Autopsy Freo Get the Points Against Toast

A win's a win but shouldn't distract us from the major problems we have. Got to look at the positives:
  • Hopefully Jacko's performance will shut the haters up. We have gotten glimpses of what he is capapble of and he will only get better/more consistent
  • Walters is a Freo legend and we will miss him. Deserves a statue at Cockburn
  • Good to see Serong and Darcy back to their best

Yeah Switta the most critical player for mine. He setup so many of our attacks.

I think the Eagles threw the kitchen sink at the 3rd trying to turn in front but they were cooked after. Glad we brought it home & nice to see some players getting back to form.

Johnson starts from now on. Can play.
Liam out for him, he was dreadful unfortunately & I’ve been a big supporter.

Get Johnson in the mid rotation asap. Big body, cool head. Mundy 2.0 indeed.

Aish stays mid. Driz stays. Amiss stays. Bring in Erasmus.

Tabs out for Sturt or Treacy.

Nope. If it hasn’t clicked by now…

I’ve defended him for years but nope. Lemon.

Had a killer preseason, is about as physically fit and strong as he'll ever be, great attitude, is being played in a role that in theory suits him but...

I'd still persist with him just because he's still really young and inexperienced and we need him to come on but hope is fading fast. Really sucks.

Been a fan of Henry and still feel he's been a scapegoat but it's a struggle to defend today.

Shame because it's between the ears atm. He has the tools to make up for a lack of physicality but seemingly just can't get it done.

Yeah Switta the most critical player for mine. He setup so many of our attacks.

I think the Eagles threw the kitchen sink at the 3rd trying to turn in front but they were cooked after. Glad we brought it home & nice to see some players getting back to form.

Johnson starts from now on. Can play.
Liam out for him, he was dreadful unfortunately & I’ve been a big supporter.

Get Johnson in the mid rotation asap. Big body, cool head. Mundy 2.0 indeed.

Aish stays mid. Driz stays. Amiss stays. Bring in Erasmus.

Tabs out for Sturt or Treacy.
They did but it was also obvious and we let them back within a kick or so. How did that happen;

a) with no one stepping up on field
b) with the coach browsing **** knows what on his laptop

Damning.

Over yonder they reckon they were hard done by by the maggots.

Bizarro
The frees at one point in the second half were 12 to 1 in favour of west coast,also the amount of time they just threw the ball and didn't get pinged once ,and while I'm at it Liam Ryan's goal on the run I counted 20 steps

Been a fan of Henry and still feel he's been a scapegoat but it's a struggle to defend today.

Shame because it's between the ears atm. He has the tools to make up for a lack of physicality but seemingly just an't get it done.
Disagree. He has it between the ears bit doesn't have the tools.

Gatekeeping the way people support and implying people aren't true supporters when they have differing opinions is truly ******* s**t bloke behaviour.

**** off, gatekeeping. Walking to the train station after watching the game at the ground and all you see is waves of negativity and bagging of players and coaches after a comfortable win.

Take it as a suggestion, if you can’t take enjoyment out of that then do yourself a favour and don’t support, because there will be no happiness involved in the sport for you.

Get off your high horse

The five and a bit quarters Walters has been on the ground has made us so much better than the first six quarters we played this season. Forwardline looks so much more cohesive when he’s on the field. I’ll be shocked if clubs aren’t beating down his door to be assistant coach when he retires. A rare and special leader as well as a quality footballer

“Cripps is in hospital with a broken ankle. McGovern is pretty serious. Shuey we don’t know yet. Witherden is in the concussion protocols. There are a couple of others, but we won’t talk about them until we get more detail.” Simpson on injuries.

Brutal match for them. Shuey hamstring and... broken hand? 🤔

Henrys' improvement was one of the best things to watch in the opening 2 rounds. He had some obvious blunders today but that's one game in a new role he's been designated at AFL level. What's going back to Peel going to do for him? He's already been there for how long. Best development comes from playing and reviewing AFL games, not hitting the gym in pre-season or playing seconds. I think next week will be a better test for him. If he replicates anything close to what he did to today back to back then we can start to worry.

For Liam, there will be good video for training purposes out of today.

Methinks, a thorough review and a stint in the magoos will be beneficial, so that he can work through the issues on the offensive side of his game, where it's a bit slower and there is time for a little more thinking before he pulls the trigger on a disposal, his choice of target or his positioning.

