Player Watch Jason Horne-Francis - Part 2

]][emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="Doctor Feel" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Lol that guy. Handful of ok years then a really good one and then plodder tier.

To be fair only a few games after his Brownlow is when his heart issues came to a head. Hasn’t really played with the same intensity since.

He is shaping as another Mark Ricciuto only with more goal scoring power. Probably gets a Brownlow at some stage. Jealous.

[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6]]" data-quote="Two Eight" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
He is shaping as another Mark Ricciuto only with more goal scoring power. Probably gets a Brownlow at some stage. Jealous.

The comparisons with Roo and Danger I can see from the ability to play forward and mid but I think Roo and Danger were bigger and overall more physical/contested beasts but I don’t think either had the crafty skill set of Horny.

Long article in the Tsier today about Jason - both on and off field improvements.

Port Adelaide star Jason Horne-Francis opens up on personal growth, leadership and season 2025​

What Jason Horne-Francis is doing on the field won’t surprise anyone – but how he’s grown in other facets of life might. The young star opens up two years on from his return home.

Jason Horne-Francis is well on his way to becoming the star many predicted he would become on the footy field. But the real growth for the former No. 1 pick might just be coming away from games as the Port Adelaide midfielder continues to become who those close to him believe he was going to be – on and off the field. The 21-year-old’s footballing ability has rarely been questioned since he burst onto the scene as a teenager, dominating SANFL footy for South Adelaide.
But it has been those little things off the field that were described as his “Achilles heel” and were a lightning rod for critics.

As he prepares for his fourth season, the little things have become a big focus for Horne-Francis as he looks to build on 2024, when he made the All-Australian squad and finished second in the Power’s best and fairest.
Cooking has become a passion, Horne-Francis jokes that he might have to “start a Tik Tok like (Christian) Petracca”, while he has taken up boxing on his days away from Alberton to further improve his fitness.
Over the past two years, he has gone to America to look for new ways to improve, or methods to employ to get the most out of his body. “I’m continuing to grow all the time,” he told The Advertiser. “I have definitely grown off the field as a person with my prehab and rehab, that has improved a lot. “And the on-field stuff, I wouldn’t say it comes naturally for me but footy has been the sport I have been playing for a while now and when you do those little things off the field the things on the field can come easy.”

[ At AFL HQ lawyers Andrew Dillion and Laura Kane panic and say he can't do that, we have to stop him, as we will get sued if someone knocks him out. Junior lawyer walks into meeting and after reading the articles says, don't panic, he's doing it in his own time, away from the club, so we aren't responsible if he gets concussed.]

He gets hit in the head so often on the field with no protection from umpires, a bit of light sparring with headgear and 16oz gloves won't be the problem.

Long article in the Tsier today about Jason - both on and off field improvements.

Port Adelaide star Jason Horne-Francis opens up on personal growth, leadership and season 2025​

What Jason Horne-Francis is doing on the field won’t surprise anyone – but how he’s grown in other facets of life might. The young star opens up two years on from his return home.

Jason Horne-Francis is well on his way to becoming the star many predicted he would become on the footy field. But the real growth for the former No. 1 pick might just be coming away from games as the Port Adelaide midfielder continues to become who those close to him believe he was going to be – on and off the field. The 21-year-old’s footballing ability has rarely been questioned since he burst onto the scene as a teenager, dominating SANFL footy for South Adelaide.
But it has been those little things off the field that were described as his “Achilles heel” and were a lightning rod for critics.

As he prepares for his fourth season, the little things have become a big focus for Horne-Francis as he looks to build on 2024, when he made the All-Australian squad and finished second in the Power’s best and fairest.
Cooking has become a passion, Horne-Francis jokes that he might have to “start a Tik Tok like (Christian) Petracca”, while he has taken up boxing on his days away from Alberton to further improve his fitness.
Over the past two years, he has gone to America to look for new ways to improve, or methods to employ to get the most out of his body. “I’m continuing to grow all the time,” he told The Advertiser. “I have definitely grown off the field as a person with my prehab and rehab, that has improved a lot. “And the on-field stuff, I wouldn’t say it comes naturally for me but footy has been the sport I have been playing for a while now and when you do those little things off the field the things on the field can come easy.”

[ At AFL HQ lawyers Andrew Dillion and Laura Kane panic and say he can't do that, we have to stop him, as we will get sued if someone knocks him out. Junior lawyer walks into meeting and after reading the articles says, don't panic, he's doing it in his own time, away from the club, so we aren't responsible if he gets concussed.]

I've just read the whole couple of articles about him. Everything about this kid is impressive, we are so lucky to have him.

