Let's talk Ports! Part 3

Luke Hodge was on his regular segment with Whateley and they were talking about intimidation, and the Luke Parker v Dylan Shield incident.

I'm surprised Gerard didn't get all worried about the look of intimidation and call it bullying.

Have a listen to what Hodge says about Port players intimidating him and Hawks players in 2005 and 2006 and it lasting until even in 2010-12 years when we weren't much good but still having an impact from those early days.

In 2005 on a Friday night at Footy Park we won 188 v 71, which is our biggest AFL, score and winning margin.

In 2006 at Footy Park on a Sunday we won by 96 pts =6th biggest win and took 38 marks Inside 50, and AFL record since they started being kept in 1999.

Have a listen between 6.08 and 7.20

Interesting.

Aside from 169, Hawthorn never really belted us. You'd think they'd have managed a few more in those years, but none that I recall.

Also, we were up by 80 at half time in that 06 game and win by 96... bit of chocoball there.

Luke Hodge was on his regular segment with Whateley and they were talking about intimidation, and the Luke Parker v Dylan Shield incident.

I'm surprised Gerard didn't get all worried about the look of intimidation and call it bullying.

Have a listen to what Hodge says about Port players intimidating him and Hawks players in 2005 and 2006 and it lasting until even in 2010-12 years when we weren't much good but still having an impact from those early days.

In 2005 on a Friday night at Footy Park we won 188 v 71, which is our biggest AFL, score and winning margin.

In 2006 at Footy Park on a Sunday we won by 96 pts =6th biggest win, and took 38 marks Inside 50, an AFL record since they started being kept in 1999.

Have a listen between 6.08 and 7.20

This is incredibly interesting given the strangely well we seemed to match up on them in the 2008-10 era.

I also think this came back at us, because I think we were one of the worst victims of their "unsociable football", and given what Hodge has said there, it sounds like the experience Hawthorn players were getting back at a side that had bullied them in their youth.

I bloody wish we'd done what Brisbane did and gotten Hodge for a couple of seasons there. The best leader in modern football history.

Even in the 169 year, we matched them for three quarters in the first game, before the patented Cam Falloon last quarter fadeout of the era.

Darren Burges done more for the club then Hinkley.

Even in the 169 year, we matched them for three quarters in the first game, before the patented Cam Falloon last quarter fadeout of the era.

Darren Burges done more for the club then Hinkley.
Same in 2012 in Tassie. Was a couple of goals difference at 3/4 time, think it was Hocking's first game as interim coach, and we lost by 12 goals.

One of the best games I've seen us play was late 2010, Primus as caretaker vs Hawthorn.

Just a good tough game, direct footy, strong forward targets. Schulz, Hoff, and Daniel Stewart put a contested marking show on and we had a great comeback at home.

Weren't we actually up by five goals at one stage?
2 goals up at 1/4 time and scores level 4 minutes into the second. Kicked the next point which Hawks soon match and we were never level let alone in front again.

This is incredibly interesting given the strangely well we seemed to match up on them in the 2008-10 era.

I also think this came back at us, because I think we were one of the worst victims of their "unsociable football", and given what Hodge has said there, it sounds like the experience Hawthorn players were getting back at a side that had bullied them in their youth.

I bloody wish we'd done what Brisbane did and gotten Hodge for a couple of seasons there. The best leader in modern football history.
He’s not nice enough

Hodges comments got me started last night on going thru the Port v Hawks history and when the tides turned and why.

We lost that semi final at Footy Park to Hawthorn in 2001 by 3pts, a few days after September 11th, it was a bloody eerie game to attend as a result, and Choco and the club said we owe these bastard for putting us out in straight sets, and a never lose to them again attitude started.

It was this loss that was the start of the finals chokers tag, as we had knocked off 1st placed Essendon a month earlier and beaten Brisbane early on in the year.

Still can visualize Fabian Francis running into goal and trying to bounce kick a goal from 40m out, rather than kick thru the ball, and it hit the post after the bounce, instead of going 9 pts up with about 3 or 4 minutes to go. It was 4 wins and 4 losses after this game .................................. ie 4-0-4.

