Review Freo Smalls 2 Fast, 2 Furious - Freo Win by 35 Against Carlton

We're the real deal. I now truly believe and am glued to my seat on the purple train! I feel that in years gone by, we would have choked, and squandered our 30 point lead within the final quarter, only to lose in the most heart-breaking fashion. Well, not anymore. Now we're a team that trusts the process, and more importantly, has the belief to to maintain leads and run the opposition off their feet! I'm immensely proud of the boys, and Switta's jumper tug had me pricking up with goosebumps!

Finally, f*ck Carlton. Stick your blue bags where the light don't shine!

In all seriousness, that was the most satisfying win in years, alongside the drought-breaking derby last year.

To be robbed so badly at home 2 years ago, and then have those campaigners be given our home game last year, only for their supporters to not only refuse to admit their good fortune, but to have the sheer arrogance after the game to proclaim that they won would have won no matter where it was played (despite us having 4 more shots at goal than them)... yeah, there hasn't been many times I wanted a win as badly as I did tonight.
don’t forget the game where ****ing Murphy kicked a winner with 30 secs left

When lobb plays with passion and joy he is one of the best combo fwd/rucks in the comp. We should demand serious compensation if he goes at the end of the year.
I also hope someone puts up the clip from the end of the game when Ryan Danials suggested that he should be happy that he ended up staying.

It was something along the lines of “Absolutely & all the boys got around me when I came back……………”
Just awesome & as you said, he looked determined tonight.

Get that up you sideways you blue pretenders!

Right up you.

Get the lid and everything blown off!
Yep
The whole AFL saw right through them tonight , what a rabble .
I was amazed at how disorganised they were and how quickly they crumpled under any defensive pressure.
If it wasn’t for a few soft frees out of the centre that score line would have looked a lot uglier

Talking of Brodie, our midfield's ToG% makes for interesting reading this week.

View attachment 1382140
That's actually really great to see, after all the previous talk. Maybe part of improving his tank is pushing his game time into uncomfortable territory. Maybe he's already got the tank to play these minutes effectively. Evidence supports it.

First time I've been to a game since Covid. Mate gave me seats on the Platinum Tier. What a perfect night.
Just a wonderful team performance. Everyone played their role.

Defence was incredible, McKay and Curnow have been almost unstoppable but they both got schooled tonight. I had actually suggested Logue as an in to match the athleticism of Curnow and he did a fabulous job. McKay was a bit hobbled but Pearce didn't let him get near it.

The rest of the defence was solid and the rebound was strong. Clark, Walker were terrific, Walker is so fast in real life, just runs away from players.

The Brodie, Darcy, Brayshaw show continues. Brodie has made all the difference, he's one of the best pure clearance mids I've seen. How did GC not see this? Brayshaw is a complete footballer, has everything. SO much better than Cerra. Serong building back to his best and Mundy has the luxury now of running around being classy. I cannot overstate how much of a difference I believe Brodie has made and he reads Darcy like a book.

We finally have a functional forward line and some decent delivery. We cut their defence to ribbons a number of times finding easy targets within range.
Walters is back and didn't he love it and didn't we love him. The energy at the ground when he kicked his goals was electric.
Switta is a genius and Shultz is becoming elite. Amazing just a couple of years ago I thought Switta might make it but Shultz was never going to be good enough for this level.

The other thing that really impressed me was how well JL has got Colyer and Acres playing. They were both headless chooks I thought didn't have the footy IQ to be good enough but both are playing really defined roles and using their strengths and both are really important now. Colyer used to burn the ball but now hits darts that find their mark. Amazing.

Very enjoyable night.

Congrats on the win tonight, too fast and too good on the night.

In a moment of genius I was with friends waiting for mid strength at one of the bars in the top tier near the scoreboard, when a lady at a members bar was sidetracked and I got us all in. Full strength for the rest of the night and made it all feel some what better.

Good luck for the season and your supporters are shit loads better than West Coke one's.

I wonder if something has been going on with sonson behind closes doors. The way the team got around him after he kicked his first tonight was like they get around a rookies first goal.

Probably to do with all the criticism he has been receiving.

Oh boy- what a weekend so far! Married yesterday and a brilliant game from the boys tonight. I was sitting way up top squashed next to a Carlton supporter who had BO and kept yelling “deliberate” every damn time the ball rolled over the line.

I’m so ****ing proud of the boys (despite them giving me a couple of nervous sharts at the beginning of the 4th). We are such a fun team to watch right now!

Also eat shit Carlton and eat shit Cerra

Yeti's a good sort, he'll admit defeat honourably, unlike another Freo poster I know of
I don’t know who (y)you are talking about
salim malik is also a good bloke, him and me hang our heads in joint shame on calling Schultz a bust.
i too am I in that club
First game I’ve been to this year. Very noticeable how Fredericks and Colyer stay wide and we simply couldn’t get it to them.
Carlton really blocked up the middle on our transition but we also didn’t have the guys like Young and Chapman to pull the trigger.

Very satisfying win.
i’ll move past the spelling to completely agree, he gets in so many excellent positions and when the ball falls his way will be able to do some serious damage

I’m gonna have to rewatch it on Tele to clarify that
There seemed like lots of opportunities for him but none were taken
Won’t be surprised to see him come out for Sturt next few weeks if no other forward line outs .
There's was a lot of close quarters chaos in the forward line. Some games the ball simply doesn't bounce or fall the right way for you or the kick wasn't to your favour.

There were a few kicks to Freddy that were pretty hot so I don't blame him for being unable to grab em, he chased after the ball and man constantly but the ball favoured his teammates more often.

I wonder if something has been going on with sonson behind closes doors. The way the team got around him after he kicked his first tonight was like they get around a rookies first goal.

He’s a heart on his sleeve kind of dude and has probably been carrying his disappointment about his goal kicking yips visibly. Obviously much loved within the club

Review Freo Smalls 2 Fast, 2 Furious - Freo Win by 35 Against Carlton