Review Dogs Comeback Win Against The Pies, You Beauty

I’m also nowhere near as down on Gallagher as most seem to be judging by the game day thread (especially one poster). He’s on a steep learning curve that he’ll be all the better for. I reckon he has all the makings of a 200 game player.
He'll learn a lot, no doubt. More touches than any game in his career and his efforts throughout the contest were outstanding - he gained back for the team through sheer some of the mistakes with ball in hand.

It's also possible to divorce the plus-minus contribution on a game with the overall view of him as a player. Nobody's calling for him to be dropped or thinks that this means he isn't going to develop into a star - I think it's fine to highlight the sum of the parts for the margin of the game as it's going on.

Praise Dog
Bowing Down Waynes World GIF

Just watched the replay. One thing I've underappreciated is how much Bailey Dale has worked on his defensive game.

Copped some stick earlier this year but has been genuine A-grade in recent weeks.

Look, I like Patty Lipinski…but his face when he had to try and tackle Bont probably tells us all we need to know.

I’m also nowhere near as down on Gallagher as most seem to be judging by the game day thread (especially one poster). He’s on a steep learning curve that he’ll be all the better for. I reckon he has all the makings of a 200 game player.
I couldn’t be more confident in Gallagher as an important long term player for us. He’s going through some learning pains and is very lucky not to have been dropped a couple of times but the MC clearly have faith in him.

A lot of AFL attributes in his game and ultimately I’d prefer him in the 22 over any of his possible replacements. His tackling is a feature too.

Just watched the replay. One thing I've underappreciated is how much Bailey Dale has worked on his defensive game.

Copped some stick earlier this year but has been genuine A-grade in recent weeks.
It’s incredibly how much stick Bevo copped for making him the sub earlier in the year when we could all tell he was off.

It was the perfect move and it’s kickstarted Dale’s career best form.

Compare the pair...

Maynard chooses to bump and hits Brayshaw in the head. Brayshaw is knocked out, is subbed out of the game and forced into a very premature retirement - not guilty. Should have been 4 weeks.

Darcy chooses to bump and hits Maynard in the back. Maynard gets up, takes his 50m penalty and kicks a goal. Passes his concussion test and plays out the game - football world calling for 2 to 6 week suspension. Worth a 50m penalty and nothing more.

One rule for the Bulldogs, and one for everyone else.

It’s incredibly how much stick Bevo copped for making him the sub earlier in the year when we could all tell he was off.

It was the perfect move and it’s kickstarted Dale’s career best form.
One thing I’ve noticed is he is constantly on the move, meaning it’s a lot harder to sit someone on him and curtail his influence. In the past he’d go into his shell the second someone paid some attention to him.

Also shout out to Taylor Duryea, playing great again. All time value for a future 4th.

Compare the pair...

Maynard chooses to bump and hits Brayshaw in the head. Brayshaw is knocked out, is subbed out of the game and forced into a very premature retirement - not guilty. Should have been 4 weeks.

Darcy chooses to bump and hits Maynard in the back. Maynard gets up, takes his 50m penalty and kicks a goal. Passes his concussion test and plays out the game - football world calling for 2 to 6 week suspension. Worth a 50m penalty and nothing more.

I don’t really agree with the sentiment.

The injury/outcome shouldn’t impact on the suspension.

Compare the pair...

Also one is a veteran with priors of being a dirty fkwit. One is a young Bambi with very little body control.

I think the treatment of Maynard and cheering when Darcy jumped him is poor form. Hate him or love him it’s not like he purposely wanted to end his mates career with a brain injury.

The fact that Maynard got off makes me think Darcy should too, as the incidents are quite similar, but I won’t be surprised if he gets a couple weeks which will really hurt us against Brisbane and Freo.

If you go on the Pies board they are all complaining about the umpiring. I don’t understand how anyone can watch that game last night and think Pies were hard done by from the umps.

We were absolutely railed, Nick Daicos has his own rule book, and Sanders was pinged from everywhere with a combined 0.03 seconds of prior opportunity.

If you go on the Pies board they are all complaining about the umpiring. I don’t understand how anyone can watch that game last night and think Pies were hard done by from the umps.

We were absolutely railed, Nick Daicos has his own rule book, and Sanders was pinged from everywhere with a combined 0.03 seconds of prior opportunity.
Essendon we got dicked worse. 4 of their first 5 goals were frees in front of goal from memory.

I think the treatment of Maynard and cheering when Darcy jumped him is poor form. Hate him or love him it’s not like he purposely wanted to end his mates career with a brain injury.

The fact that Maynard got off makes me think Darcy should too, as the incidents are quite similar, but I won’t be surprised if he gets a couple weeks which will really hurt us against Brisbane and Freo.
Maynard is a gun, that Brayshaw incident 99% of players just get up from, Brayshaw wrong place, wrong time with his history.

After the game you saw Maynard was all good with Darcy, if anything he will give a good reference for him should we appeal the inevitable suspension.

• I thought JOD had perhaps his best ever game for us. Some very well judged marks in defence. Not bad after being crook last week. The defence looked brittle at times, particularly in the first half and this was when JOD did his best work.
He's going to be a very good player. I agree it looked like his best game for us. He's in the right place at the right time and doing the right thing more often than not. Good composure, vision and execution. We generally keep the ball after he disposes of it.

Compare the pair...

The more and more you look at Darcy's hit the more you think we should be challenging what will probably be a suspension. If ever you want the club to take a stand, it's with this one.

At least we know we'll have the backing of 16 other clubs and the majority of footy fans.

Rewatching the last quarter.

12 minutes to go, we're up by a point, season on the line (nearly) & we've got Bont, Sander & Gags in the middle.

Pretty epic to see 2 blokes in there who've both played less than 15 games.
The turning point in the season was Bevo showing some faith in the kids.

Review Dogs Comeback Win Against The Pies, You Beauty