Autopsy Dogs belt Aints 84 - 56

Is Garcia really speedy or just desperate to win the ball or both?

He is turning into what I hoped my other favourite Vandermeercat may have become . Still time

Is Garcia really speedy or just desperate to win the ball or both?

He is turning into what I hoped my other favourite Vandermeercat may have become . Still time
All his coverage as a junior was about him being fast but I’ve never really seen it in terms of straight line speed. His in-close agility is super impressive so he looks quick speedy but I don’t think he’ll be a line breaker.

Keath did play on. It was right in front of me. I spewed it got picked up but he definitely moved off the mark.
It was also right in front of me. He barely moved off his line and the tackling player never let go after the mark. Should have been 50.

Did you see Libba move in when some Saints flog wanted to sledge Baz and stir him up? A couple of others also got some separation between them. Almost as if they were prepared for something like that...

But really, Saints? You guys should be the last ones and blah blah blah
I think Libba rushed in as a calming influence so that Smith didnt flip his wig and head butt the Saints player.

Smith looked pretty pissed off during the encounter.

Pretty remarkable how elite Bailey Dale has become. So keen to get a full season of him, CD and Richards. Such a dangerous backline, just need Duryea there to acrually defend.

Was Bont's game the best performance of any AFL player this season my guess is Yes. May he continue on that form all season.
It was such an underwhelming game, it wasn't our blokes dropping off, it was St Kilda playing its one good quarter. Watching individual players more intensely than usual was what made it bearable. Bont was everywhere, intercepting in defence, directing up forward and taking it away from the centre. When a goal was needed to stop the rot in the last quarter, guess who took the pack mark to goal ? That's responsibility and captaincy. Watching him cruise around with the ball, seemingly without any urgency at all made my night. The other one I watched was Libber, his decision making is extraordinary, the way he spots options then delivers is super human, it looks like the ball is on its way before his eyes become fixed on the target.

Good to see Rob McComb hit some targets last night. Do not get to excited it was half time when he was kicking the ball to supporters from about 25 metres away and they had to mark the kick to win $250.

Pretty remarkable how elite Bailey Dale has become. So keen to get a full season of him, CD and Richards. Such a dangerous backline, just need Duryea there to acrually defend.
I think he has come along way but ground ball wise defensively sometimes he struggles. No doubt he can be an offensive weapon even know some of his kicks were disgusting last night.

In the last quarter he missed a critical tackle, does not know how to pin their arms. I think it's more of an application thing of not really wanting the physicality. How many tackles did he have last night?

Also, he has this habit of tapping the ball forward when someone is hot on his collar and he has a tendency to either over run it or get knocked off the ball due to his light frame. Once again, it's when there is physicality in play.

I'm not against the bloke, has improved immensly but a little more physicality at the man with the ball would make him even better.

Our classic trademark last quarter p****** away of a big lead.

Like our season, so many blown opportunities and ending on a downer.
It's the midfield.... they start over using the Ball and stop running breaking lines. They go back to the short chip and prop and rack up the stats. Tackling and defensive pressure of the ball and on the man with the ball was appalling.

Dunks... love you mate but your not an A grader.... for how hard you are supposed to be your struggle in the middle of the ground to be creative.

It was such an underwhelming game, it wasn't our blokes dropping off, it was St Kilda playing its one good quarter. Watching individual players more intensely than usual was what made it bearable. Bont was everywhere, intercepting in defence, directing up forward and taking it away from the centre. When a goal was needed to stop the rot in the last quarter, guess who took the pack mark to goal ? That's responsibility and captaincy. Watching him cruise around with the ball, seemingly without any urgency at all made my night. The other one I watched was Libber, his decision making is extraordinary, the way he spots options then delivers is super human, it looks like the ball is on its way before his eyes become fixed on the target.
Good post D Mitchell. Thoughts on JUH’s 3 goals? He played a great first half for a young lad no doubt.

Love BD, don't get me wrong. He was becoming much maligned a year or two after the GF (and I still loved him). But he has one great clanger every game.

It's the midfield.... they start over using the Ball and stop running breaking lines. They go back to the short chip and prop and rack up the stats. Tackling and defensive pressure of the ball and on the man with the ball was appalling.

Dunks... love you mate but your not an A grader.... for how hard you are supposed to be your struggle in the middle of the ground to be creative.

It must come down to coaching . I’m convinced the coaches tell them to wind it down with an eye on next week.

It might help win next weeks games in this ultra competitive professional era but it hurts the supporter base and it will come back to bite one day

Also, he has this habit of tapping the ball forward when someone is hot on his collar and he has a tendency to either over run it or get knocked off the ball due to his light frame. Once again, it's when there is physicality in play.

I'm not against the bloke, has improved immensly but a little more physicality at the man with the ball would make him even better.
I reckon he's learned that from Bont. If he's in traffic and the ball isn't sitting up nicely for him to burst onto, the Bont just paddles it once, maybe twice, until it behaves.

Granted the Bont is a bigger physical unit than Dale so he's not as easily knocked off the ball but it certainly works for him. I have no problem with Dale trying the same thing.

As
Good to see Rob McComb hit some targets last night. Do not get to excited it was half time when he was kicking the ball to supporters from about 25 metres away and they had to mark the kick to win $250.
Sad as it is, Robbie probably hit more targets than Smith.

Good post D Mitchell. Thoughts on JUH’s 3 goals? He played a great first half for a young lad no doubt.
3 kicks, 3 goals, 1 in each of the first 3 quarters, 3 handballs, 1 (uncontested) mark. Look at the replay and look how and from where those 3 goals came. 1 mark, low down and on a lead, one. Last night was his opportunity to display his wares as a marking key forward in the absence of Naughton. He played like an elusive forward pocket. I recall at least 6 contested marking opportunities, not one success. On the Club website is a post match interview, if you haven't seen it, have a look, the interviewer congratulates on his 3 goals, the first time this season, probably ever, and at round 17 that he's kicked multiple goals. He modestly, to his credit, acknowledged the praise and to his further credit added that he still has to do some work on his defensive game. That says to me to me that Bev got stuck into him about his lack of chase or forward defence, let alone intensity, it was so obvious to anyone there. I saw him go off early in the last quarter but didn't see him return, i e he was dragged, when the heat's on you want contest beasts. I saw nothing that suggested any improvement other than that, given the opportunities within striking distance, he can kick multiple goals every 17 rounds. If you want him to be an elusive forward pocket type who's conversion rate is high every now and then, he's your man. If you want him to be a key position, marking target, he needs a lot more time in the 2s. How's the weather in Brisbane tonight, BD ?

For any who might have taken an interest in the adventures of my footy neighbours, last night, my unruly mate and the big bloke with the Clint Eastwood stare had a number of culturally sensitive exchanges without rancour.

Autopsy Dogs belt Aints 84 - 56