Autopsy Geelong loses to Demons by 4 points - Rd 23

Been one of Parfitt's biggest supporters on this board over the duration of career, and would even excuse his recent patchiness given he has been down on midfield minutes some weeks with Dangerfield ramping up his time in the middle post ankle injury. Numbers are down but that is fine imo.

But has anyone else noticed that the ball seems to bobble in his hands every time he receives a handball lately? I know he has had hand (thumb?) issues, perhaps that is affecting things, but that split-second of fumbliness just puts him a bit on the back foot in traffic of late.

Ripper front-on tackle at from him at one stage last night though, nearly the highlight of the match for mine.
For me he doesn't have the awareness to give off the best option.
Good player though... could be next level but hangs onto the ball for too long and put himself under pressure where he doesn't need to.

‘92 was worse than ‘95. As good as the Eagles were that year, we should have won ‘92. ‘95 Carlton were the better team.
Yep, but they weren’t that much better. It was rubbish.
Can‘t abide flipping Carlton. :cool:
Agree re 92.

Exactly

Same as during the week in the "could Hawkins be reported" for his tackle late against St Kilda - being told "take off your rose coloured glasses" had more than a few of us raising eyebrows

No one's said the club, the players or coaches are immune from criticism - just need to look at the 5 part discussion on Scott to know that. But surely we folks can be more cleaver with their criticism rather than looking for a cheap laugh

Surely to goodness posters were allowed to discuss the Hawkins incident- one way or the other

There were 3-4 posters ( me being one of them ) who said ( and gave reasons ) that he should have been suspended over that incident

However if you asked those same 3-4 posters the question - Do we want Hawkins suspended - the answer of course would be no blooody way

Some posters - when incidents are discussed - cant seem to grasp that difference

We all barrack for The Cats and want the Cats to win

Good player though... could be next level but hangs onto the ball for too long and put himself under pressure where he doesn't need to.
At least he doesn't treat the ball like a hot potato like some of his contemporaries.
(Addendum : still needs to lose those up and under kicks)

That's fair - I thought he'd start to develop that aspect of his game this season, but not only has his decision-making stagnated but his evasiveness has dropped off a little too, even from the start of this season.
Bit out of form I think.

Surely to goodness posters were allowed to discuss the Hawkins incident- one way or the other

There were 3-4 posters ( me being one of them ) who said ( and gave reasons ) that he should have been suspended over that incident

However if you asked those same 3-4 posters the question - Do we want Hawkins suspended - the answer of course would be no blooody way

Some posters - when incidents are discussed - cant seem to grasp that difference

We all barrack for The Cats and want the Cats to win

There was no issue discussing the Hawkins/Joyce tackle, and looking at the incident from all sides

But when those who are discussing the reasons why he shouldn't be suspended based on football reasons are told to, "take off your rose coloured glasses" & "he knew exactly what he was doing so don’t defend him” - don't be surprised when they aren't seen as friendly

Comments of that nature from opposition posters wouldn't be tolerated

Selwood bog again, the man is a freak. Clearance work has been unbelievable this year.

Holmes is a star. Good sized inside mid with terrific vision and a set of wheels to go with it. Nearly the perfect prototype for a modern mid. Cant wait to see him develop in the next few years.

Selwood bog again, the man is a freak. Clearance work has been unbelievable this year.

Holmes is a star. Good sized inside mid with terrific vision and a set of wheels to go with it. Nearly the perfect prototype for a modern mid. Cant wait to see him develop in the next few years.
Wait. What? A kid is a star? What does that make Cameron? Super human?

Selwood was nowhere near bog.
Not even in the top 15.
Stanley played well, but his opponent was bog.

There was no issue discussing the Hawkins/Joyce tackle, and looking at the incident from all sides

But when those who are discussing the reasons why he shouldn't be suspended based on football reasons are told to, "take off your rose coloured glasses" & "he knew exactly what he was doing so don’t defend him” - don't be surprised when they aren't seen as friendly

Comments of that nature from opposition posters wouldn't be tolerated

Cool story. Talk about sooking it up.

Everyone is entitled to have an opinion. No personal abuse, no vilification etc.

If you can’t deal with people having different opinions why are you wasting your time on a forum. Type in ‘forum’ in the Oxford dictionary search and see what you can find.

Laughable how some people in here hold themselves out as some sort of higher law. Seriously

Wait. What? A kid is a star? What does that make Cameron? Super human?

Selwood was nowhere near bog.
Not even in the top 15.
Stanley played well, but his opponent was bog.
My bad, I meant Selwood the best Cat. If you dont think he was in the best 15 on the ground there’s no need for us to discuss footy because we see it completely different. 28 and a goal From 64% game time is impressive for anyone.

Cool story. Talk about sooking it up.

Everyone is entitled to have an opinion. No personal abuse, no vilification etc.

If you can’t deal with people having different opinions why are you wasting your time on a forum.
Type in ‘forum’ in the Oxford dictionary search and see what you can find.

Laughable how some people in here hold themselves out as some sort of higher law. Seriously

And yet here you are with your rant about how unfair that some posters argued with their own opnion on the incident and yet were told by you to take off their “rose coloured glasses” because their view was different to yours…and then told to grow up when you had a further tantrum

and now you do a follow up by ranting and attacking a mod, Perhaps look at the difinition of hypocrite in that Oxford dictionary that you are asking the mod to use.

quite telling

Barrett in his write up:
"Some of the biggest problems for the Cats in finals have been in the ruck. Rhys Stanley has to play, and was good until late against Melbourne. But Esava Ratugolea needs to be brought back as back-up for the qualifying final.

Quinton Narkle should play. Luke Dahlhaus maybe not. And get Mitch Duncan and Zach Tuohy fit sometime before September 25!"

Esava would have gotten smashed much worse than Stanley and Blicavs did, hilarious that he suggests he comes in.

Barrett in his write up:
"Some of the biggest problems for the Cats in finals have been in the ruck. Rhys Stanley has to play, and was good until late against Melbourne. But Esava Ratugolea needs to be brought back as back-up for the qualifying final.

Quinton Narkle should play. Luke Dahlhaus maybe not. And get Mitch Duncan and Zach Tuohy fit sometime before September 25!"

Esava would have gotten smashed much worse than Stanley and Blicavs did, hilarious that he suggests he comes in.

Is Barrett suggesting we replace a pressure player in Dahlhaus with one at the opposite end of the scale in Narkle?

As for Ratugolea, I want to know exactly what role Barrett is expecting him to play when he's not in the ruck because we saw last week that when he's up forward alongside both Hawkins & Cameron he just got lost, and with Rohan also up forward, there's really no spot for him