List clean out is urgently needed

Don't think you can take the leading CHB in the comp this year and throw him forward.
Especially when Edwards has been so poor.
IF OA was available, he's an option.

The other 3 you mentioned shouldn't even be in the conversation.

Well thats great… we just keep doing the same thing and not discover anything while still getting done over by everyone else…

Tell edwards he is playing every week. Get games into him. Every second week he is dropped and then having to come upto the level so his development is being wrecked..

Who cares if we get pantsed at least we are trying things not maintaining the status quo

yep Flyin Ryan is looking a bit pudgy around the guts too. Don't know what's happened to our once great club but since covid everything has gone down hill very fast. Also did anyone notice how big Oscar was looking in those training photos, no wonder he had a foot injury.
I think they cut too deep when the soft cap was reduced.

Well thats great… we just keep doing the same thing and not discover anything while still getting done over by everyone else…

Tell edwards he is playing every week. Get games into him. Every second week he is dropped and then having to come upto the level so his development is being wrecked..

Who cares if we get pantsed at least we are trying things not maintaining the status quo
Who cares you say?
I guarantee you that if Simmo played Edwards and he kepting getting his pants pulled down whilst Gov was up forward, the "sack Simmo brigade" would be even more vocal.

This is the way I see it... another flag push is at a minimum another 3 years away, therefore...let's take a look at DA YOOF.

As in...our players 25 and under. Is there talent there that just isn't getting the opportunity because older players that won't feature in our next Premiership are keeping them out of playing at AFL level?
Is there enough talent? Is there enough talent at all lines?

Obviously people can differ in their opinions of each player, try not to get bogged down in whether a player should be considered C or B... just take an overall look.

I think it's clear that this is not a list that just needs a player or two poached from other teams to round off. This is a list that is desperate for regeneration from the draft.

In the midfield we have no obvious A graders coming through. We hope SPS can fulfil his potential through the middle, we hope L. Edwards and O'Neill can continue to develop, we hope West can be a solid back up for us, but none of these are projecting as A grade midfielders at this stage.

Chesser is the unknown, but even if (and this is a big if) he turns into a genuine midfield star, he will need support.

Aside from a few exceptions, A grade midfielders are found in the first rd of drafts.
Therefore...no matter the temptation.... we must NOT trade away any of our first rd picks for the next few years (unless we are getting first rds back)

There is no good using up first rd picks to get a Jackson or an English, in a few years they will have no one to tap the ball down to!

Established A Grade Player
Ryan

Established B Grade Player
Duggan
Witherden
Allen (We hope he can take it to the next level)

Established C Grade Player
Petrevski-Seton (change of club may unlock his potential)
Cole
Rotham
Waterman
Jones
Naish
Petruccelle

Established D or lower
West
Clark

Developing (Hopefully A or B Grade)
Foley
H. Edwards
L. Edwards
Hough
Chesser
J. Williams
Bazzo

Developing (Probably C or lower)
Winder
Trew
Strnadica
Jamieson
Joyce
B. Williams
O'Neill
Where is Willie?

Who cares you say?
I guarantee you that if Simmo played Edwards and he kepting getting his pants pulled down whilst Gov was up forward, the "sack Simmo brigade" would be even more vocal.

Do you really think there is a sack Simmo brigade?
The coach of a footy club is and has always been a position that is fragile with supporters.
I don’t want him doing a rebuild because I don’t think after being at the club as long as he had that he can change his stripes. I do however think he will and should cont8nue to have a good career in footy as a coach but it should not be with us.
I also think he should make the call as the club won’t and a two year car crash is not much fun to watch let alone lead.

He can’t no matter what way you look at it get around the fact that as coach his game plan is years behind every other clubs, his players don’t know how to tackle, his players have not be committed to the cause for 3 years. The development at the club is poor and he is the head honcho in charge of everything.
Lots of red flags for me as an outsider. The excuses which are a constant with this clubs supporter group have to Stop.

Not to worry howeve as I have no doubt the club will leave him to see out his contract.

Who cares you say?

Thats where the job is explaining the expectation and why the change has been made…

Do you really think there is a sack Simmo brigade?
The coach of a footy club is and has always been a position that is fragile with supporters.
I don’t want him doing a rebuild because I don’t think after being at the club as long as he had that he can change his stripes. I do however think he will and should cont8nue to have a good career in footy as a coach but it should not be with us.
I also think he should make the call as the club won’t and a two year car crash is not much fun to watch let alone lead.

