Autopsy Geelong loses to PA in QF2 by about 6 goals.

A strange moment I saw was Motlop giving Isaac Smith sh*t.
Then Smith gave it back in his usual fashion with that cheeky smile of his.
But then Motlop just laughed at him and it seemed it dawned on Smith what jumper he was now wearing.
Then he was really flat for about the next 10 mins. Barely ran. Had really bad body language.
Kind of sad cause it's us but kind of funny cause I hate Smith.

Mate Smith probably thinking “wtf is wrong with this team in finals”.

It's a known fact that Scarlett has as much say as Scott when it comes to MC decisions and style, he's part of the problem at this point.

I dont think style and MC are as big an issue as motivation and buy in. In game decisions need to be made better, when to sprint and when to crab need to be triggered at better moments. Not sure who makes those calls but when everyone looks confused its usually due to messaging from the top and from what i can see its mostly from Scotts mouth.

Just about every final from Rohan or Blicavs would match up pretty well.

Henderson was horrific, but he's been slowing down for a fair while and turns 32 in December. Pretty straightforward explanation I reckon.

As has been mentioned - Stewart makes Henderson look better. Without Stewart, the shine fades.

Where was the hunt? The dog hunger? Blicavs, Guthrie, Paddy, kolo, bews, Stanley, hendo, Menongola.....I wouldve expected these guys to be running through brick walls. They've played many many finals without success. The body language in the 2nd quarter when Port was ramping up the pressure to get to a 4+ goal lead wasn't good. Where was the skipper crashing in? Where was raging bull paddy?
Mick McGuane said it was a bruise free, soft performance from Geelong- totally agree!

I love it when teams lose
Players who didnt play are superstars, Narkle does not apply defensive pressure. end of story.
Henderson had his worst game for a long time, you cant drop marks and play senior afl footy, happens one more time and its off to arcare
Dangerfield, selwood, guthrie were shite, no run no momentum
stanley was good
we need zuthrie as we need another marking back, so he goes back
you cant play higgins and dahl, both cant kick over 30 metres and have lost pace

changes to win, which will
tuohy and holmes in
simpson and occonor out
if they have balls zuthrie in, and close out

Good post, sorry to snip it but wanted to focus on the little bit that I've quoted - that set shot worried me early on (as did Hawkins miss from directly in front before that), and I thought the same thing you did - Hawkins has been snapping those for weeks on end, then suddenly under pressure he seemingly forgets his approach and goes for a drop punt. It was a tough shot; but the miss didn't bother me so much as the method.

Not sure he’s been snapping them from this far out, but I was nervous when he missed that first set shot, second one was pure though so not sure there are any demons there.
9D61A3D0-132E-40CE-888F-9858525893C3.jpeg

There are some really smart posters on this board (believe it or not) who have a great knack of dismantling what happened.
Well certainly more incisive than what you'd get at any presser.

It results in the sort of group loser cameradie and agreement Carlton et al supporters must experience.
I must admit to laughing at so many acerbic, cynical and correct posts because what else can you do?
Is there anyone, anywhere, who thinks this might be an aberration and we'll bounce back?
No? Perhaps Scott should read the most disgusted BF posts to the boys.

To be fair, Rohan hasn't dropped off, he's just producing the same sh*t he always has. Dangerfield really has dropped off, and alarmingly.

In finals, yes, you're right; Rohan is a recidivist.
His H&A form is sound, but he has built up a looong track record of going to water in finals.

Small forwards/third tall forwards have a tough gig come finals, not many produce big games historically, but Rohan's disappearing acts are near-legendary.
He had to give more in the 1st half last night, but for me to expect anything else from him at this point would be beyond optimistic, it would be madness.

Not sure he’s been snapping them from this far out, but I was nervous when he missed that first set shot, second one was pure though so not sure there are any demons there.
View attachment 1219410

The distance would be his only mitigation, even so I am reasonably sure he has at least been attempting to snap them from around that spot on a couple of occasions over the past few rounds.
Yes that first set shot set off my alarm bells too.

