Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
He assumed we would take it. We have not agreed to it.
WE'RE PLAYING HARDBALL FELLAS!

Ned Ryerson

Oh My God Omg GIF by The Office

Feeling sorry for the mods - even with the deletion of plenty of junk/nonsense, once again we’re almost at page 500 and we’ve churned through almost 200 pages in the last 2 weeks…

spongebob squarepants eating GIF

If Sam is set on shedding TOM, we will have to take what is offered.
By all reports he only has one serious suitor.
Hawthorn aren't looking to dump Mitchell for the sake of it, so no we don't have to take what's offered. If it doesn't give us an advantage we wont do it.

What if the Giants agreed to trade Whitfield but they only offer their future first round pick? Would you do that deal?
Really what we would be doing is paying 5 mill for a 2023 1st rounder and betting on them finishing bottom 3. I'd be giving Nash and a few others a pay rise to mame the sh*t out of Josh Kelly and Toby Greene.

Feeling sorry for the mods - even with the deletion of plenty of junk/nonsense, once again we’re almost at page 500 and we’ve churned through almost 200 pages in the last 2 weeks…

spongebob squarepants eating GIF
I'm fine...people are actually talking trades again.

Certainly an upgrade on the last 4 days.

If Sam is set on shedding TOM, we will have to take what is offered.
By all reports he only has one serious suitor.
Got to get a top 25 pick for TOM. If thats not on offer, we should just keep him. Even though hes not part of the plans.

We should not continue the business of giving away players for under market value. i.e Hill, Lewis, Mitchell, Hodge and then Smith and Gunston leaving for piss all aswell. (Yes that last two were UFAs, but a strong footy club should be not losing that calibre of talent unless its on their own terms)

Lets draw a line. Media speaking abolsute dribble yet again to

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

I reckon this is a great opportunity to swing the pendulum of us been easy pushovers during trade week by playing hard ball on both Gunston and tom!
I know it's not in our DNA but we gotta sacrifice that line of thinking some time, and that's here and NOW! None of this crap about attaining picks we not gonna use come draft night! MM ,. balls in your court mate.

I reckon this is a great opportunity to swing the pendulum of us been easy pushovers during trade week by playing hard ball on both Gunston and tom!
I know it's not in our DNA but we gotta sacrifice that line of thinking some time, and that's here and NOW! None of this crap about attaining picks we not gonna use come draft night! MM ,. balls in your court mate.
Yep, if we dont achieve our strategy. Lets at least set up some new precedents for future seasons.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Yeah I'm comparing him to current Worpel.

2019 Worpel is now three full seasons ago. Unfortunately we have had one very good season and three poor ones, which suggests that the one good season was the exception.
The solution here is pretty clear. If Tom stays lets break both of his legs he which will mean Worpel will win another Crimmins and a Brownlow. Boom problem solved!

I don't know why people are proposing this strategy on the Gunston trade.

It it wasn't for McStay joining Collingwood we'd be getting ZILCH.

Any pick we get is a bonus.

Plus, Jack has given everything to the Hawthorn football club and has now endured a personal tragedy resulting in him seeking a fresh start. When you consider my first point, why would we make it harder for him as a human being to get to the club he nominated to play for as a free agent?

Sorry for the intrusion but Pies may end up with #25 (Henry) and #27 (Grundy)… surely you get one of those for Mitchell? I am seeing a bit of talk about accepting a pick in the 40s for him. Is there some fallout that I’m not aware of?
No fallout . He just isnt in Sams mid-long term plans , as the year progressed he played less midfield while other options were put through there.

Would still be high value at the right team imo . If we are getting 40 I would be staggered if we let him go , mid 20s seems about right .

Sorry for the intrusion but Pies may end up with #25 (Henry) and #27 (Grundy)… surely you get one of those for Mitchell?
Mid 20's seems about right for most people...but if you listen to the media, we should be grateful for pick 60.

I think the problem is they are going to be prioritising deals for Fiorini, Frampton and whoever else they are chasing using those picks.
I actually think the Fiorini deal is something they're using to try and make us panic and take unders for Tom. Its common knowledge Suns will let him go for a token pick.

I don't know why people are proposing this strategy on the Gunston trade.

It it wasn't for McStay joining Collingwood we'd be getting ZILCH.

Any pick we get is a bonus.

Plus, Jack has given everything to the Hawthorn football club and has now endured a personal tragedy resulting in him seeking a fresh start. When you consider my first point, why would we make it harder for him as a human being to get to the club he nominated to play for as a free agent?
Agree. Don't buy that we're stitching up Jack here.

He'll get to Bris no matter what.