• One more round

Votes: 15 12.1%
  • During their bye

Votes: 76 61.3%

SoS has had to get rid of a lot of duds in the last three years...and these are just the guys he brought into the club.

Goringe, Sumner, Lamb, Palmer, Smedts, Mullet, Matt Shaw, O’Shea, A Silvagni, Glass-McCasker, Matthew Wright, Kerridge, Bugg.

Can’t blame the coach for the crud that’s come in, but question marks remain on whether young players are being developed as expected.

SoS has had to get rid of a lot of duds in the last three years...and these are just the guys he brought into the club.

Goringe, Sumner, Lamb, Palmer, Smedts, Mullet, Matt Shaw, O’Shea, A Silvagni, Glass-McCasker, Matthew Wright, Kerridge, Bugg.

Can’t blame the coach for the crud that’s come in, but question marks remain on whether young players are being developed as expected.
All those players were free hits and cost the club nothing. 1 year contracts were used so they can be replaced by high draft picks, this actually benefited the club because we could move out deadweight faster.

The big question is the skills and development of draftees looks way off.

Carlton had more first round draft picks playing today than GWS did. That's damning.

GWS - 11 first round picks + two 17 year old picks (effectively 13)
Carlton had 14.
14 first round picks and they dish up that garbage? That's unbelievable. Rowell is exactly what they need as well. A big bodied midfielder. Stocker looks ok, and you can't fully judge him on a handful of games, but I feel Carlton would take back that trade at last year's draft time in a heartbeat. If they finish bottom 2, someone will surely get the sack for making that call...

All those players were free hits and cost the club nothing. 1 year contracts were used so they can be replaced by high draft picks, this actually benefited the club because we could move out deadweight faster.

How does picking up 12 list cloggers for a year or a few years in some of the cases above result in these players being replaced by high draft picks?

Seems like 13 precious list spots to me, hardly 'free hits'.

Big questions isn't about skills and development, you don't need to be a #1 draft pick to put in effort, something a lot of the Carlton team lack. That falls back onto the coach.

I dont see the benefit in sacking Bolton this time of the year, unless there is someone ready to go in the hot seat you just going around in circles. There is no way you get someone new in and BOOM carlton get on a 10 win streak and make the finals.

Just stick with him and judge him end of the year.

You're wrong, they have Robert Walls.

Yeah you are right.

Bolts needs to be sacked Carlton shifted of to Tassie or the VFL permanently and then BF and social media can find someone else to **** on!

Hope that makes you happy and I apologize for questioning you and your highly successful team which had swayed your opinion giving you the upmost credibility on here! ;)

You aren't a very good mod; you literally just straw-manned this thread twice.

I don't think they should. They've showed some decent signs and have some high quality tall forwards now at least. I like Weitering and Marchbank and with Doc to come back that's a good back line. Need a few others to come on quickly with Walsh to support Cripps. SPP has shown he might be the one to step up. I think they've got the fundamentals more so than previous years. They're gonna get spanked from time to time but changing coaches early in a season isn't going to help. Jury is still not out on Bolton imo. See where they're at at the end of the year.

If they don't act tonight the club isn't serious. Gone.

Carlton needs a Hardwick-type coach desperately, a coach the players will die in a ditch for, then you can start money-balling up from there. I remember 2009 for the Tiges, it a bloody long journey back but they need to start it tonight, why wait?

Thank Brendan for his contribution.

They've botched the rebuild. That much is apparent. But there is enough there for a better coach to start an upward trajectory immediately.

Bolton's youngest 10 teams:

Avg Age

Year

Rd

Diff

Opp

Res

Mgn

PA

L

NM

L

NM

L

Co

L

GWS

L

+0.86

Br

L

Ha

L

NM

L

+0.05

GC

L

GC

W

Hardwick's first 10 teams:

Avg Age

Year

Rd

Diff

Opp

Res

Mgn

Ca

L

WB

L

Sy

L

Me

L

Fr

L

Ge

L

Ad

L

Ha

L

Es

L

PA

W

Only one of them is a fair dinkum rebuild, with kids being taught how to play the right way.

The question on recruitment is just as important as development.

Giants need to get a wriggle on, but that's still possible.

In years gone by last night would have been 120 plus.

Look at how low the scoring has been going his year. To concede that much in a game with the new rules is astounding

Tbo their midfield has been utterly dominated. Cripps tagged out and Taranto/Whitfield Kelly were all deserving of 3 brownlow votes

Cripps was manned up at stoppages but not properly tagged. His opponent had 27 touches and kicked two behinds running off Cripps, who finally looked like the camel with a broken back.

Was either unable or unwilling to work when his plan A was negated

Cripps was manned up at stoppages but not properly tagged. His opponent had 27 touches and kicked two behinds running off Cripps, who finally looked like the camel with a broken back.

Was either unable or unwilling to work when his plan A was negated
Yep. Cripps was crushed today. However about 20 other blues players were Demolished. GWS at every oppotunity went through De Boer to punish Cripps and make him work.

One of those games where GWS was humiliated last week so they came out with some real fire. Against a team who played like shit, was fairly young and had no idea what was about to hit them. Dont think it's a coach thing however its interesting to see how they respond next week

I'd also take like 20 of Carltons 22 over melbournes team. We were seriously embarassing.
Makes Carlton and Bolton look even more pathetic doesn't it? They had 14 first round draft picks playing. I find that staggering considering the result. They clearly have blokes who can play, but the development and coaching clearly isn't working. It took Paul Roos to turn our club around and at least make us competitive, i wonder who will help Carlton turn it around? Because it's not Bolton..

Tad premature I would have thought. We've sacked the last 3 coaches with time still to run on their contract and where has that gotten us. He's contracted until 2020, unpopular opinion I'm sure but I'd be giving him that time to see if it turns. Not like there is some superstar coach-in-waiting out there smashing the door down.

And even if there was, not sure its something a new coach could fix - as has been mentioned by other posters, its our diabolical drafting thats the issue. So many first round picks gotten wrong - I'm not even talking current players that don't look up to it (and yep there are more than a few), I'm talking the ones from around 09-14 that have lead to the current black hole in the list re: seasoned 24-28 years olds that should be the core of the club; the Josh Bootsmas, Troy Menzels and Matthew Watsons of the world.

Not just one bad game. Their game against North was the worst I have seen. They only flick the switch for the likes of Essendon and Collingwood.

That's 2 out of 3 weeks they havent tried an inch. That rests with the coach. He is done.

2 bad games then? 1 of which against a top 4 team coming of a really bad loss of their own? As I said, tad premature. And they were shockers to be sure, but we've also been competitve in pretty much every other game this season.

Not 100% his fault, but there’s been nothing enlightening about his coaching performance over the past two years which makes him an absolute necessity.

Not over the past 2, but I reckon 7 wins in his first season with a list that was pretty deplorable (difference being more seasoned bodies in the 24-28 age group I just mentioned) indicates the guy can coach. Would like to see him coach a team without 12 blokes under 50 games each week before making a call on him, although I understand that's probably a long shot at this stage knowing us lol.