AFLW Final Round, Richmond vs Hawthorn 03/11 3:05pm

That was sheerins worst game for a while , I think her improved firm as a midfielder has bought us up a peg but without more productive forwards mid table is about our lot
Still not convinced we’re drafting very effectively, overlooked Williamson at haw for bacon . I’ve seen nothing from her at all to suggest she can play at the elite level , fordy has done a bit , If she can build on this year then perhaps we have got a player
We also overlooked Kavanagh as well, there were 8 preselections before that draft took place making our first pick really a 2nd rounder. Fordy has been good as a high half forward, and Bacon just the one good game against pies, has shown flashes though. Drafts are looking very good next 2 years.

Are we getting closer to a premiership? do we give up these higher valued picks to get players in now to fix the problem areas. i.e a proven goal kicking target up forward, or a classy flanker/mid?

If we do go to the draft we will need to get better as our track record especially on the U18's has been poor. Other than Milsy.

Think Ford has the makings of a mid. Frame not up to it yet, but she has vision, good little spot-up kick and can run the curves. Bacon has the makings of an elite defender, good anticipation, safe hands (mostly) and gets her hands on it when 50/50. Ryan is the one I worry about because whilst she never had pace, she made up for that with IQ. Now has even less pace - but 'see what another pre-season brings. She is a very good kick into the forward 50 with a great understanding of KB so far for one so young. Maybe we should switch around Ford with Ryan (Wing :counterclockupdown: HF).
Early days I know but bacon barely touches it avg like 3p a game and not once have I seen her get the ball breakaway and use it decisively. I think I did see her get the ball a couple of times then follow up with a mongrel kick ,,,so far nothing to see , can’t see how we went past Williamson for her

We also overlooked Kavanagh as well, there were 8 preselections before that draft took place making our first pick really a 2nd rounder. Fordy has been good as a high half forward, and Bacon just the one good game against pies, has shown flashes though. Drafts are looking very good next 2 years.

Are we getting closer to a premiership? do we give up these higher valued picks to get players in now to fix the problem areas. i.e a proven goal kicking target up forward, or a classy flanker/mid?

If we do go to the draft we will need to get better as our track record especially on the U18's has been poor. Other than Milsy.
We buggered up snagging greiser leaving the saints to get the ace FF from the lions , she should have been our no 1 target
And HTF did the afl justify pre draft selections to ess and haw last year , was just way overs , they honestly couldn’t rort the comp more if they tried

Early days I know but bacon barely touches it avg like 3p a game and not once have I seen her get the ball breakaway and use it decisively. I think I did see her get the ball a couple of times then follow up with a mongrel kick ,,,so far nothing to see , can’t see how we went past Williamson for her
What the Club says about Bacon

"Richmond selected pacy midfielder/defender Bacon with its first selection, No. 13 overall, at the 2023 AFLW Draft. Bacon excelled playing for Sandringham Dragons and Victoria Metro in her draft year. The 19-year-old grew up around sports, playing basketball and netball and competing in cross-country running throughout her formative years, including living with her family in Vancouver. Bacon only began focussing purely on football in 2022 but was quick to stand out to Richmond recruiters with her elite athleticism, explosive speed, endurance, sidestep, power, and strength. Bacon missed this year’s AFLW season-opener through illness, but has featured in every other game this season, growing into her career by playing a role in the Tigers’ defence."

We buggered up snagging greiser leaving the saints to get the ace FF from the lions , she should have been our no 1 target
And HTF did the afl justify pre draft selections to ess and haw last year , was just way overs , they honestly couldn’t rort the comp more if they tried
I think the Tier payment system was a big influence on Wardlaw getting to the Saints.
Only two players are Tier 1 the highest rate and I’m guessing but I’d reckon Wardlaw walked straight into a Tier 1 spot at the Saints.

2x @ Teir 1 and 6-8?@Tier 2

It’s going to be interesting to see things go with longer contracts in the future and another spot or two on the list.

If it was up to me I’d think really seriously about Brennans money cut Grieser and another couple and throw everything I had at Tayla Harris.
She’s 28 next year, Brennan will be 32

I think the Tier payment system was a big influence on Wardlaw getting to the Saints.
Only two players are Tier 1 the highest rate and I’m guessing but I’d reckon Wardlaw walked straight into a Tier 1 spot at the Saints.

