top 5 pick i'm interested whether we use it or split it into 10 and 15 or something along those lines.

I hope not. We'll miss out on the top talent in this draft, as the top 5 are apparently a class above the rest of the first round.

Quality over quantity.

I would say we've been one of the most successful with pick swaps, but you can only leverage what you have. 2017 we did the famous Gold Coast rort, where we got a bunch of second rounders in exchange for our 2018 first round moving back one spot. Last year we moved back 2 spots in first round for a second round selection. There was also some trade with Sydney around 2019 where we ended up with an extra third rounder for helping them rort the points system for an academy pick.

Compare this to Collingwood in 2020 trading out their first rounder in 2021 (turned out to be pick 2). Carlton also did something stupid with Adelaide a few years ago.

I hope not. We'll miss out on the top talent in this draft, as the top 5 are apparently a class above the rest of the first round.

Quality over quantity.
I agree that's the priority. However if we plan on taking Hewett at 3 because he's as good as Wardlaw/Phillipou and WCE still think he's there at 6/7 then it will be worth entertaining a trade. Get another second rounder, use it in the draft or for Baker, Georgiades. Nothings set in stone at this time of the year, still a lot of footy to be played.

Depends on how much trust in the word of the other clubs not to take the player we want in between the pick we had and the one we dropped down to.
We probably only need one club to change their mind and the next clubs in the order may follow suit.

North taking Busslinger would be incredible for us.

If they do, hopefully the Hawks are desperate to get above the bombers to pick Sheezle. We swap with the hawks and get something extra in return. The bombers grab one of Wardlaw or Hewett and we take whichever one is left.

There seems to be some tacit agreement for the top 10 to declare to Twomey who they will pick. Maybe it's some sort of industry thing where they all know each other and as soon as they pull any cloak and daggers they will no longer be trusted among peers? But if we decide we want Hewitt before the draft and declare as much, then any pick swap involves us giving up the player we want. Conversely, we can pretend we want someone else or simply not declare, but I get the feeling that won't go down well and that's why they don't seem to do it. So for this to work (above board) we'd need a situation where there are 2, maybe 3 players we would be equally happy with.

I tend to think we'll work out who North are taking, make our choice, and then pick him. I absolutely can't see a situation where will split our top pick for 2 picks between say 10 and 15. We've waited 10 years to access the top talent in the draft.

Now if we're discussing second and third round picks from WA.

Hagan really 2 problems. He's mainly dominated against colts as an early developer. Two he is small. You can't attack his professionalism, attack on the ball, on the man or similar but 175cm as a primary mid these days is starting to get bit small as a mid. Can he play primarily as a pressure forward? Maybe. But I wouldn't draft him on that. I don't think his kicking has the penetration to be a lock down defender and he is even getting small for one of those even if he is very classy at it. Always gives it his all. Hagan's real problem is how recruiters see his height and how can he fashion his abilities into a role at AFL level because over the last couple of years he's been the most consistent WA player.

Bingo plus he often delivers the ball too short to a good lead.

I’m mentally preparing myself for North having the first 2 picks in this draft and with Ashcroft most likely going to the Lions, we’ll be entering at pick 4 at worst. Great to see Hewett dominate yesterday because he’s going to be a ripper and I don’t see how we miss out on him with us finishing no higher than 17th.

We need to find a young ruckman that's 6 foot 9 / 205cm, preferably one with decent hands. There's absolutely no point putting any more time into Williams. His tapwork is non-existent, rarely takes a contested mark, and doesn't tackle or chase.

Wait was that Chris Masten on the bench ?

Bonehead Bailey is a ruckman that can't ruck AND a forward that can't kick.

Rather impressive really.

Adelaide also have HJs as a sponsor yeah? Sort out some sort of deal where we end up with a book of HJs vouchers from Adelaide, Bailey can **** off, and we can use the book of vouchers to negotiate a pay cut for Gov. Wins all round (except for whoever ends up with Bonehead).