Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 14 28.6%
  • Demons

Votes: 35 71.4%

How’d they figure that?

In reality, i think someone was looking at the stereotypes of Jesus, tall, long golden hair, etc, and they figured, based on averages, if he was living in that place in time he was probably around that tall, and that someone would have mentioned what a gigantic freak he was if he had been up around 190. He was probably also dark enough that he could have been considered....... black. Of course the Vatican weren't buying any of it.

Because we don't have King I wouldn't be writing off the year , surely Membery , Sharman , Higgins can make do till he comes back - we basically have our best 22 except for King - Jones has been missing for a while along with Hayes.

I would be expecting a vast improvement from last year - injuries can happen for sure and it killed us the last 2 years but I don't want to hear excuses even before we start the season.

Time for the players to stand up and hopefully Lyon can get the best out of them.
Vast improvement , i just cant see that happening , we have way too many average players that are over rated by our fans who think they are stars

In hindsight, it seems like common sense that if Nas is going to play in the backline, that he also takes the kick-ins. Or at least whoever the best kick is. Saw Sinclair take a few of them.

Absolutely blows me away that we continued to persist with Howard bringing the ball back in.

It's a small change but it seems obvious looking back now.
This 1000000 %

I was at the game - sitting in front of Bassat and Lethlean in fact in the grand stand who seemed to be enjoying the boys club up there - but anyway I missed the second reserves game and am curious to hear opinions on Van Es.

Seems that Van Es did a few things that had people thinking he will be a good player of the future, can anyone recount what he demonstrated to suggest that? I’d love for him to come on and be a big no shit taken key defender cult figure.

Vast improvement , i just cant see that happening , we have way too many average players that are over rated by our fans who think they are stars
Fans don't impact improvement, and every club's fans overrate their players in every sport on the planet.
Nothing wrong with our fans (they'd be amongst the best in the world to stick by a club with our record), just our list. No need to have a go at both imo.

Vomiting from exhaustion, is something everyone can learn a lesson from, or is that from drinking? Well that didn't work, lesson still there to be learned in my case, mind you it has been a few decades since i can touch Ouzo.
Oh, Ouzo.
No. No. No.
I only ever drank it once and once was enough.
Back in the day, I ended up in a bar in Freo (unusually picking up apparently non discerning women) after Saints had lost to Weagles and someone gave me a Sambucca.
End of evening.

Fans don't impact improvement, and every club's fans overrate their players in every sport on the planet.
Nothing wrong with our fans (they'd be amongst the best in the world to stick by a club with our record), just our list. No need to have a go at both imo.
Who said anything about the fans impact improvement ?
Yep you have your opinion and I have mine

I was at the game - sitting in front of Bassat and Lethlean in fact in the grand stand who seemed to be enjoying the boys club up there - but anyway I missed the second reserves game and am curious to hear opinions on Van Es.

Seems that Van Es did a few things that had people thinking he will be a good player of the future, can anyone recount what he demonstrated to suggest that? I’d love for him to come on and be a big no s**t taken key defender cult figure.

Took a few nice intercept marks, seemed to win a good share of the ball, and generally looked accomplished and pretty close to the level already for a big guy.

I was impressed with all our talls in the second game. Heath won the ruck contest. Adam played really well and used the ball well. Sharman and the hammer both very good up forward.

What did you think of Pou? 😎
In the 2nd term he showed he could be better than Fyfe as a forward/on baller - the forward part that is.
He has a deadly left peg. The 55 - 60 metre set shot - he just pinged it. Didn't kick it hard at all.

His contested marking was impressive - lovely soft hands for marking above his head. The one in front of the pack was a ripper.

I reckon he could easily kick 65 - 70 metres with the wind if he really goes for it.

Gave off some nice calm handballs in traffic too that found their targets.

In the 2nd term he showed he could be better than Fyfe as a forward/on baller - the forward part that is.
He has a deadly left peg. The 55 - 60 metre set shot - he just pinged it. Didn't kick it hard at all.

His contested marking was impressive - lovely soft hands for marking above his head. The one in front of the pack was a ripper.

I reckon he could easily kick 65 - 70 metres with the wind if he really goes for it.

Gave off some nice calm handballs in traffic too that found their targets.
One of his best moments went unremarked.
It was also in the second, we kicked a high ball to the point of the square.
Because it was into the wind, the ball dropped quite sharply and was easily intercepted by the Melbourne defender at full height.
Directly behind him however was Philipou, between the first and second defender, clear, off the ground with arms outstretched for the ball.
If the ball drop had been slightly less severe, he would have nailed that grab and kicked his first goal.
I was lucky to see all this as my mate and I were slightly side on (attempting to stay in the shade from the club buildings).
Afterwards, we both looked at each other, and smiled.

One of his best moments went unremarked.
It was also in the second, we kicked a high ball to the point of the square.
Because it was into the wind, the ball dropped quite sharply and was easily intercepted by the Melbourne defender at full height.
Directly behind him however was Philipou, between the first and second defender, clear, off the ground with arms outstretched for the ball.
If the ball drop had been slightly less severe, he would have nailed that grab and kicked his first goal.
I was lucky to see all this as my mate and I were slightly side on (attempting to stay in the shade from the club buildings).
Afterwards, we both looked at each other, and smiled.
I remember early Bowie taking quite a few easy 2-1 intercept marks that pissed me off.

you re all making me depressed. i might as well give up the year now. :sick::drunk:
Pre-season form, ecspecially the first hitout, rarely carries over into the season ahead. Most clubs use it as a way to test certain players and tactics/positions.
It seemed obvious to me that mantaining pressure was not the goal for the team on friday, moving the ball quickly through passages of play was and Lyon didnt really care much about Melbourne kicking imaginary goals all day as long we were exectuing what was set out for them.
If we were playing a defensive first mindset then Howard and Cordy would not have been trialed up in the forward line for example.

Just remember how well we felt we did in last years pre-season and how much that accounted for in the end. Wait for the real football to start to worry yourself.

Hunter, Oliver and Trac... Handy names.

Hunter played well but he must have kicked 3 or 4 out on the full and made a heap of missed kicks. Did one obscene pass that I remember though.

Pre-season form, ecspecially the first hitout, rarely carries over into the season ahead. Most clubs use it as a way to test certain players and tactics/positions.
It seemed obvious to me that mantaining pressure was not the goal for the team on friday, moving the ball quickly through passages of play was and Lyon didnt really care much about Melbourne kicking imaginary goals all day as long we were exectuing what was set out for them.
If we were playing a defensive first mindset then Howard and Cordy would not have been trialed up in the forward line for example.

Just remember how well we felt we did in last years pre-season and how much that accounted for in the end. Wait for the real football to start to worry yourself.
Couldn’t agree more. It was so
Obvious our kids were just focused on winning the ball and not defending.

Hunter played well but he must have kicked 3 or 4 out on the full and made a heap of missed kicks. Did one obscene pass that I remember though.
On the subject of out on the full - has anyone else noticed a big increase in this over the past 3 years - including skilful players as culprits
when not even under big pressure. Got me wondering if it's not a "professional" free kick.

Autopsy Match Simulation, 2023: St.Kilda v Melbourne