You can tell he is a Generational Port bloke, very obvious the ones who have been brought up in a Port household, Burgoyne, Mead, Horne-Francis. They understand sacrifice and the extent their fathers went to to achieve success, they talk it, they breathe it, they are Port Adelaide to the bone!

Saw a tweet from a North supporter with video of the lazy kick to SPP that went out of bounds announcing sO gLaD tO bE rId Of HiM!!!11!1 :tearsofjoy:

JHF is like that young adult in a high paying job who refuses to leave home because he know's he has it so good.

He's been living rent free in flog David King's head for how long now? Four years King's been targeting JHF with utter BS comments on national media.

It's an embarrassing personal fetish that Fox Footy has to do something about if they're serious about the welfare of junior players.

JHF is like that teenager who refuses to leave home because he know's he has it so good.

He's been living rent free in flog David King's head for how long now?

What a load of shit. JHF hardly touched him.

Dumbest thing he has seen in awhile? Doesn't look in the mirror? Dumb ****.

I want to warm to David King because he's one to call out how poorly the club is run under Koch, but then he goes and says stupid shit like that.
Don't be fooled. King has no feckin interest in our club admin issues. That's just a cover.

His hatred of Port is deep seated and personal. And solely related to JHF ditching Norf for us.

As that laughable attack on a single trial game tackle shows. Does he have a paid assistant going through our club's game videos to highlight JHF errors or something?

Embarrassing.

'Wanting to warm to David King'? Slippery slope stuff mate.

David king is a fckwit.

Too many have ignored all his crap because he has been critical of Ken, so that overrides everything.

But he is and always has been a fckwit.

Interested to see what people on here think about Jason's effort that is highlighted here @0:50.. not good enough

He's been known to do this from time to time, and you'd hope he was getting it out of his game by now.

Interested to see what people on here think about Jason's effort that is highlighted here @0:50.. not good enough

He's been known to do this from time to time, and you'd hope he was getting it out of his game by now.

I didn’t think he had a great game. Read the taps well but struggled to break free and wasn’t as surgical with ball use as we’ve come to expect. The defensive part of his game is still under-developed but so too is Rozee, Butters and even Wines who has been losing contests to the likes of Crouch and Laird for a decade.

At least JHF often does get back to provide an option for our defenders to clear / rebound the ball.

What I still don’t understand, is that if it’s not Carr’s fault, or JHF’s fault, or Rozee’s fault, or Butters’ fault (when playing) or Wines or Drew’s responsibility, who is to blame for the way we haemorrhage easy ball out of stoppage or through transition through the middle of the ground. Who’s letting our forwards down with delivery, or our backs down with lack of pressure? It has to be all of those midfield people not doing their jobs. Our midfield is so over-rated. A good midfield doesn’t get smashed as often as ours does.

What I still don’t understand, is that if it’s not Carr’s fault, or JHF’s fault, or Rozee’s fault, or Butters’ fault (when playing) or Wines or Drew’s responsibility, who is to blame for the way we haemorrhage easy ball out of stoppage or through transition through the middle of the ground.

I still think our overall gameplan of "Go fast down the guts at all costs" is terrible for our team. We are the number 1 team for using the corridor and any good team will know that, and look to create a turn over when we attempt it.

To me, it just looks like it fatigues our players too much and leaves them out of position badly on turn over.

The older 2020 era gameplan of locking the ball in the forward line with a strong defensive structure was not the most appealing but it did mean we were harder to score against atleast.

I'd hope that Carr does not think this is the way forward

I didn’t think he had a great game. Read the taps well but struggled to break free and wasn’t as surgical with ball use as we’ve come to expect. The defensive part of his game is still under-developed but so too is Rozee, Butters and even Wines who has been losing contests to the likes of Crouch and Laird for a decade.

At least JHF often does get back to provide an option for our defenders to clear / rebound the ball.

What I still don’t understand, is that if it’s not Carr’s fault, or JHF’s fault, or Rozee’s fault, or Butters’ fault (when playing) or Wines or Drew’s responsibility, who is to blame for the way we haemorrhage easy ball out of stoppage or through transition through the middle of the ground. Who’s letting our forwards down with delivery, or our backs down with lack of pressure? It has to be all of those midfield people not doing their jobs. Our midfield is so over-rated. A good midfield doesn’t get smashed as often as ours does.
Our midfield is prime Hinkleyball. It's designed purely to beat the shit out of minnow midfields like Saints/Dons/North to scrap up enough wins to have a 'winning season' and make Hinkley look like a genius with his H&A win rate.

Nah he's a very good forward, our forward line functions better with him as a focal point.

Could have ended up with 4 goals (handball to Berry, uncalled head high FK, had a mark and instead of taking a set shot, stuffed up the immediate kick to DBJ)

Player Watch Jason Horne-Francis - Part 2

Write your reply...