Analysis Hawks 2022 Hypothetical trades (read the pinned post)

Firstly, the "No Kane Cornes" Rule is back

Last edited by a moderator:
But only at a manageable price that does not impinge on Draft strategy.
What is his age and status ??
Is he a Worpel ??
26 186cm mid and would be looking for a pay day which he won’t get at Melbourne. Only issue is draft pick and would it affect a Maginness playing there. Good player though

Yes I like him at the right price. Hard and not bad pace. Kicks a goal to. In the age bracket we need.

Out of contract, or when FA ??

Might take up the first pick for Bris this year, swap next years first and or hope we can swap 2024 first pick into a first for next year, then hope we get a future second for TOM and trade next years second and the pick we get for TOM into a high first round in the teens for 2023. Therefore getting at least five good picks (top 25) next two Drafts. How we get another 2nd in 2023 will be interesting.

In the meantime concentrate on FA and salary dumps.

Anyway, that is my take on chats.

Tops this will go out the window if Will McCabe turns in a top 5 father son pick as we will be doing what we can to get ride of our first.

Unless we could use it to get a first in the next years draft.

When is Shaun’s burgoyne son draft age as that may impact it also.

Salary dump doesn’t have to be a big name player. Could be a fringe player like Xavier o’hallaran, Fiorini, Flanders, Dow, etc who are outside the best 22 of their clubs but likely on reasonable $. Gws/gcs have historically put their draftees on big dollars.

I am sure all drafties are on a set contract for the first 2 years as per the APLPA CBA.

”When a first year Player is first drafted by an AFL Club, that Player and the AFL Club shall enter into a Standard Playing Contract for a minimum term of two years except in the case of a Player who has previously been drafted as a Rookie”

I feel like one of the few people who actually don’t give a **** about Whitfield. He adds nothing to our list when we already have a plethora of players that play his role.

Tops this will go out the window if Will McCabe turns in a top 5 father son pick as we will be doing what we can to get ride of our first.

Unless we could use it to get a first in the next years draft.

When is Shaun’s burgoyne son draft age as that may impact it also.
But as Collingwood showed don’t go early trading out your pick as you don’t know how your season will play out. Maybe McCabe is a top 5/10 pick. But we could finish inside that and get a pick in before the f/s bid which would give us two top 10 talents.

I feel like one of the few people who actually don’t give a * about Whitfield. He adds nothing to our list when we already have a plethora of players that play his role.

The game has changed a lot in the past couple of years and I simply don't see Lachie as a difference maker in the current environment. We need brutes.

I feel like one of the few people who actually don’t give a * about Whitfield. He adds nothing to our list when we already have a plethora of players that play his role.
Would be a better wing / outside type than Amon. But doesn’t fit age profile and cost likely too high.

Reckon we’re building well in outside stocks (which is why not fussed on Amon) and will likely further as we keep stocking up with mids over next few drafts. Our hbf line is full, as is increasingly the hff line and shortly wings.

Agree. Half backs are not a concern. We have heaps of guys who play their best footy at half back. Turning some of our half backs into midfielders, wings or forwards is the challenge, not adding another one.

Would be a better wing / outside type than Amon. But doesn’t fit age profile and cost likely too high.
Don’t agree, and besides he’s not a FA.

Hawks Round 1 to Adel
Hawks Round 2 to GCS
Adelaide F1 and Rd 2 to Hawks
GCS Rankine and round 2 to Adelaide

Summary

Adelaide - in Rankine, GCS round 2, (ATM) Out - future 1 and round 2

Hawks - in Adel (F1) and Adel (round 2)

GCS - in pick 6, round 2 (Hawks)
Out - Rankine and round 2

GCS get a little upgrade in round 2 plus pick 6 for Rankine (fair)

Adel get to use pick 4 and get Rankine. Slight downgrade of round 2 pick.

Hawks get a an upgrade of a couple of spots in round 2 but parlay our first into next year which is supposed to be a stronger draft. Should be another top 4 pick with potentially less compromised picks (e.g. Ashcroft)

I would do it. Imagine how good the draft would be next year with two top ten picks

Hawks Round 1 to Adel
Hawks Round 2 to GCS

Summary

Hawks get a an upgrade of a couple of spots in round 2 but parlay our first into next year which is supposed to be a stronger draft. Should be another top 4 pick with potentially less compromised picks (e.g. Ashcroft)

I would do it. Imagine how good the draft would be next year with two top ten picks
Given we've taken early firsts in the previous 2 drafts I don't think it makes much sense to take a year off, more likely to move picks the other way if anything.

Hawks Round 1 to Adel
Hawks Round 2 to GCS

Summary

Yeah I don’t think we want out of any first round the top group look really strong there will be a good player at our pick and hopefully D’aloia at our second. On that basis I’m ok to look to move up a few spots to get sheezel but only swapping picks like crows 4th for our third for example.

Our strategy as outlined by McCartney on Fox footy at the closing of last years draft period is “to take 10-12 picks inside 30 over the next 2-3 drafts”.

We took three last year, and we will be trying to take at least that many again this year.

Given we've taken early firsts in the previous 2 drafts I don't think it makes much sense to take a year off, more likely to move picks the other way if anything.
I personally like the idea of the futures market. Trading into this year when the picks are set is more difficult. No one would trade, for example, a top 3 pick for our future 1. But we could quite feasibly get a top 3 pick if we take a risk with, for example, pick 6 as a known quantity. Adelaide's future 1 could easily be pick 1 or 2. Way more value (and risk) to be had going the other way. I loved the famous silvagni trade because it created an interesting narrative around those two teams into the next year. I don't think it will happen but I wouldn't hate it by any means

Hawks Round 1 to Adel
Hawks Round 2 to GCS

Summary

No ****ing way! Terrible. İf anything, we go the other way and get another first in this year's draft.