SF
F​
3.1 4.5 8.7 10.9​
69​
1.1 4.6 5.8 10.12​
72​
L
4-0-4​
Football Park​
30613​
2001​

First game after the SF loss we played them in Launceston, first year of the Hawks and St Kilda experiment in Tassie. We belted them, but kicked poorly and won by 5.10 instead of 12.3 type margin. I remember Tredders dominating and just marking everything he went for.

R10
A​
5.3 8.5 12.11 17.15​
117​
1.2 4.3 8.4 12.5​
77​
W
5-0-4​
York Park​
18112​
2002​

Belted them next year at home - Clarko in our box would have become aware of our attitude towards them.
R3
H​
Haw
5.3 12.11 15.12 19.14​
128​
3.0 3.1 7.4 11.5​
71​
W
6-0-4​
Football Park​
24902​
2003​

Then Byron pinched it off them in the return game at MCG and it was sweet revenge.
R18
A​
2.5 4.8 8.10 12.12​
84​
3.3 6.8 7.11 11.14​
80​
W
7-0-4​
M.C.G.​
21415​
2003​

Belted them in both games in 2004, Clarko was still on board.
R3
H​
Haw
6.3 11.8 17.13 26.15​
171​
1.3 7.6 10.8 13.12​
90​
W
8-0-4​
Football P​
27421​
2004​
R16
A​
4.3 7.9 11.12 15.15​
105​
1.3 4.4 5.8 7.11​
53​
W
9-0-4​
M.C.G.​
11682​
2004​

Then the 2 games Hodge talked about - absolute shellackings in 2005 and 2006.
R13
H​
Haw
7.3 12.5 21.9 29.14​
188​
3.1 8.5 8.8 10.11​
71​
W
10-0-4​
Football P​
30212​
2005​
R11
H​
Haw
8.2 15.4 18.10 22.13​
145​
2.1 2.4 5.5 7.7​
49​
W
11-0-4​
Football P​
24511​
2006​

In 2007 they were Buddy good, improved a hell of a lot and got us at Footy Park
R10
H​
Haw
5.5 8.6 9.12 10.15​
75​
2.2 10.3 13.5 17.7​
109​
L
11-0-5​
Football P​
23945​
2007​

But we got them in the dying minutes in Launceston, with Wilbur Wilson doing 2 bits of brilliant play, that resulted in 2 goals to Motlop and Ebert to put us in front with 3 seconds to go.
R20
A​
Haw
6.4 6.8 7.11 12.15​
87​
4.0 8.4 10.9 12.10​
82​
W
12-0-5​
York Park​
15264​
2007​

We almost got them in 2008 when they were marching to a flag, were 7-0 before this game and we had 2007 GF mental disintegration issues. We were 0-4 and got to 3-4 before this game.
R8
A​
Haw
7.4 11.6 14.8 15.12​
102​
2.2 8.7 15.9 17.15​
117​
L
12-0-6​
York Park​
15682​
2008​

2009 playing the reigning premiers on their home deck, we didn't have a great side, but the old hands delivered and Hamish debuted and bumped Roughead and put him on his arse as we stormed home in the last quarter - wearing that farken dead dolphin jumper with the white socks. The rot set in for Hawks and they missed making the finals.

So we are at 7-2 W-L record post 2001 SF
R4
A​
Haw
4.3 6.4 10.6 17.13​
115​
2.2 5.6 9.12 12.13​
85​
W
13-0-6​
M.C.G.​
33274​
2009​

2010 No Tredders ever again after round 7, played them after lost the next 3 games in Rd 11 and its close, on the way to falling apart and losing 9 in a row, sack Choco on eve of 8 losses in a row, let him coach that game, Primus loses the first game Rd 16, then win Rd 17 and play Hawks in Rd 18 and scrape home for a win.
R11
A​
Haw
0.5 2.10 5.13 8.15​
63​
2.4 7.7 8.9 10.14​
74​
L
14-0-7​
M.C.G.​
21287​
2010​

R18
H​
Haw
3.3 7.6 9.9 13.14​
92​
4.2 8.6 11.8 12.12​
84​
W
15-0-7​
Football P​
22340​
2010​

