Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
Good call on Max Walton, if he doesn't get picked up this off season I think he'd be one of the blokes at Box Hill who would be working hard with the Blanck-Newcombe pipeline in mind going into the MSD.

Dave Brinker-Ritchie, Luis D'Angelo and Max Hall are also worth keeping tabs on next season.
I remember hearing somewhere that one of the Max’s (can’t remember is Walton or Hall) was a high likelihood of getting picked up by us possibly in the PSD… both have a few nice traits and would love another success story like Newc at the Hawks for people to complain about us rorting the system!

Both would be on our radar in a big way imo.

No. Sewell played great footy in the years after Kennedy left. Would have won the 2012 Norm if we got up. 2014 was his drop off.
My memory is of a tired Sewell missing that kick in the last in 2012 from not far out.
He worked his arse off in the GF.

Yeah we can take a token crappy pick ( that we may not even use) but that’s not the point, the point is we will be helping them acquire the best young kid in the land and another highly touted youngster by bending over with Gunston! If it was up to me and Brissy wanted to trade, and not take him as a dfa,then I would be asking for fair trade value
No, that's not the point. The point is that Gunston is a legend of the club that has just lost his Dad, and wants a change of lifestyle. Hawks will help him move. That's it. That's the point.

Helping or hindering the Lions do whatever doesn't come into the equation. We will likely do a trade because it helps us get something for him rather than nothing. Not because the Lions benefit from it. Because we get a return for him, however small. None of what happens will be for the benefit of the Lions. It will be doing the right thing for Gunston and the Hawks.

No, that's not the point. The point is that Gunston is a legend of the club that has just lost his Dad, and wants a change of lifestyle. Hawks will help him move. That's it. That's the point.

Helping or hindering the Lions do whatever doesn't come into the equation. We will likely do a trade because it helps us get something for him rather than nothing. Not because the Lions benefit from it. Because we get a return for him, however small. None of what happens will be for the benefit of the Lions. It will be doing the right thing for Gunston and the Hawks.
The Hawks have had a reputation for doing the right thing for the player even though we get unders eg Brad Hill to Freo but it means that they leave on good terms. That also doesn't hurt when considering potential father-sons either. ;):)

Other names linked to the exit door are Burgess, Corbett and Fiorini.

I'd have some interest in throwing a late/rookie pick at Brayden Fiorini, assuming he passed a medical.

Solidly built inside midfielder that just turned 25.

Averaged 25 touches, 4 clearances and 5 tackles as a 21 year old in 2019 before a groin injury hampered him.

In and out of the side a bit since (to the surprise of many) but absolutely dominant in the 2's and got another chance last year (2021) when Greenwood was injured. Played the last 8 games and averaged 27 touches, 4 clearances and 5 tackles.

Started this year decently too, including a 29 touch, 3 BL vote game against Sydney before some additional injury concerns.

Not a high priority and would need to be basically free (especially with the delisting of others in a similar boat like Howe) but could be a good midfield depth pickup with the last spot on the list. Can definitely find the footy, is good inside and has a strong body but not overly quick or damaging so may not perfectly suit our current style.

Interesting situation, on one hand we have to consider the person but on the other the club is a business and need to do whats best for it irrespective of the situation...

Tough call..

Yes Gunston is and always will be a legend of our football club. Yes the club should do the right thing by Gunston and I’d be disappointed if they didn’t, so as a FA the club and all supporters should wish him well and luck ( I’ll even buy a Brissie jumper to support him next year). But if BRISBANE want to trade because BRISBANE have a compo pick coming in and don’t want to loose it because BRISBANE has 2 highly talented kids to bring in and BRISBANE also has to trade for Dunkley, then that’s BRISBANES problem not Hawthorns or Gunstons! It’s up to BRISBANE to find all the assets they need to pull everything off.

I’m not saying we should be holding a gun to there head and demand a stupid pick or player in return, I’m saying ( once it becomes a trade) it should be Beneficial to both clubs!

Yes Gunston is and always will be a legend of our football club. Yes the club should do the right thing by Gunston and I’d be disappointed if they didn’t, so as a FA the club and all supporters should wish him well and luck ( I’ll even buy a Brissie jumper to support him next year). But if BRISBANE want to trade because BRISBANE have a compo pick coming in and don’t want to loose it because BRISBANE has 2 highly talented kids to bring in and BRISBANE also has to trade for Dunkley, then that’s BRISBANES problem not Hawthorns or Gunstons! It’s up to BRISBANE to find all the assets they need to pull everything off.

I’m not saying we should be holding a gun to there head and demand a stupid pick or player in return, I’m saying ( once it becomes a trade) it should be Beneficial to both clubs!
why would a Hawthorn fan ever buy a Brisbane jumper?

But a future 3rd/4th is beneficial. It’s more than we would get if he walked to pretty much any other club and we can use that pick on F/S bids next year.

why would a Hawthorn fan ever buy a Brisbane jumper?

Mate of mine is a Lions supporter and wears a Hawks one because he came with me to the 2013 grand final so when he comes down to games here every so often he wears it. Funnily enough once we were in a corporate area at the 2018 QF and he said to me at one point ‘who’s number 9 for Hawthorn?’ - later that night when he goes to the bathroom I get a tap on the shoulder and this bloke says ‘who’s your mate in the Hawthorn guernsey who doesn’t know who Shaun Burgoyne is?’ so I had to explain he wears it just to fit in with me at Hawks games. Bloke came up to us to have a chat after the game and turns out it was Dean Rioli.

If Gunners is a free agent, what is all the talk of a trade? That would only be beneficial for them if we provided salary releif to them and paying a chunk of his salary?

The Lions need their picks for Ashcroft etc so surely they would they want to lose picks as a last resort?

If Gunners is a free agent, what is all the talk of a trade? That would only be beneficial for them if we provided salary releif to them and paying a chunk of his salary?

The Lions need their picks for Ashcroft etc so surely they would they want to lose picks as a last resort?

McStay is leaving as a free agent and they need the compo pick so don’t want getting Gunston for free to water it down. So they’ll likely throw us a token future pick to avoid this.