Its official Davis to GWS!!

we will feel his loss for years. This was the real master stroke of Rendell.

Good tall 196cm backs do not grow on trees. He never ever got monstered by the gorillas and we could have had him at CHB and Talia at FB in a few years time.

191-193cm Thompsom types ar just not tall enough for the big blokes. They are Ok as 3rd talls.

You just dont expect to lose someone at 20 years of age. It has killed our recuiting strategy I would expect that Rendell was trying to get.

He said he gave good service for the club when he was here - 18 games and a few of those injured does not equate to great service to me .:mad::mad::mad:

Thank god though Rendell did stock up on talls a few years ago.

As usual, right on the money bigman.

One of the reasons that we all hate Davis so much is that he would have been so valuable for us at CHB for the next 10 years.

As for him thinking that he gave us great service in his 18 games with us, would he be happy if he was being paid great money at $100k per year? That would be short-changing him by about the same percentage he short-changed us.

The consolation is that we managed to get Crouch, but good CHB's of the size of Davis are hard to come by.

I like Talia he is improving with every game, he did some very good things against GWS. Shaw will be a beauty so yeah Mr Davis have a nice life in obscurity. I would think the culture shock coming from an AFL mad town to the NRL heartland will take time to get used to but i'm sure the trip to Blacktown bank every payday will cushion the blow.

Who's to say Shaw won't be better? Davis has a history of shoulder injuries so may not have a long career, Shaw started slowly in his AFL career but looks to be living up to the clubs expectations so perhaps fast Phil did us a favor.

I agree 100%. Davis is the most over rated footballer in the comp. he might be good but on performance thus far jury is out. 20 games, probably never got a Brownlow Vote, injury prone, comfortably beaten by Tippett last week despite the wet. The less he plays the more people rate him

The loss that hurts us more is Bock

He was a proven high quality player
We coughed up the picks we got for Tambo, so got nothing back

I reckon there is very little chance Davis becomes a Bock level player

Sam Shaw is better than Davis, might be 3 cm shorter (193cm vs 196cm) but who cares when he can easily jump 3cm higher than Davis and is faster and more verstaile

I would love to agree with you and whilst the jury is definitely still out, I just think over the sum of their respective careers this won't be the case.

Davis has had an interrupted transition to his AFL career and hasn't bulked up as much as you would have expected, but he is incredibly intelligent as a player which is an asset that can't be improved in the gym, and from what I recall, one of the reasons we drafted him. Once he becomes big enough, he will be a weapon at either end of the ground.

Our backline for the next ten years was looking like

Shaw/Thompson Talia Otten

Smith Davis Jeancsh

Which would have been a gun back six with the two pillars in Davis/Talia.

Talia looks like he will be a good defender, but a FB and not a CHB IMO. CHB have better disposal and an attacking mindset. Long term one of Shaw/Thompson/Otten will need to take up that CHB spot. But none are as Strong, Big and agile as Davis with his skills. He was the complete package.

Be good if McKernan could defend and become that player. But at this stage his only similarity with Davis is size.

Defensive units win you flags. Get that right and you have success.

I agree 100%. Davis is the most over rated footballer in the comp. he might be good but on performance thus far jury is out. 20 games, probably never got a Brownlow Vote, injury prone, comfortably beaten by Tippett last week despite the wet. The less he plays the more people rate him

The loss that hurts us more is Bock

He was a proven high quality player
We coughed up the picks we got for Tambo, so got nothing back

I reckon there is very little chance Davis becomes a Bock level player

Really? Davis has shown heaps more than Bock had at the same age holding his own against guys like Pav/Cloke and Riewoldt. I'm as pissed as anyone that he left but we can't pretend he's not going to be one of the gun CHB's in the comp just because he did the dirty on us. The only real question mark over him is whether or not his shoulder can stand up to a long career in AFL football.

I've been really impressed with him this year. His decision making in particular seems to be extremely good, which is a key quality for a key back.

I reckon he'll evolve into a very good get for us.

Couldn't agree more. Talia is looking like a 200 game player to me... Looks very solid

Talia's body on body ability is instinctive and very effective for a backman.

As he really bulks up within his already awesome physique he will become even more effective in contested situations.

Seems to have a decent engine as well, closing speed could be better but as he builds his experience hopefully he won't be trying to follow a step behind as much as he can sometimes do at the moment.

Definitely will be an effective KPD for us. Now to find another...

That's what's impressed me about Talia this year - his ability to harrass his opponent when the ball is in dispute. If I may say so, it's quite Davis-like :eek: I guess having played CHB for pretty much his whole junior career has helped Talia in that regard.

Assuming Davis can get past his injuries I feel pretty confident that he'll have a better career than either Talia or Shaw, but at least we have those options there as replacements rather than having to start from scratch.

My only real criticism of Davis besides his dodgy shoulders is his inability to gain muscle, He looks athletic and lean but he's been in the system now a few years and just doesn't look imposing enough as a KPD. Kurt had his measure and I'm sure Cloke would have little problem with him.

Hasn't hurt Dustin Fletcher

Selective debating there. Fact is Shaw has had more injury history with us than Davis. Davis has dislocated a shoulder (granted did it in under 18s as well) but Shaw also had shin fractures, back issues, hamstrings etc...He hardly played 15 games in his time with the AFC.

I think Shaw will be a beauty but just because Davi$ is no longer a Crow it does not make him any less of a footballer or a prospect. He is a HUGE loss for us because we had it figured out with Talia/Davi$ defensive posts for the next 10-12 years. Now we have Talia playing well at CHB when he is better suited to FB and we are pinning our hopes on some 3rd tall / tall utility types to man CHB going forward.

Hopefully Crouch turns out an absolute ripper (which I think he will) to dull the pain of losing Davi$ but make no mistake there is a glaring hole at CHB in the long term.

Selective debating there. Fact is Shaw has had more injury history with us than Davis. Davis has dislocated a shoulder (granted did it in under 18s as well) but Shaw also had shin fractures, back issues, hamstrings etc...He hardly played 15 games in his time with the AFC.

I think Shaw will be a beauty but just because Davi$ is no longer a Crow it does not make him any less of a footballer or a prospect. He is a HUGE loss for us because we had it figured out with Talia/Davi$ defensive posts for the next 10-12 years. Now we have Talia playing well at CHB when he is better suited to FB and we are pinning our hopes on some 3rd tall / tall utility types to man CHB going forward.

Hopefully Crouch turns out an absolute ripper (which I think he will) to dull the pain of losing Davi$ but make no mistake there is a glaring hole at CHB in the long term.
Why is there a glaring hole in the long term? I'd say with Shaw, Talia, Thompson, Otten etc. we are well placed to at least cover the Davis loss. Rutten will be around for another 3-4 years too, along with Stiffy and Radar.

From memory Davis was recovering from injury when first drafted so wasn't available early in his career (he was the last of the top 10 to debut) as was the case at the end of his Crows stint. He only played 18 games for us so I wouldn't say he was less injury affected than Shaw. I would also think that Shaw's injuries when compared to Davis aren't as serious in the long term. Fingers crossed.

Its official Davis to GWS!!