2011 the tide turns for Hawks

As edgie said, matched them for 3 quarter then the Falloon Fitness failed us
R7
H​
Haw
5.1 7.7 9.11 10.12​
72​
3.5 7.7 10.11 15.14​
104​
L
15-0-8​
Football P​
21819​
2011​

Then Clarko and the Hawks get their revenge. If this isn't the lowest point in Port's 152 year history, it reaches rock bottom in the 1st quarter of the next game, with about 30 seconds to go to 1/4 time. Score is Port 0.3 v Western Bulldogs 10.3. Luckily Daniel Stewart takes a mark on 50m arc and kicks a goal after the siren, then Johnny Butcher comes on after 1/4 time break and we start the climb up out of the valley of death. 57pts down at 1/4 time and lose the game by 60pts.
R21
A​
Haw
0.2 2.2 5.2 5.2​
32​
8.1 17.4 23.6 31.11​
197​
L
15-0-9​
M.C.G.​
27532​
2011​

2012 we start the year well in first 8 games, but Falloon Fitness sees us blow up at 3/4 time and we just lose a few games and get the nickname, the blowies. Rot sets in after this Rd 11 game when Schulz is KO'd - well his spleen is - by Westhoff at Docklands in Rd 12, but a lot more competitive this game than the abomination 10 months earlier at MCG.
R11
H​
Haw
3.3 4.7 5.7 9.8​
62​
7.4 9.8 12.11 16.12​
108​
L
15-0-10​
Football Park​
26638​
2012​

Rd 20 in Tassie, Buddha's first game after Primus got sacked when GWS humiliated us, we were good for 3 quarters then capitulated in the last with usual lack of fitness.
R20
A​
Haw
3.4 5.7 10.9 13.9​
87​
1.3 9.9 13.12 24.15​
159​
L
15-0-11​
York Park​
14431​
2012​

In 2013 the soon to be premiers Hawks were just too good
R16
H​
Haw
2.2 8.4 10.5 12.7​
79​
6.0 10.4 16.6 19.10​
124​
L
15-0-12​
Football P​
23748​
2013​

But just like 2009 we got the reigning premiers, but this time both of us were better sides. This time at home.
R10
H​
Haw
4.2 8.3 11.7 15.10​
100​
2.3 4.4 10.6 13.8​
86​
W
16-0-12​
Adelaide O​
52233​
2014​

The next game that could have changed everything for Port. Blew it in the 1st quarter and then ran out of time to steal it. I doubt we would have beaten Sydney in the GF, but you never know.

We ran the Hawks off their feet, you could tell how relieved, but tired they were after the PF, and that's why they belted the Swans at every opportunity in the GF and the game was over at half time. They knew they didn't have a lot of gas left in the tank to play another hard running game like they did against Port.

There is no way a Hinkley coached side would have bashed up Sydney like the Hawks did. They had smarter, bigger bodied mongrels than us to do that to the swans and the swans were bigger bodied than us. We may have run Sydney off their legs like we almost did with the Hawks, but I doubt it, as they weren't as old as the Hawks.
PF
F​
Haw
3.9 5.11 8.13 13.16​
94​
2.3 8.4 13.6 15.7​
97​
L
16-0-13​
M.C.G.​
74856​
2014​

2015 we beat the reigning premiers again. Blitzed them in the first quarter then hung on for dear life in the last quarter.
R4
H​
Haw
8.2 12.4 15.8 15.9​
99​
1.2 3.7 8.9 13.13​
91​
W
17-0-13​
Adelaide Oval​
49831​
2015​

Then in the return game we saw what has become a long trend under Hinkley. Lose the games when big expectations are on us, but come up with surprise wins against top sides when the expectations are low and we aren't expected to win and not much on the game as we couldn't make finals.

I reckon Hodge finally had enough of us pushing them, despite them winning multiple flags and us none, and he tried to drive Wingard's head thru the point post with a bump, but only grazed him.
R21
A​
Haw
4.5 7.5 11.8 16.12​
108​
2.3 5.6 11.7 13.8​
86​
W
18-0-13​
Docklands​
28657​
2015​

Next year was the first time the Hawks as reigning premiers beat us.
R16
H​
Haw
3.3 5.4 7.4 12.7​
79​
3.1 6.4 11.10 15.11​
101​
L
18-0-14​
Adelaide​
43025​
2016​

And 2017 another trend under Hinkley had already started, but stood out in this game. We completely dominated the first half and probably missed a few opportunities and then 2nd half pissed that dominance up against the wall by dominating but kicking 5.12. This was the last game where Hodge and Roughead from that mid noughties era, played against Port. This should have been a 20 goal victory. We owed them that from 2011.

