Autopsy Geelong defeated by Swans by 46 points..

im still optimisitic going forward. everyone is underestimating how serious our injury list is. its been diabolical for 6 weeks now. a night like this was bound to happen. but we have to start getting players back next week and hopefully not lose anyone from tonight. plus hopefully now the experiment of playing a kid to punish a better player is over.

was to be expected. ive given up on scott ever getting this team to gell.

we can only rely on star power and it was missing tonight.

liked hawkins game. back in form

duncan and menegola was good ( save for his weak goal kicking)

smith started off well.

simpson, guthrie and buzza are atleast two years from being at this level. the self inflicted wound of playing buzza was pathetic when we had a vastly superior player in the reserves. it will do nothing for eithers confidence.

the calls of umpire cheating were pathetic. there were some bad ones against us. but it was 25 to 25 free kick count in the end and we never trailed by much.
duncan and hawkins could be in trouble next week with the mrp.

Bull shit. They got the rub of the green when it mattered.

Chris Scott after game interview:
The umpires were great tonight as it is difficult to umpire our game. Some frees to them were questionable and i will have to reread the rules book again.

I think we may loose 3 players for next week. Hawkins for jumper punching for the umpteenth time. All good h is a great player. Duncan to a player who falls over before he is touched and Selwood who is our only champion on the ground. Nice tackle by Franklin to cripple him at the end.

We are in form,
monstered in the first term as usual.
gutless effort
we had no forward line
played bruise free footy so we will be ok for next week
played our best backman out of position until the game was over
played zone footy which we love.....
i know why we lost but i can not explain it to you as you will not understand and we are figuring it out

Meh.
Hot opposition who kicked goals from nowhere vs a team that's hit critical mass of injuries and couldn't kick a goal from a set shot to save themselves.
Bad turn overs in the first quarter and some bad umpiring capped off by some shocking discipline late.
Shit night, might not have 22 fit players next week and a chance to not win another game all year.
**** this game sometimes, **** it right off.

Meh..agreed.

At times tonight our forward line included Parsons, Buzza, Stewart and Kolodjashnij who have about 15 combined career goals between them.

Enough said.
Kolodjashnij has had more than 15 goal assists on his own,pity whey weren't for us.

The frustrating bit for me was the effort was there, I would be more frustrated if it wasn't we put in and the reality is we smashed them in clearances and broke even in the inside 50s but it was just such an EFFORT to score. We have no sync in our forward half and have to work so hard for goals and half the time our delivery inside 50 is poor and then we can't pressure the opposition well enough to stop it coming out. Some of these issues have no easy structural fix ie all our small forwards are injured but I wish our coaches wouldnt let Sydney play the same against us every time. Always they go blitzkreig for 20 minutes then flood numbers behind the ball as they know if we dont mark it I50 our forward crumbing is poor and then they can slingshot out the back against our slow defence. While it's a morally disgusting game plan they play our coaches never seem to bring different tactics against it which frustrates me.

On the umpires tonight with our ball use being what it was we may have lost either way (hard to tell) but the afl shouldn't wonder why fans don't love the game the way they used to when there is no accountability. The number of times Sydney scored a goal from an obvious umpiring error was staggering. The 3 guys that 'umpired' that game tonight weren't up to umpiring the auskick game at half time let alone a real football game, have no grasp of the rules and just guess when they don't know what happened. But you can bet there will be no accountability for them as the AFL is an organisation that consistently rewards mediocrity in it's staff, the kind of mediocrity that would lose the rest of us in the real world our jobs.

Back to Geelong:

In: Dangerfield Menzel Ruggles (pending vfl) Cunico Black/Stanley

Out: Hawkins (susp) Kolo Simpson Zuthrie Thurlow

Don't really care which of Buzza or Stanley we play so long as Taylor plays CHF.

Never play lonners and kolo together again their combined lack of kicking skill is too much. Kolo out until they decide to move Lonners on. Replace one of them with someone who can run the ball from the back half.

Our forward pressure is too bad to carry both Menzel and Motlop and Menzel scores more clutch goals.
Thurlow just looks too rusty right now.

Unfortunately we need a small forward but have no options there. Cockatoo is a big loss.

We need to stop moving Taylor back the problem is every time Kolo or Lonners panic and give away a goal Scott shifts Taylor back to cover them within 5 minutes. Hold your nerve man! Memo given our lack of small forwards the only way we win this flag is with deep one out entries before Hawkins has multiple numbers against him and the only way that happens is with Taylor forward 30m out from goal. The only 10-15 minutes of the game we looked good tonight were when he played there. Stanley is a good ruckman (although after Smith's game tonight Stanley won't get another game as a ruck this year) and Buzza is a kid, FFS if you don't put Taylor there it won't matter how much our defence struggles as we won't kick enough goals to win finals.

Scott Selwood is hugely overrated. Needs to be moved out of midfield. Not clean enough.

Agreed but he should never be the A grade rotation and you need to cut a little bit of slack as he is never actually fully prepared to play given his injuries. Ball handling is always the first thing that's off. At least he gets to the ball. WTF do some of the others do.

