Preview Geelong V Carlton Sat July 29 2017 725 pm @ Etihad

Agreed but why. 5 changes means this has disaster game written all over it. Stanley's now done for the yr. I would have backing him in for the next fortnight. Confidence is now shot. You can't bring him back in the last month and hope for a miracle. With Blitz done I just don't understand.

Menz is now getting rested each fortnight. His form is a mile off and I don't understand how when you have no small fwds that you have the luxury of resting two in one game

Asking Cocky to play a full game of senior AFL after not doing so for almost 12 weeks also smacks of desperation

We're bringing two back in in Cocky and Parfitt aren't we?

Stanley, Motlop and Z Guthrie deserved to go, Blitz had to go and they never take any chances with Menz.

Five changes is a lot, but I'd say they're all pretty warranted.

Sitting second on the ladder I'm not sure it is that time. But time is certainly going to tell.

Second shmecond. We're 6 points ahead of 7th with a tricky run home and our % is ordinary. Furthermore our recent games not played in Geelong against finals/finals aspiring sides and Collingwood:

Loss by 21 to Adelaide (37 down at 3/4 time)
Drew with GWS who are going very poorly and badly injury depleted
Loss by 13 to WCE (34 down at 1/2 time and that was flattering)
Loss by 17 to Essendon (40 down at 3/4 time)
Loss by 25 to GC
Loss by 29 to Collingwood

Outside of that we fell in against an improved but still ordinary Hawthorn side missing as many if not more regulars than us needing a man on one leg to kick 36 of our 88 and even at home spent most of the day 4-5 goals down against Freo. We have been playing like absolute horse shit for way too long in other words so taking a risk to try and spark something is worth it.

Cmon Sim...you know as well as I do that the losses to the Pies, GC and Essendon happened so long ago they have zero relevance to this week...or following weeks.

We are second on the ladder and will give Carlton a good defeat this week. IF by some chance we don't beat them, then I'm on your wagon mighty quick. :p:D

Second shmecond. We're 6 points ahead of 7th with a tricky run home and our % is ordinary. Furthermore our recent games not played in Geelong against finals/finals aspiring sides and Collingwood:

Loss by 25 to GC

Outside of that we fell in against an improved but still ordinary Hawthorn side missing as many if not more regulars than us needing a man on one leg to kick 36 of our 88 and even at home spent most of the day 4-5 goals down against Freo. We have been playing like absolute horse shit for way too long in other words so taking a risk to try and spark something is worth it.
Yet here we are, second.

Loss by 25 to GC

I could edit a few words in this post and make it about any other team in the league - inconsistent performances aren't isolated to us...

But why does he mention that they want to manage him and get him right by the end of the season?
For the very reason I pointed out in the first place
Some blokes can't deal with the brutality of the truth.....it's easier to say he's managed than to say he's dropped.
If Motlop was publicly named as 'dropped', I have no doubt whatsoever, he drop his bundle completely

Stanley was just too much of a liability mate. A change needed to be made and it was. Buzza has played the role well plenty of times at VFL level and will bring some competitiveness and aggression to the contest that Stanley and a few of our other big blokes lack.

Even if Buzza doesn't do much, we've lost nothing. Get behind him!
Let's say Stanley gets three chances at scoring, you can almost pencil in 1 goal, 1 behinds, 1 didn't make the distance or out on the full.

So far, if Buzza gets a shot, he kicks goals.

Now there are other things that Stanley does that may be superior, ruck craft, clearances, score involvements, but it looks like the MC are willing to sacrifice that for good old fashioned pressure in the forward line.

They know that Stanley's contribution in areas that is superior to Buzza can be taken up by the midfield in general. However Stanley's deficits cannot be covered by our forward line.

Adding to this, having Taylor in the area, with his defensive pressure and willingness to compete and accuracy will take pressure off Buzza. Cockatoo and Parsons and Parfitt will be unreal for smalls pressure.

The link up play by Motlop, although he doesn't have many meters gained is vital, because he's just there when someone needs to kick or handball to a team mate. Likewise Blitz.

You'd hope the Scott Selwood will be better for last weeks run, Thurlow can contribute and Cockatoo can be a link up line breaking player like we've seen in games.