A shame, his tackling was amazing and a few other parts of his game were good.

Henry had some real cat 10s but I honestly feel like his physicality has improved massively, he laid some huge tackles and went in hard. He got to some really good positions and if he finishes off his work as JL says, he’s had a great game. His running is miles better also.

Definitely not ready to write him off, he does need games at AFL level, and then to do the work reviewing and improving thru the week.

Johno looked great, made good decisions and put his body on the line.

Disagree. He has it between the ears bit doesn't have the tools.

The limitations on his kicking distance are overblown and there are smaller players than him carving out good careers.

This thing he needs is to be able to do is get into space and consistently hit the risky 45°/corridor kick that opens up play and theoretically helps break the press that has stifled our ball movement thus far. He's never going to be a shuttle running winger like Hill but he does (supposedly) have excellent skills.

When he's consistently failing to hit those kicks/progress our ball movement and is turning it over or getting caught instead, he becomes a bit useless.

Peeps, I appreciate the support but I’d rather the positive thinking of Scootyb and pulling me up on being negative than the other way around. Tis all good, can move on

No, that campaigner can **** off. No room for that shit.

All for telling people they're being overly negative or go post in the vent thread etc etc. 'Not a true supporter' stuff - go **** yourself champ.

Peeps, I appreciate the support but I’d rather the positive thinking of Scootyb and pulling me up on being negative than the other way around. Tis all good, can move on
It’s not positivity vs negativity though.

That we should have won vs the eagles today was more of a given than the first two rounds.

When all of their important players went down and they had no one on the bench we should have smelt blood and hammered them. Instead we let them come within a kick going into the fourth with multiple unanswered goals. One of them came when they only had 17 players on the ground.

No one stood up. We should have absolutely locked down the second they kicked a goal in that situation, knowing we’d be able to run them off it in the fourth.

That’s what people are rightfully criticising.

Shouldn’t have to spell this out and I’m not spelling it out for you snuff but the numpty that thinks a win or a loss is a binary thing and ones means happy and the other unhappy. Just a silly take. It’s because we want to win it all that we give a shit enough to criticise with pointed, hopefully constructive, criticism.

Probably best just to put the 2nd half behind us as not important. WC to their credit threw absolutely everything at us and were outstanding given the circumstances. They basically couldn’t move in the last quarter so we buried them appropriately.

The first half was some fantastic footy from both sides and we still came out on top which was good to see but there was flashes of our biggest problems still.

• Not enough tall talent up forward (Tabs looks like he can barely move anymore)
  • Midfield struggling with contested ball

If we had our draft picks, I’d be leaving heavily towards forcing games into both Johnson and Ras. They would solve that midfield problem when they hit 50 games. Then it wouldn’t be a problem having a top pick this year while we rocket back up the ladder next year with 20 odd more games under the 2021 draftees, but the fact we don’t makes it tough.

It was nothing against you or the legitimacy of your fan hood mate, yours was just the first post out of a line of down ones that I thought encapsulated the sentiment.

I’ve only been posting on these forums for 15 odd years so must be a troll or a pillock, but that’s all g. Cheers for the call out

It’s not positivity vs negativity though.

That we should have won vs the eagles today was more of a given than the first two rounds.

When all of their important players went down and they had no one on the bench we should have smelt blood and hammered them. Instead we let them come within a kick in the fourth with multiple unanswered goals. One of them came when they only had 17 players on the ground.

No one stood up. We should have absolutely locked down the second they kicked a goal in that situation, knowing we’d be able to run them off it in the fourth.

That’s what people are rightfully criticising.

Shouldn’t have to spell this out and I’m not spelling it out for you snuff but the numpty that thinks a win or a loss is a binary thing and ones means happy and the other unhappy. Just a silly take. It’s because we want to win it all that we give a s**t enough to criticise with pointed, hopefully constructive, criticism.
Yeah but as a mod, I should set a better example to start the thread off, doesn’t help to be negative off the bat. I’ll admit I was seething still from that 3rd quarter and being around WC family didn’t help mah mood (even though they were fine, I was just a miserable sod haha)

No, that campaigner can * off. No room for that s**t.

All for telling people they're being overly negative or go post in the vent thread etc etc. 'Not a true supporter' stuff - go * yourself champ.

You’re reading what you want to read out of my post and then acting like a total ******** on the back of it. Putting quote marks around text doesn’t magically make it appear in my post. **** off