List Mgmt. Geelong's interest in Travis Boak

Mmm, may be a little too old - we need someone with a few more years left, he is 26 after all.
Realistically, it takes new players from other clubs at least half a season to find their groove & fit in.

I agree, if he was Boak's age he'd be ideal. But, the flipside to that is if he was Boak's age, there'd be much more interest in him. I'd take Sylvia and back him to play five more years. No idea if he's under contract and/or considered a required player, but to me he seems like the kind of player that the Dees would be ready to cut loose.

I'd be happy to get Sylvia too, I reckon he's a beast and would flourish in the right environment. I'd be really curious to know what Melbourne would want for him. I really do not want to lose any of our emerging kids, Hyphen in particular is one who I rate highly and would be disappointed if we lost.

I have mentioned before that a work colleague's son went to school in the same year as Hyphen at Pembroke and from all reports he is a ripper young bloke who's a very gifted sportsman and is also academically astute.

I believe that he emodies everything that our great club stands for and it would be and injustice to send him to that rabble even if it is "home". He had the choice of Footy or Cricket and has the potential to brilliant at both.

He is doomed if he goes to Port as I think like Melbourne they are a long way off, and if he goes there I think he could become a jaded Footballer who will always die wondering if he threw away his chance of wearing a baggy green. It would be worth it for success, but not for failure.

I'd be happy to get Sylvia too, I reckon he's a beast and would flourish in the right environment. I'd be really curious to know what Melbourne would want for him. I really do not want to lose any of our emerging kids, Hyphen in particular is one who I rate highly and would be disappointed if we lost.

I have mentioned before that a work colleague's son went to school in the same year as Hyphen at Pembroke and from all reports he is a ripper young bloke who's a very gifted sportsman and is also academically astute.

I believe that he emodies everything that our great club stands for and it would be and injustice to send him to that rabble even if it is "home". He had the choice of Footy or Cricket and has the potential to brilliant at both.

He is doomed if he goes to Port as I think like Melbourne they are a long way off, and if he goes there I think he could become a jaded Footballer who will always die wondering if he threw away his chance of wearing a baggy green. It would be worth it for success, but not for failure.

Wonder what sylvia would cost? Once a year he wins a game off his own boot

It's a bit worrying that you guys are after Gysberts.

I know if I was an unfulfilled talent at Melbourne and Geelong offered me a contract, I'd be over the Westgate before you know it.

However, he's still in contract and I just don't see how a trade could be done. Surely he's worth more to us to keep that a 2nd rounder. He's had a tough run with injury this year and its really disappointing to see him dropped after last week. Hopefully we keep him.

Sylvia has off field issues.....wouldnt fit at Geelong IMO.

Good player when he puts his mind to it though. Awful when he cant be bothered.
That's true I forgot about that he's been alright for a while though. Once upon a time Stevie J had issues too, perhaps at our club he would pull his head in once and for all?

Fair enough....but is he worth the risk....and the price. ?? Personally I don't think so.

Depends on the price.

The talent is there that if he did come cheap, you'd think about whether a good leadership group, which we clearly have, could set him straight.

Sylvia will be 27 next season - might only have 2 or 3 years left. He'd be fighting with Sheringham / Schroeder type players for a spot in the side. Pass thanks.

One of our clubs points of difference is our policy to grow our own - so to speak. Arrived at after being burnt many times before. Methinks any recycled player that might be of interest would have to fulfil a special need or be a gun or a gun in the making. Sylia is neither IMO.

What does that mean the club thinks Boak is then?

One of our clubs points of difference is our policy to grow our own - so to speak. Arrived at after being burnt many times before. Methinks any recycled player that might be of interest would have to fulfil a special need or be a gun or a gun in the making. Sylia is neither IMO.
Pretty sure that. Cook has stated in the past that when we do trade one of the things they take into account is will the incoming player play 100 games for us, don't know if this will change with FA but I don't know if we will get 100 games out of Colin

A mature bodied age appropriate player to run through the midfield to replace someone like a Chappy.

IMO chappy has never been super dangerous in the mids anyway.
He is far more dangerous up forward as has been evident over the last few weeks, so really he is to replace Corey or the like.

IMO chappy has never been super dangerous in the mids anyway.
He is far more dangerous up forward as has been evident over the last few weeks, so really he is to replace Corey or the like.

