List Mgmt. Early 2012 trade week and free agency target discussion

Hoping Bews will do that small defenders role. If we could add a Toy of course it would give us another option. Perhaps someone like Eardly , seems a tough little so and so.
Would love 'mouse' to make it for obvious reasons, but has a good year or two before he pushes up IMO. Think eardley could be a ripper, just not sure he'd have the agility to go with someone like the tip rat. Time will tell..

No way we will trade Brown
Sure he is playing well down back but he CAN play forward.
If his body does not develop he would be a dangerous HFF
He finds space, can take a grab, and knows how to find the footy.

Unless we get something special the club would not consider it

No way we will trade Brown
Sure he is playing well down back but he CAN play forward.
If his body does not develop he would be a dangerous HFF
He finds space, can take a grab, and knows how to find the footy.

Unless we get something special the club would not consider it

Certainly hope you’re right. A comment from the coach during the year surprised me a bit. It was around the time Mitch booted nine in the twos I think. Chris said something like Mitch will star in many VFL games this year and get some AFL game time too. It just occurred to me at the time that maybe Chris saw him more as a top up player than a regular in the ones. He hasn’t run out in the ones since. Hope that take on the coaches comments is wide of the mark as I think Mitch has a great deal to offer.

It might come down to Stringer vs Cowan. Both have shown plenty of flashes of upside. Stringer has issues offield and Cowan has a LTI.

Both seem that inside mid type when playing. Can we keep both?

Also, I think Hogan has had his chances. Tried really hard and been strong with his health issues but just his disposal has let him down. With Byrnes, I wonder if he would be interested in taking a senior coaching / player type role in the seconds - not dissimilar to Troy Selwood. Keeps him in the system off the senior list and less $$ of course, but his leadership and knowledge of the Geelong way would be instrumental in working with Knights and Selwood etc....

Just a thought...

Go Catters

I dont mind that. Not going to effect us much i dont think.

Unless Byrnes finds another club.

Then we'd proably trade the third round pick off somewhere because I doubt with the list squeeze that we will be taking many picks this year.

Rather have a go at him then Boak. Wouldnt cost as much as Boak and would be a better player on a needs basis. We need a ruck.

Tend to agree though I'm a big rap for building an impenetrable midfield. A midfield of Selwood, Christensen, Boak, Varcoe, Horlin-Smith, Murdoch is something to look forward to in the future - add Kelly, SJ and Bartel who will be around for a little while yet and augers well.

Can we get both?

Unless we are prepared to trade players of value I don't think we have the picks to do both. When push comes to shove Boak will require our compo pick plus our first rounder I reckon. Clarke wouldn't come too cheap either. There would be a fair bit of competition for his services from the likes of Hawthorn and Collingwood I would think.

I went to school with Clarke, so I'm all for it! He's been a bit unlucky this season. Harvey played him week in week out, but Lyon's obviously not as big of a fan. I think he's got talent.

Don't really need Clarke IMO. He is a second string ruck who can go forward pretty much in the same mould as West and Vardy.

If we are going to bother spending time and resources on recruiting a ruckman they need to be a genuine #1 who are going to give us first use at the majority of stoppages IMO.

Big defender would be my priority, if we lost Lonergan in that Saints game, I'd say we'd be playing only the one final.
We need another big stopper desparately, is Bathie the answer? Not to sure, but he's the size we need.

Big defender would be my priority, if we lost Lonergan in that Saints game, I'd say we'd be playing only the one final.
We need another big stopper desparately, is Bathie the answer? Not to sure, but he's the size we need.
I wouldn't say desperately. Really having a third tall is a bit of a luxury in fact Scarlett has played on mediums and smalls 90% of the time this year. Lonergan still probably has another 2 years at least in him so I don't think we need to trade for a KPD. We have time to develop one. Walker, Brown, Bathie and yes even Gillies are still all chances to develop into what we need.

Defenders do take time. Look at our defenders over the past decade they really have taken time to come on. Egan was about 23 when he started getting regular senior games, Lonergan 26, Harry Taylor was what 23 when we drafted him?

Even the great Scarlett looked out of his depth trying to hold down the position he became one of the all time greats of as a young bloke.

guys gillies might not be the one the dawks come after
at the moment they are having a go north and if it fails they might and close to home
they are wanting a relatively cheap big bloke, and will play him down back

word is a few of ellis, gilham will be moved on

the player they are after will surprise

guys gillies might not be the one the dawks come after
at the moment they are having a go north and if it fails they might and close to home
they are wanting a relatively cheap big bloke, and will play him down back

word is a few of ellis, gilham will be moved on

the player they are after will surprise

North Melb would be a good place for them to look as they have a heap of KPD, Thompson, Grima, Delaney X 2, even Pedersen, and surely they cannot keep them all.

Failing that though you would think they will look at Gillies again.

North Melb would be a good place for them to look as they have a heap of KPD, Thompson, Grima, Delaney X 2, even Pedersen, and surely they cannot keep them all.

Failing that though you would think they will look at Gillies again.

I would not be upset if we moved Gillies on. Personally I don't rate him at all as a KPD.