2x @ Teir 1 and 6-8?@Tier 2

It’s going to be interesting to see things go with longer contracts in the future and another spot or two on the list.

If it was up to me I’d think really seriously about Brennans money cut Grieser and another couple and throw everything I had at Tayla Harris.
She’s 28 next year, Brennan will be 32
Not the silliest idea I’ve heard can play Harris , fully national draft will help with the qty , ridiculous that sa and wa basically had the whole states to themselves

A strong aerial fwd would be a big asset, Mackinnon has clunked a few in some of her early games, looking at the highlights.

I don’t think Port have had to play some of the best this year but you can see the impact of their new younger Mids and that’s with Hannah Ewing taking a year out, being able to cherry pick rather than being in a position us where the best available was Sophie Molan is a big leg up.
Also the fact that Footy wasn’t played in Vic for two years with the lockdowns, more than any other state and we’re not getting over that for another couple of years with the draftee’s.

I wonder if milzy could be used as a trade bait , after promising start she’s been pretty ordinary when we’ve needed her in last month 3-4p a week

WHAT? Goalkicking at 69.44% . Find me another who is this dependable in AFLW. Only 21.

I'd be veeeery reluctant. Goals are gold.

I wonder if milzy could be used as a trade bait , after promising start she’s been pretty ordinary when we’ve needed her in last month 3-4p a week
I don't know with Milzy this year it seems that she has lost a yard of pace, not sure if she is carrying something. She did have a hip problem towards end of last year, If so they can be tricky.

Would only want to let her go if maybe there was an issue. She is a heart and soul player and still quite young and fully fit and healthy and with a couple more preseasons she might even be better being played higher up as a midfielder.

Will be interesting selection this week.

Power will probably go the ruck combo of Scholz/Levicki. Not sure McClelland can really compete with these two so I think Luke will get the nod from a ruck perspective.

Assuming we were clear of injuries last week these are the players that I think may be left in the stands:

Jones - Played one game - last played R1
Eastman - Played one game - last played R1
McClelland - Played 8 games - last played R9
Wicksteed - has not played 2024
Reid - Played 2 games - last played R5
Woods - Played one game - last played R1
Brown - has not played 2024

Realistically I can only see Laura Mc as any sort of possible inclusion, maybe at the expense of Ryan who was pretty quiet and only played 43% game time.

The others just haven't played enough to be a any chance of a finals spot IMO. Is that bad player management or just the way it goes when our best 21 have been on the park pretty much all season?

I don't know with Milzy this year it seems that she has lost a yard of pace, not sure if she is carrying something. She did have a hip problem towards end of last year, If so they can be tricky.

Would only want to let her go if maybe there was an issue. She is a heart and soul player and still quite young and fully fit and healthy and with a couple more preseasons she might even be better being played higher up as a midfielder.
I’ve always thought she was one of the more capable players last couple of weeks very little impact , she should be getting more than 3/4 touches it’s not her first season

Her possesions are a little down on last year but conversion is up and tackles. She has kicked two less goals than KB
I’m pretty sure our fwd coach is Emma Grant but it’s Ferg’s gameplan.
I got some concerns as well.
2022 we ended up 4th got bundled out drew with nth who finished 8th then got pumped by nth.
Top 3 teams scores for 10 games
We kicked 321. Nth 8th : 382
A diff of 35% us and the top 3.
17.2 points a game

This year
Us 442 a diff of about 30%
16.9 points a game.

The idea of tackling small forwards, Hosking, Yassir, Ford is getting more tackles..it’s in Yassir’s numbers but it’s not leading to more goals.

Codder from Bris is similar to Yassir but they roll her through the midfield at times, Ferg just seems a bit 1 dimensional with his players, he’s going to have to adapt and change something because unless we can come up with another way to score I don’t think Brennn and Grieser are going to kick 3 each.
Brennan has a tough matchup on Borg as well.

AFLW Final Round, Richmond vs Hawthorn 03/11 3:05pm