The very smart geelong supporters are ringing 3aw and demanding the inclusion of narkle and constable
do they realise they are poor players
narkle and constable do not defend - our issue last night was two way running and defence
they would have been diabolical
do people realise these blokes were free last year and no other club wanted them, yes no one wanted them
these two are no better than murdoch and horlin smith, who at least tried their guts out despite their limitations

take a chill pill people

Port have stayed at home over the last 2 years, no travel etc, and a number of their players had their best games of the year, and some of our had their worst
wowee

Players who didnt play are superstars, Narkle does not apply defensive pressure. end of story.
Henderson had his worst game for a long time, you cant drop marks and play senior afl footy, happens one more time and its off to arcare
Dangerfield, selwood, guthrie were sh*te, no run no momentum
stanley was good
you cant play higgins and dahl, both cant kick over 30 metres and have lost pace

tuohy and holmes in
simpson and occonor out

Agree but Simpson stays. Had a crack and had his moments, which is more than can be said for his more seasoned mates

Of course they did. Too many are terrified to face reality, or acknowledge Scott is not the super genius they think he is.
Similiar to how Wells isn't now the super recruiter he was 20 years ago. Who was the last young 18 yo he picked up in the draft that turned out to be a gun.

Agree with all that except labelling Henderson a butcher. As bad as he was last night - and I agree with those that have said it was the worst finals performance by a Geelong player, at least that I've seen - he's usually one of our safest ball users. Even last night, it wasn't his kicking that was the problem. Dropping simple marks and looking slower and less agile than even Dahlhaus was the issue.
Constantly hit Aliir did Mr Hendo. Might not be a butcher but was an absolute ball waster coming out of defense.

I'd keep Danger, but would put all of Rohan, Dahl, Higgins, and Kolo on the nature strip for free pick-up.

hard rubbish?

I don't know what becomes of Dangerfield.
He had some really good weeks over the past month or so. Not last night though. His finals record is spotty at best. That's as generous as I can be.

In finals, yes, you're right; Rohan is a recidivist.
His H&A form is sound, but he has built up a looong track record of going to water in finals.

Small forwards/third tall forwards have a tough gig come finals, not many produce big games historically, but Rohan's disappearing acts are near-legendary.
He had to give more in the 1st half last night, but for me to expect anything else from him at this point would be beyond optimistic, it would be madness.

Recidivists deserve a good psychologist.
He's trying too hard.

Danger has never really been super in finals. Even when he's had big numbers it's rarely equated to his regular season performance. It's a common trend with players who struggle with kicking, when the pressure ramps up and body's are flying his kicking efficiency goes even lower.

Why was Hodge such a good finals performer? He could kick. Same goes for Dusty. These guys have the fundamentals to fall back on when things get really hot in the kitchen.

Danger, as good as he has been, doesn't.

hard rubbish?

He had some really good weeks over the past month or so. Not last night though. His finals record is spotty at best. That's as generous as I can be.

Again.. like the greater team, will probably come out next week and absolutely obliterate.

hard rubbish?

I think we're starting to see the decline that comes as competitive spirit and physical ability is steadily overtaken by Father Time.

Dangerfield, selwood, guthrie were sh*te, no run no momentum
stanley was good

tuohy and holmes in
simpson and occonor out

Aww gee you had me until your last line.
Can't like.

I would really love the coaches to make a little statement and drop Henderson for Krueger. The backline was a big issue that Krueger won’t solve by himself but Hendo was terrible.
I assume Tuohy will come in for O’Connor which is a small gain.

Really it’s the midfield where we lost most of all and we don’t have players to come in and replace those that underperformed. We'll have to back in most of the players to perform better.

I wasn’t confident going into the game after last week. It seems like last week smashed the confidence of the group.

If we lose next week it certainly won’t be a big clean out like some are suggesting but it should be time to put games into some players like Kreuger and Dekoning.

The very smart geelong supporters are ringing 3aw and demanding the inclusion of narkle and constable
do they realise they are poor players
narkle and constable do not defend - our issue last night was two way running and defence
they would have been diabolical
do people realise these blokes were free last year and no other club wanted them, yes no one wanted them
these two are no better than murdoch and horlin smith, who at least tried their guts out despite their limitations

take a chill pill people

Port have stayed at home over the last 2 years, no travel etc, and a number of their players had their best games of the year, and some of our had their worst
wowee

Wait are we dropping anyone who doesn’t kill themselves running 2 way? Not sure we could field a 22, Danger & Joel first two out.