Let's say Stanley gets three chances at scoring, you can almost pencil in 1 goal, 1 behinds, 1 didn't make the distance or out on the full.

So far, if Buzza gets a shot, he kicks goals.

Now there are other things that Stanley does that may be superior, ruck craft, clearances, score involvements, but it looks like the MC are willing to sacrifice that for good old fashioned pressure in the forward line.

They know that Stanley's contribution in areas that is superior to Buzza can be taken up by the midfield in general. However Stanley's deficits cannot be covered by our forward line.

Adding to this, having Taylor in the area, with his defensive pressure and willingness to compete and accuracy will take pressure off Buzza. Cockatoo and Parsons and Parfitt will be unreal for smalls pressure.

The link up play by Motlop, although he doesn't have many meters gained is vital, because he's just there when someone needs to kick or handball to a team mate. Likewise Blitz.

You'd hope the Scott Selwood will be better for last weeks run, Thurlow can contribute and Cockatoo can be a link up line breaking player like we've seen in games.
lol think you forgot the set shot buzza kicked into the man on the mark 35 m out from goal. also missing the fact that in the two games they spent together stanley has 6 shots on goals whilst buzza only had 3 and this is despite the fact stanley only spent half of each game in thr forward line.

I dunno if typing on a computer connected wirelessly to the internet gave it away or not, but this is the 21st Century. We're supposed to a little more....er....thoughtful about people's mental states.
Not sure if being sarcastic or not, so I'll err on the side of caution
If you can't handle an honest appraisal from your boss re: your performance, then you're not the the kind of employee I'd be looking for

Stanley was just too much of a liability mate. A change needed to be made and it was. Buzza has played the role well plenty of times at VFL level and will bring some competitiveness and aggression to the contest that Stanley and a few of our other big blokes lack.

Even if Buzza doesn't do much, we've lost nothing. Get behind him!
stanley beat jacobs in the ruck last week. so yeah we do have a lot to lose.

He's not a freeloader so give it a break. If you can't see what's going on then just do the polite thing and shut up on the topic.

This isn't an echo chamber, so that wont be happening.

This is a footy chat forum........
I repeat.....he's very much the freeloader and that's a broadly held opinion

Loss by 25 to GC

Very honest post,
That's no way to get your like count up SimDog

;-)

Reckon the team is in better shape than last week, extra game back for S Selwood and Stewart, Mackie back in.

Parfitt will help, unsure on Cockatoo, sure to be rusty.

Buzza will give a consistent effort.

Last week's loss was a good enough effort to win this game, so I am more relaxed than most.

gees this looks like a side picked by big footy posters. this has season ending disaster game written all over it.

Three of the five outs are non negotiable. Mackie, Cockatoo and Parfitt all had to return when available. That leaves just Stanley and Zuthrie to account for and I have no issue with either being dropped. If it's a disaster it won't be because of decisions at the selection table. If we are NOT good enough then we probably lose which will leave a bitter taste.

Carlton have a habit of pushing us right to the end, no matter what their ladder position is

I will not be surprised if we lose this game at all.
Having said that, Cats by 15 points and Buzza to kick 4

Obviously losing Menzel and Blicavs isn't ideal, but I think we're now putting together a team to play finals.

Guthrie isn't up to it yet.
Motlop managed out, obviously looking to get him back to his best for finals (I'm doubtful, but you never know)
Any time Stanley is omitted is a positive. I doubt there's a more deflating footballer in the AFL.

lol think you forgot the set shot buzza kicked into the man on the mark 35 m out from goal. also missing the fact that in the two games they spent together stanley has 6 shots on goals whilst buzza only had 3 and this is despite the fact stanley only spent half of each game in thr forward line.

So you are advising that Stanley had twice as many shots on goal as Buzza during their 2 games today—have a look at their total scoring contribution over those 2 games.

Stanley: 2 goals
Buzza: 2 goals, 1 behind.

Buzza seemed to take better advantage of his chances in front of goal while Stanley has been wasteful in front of goal this year—all good if he can get 6 shots on goal (double the chances) but he didn’t convert twice as many shots and is a liability as we just don’t know what we are going to get out of Stanley when he is selected.

Second shmecond. We're 6 points ahead of 7th
we aren't the only one's with a tricky run home. I'd rather be second than anywhere below second! The future is our own hands, good place to be.