R11
H​
Haw
6.5 9.8 10.15 13.20​
98​
0.0 0.3 3.4 7.5​
47​
W
19-0-14​
Adelaide Oval​
37910​
2017​

Then we lost the next 2 in Tassie and won next 3, 2 at AO and 1 at Docklands, before this year.

I wonder if Sam Mitchell has taken on that pay back Port mentality, after Port intimidated us for so long, we have to beat those bastards type attitude? The Hawks came out and gave us a belting in Rd 2 this year.

Could do this sort of stuff with the showdowns, but I doubt you could do it for any other clubs. We wanted revenge after 2001 SF and we imposed ourselves and then the Hawks wanted retribution. . We would have wanted it after the 2005 SF and 2007 GF losses, but we haven't been able to impose ourselves on the crows and cats like we did with the hawks.

If we somehow land Clarko, maybe he can bring that hard edge back to Port for all our games and help with some payback we owe certain clubs.

17 fantastic footballers in that first 18, and also Stephen Hill is there for some reason.

What a ****ed in the head comment that is. Did you actually see him play? How many games?

He was the best central corridor runner for about 8 years before he dody hamstring injuries and other soft tissue injuries destroyed his last 5 or 6 years of his career.

Hodges comments got me started last night on going thru the Port v Hawks history and when the tides turned and why.

We lost that semi final at Footy Park to Hawthorn in 2001 by 3pts, a few days after September 11th, it was a bloody eerie game to attend as a result, and Choco and the club said we owe these bastard for putting us out in straight sets, and a never lose to them again attitude started.

Still can visualize Fabian Francis running into goal and trying to bounce kick a goal from 40m out, rather than kick thru the ball, and it hit the post after the bounce, instead of going 9 pts up with about 3 or 4 minutes to go. It was 4 wins and 4 losses after this game .................................. ie 4-0-4.

SF
F​
3.1 4.5 8.7 10.9​
69​
1.1 4.6 5.8 10.12​
72​
L
4-0-4​
Football Park​
30613​
2001​

First game after the SF loss we played them in Launceston, first year of the Hawks and St Kilda experiment in Tassie. We belted them, but kicked poorly and won by 5.10 instead of 12.3 type margin. I remember Tredders dominating and just marking everything he went for.

R10
A​
5.3 8.5 12.11 17.15​
117​
1.2 4.3 8.4 12.5​
77​
W
5-0-4​
York Park​
18112​
2002​

Belted them next year at home - Clarko in our box would have become aware of our attitude towards them.
R3
H​
Haw
5.3 12.11 15.12 19.14​
128​
3.0 3.1 7.4 11.5​
71​
W
6-0-4​
Football Park​
24902​
2003​

Then Byron pinched it off them in the return game at MCG and it was sweet revenge.
R18
A​
2.5 4.8 8.10 12.12​
84​
3.3 6.8 7.11 11.14​
80​
W
7-0-4​
M.C.G.​
21415​
2003​

Belted them in both games in 2004, Clarko was still on board.
R3
H​
Haw
6.3 11.8 17.13 26.15​
171​
1.3 7.6 10.8 13.12​
90​
W
8-0-4​
Football P​
27421​
2004​
R16
A​
4.3 7.9 11.12 15.15​
105​
1.3 4.4 5.8 7.11​
53​
W
9-0-4​
M.C.G.​
11682​
2004​

Then the 2 games Hodge talked about - absolute shellackings in 2005 and 2006.
R13
H​
Haw
7.3 12.5 21.9 29.14​
188​
3.1 8.5 8.8 10.11​
71​
W
10-0-4​
Football P​
30212​
2005​
R11
H​
Haw
8.2 15.4 18.10 22.13​
145​
2.1 2.4 5.5 7.7​
49​
W
11-0-4​
Football P​
24511​
2006​