Chappy was a very effective mid in his prime. Both he and Corey are in the twilight of their careers so Boak would be a good fit for either.

Boak is about 4 years Sylvia’s junior; is a superior player; does not bring baggage; and there’s the come home factor with him according to reports.

We could get 150+ games out of Boak.

All that said, I still think Boak will stick with Port. As for Sylvia – pass.

A mature bodied age appropriate player to run through the midfield to replace someone like a Chappy.

So is he a special need or a potential to become a gun?

The coach has said countless times we are fairly well catered for with young players and older players. Where we are found somewhat wanting is in the mid age range which is where Boak fits. Thought you’d have been all over that.;)

Whether Boak would turn out to be better than very good when placed in a team surrounded by quality players only time would tell.

The coach has said countless times we are fairly well catered for with young players and older players. Where we are found somewhat wanting is in the mid age range which is where Boak fits. Thought you’d have been all over that.;)

Whether Boak would turn out to be better than very good when placed in a team surrounded by quality players only time would tell.

Iam well aware of that-I was just referring to your comment that we will only look at players from other clubs if they fill an obvious need or have star potential. So either Boak is one or the other, or the club's pursuit of Boak indicates they disagree with you.

FWIW I think Boak would fit into our list demographic perfectly and would definitely improve in our system.

Iam well aware of that-I was just referring to your comment that we will only look at players from other clubs if they fill an obvious need or have star potential. So either Boak is one or the other, or the club's pursuit of Boak indicates they disagree with you.

FWIW I think Boak would fit into our list demographic perfectly and would definitely improve in our system.
Geez PO. If you can't deduce from my last response which of the two categories you've been obsessing about I think Travis would fit into there's not much more I can assist you with.

No....he's both.

Chappy was a very effective mid in his prime. Both he and Corey are in the twilight of their careers so Boak would be a good fit for either.

Boak is about 4 years Sylvia’s junior; is a superior player; does not bring baggage; and there’s the come home factor with him according to reports.

We could get 150+ games out of Boak.

All that said, I still think Boak will stick with Port. As for Sylvia – pass.
Have seen most of Chappy's games, and although he would have liked to play more in the midfield, and when he did he was effective, the bulk of his career has been "small forward". Maybe it's just me, but when I think of great Cat mids, I don't think Chappy, yet when I think of great Cat players, Chappy is high on the list.
Anyway, when they both go, 11 & 35, we will need to replace. Gysberts woud be a superb replacement for Corey. A similarly tall mid, an elite kick, and loves the physicality, although it doesn't love him, it would seem. Corey had some injuries early on.
Chappy- how does anyone replace a player of his ilk? Obviously not going to happen, but maybe Bundy will take over his role.
I see a lot of upside in Murdoch, and the kids we've played this year, and natural development and OUR SYSTEM should see us in perfect position to go deep in September by 2015. Patience.
I refuse to allow the thought of Boak in hoops being a reality at present. What will it cost, and who do we lose? Agree, he will stay with his mates. Seems a good and loyal bloke.

Have seen most of Chappy's games, and although he would have liked to play more in the midfield, and when he did he was effective, the bulk of his career has been "small forward". Maybe it's just me, but when I think of great Cat mids, I don't think Chappy, yet when I think of great Cat players, Chappy is high on the list.
Anyway, when they both go, 11 & 35, we will need to replace. Gysberts woud be a superb replacement for Corey. A similarly tall mid, an elite kick, and loves the physicality, although it doesn't love him, it would seem. Corey had some injuries early on.
Chappy- how does anyone replace a player of his ilk? Obviously not going to happen, but maybe Bundy will take over his role.
I see a lot of upside in Murdoch, and the kids we've played this year, and natural development and OUR SYSTEM should see us in perfect position to go deep in September by 2015. Patience.
I refuse to allow the thought of Boak in hoops being a reality at present. What will it cost, and who do we lose? Agree, he will stay with his mates. Seems a good and loyal bloke.

Agree! Most likely outcome IMO.

No....he's both.

Tick!

Should the Boak move amount to something he would fill the void - read need – the coach has so often referred to in terms of age, role, leadership et al.

Plus there is the scope for him to develop as a player by being surrounded by quality players and with less pressure as a consequence. Time will tell where that would take him. My view is he will never be a Selwood or a Bartel.