Love our medical department. Joel is now out for a month cause of the second ankle roll. & For what?
Just like Cocky last year with the knee, and rushing him back this year.
We are getting desperate and injuring players.

im still optimisitic going forward. everyone is underestimating how serious our injury list is. its been diabolical for 6 weeks now. a night like this was bound to happen. but we have to start getting players back next week and hopefully not lose anyone from tonight. plus hopefully now the experiment of playing a kid to punish a better player is over.

Yeah. As I posted at half time, the likes of Z Guthrie, Simpson and Buzza will be nowhere near our best 22 come finals.

Bull shit. They got the rub of the green when it mattered.

yep i think they got the rub too. it may of cost us two goals max though. to say they are cheating cos they got the slight rub of the green is beyond pathetic. its delusional and shows a lack of maturity and rationality.

A poster in the preview thread stated that Smith was a barometer for us. Well the barometer is broken - Smith was one of our best and the team played crap.

He was very good though. Which we will need him to be the next few weeks. Schooled that overpaid spud Tippett.

Alarm bells are ringing, sirens are wailing, we're in a world of pain after being dismantled yet again by Sydney.

An all too familiar scenario; out-muscled and out-hustled early on, periods where we looked to be dragging ourselves back into the contest before a clinical Sydney side take the game out of our hands.

Some d!ckhead opposition supporter posed the question in the gameday thread as to how this Geelong team could possibly be 2nd on the ladder - the answer is obvious; it has become a diluted, crap competition where any half-decent team can rack up enough wins to qualify for finals.
We're a half-decent team - but for this iteration of Geelong to be in contention at this time of year is an indictment on the competition as a whole; the Geelong team of 2007 would destroy this year's model.

Our only saving grace is that a) we might still avoid Sydney in the finals, and b) just about every other team is as flaky and prone to wild fluctuations in form as we are.

In an attempt to take a somewhat balanced view, we were well below full strength tonight - I'm loathe to use injuries as an excuse but once Joel Selwood was hobbled we hit a tipping point where we simply didn't have enough AFL-standard players to impact the game.
Wylie Buzza tries hard, has improved a heap and has earned his retention on the list for next year and hopefully beyond; but he was out of inspiration and legs tonight.
I liked Sam Simpson's efforts tonight a lot, but he is dangerously light-on.
Zac Guthrie looked way out of his depth tonight.

Jordan Murdoch showed his true level the past couple of weeks; a great game against the lowly Blues followed by a very quiet game against a relative contender in Sydney = the better the opposition, the worst he plays.

Positives?

Jackson Thurlow played easily his best game for the year; still didn't have a huge impact but got involved a lot more than he has previously. He's had a tough return from his 2016 knee injury as many cautioned pre-season. Worth persisting with if only for his above average footskills.

Scott Selwood played a decent game and Menegola, despite some horrible misses, chipped in too. Duncan got plenty of the ball and I felt for him conceding that goal in the 4th quarter; I don't often comment on the umpires but that was soft and his opponent is a weak prick.

I reckon we'll flog Richmond next week, and yet it all seems so similar and familiar to the past couple of seasons that I sometimes just feel like we're going through the motions.

I previously said our 07 team would smash this current cats side by 10-12 goals, think I was being generous, it'd be more like 15+ goals.

The league is so even and weak, like you said we are an average team at best yet sit 2nd? How the? Adelaide are an ok side but with glaring flaws, sitting pretty on top.

Meh.
Hot opposition who kicked goals from nowhere vs a team that's hit critical mass of injuries and couldn't kick a goal from a set shot to save themselves.
Bad turn overs in the first quarter and some bad umpiring capped off by some shocking discipline late.
Shit night, might not have 22 fit players next week and a chance to not win another game all year.
**** this game sometimes, **** it right off.

Yeah spot on. The injuries have almost had a bit of the "boiling frog" about them. Snuck up, bit by bit by bit.

Swans were lucky but i recon their setup gives them a better chance for luck than ours does

We are deficient in way too many areas. Our forward line is Hawkins and nothing. Literally nothing - it's so bad I have no ****ing idea who is even supposed to be playing as a forward. Where are our goal sneaks? Where are our options bar Hawkins? Its a complete cluster**** and embarrassment. Our set shots are simply atrocious for an AFL club, embarrassing.. Menegola spraying them, Guthrie couldn't hit a barn door for a set shot. Our backline was in disarray, no accountability or team work - spare Sydney players everywhere yet somehow they had extra numbers when the ball went back out.. We implemented the same old guarding thin air tactic that meant we required a ****ing mack track to mow down Sydney players before we had any chance of getting the ball to even travel forward with any sort of consistency. Compare that to the swans and the ease they found players on their own. Our pressure was weak as piss, they walked through us however when we had the ball it was shit your pants time and fire off a handpass to either a swans player or the ground - standard Geelong. Our young players all showed **** all and shat bricks under the big lights which is a terrible sign of things to come if they are the best we have available. Compare them to Sydneys youngsters who showed class and polish the whole night. All in all an absolute shit night with no shining light - Scott lost my faith a long time ago and keeps re-enforcing why I am right.

Autopsy Geelong defeated by Swans by 46 points..