In 2007 they were Buddy good, improved a hell of a lot and got us at Footy Park
R10
H​
Haw
5.5 8.6 9.12 10.15​
75​
2.2 10.3 13.5 17.7​
109​
L
11-0-5​
Football P​
23945​
2007​

But we got them in the dying minutes in Launceston, with Wilbur Wilson doing 2 bits of brilliant play, that resulted in 2 goals to Motlop and Ebert to put us in front with 3 seconds to go.
R20
A​
Haw
6.4 6.8 7.11 12.15​
87​
4.0 8.4 10.9 12.10​
82​
W
12-0-5​
York Park​
15264​
2007​

We almost got them in 2008 when they were marching to a flag, were 7-0 before this game and we had 2007 GF mental disintegration issues. We were 0-4 and got to 3-4 before this game.
R8
A​
Haw
7.4 11.6 14.8 15.12​
102​
2.2 8.7 15.9 17.15​
117​
L
12-0-6​
York Park​
15682​
2008​

2009 playing the reigning premiers on their home deck, we didn't have a great side, but the old hands delivered and Hamish debuted and bumped Roughead and put him on his arse as we stormed home in the last quarter - wearing that farken dead dolphin jumper with the white socks. The rot set in for Hawks and they missed making the finals.

So we are at 7-2 W-L record post 2001 SF
R4
A​
Haw
4.3 6.4 10.6 17.13​
115​
2.2 5.6 9.12 12.13​
85​
W
13-0-6​
M.C.G.​
33274​
2009​

2010 No Tredders ever again after round 7, played them after lost the next 3 games in Rd 11 and its close, on the way to falling apart and losing 9 in a row, sack Choco on eve of 8 losses in a row, let him coach that game, Primus loses the first game Rd 16, then win Rd 17 and play Hawks in Rd 18 and scrape home for a win.
R11
A​
Haw
0.5 2.10 5.13 8.15​
63​
2.4 7.7 8.9 10.14​
74​
L
14-0-7​
M.C.G.​
21287​
2010​

R18
H​
Haw
3.3 7.6 9.9 13.14​
92​
4.2 8.6 11.8 12.12​
84​
W
15-0-7​
Football P​
22340​
2010​

2011 the tide turns for Hawks

As edgie said, matched them for 3 quarter then the Falloon Fitness failed us
R7
H​
Haw
5.1 7.7 9.11 10.12​
72​
3.5 7.7 10.11 15.14​
104​
L
15-0-8​
Football P​
21819​
2011​

Then Clarko and the Hawks get their revenge. If this isn't the lowest point in Port's 152 year history, it reaches rock bottom in the 1st quarter of the next game, with about 30 seconds to go to 1/4 time. Score is Port 0.3 v Western Bulldogs 10.3. Luckily Daniel Stewart takes a mark on 50m arc and kicks a goal after the siren, then Johnny Butcher comes on after 1/4 time break and we start the climb up out of the valley of death. 57pts down at 1/4 time and lose the game by 60pts.
R21
A​
Haw
0.2 2.2 5.2 5.2​
32​
8.1 17.4 23.6 31.11​
197​
L
15-0-9​
M.C.G.​
27532​
2011​

2012 we start the year well in first 8 games, but Falloon Fitness sees us blow up at 3/4 time and we just lose a few games and get the nickname, the blowies. Rot sets in after this Rd 11 game when Schulz is KO'd - well his spleen is - by Westhoff at Docklands, but a lot more competitive this game than the abomination 10 months earlier at MCG.
R11
H​
Haw
3.3 4.7 5.7 9.8​
62​
7.4 9.8 12.11 16.12​
108​
L
15-0-10​
Football Park​
26638​
2012​

Rd 20 in Tassie, Buddha's first game after Primus got sacked when GWS humiliated us, we were good for 3 quarters then capitulated in the last with usual lack of fitness.
R20
A​
Haw
3.4 5.7 10.9 13.9​
87​
1.3 9.9 13.12 24.15​
159​
L
15-0-11​
York Park​
14431​
2012​

In 2013 the soon to be premiers Hawks were just too good
R16
H​
Haw
2.2 8.4 10.5 12.7​
79​
6.0 10.4 16.6 19.10​
124​
L
15-0-12​
Football P​
23748​
2013​

But just like 2009 we got the reign premiers, but this time both of us were better sides. This time at home.
R10
H​
Haw
4.2 8.3 11.7 15.10​
100​
2.3 4.4 10.6 13.8​
86​
W
16-0-12​
Adelaide O​
52233​
2014​

The next game that could have changed everything for Port. Blew it in the 1st quarter and then ran out of time to steal it. I doubt we would have beaten Sydney in the GF, but you never know.

