Autopsy Geelong loses to Demons by 4 points - Rd 23

Why?
This time last year had same QF match up v Port and got done over
Logic suggests same result

If we go on the teams that played in the qf last year and the one that played last night.

Out : Ablett, Duncan, Stewart, Taylor, Touhy.

In : Smith, Holmes, Close, Cameron, Simpson. Higgins (medical sub)

Looking at how we voted on this board for last years qf, Duncan was the only one that people really voted for and most of them where in the 3 to 1 vote range. I gave Taylor my 4 (I'm assuming he was on that big potato Dixon who had 6 touches) and only 2 people gave Tuohy a vote, a 1 and a 2.

Tom kicked 0.5 we only kicked 5 goals and lost by 16 points.

Locked and loaded.

2021-Pathway-to-the-Grand-Final.jpg

The season means nothing anyway when there's only two teams in the 8 who get access to a legitimate home final.

Maybe that’s the speech our boys got at half time in last years grand final at the Gabba….

I think this is crap 10 years of making top 4 then folding under pressure of sides wanting to do anything to win, leaves a hole every year, We never look like a hungry team

Each to their own. I can see that's an equally valid take on what our post-2011 era has been like.

And it will change - we've had the potentially premiership-winning combo of Hawkins, Selwood, and Taylor (up til last year), so the coaches decided to go all in.

If it pays off this year or next, great! But either way, the top-up approach will have to be adjusted post-2022.

The season means nothing anyway when there's only two teams in the 8 who get access to a legitimate home final.

the whole COVID environment has given the AFL this prosthetic unattractive feeling to it.

I still recall the 97,000 screaming fans going Bizerk at the night prelim in 2007 and crapping my pants the last five minutes of the game.

the finals last year had 1/20th the feeling of traditional intense atmospheres like that. Playing it at the Gabba

I’m so confused by Atkins. He seems to be in the thick of it. Making contest after contest. The issue is that he always seems under pressure and making errors.

I can’t work out if he is under pressure as he initially wins the hard contest or he just doesn’t have awareness and poise of some players.

It’s his running gait. Looks like he is falling over when he is running. And yes runs into trouble often. Expect holding the ball in finals.

No Esava = an unbroken Jezza, right? Then lo and behold along comes Hendo, lobotomised defender Hendo.

At times we looked like world beaters and others we looked the complete opposite, wouldn't like to play chess against Scotty.

We will need to be switched on for 4 quarters next week, I hope we target good decision makers and good users in the draft/trade period.

44 points up and then fail to kick a goal for over 40 minutes? Same pattern in finals of the past. The coaching is a major problem.

When we attack we look fantastic. Reverting to a conservative game style is what costs us. Or coaches have a strong preference for this. Our players simply lack the skills to execute.

Worst loss i can remember and i have supported the side for 50 years.

It took me 5 seconds to think of a worse loss....v Hawthorn after being 56 points up at half time...there have been a few others too....the 1969 semi v Richmond comes to mind...

a hollow feeling I agree, but in retrospect a loss that didn't mean all that much...proof will be in the pudding next Friday night.

the whole COVID environment has given the AFL this prosthetic unattractive feeling to it.

I still recall the 97,000 screaming fans going Bizerk at the night prelim in 2007 and crapping my pants the last five minutes of the game.

the finals last year had 1/20th the feeling of traditional intense atmospheres like that. Playing it at the Gabba

You want to listen to a game on the radio - without the fake noise

I listened to the Ports v Dogs game on the ABC Radio - its like a practise match - you can hear the players yelling out to each other

It took me 5 seconds to think of a worse loss....v Hawthorn after being 56 points up at half time...there have been a few others too....the 1969 semi v Richmond comes to mind...

a hollow feeling I agree, but in retrospect a loss that didn't mean all that much...proof will be in the pudding next Friday night.

Literally any Finals loss has been worse than a round 23 dead rubber

Logic says a result in match 12 months ago is completely irrelevant.

It depends on what transpired in the off season to further improve your chances.

Geelong brought in Smith, Higgins, Cameron.
Geelong lost Taylor, Ablett.

Port brought in Fantasia, Aliir Aliir.
Port lost Ebert, Rockliff.

Week 1 of the finals this year, Geelong will be without Duncan, Stewart and Port will be without Georgiades.

I don't know about you, but to me, it looks like Port Adelaide are the more 'improved' team at this moment in time. That is taking into account the impact both Smith and Cameron have had which is snuffed out by Fantasia and Aliir Aliir's contributions.

44 points up and then fail to kick a goal for over 40 minutes? Same pattern in finals of the past. The coaching is a major problem.

When we attack we look fantastic. Reverting to a conservative game style is what costs us. Or coaches have a strong preference for this. Our players simply lack the skills to execute.

Worst loss i can remember and i have supported the side for 50 years.
Che? It wasn’t pretty but have been to heaps of worst losses than that. 2008 GF for starters- way, way worse, pies final 2010, freo finals - both. …and on it goes.

If the shoe was on the other foot I bet all our doom and gloomers would be saying that we are no chance in finals and we only came back because Melbourne put the cue in the rack. Can't win sometimes.
So you made up an alternative world where other people are hypocrites and then said - look see they are hypocrites.

only one problem. You know that alternative world is fiction right? You made it up.

Che? It wasn’t pretty but have been to heaps of worst losses than that. 2008 GF for starters- way, way worse, pies final 2010, freo finals - both. …and on it goes.

I reckon that loss to Richmond at the Gold Coast last year was the worst ever

That was like a boxer in a squatting position with his back turned - refusing to throw a punch

That was beyond shocking how Geel played that night - talk about rabbits with the spotlight on them

Holmes fully deserves to play next week, and we need some youth in what is an old team. Frankly I'd be happy see Clark in too, but no-one here will agree with that. The team is too old; it wouldn't matter if they were all champs at the top of their form but they're not. Moreover it seems Danger will be handicapped for another finals series.

I'd also be very happy to see Krueger in again - quick, takes marks, and a great left-foot kick. How many intercept marks did we take yesterday?

Kolo is slow and very nervous ball in hand. Mieirs was poor. Dalhouse battled away but he's very slow and his kicking is below average. I expect Higgins to come in.
Like the sentiment on Kreuger but it’s too soon for him to be selected in finals - lots of rookie mistakes in last game and would be exploited. Behind Zuthrie as a backman (with Kolo to cover a key defender if necessary). Break glass only at this stage.
Dahl’s footy brain/reactions are still fast but he has totally lost the closing speed/agility he once had. Good in pressure acts but not clearing packs, snapping and sub par in kicking (and one sided I think). Scott sees value in his smarts and pressure acts and doesn’t see a better alternative so he’s going to stay in, regardless of what most of us think.

Hope the Bball team gave it to the coach and/or club fired him.
No. Because we were all guilty. We never threw the match, like you think how its done. We just never played that well once the idea was put in our heads hours before the game. A few of us including me said no way would we throw the game, when it was first mentioned. And the coach was like, yeah, yeah, forget it. But it was too late. Even the coach was iffy about it and just threw it up as a thought. Its poison just to say it. We never held it against the coach long term, but we all knew it was a super dumb thing to put out there.

I haven't read the whole thread. Mostly due to ppl being in some strange tailspin.

What was interesting last night was that neither Henderson or Cameron had a concussion test........
I really hope there was not anything surreptitious occurring.