He can’t no matter what way you look at it get around the fact that as coach his game plan is years behind every other clubs, his players don’t know how to tackle, his players have not be committed to the cause for 3 years. The development at the club is poor and he is the head honcho in charge of everything.
Lots of red flags for me as an outsider. The excuses which are a constant with this clubs supporter group have to Stop.

Not to worry howeve as I have no doubt the club will leave him to see out his contract.
I can see your point, even though I don't agree with it.

Tell me why you think Simmo, who for arguments sake is on a million dollars a year, resign with over 2 years left on his contract?

Clarkson was pushed out and Hawthorne had to pay him out a years salary.

No one is going to resign and leave two million dollars on the table.

I can see your point, even though I don't agree with it.

Tell me why you think Simmo, who for arguments sake is on a million dollars a year, resign with over 2 years left on his contract?

Clarkson was pushed out and Hawthorne had to pay him out a years salary.

No one is going to resign and leave two million dollars on the table.

I honestly think North will come knocking on his door, as for walking away I am sure he and the club could come to an agreement.
I don’t think the club has the balls to push him out.

Time will tell I guess.

I honestly think North will come knocking on his door, as for walking away I am sure he and the club could come to an agreement.
I don’t think the club has the balls to push him out.

Time will tell I guess.
I guess it will.

The problem is, his salary for 2 years is included in the soft cap so we'd be paying 1.5 million or more just for the head coaching position.

I reckon due to covid, he'll get a Mulligan this year.
Next year will be a huge year for him and the club.

Maybe if we're 2-9 or thereabouts at the bye, players like Hurn and JK will retire mid-year.

It will be interesting to see how this year plays out.

Gov‘s season so far is over rated. He is giving his opponents way to much space and he is the leader of a backline that has its pants pulled down more often than not.
I don’t get any buzz at all anymore watching him guarding space and taking 10 marks in a game. Go and lock your player down and if you don’t you can piss off.
He has been superb this season. It's our mids letting him down.

I guess it will.

The problem is, his salary for 2 years is included in the soft cap so we'd be paying 1.5 million or more just for the head coaching position.

I reckon due to covid, he'll get a Mulligan this year.
Next year will be a huge year for him and the club.

Maybe if we're 2-9 or thereabouts at the bye, players like Hurn and JK will retire mid-year.

It will be interesting to see how this year plays out.

How many more covid mulligans is he going to have? This number 3?? He might has well not packed his putter …
Do i get my money back for my membership because they have an excuse for crappy play due to covid??

How many more covid mulligans is he going to have? This number 3?? He might has well not packed his putter …
Do i get my money back for my membership because they have an excuse for crappy play due to covid??

I'm just giving my opinion that he will get a Mulligan.
Most people realized our season was shot after 3 rounds.
Whether he deserves one or not is debatable.

What isn't debatable is that he has over two years left on a huge contract and this will probably save him.

There is no chance simmo will get sacked with 2 years to go.

I hate to admit this but the.sooner we are not a mathematical chance to win finals, the quicker hurn and JK can retire mid season (well hurn, JK maybe managed more) then retire shuey and redden at the end of the year.

Even now, he would be worth an early first, if not 2. Or, a first and a very early second round pick at worst
NicNat getting us two first rounders is the delusion we all need to get through these tough times.

I hate to break it to you man but NN on the trade table nets us a mid second rounder at absolute best. Even that seems a big stretch to me. There's a fair chance he calls it a day at season's end on the back of his latest injury.

Agree with the premise of the OP list clean out needed. JK and Hurn at season's end. Redden, Shuey and NN are almost no chance to be playing in 2024. With Shep that six top line seniors to replace over the next couple of years. Leaves us with about six seniors to guide the youngsters through the rebuild, which feels about right to me. Going full destruct mode on the list is not the optimal way forward IMO. You do need some old steady hands to guide the kids otherwise it just descends into Melbourne circa 2009.

We're looking at two top five picks in 2022 and 2023. Obviously a couple of picks in the early 20s and port's second rounder this year is looking juicy. That is plenty to hit the draft with over the next two seasons. Hopefully we can pull off another port style trade.

Back in finals for 2026 should be the aim with a genuine flag tilt no later than 2028 with Oscar Allen in his absolute prime.

It's optimistic and pretty much runs to best case scenario but our last two rebuilds have run to best case scenario so there's no reason to not set that expectation on our third rebuild.