We ran the Hawks off their feet, you could tell how relieved, but tired they were after the PF, and that's why they belted the Swans at every opportunity in the GF and the game was over at half time, they knew they didn't have a lot of gas left in the tank to play another hard running game like they did against Port.

There is no way a Hinkley coached side would have bashed up Sydney like the Hawks did. They had smarter, bigger bodied mongrels than us. We may have run Sydney off their legs like we almost did with the Hawks, but I doubt it as they weren't as old as the Hawks.
PF
F​
Haw
3.9 5.11 8.13 13.16​
94​
2.3 8.4 13.6 15.7​
97​
L
16-0-13​
M.C.G.​
74856​
2014​

2015 we beat the reigning premiers again. Blitzed them in the first quarter then hung on for dear life in the last quarter.
R4
H​
Haw
8.2 12.4 15.8 15.9​
99​
1.2 3.7 8.9 13.13​
91​
W
17-0-13​
Adelaide Oval​
49831​
2015​

Then in the return game we saw what has become a long trend under Hinkley. Lose the games when big expectations are on us, but come up with surprise wins against top sides when the expectations are low and we aren't expected to win and not much on the game as we couldn't make finals.

I reckon Hodge finally had enough of us pushing them, despite them winning multiple flags and us none, and he tried to drive Wingard's head thru the point post but, only grazed him.
R21
A​
Haw
4.5 7.5 11.8 16.12​
108​
2.3 5.6 11.7 13.8​
86​
W
18-0-13​
Docklands​
28657​
2015​

Next year was the first time the Hawks as reigning premiers beat us.
R16
H​
Haw
3.3 5.4 7.4 12.7​
79​
3.1 6.4 11.10 15.11​
101​
L
18-0-14​
Adelaide​
43025​
2016​

And 2017 another trend under Hinkley had already started, but stood out in this game. We completely dominated the first half and probably missed a few opportunities and then 2nd half pissed that dominance up against the wall by dominating but kicking 5.12. This was the last game where Hodge and Roughead from that mid noughties era, played against Port. This should have been a 20 goal victory. We owed them that from 2011.

R11
H​
Haw
6.5 9.8 10.15 13.20​
98​
0.0 0.3 3.4 7.5​
47​
W
19-0-14​
Adelaide Oval​
37910​
2017​

Then we lost the next 2 in Tassie and won next 3, 2 at AO and 1 at Docklands, before this year.

I wonder if Sam Mitchell has taken on that pay back Port mentality, after Port intimidated us for so long, we have to beat those bastards type attitude? The Hawks came out and gave us a belting in Rd 2 this year.

Could do this sort of stuff with the showdowns, but I doubt you could do it for any other clubs. We wanted revenge after 2001 SF and we imposed ourselves and then the Hawks wanted retribution. . We would have wanted it after the 2005 SF and 2007 GF losses, but we haven't been able to impose ourselves on the crows and cats like we did with the hawks.

If we somehow land Clarko, maybe he can bring that hard edge back to Port for all our games and help with some payback we owe certain clubs.

I like to think that you typed all that from memory, REH.
Nothing you say will change my mind.

What a ducked in the head comment that is. Did you actually see him play? How many games?

He was the best central corridor runner for about 8 years before he dody hamstring injuries and other soft tissue injuries destroyed his last 5 or 6 years of his career.
0 AA's, 0 B&F's, 0 premierships. I'm very comfortable with my comment. Decent player but not on the level of the other guys in that starting 18.

There are several 0 AAs and 00 B&Fs in there.

Let's talk Ports! Part 3