After being good for a decade and trading a heap of our first rounders during that period (Wellingham = , Redden +, Kelly trades -) we have been left in a position where we have an absolute dearth of young talent (the worst in the comp).

We are clearly not winning a premiership anytime soon - so this year needs to be a fast forward of our rebuild where the focus is on Talented U25's in all positions. The only fool proof way you get access to such talent is by dropping down the ladder - which we obviously don't want to do for any extended period of time, so we need to try and find high numbers of high picks, whilst turning over the list at pace.

Any techniques to maximise access to talent without bottoming out needs to be looked at closely like:
  • Retiring Hurn/Kennedy to get a shot at the Mid-season draft
  • Free Agency Buying - unlikely to be any realistic targets this year but its time to start building a war chest and hopefully we can net a Jackson type for free in the future.
  • Free Agency Selling - Hopefully somebody dangles a contract in front of Nelson this year and we get a 3rd rounder. Gaff's not an option until 2024.
  • Trading out seniors to competing teams (most of our seniors are heart and soul or WA players). Gaff and Darling may be options for late first/second rounders and we should take any such offer if they are willing and a Brisbane/Melbourne/Dogs/Sydney/GWS type are keen.
  • Scavenging (looking at U23's who may be on the periphery at their club then offering them mid time/dollars bump to request a trade - Robinson?).
  • Splitting picks - If we get picks 1,2 or 3 this year we need to shop it around to see if we can turn that into two or more top 15's and gain draft points in the process.
Given Port are so shit this year we are looking at getting a good kick start with a good draft hand this year (currently 3, 19, 21, 39).

Do we even melt better than the Freo board.

Surely we all knew this season (and a couple more like it) were coming. We chased another flag/s, it didn't work out and we now have some lean years to endure.

IMO, 2023 will be a dead cat bounce year if the list stays fit as there is still some quality there, maybe some very amazing recruiting can see us it a position to launch again in three seasons?

Am always amazed that people think we can just trade contracted players....especially ones from WA with multiple years left.

Lets focus on the good times we had and changing the song.

Do we even melt better than the Freo board.

Surely we all knew this season (and a couple more like it) were coming. We chased another flag/s, it didn't work out and we now have some lean years to endure.

IMO, 2023 will be a dead cat bounce year if the list stays fit as there is still some quality there, maybe some very amazing recruiting can see us it a position to launch again in three seasons?

Am always amazed that people think we can just trade contracted players....especially ones from WA with multiple years left.

Lets focus on the good times we had and changing the song.

Yep …. Pretty much this.
We have been spoilt and now it’s our turn for a stint in the cellar, that is going to require some shrewd and canny drafting for the next three to four years.

I thought we drafted well last year and the likes of:

Chesser
Hough
Bazzo
Williams
Clark

Was a great start- add in Naish and it’s was a good first year of the rebuild.

I look at it this way we have crapped out a bit more dramatically than I had expected but that’s got a silver lining because we will now get access to better draft picks.

Additionally how caring and compassionate have Port been to crap out too so that we get the bonus of an enticing low second round pick gift wrapped from the good folk at Alberton….. it’s much appreciated.

Time to rebuild and move onto building a new list thats capable of delivering Cup # 5

The nature of the competition is designed to work in cycles….. we have enjoyed the highs now it our time on the rebuild rebound.

Yep …. Pretty much this.
We have been spoilt and now it’s our turn for a stint in the cellar, that is going to require some shrewd and canny drafting for the next three to four years.

Chesser
Hough
Bazzo
Williams
Clark

I look at it this way we have crapped out a bit more dramatically than I had expected but that’s got a silver lining because we will now get access to better draft picks.

Additionally how caring and compassionate have Port been to crap out too so that we get the bonus of an enticing low second round pick gift wrapped from the good folk at Alberton….. it’s much appreciated.

Time to rebuild and move onto building a new list thats capable of delivering Cup # 5

The nature of the competition is designed to work in cycles….. we have enjoyed the highs now it our time on the rebuild rebound.

Honest opinion mate, do you think Adam Simpson can do a rebuild and take us to our next glory?

Yep …. Pretty much this.

Chesser
Hough
Bazzo
Williams
Clark

Agree with this.

My main concern is we back the senior players in for the rest of the season and we jump up the ladder, finishing 9th or 10th again in no man's land. Still in the same void, without any particularly high picks to help with the rebuild.

I hope we bottom out, if that's the way we're going.

List clean out is urgently needed