Mega Thread Matt Rendell (Part 2)

Its sad that Sam was correct in this circumstances but Sam was aching to say something because it goes in with his stupid victim complex that somehow rich white guys on television are the most oppressed minority in Australia and that the world as we know it is being brought low by the politically correct thought police.

This is the excuse for his infantile misogyny - the sooner the guy retires the better

Misogyny has been defined as a hatred of women. As such I dont consider that Sam Newman meets this defenition.
Infantile..... yeah.

You seem to have been aching to say something against Newman in a similar way that you accuse him in your opening paragraph.
I dont think for a minute he believes he is oppressed. Are you the thought police?

Pathetic 'interview', especially given how long they had to word him up. Not the brightest spark, our Jase. Roby, any thoughts on contradictions? I haven't watched the panel discussion around it, but from posts on here it sounded like a bunch of platitudes - 'needs education', blah blah. Will check it out if it's online.

If nothing else, it's been good for people to see the degree to which 'journalists' and their opinions are owned by the AFL. Just like when Eddie hosted TFS, could we expect to see TFS pursuing anti-Collingwood stories? As someone pointed out, it's worse now with Brayshaw as North is dependent on the AFL in a way Collingwood wasn't. Wilson relies on inside sources, so of course isn't going to burn anyone at HQ. Gleeson just keeps repeating his initial story and Barrett won't touch it because they aren't a journalist's arseh*le between them. When Mark Robinson is doing better than you, what does that say?

I was impressed that Sam got applause, though - between that and reading the comments on The Age's report on Mifsud's interview (8 out of 8 against), it seems like there's a massive disconnect on this between the league and fans.

I'd love for someone to go to town on Demetriou over what he knew, when he knew it, why Rendell wasn't offered mediation / 'education' (by people who probably know less about these issues than he does) and what this could have to do with the Australia Post sponsorship. (Could also get into the side issue of Ali's netball remarks. What would Vlad do if he was forced to choose between being tough on sexism and racism? He'd have to excuse himself to go work out the numbers.) Pathetic from the league, pathetic from the media. And now down the memory hole.

Good post, especially about how the gap is widening between "HQ" and "Joe public". It is a chasm on this issue, I believe. Of course in his sanctimonious, arrogant way, Demetriou will of course believe it is us who need educating, not him.

And I'm still waiting for his heartfelt apology to those he clearly offended down in Tassie. He might not have meant to offend, but neither did Rendell, yet one is crucified and the other gets away with it scott free, free to continue with his hypocrisy. :thumbsdown:

Its sad that Sam was correct in this circumstances but Sam was aching to say something because it goes in with his stupid victim complex that somehow rich white guys on television are the most oppressed minority in Australia and that the world as we know it is being brought low by the politically correct thought police.

This is the excuse for his infantile misogyny - the sooner the guy retires the better

Yeah it will be great when we have no one in the media brave enough to speak out against the AFL and they are all singing from the same AFL friendly hymn sheet.:rolleyes:

No doubt Sam acts the clown at times but he's an intelligent man and well worth listening to when he puts his serious hat on and discusses AFL issues. Some of his one on one interviews on TFS have been riveting viewing, he asks the tough questions and won't back down until he gets an answer. A shame he didn't get a chance to interview Mifsud but the AFL would never let that happen as he would be ripped to shreds.

Misogyny has been defined as a hatred of women. As such I dont consider that Sam Newman meets this defenition.
Infantile..... yeah.

You seem to have been aching to say something against Newman in a similar way that you accuse him in your opening paragraph.
I dont think for a minute he believes he is oppressed. Are you the thought police?

I think he is on the money in this matter and I think that Demetriou has acted capriciously and heavy handedly and has ended the career of someone who has given footy a lot.

However when Sam said "These people who think they are interested in social justice are not interested in equal justice" - he used an unattributed quote from Enoch Powell in his defence of Rendell . Ironic he should quote dear old Enoch in a controversy involving race. MTR says what MTR does

As for Sam he loves women as long as they are impressed by old farts who drive Ferraris - loving to shag young blondes is not evidence against misogyny

As for his intelligence - an ability to spout big words occasionally is not intelligence who can forget his who wants to be a millionaire performance when he nominated Abraham Lincoln as the first President of the United States

Was staggered by that. Still reckon he's life smart, just not book smart. In a way, he represents the best and worst of 'old school' thinking.

I think he is on the money in this matter and I think that Demetriou has acted capriciously and heavy handedly and has ended the career of someone who has given footy a lot.

However when Sam said "These people who think they are interested in social justice are not interested in equal justice" - he used an unattributed quote from Enoch Powell in his defence of Rendell . Ironic he should quote dear old Enoch in a controversy involving race. MTR says what MTR does

As for Sam he loves women as long as they are impressed by old farts who drive Ferraris - loving to shag young blondes is not evidence against misogyny

That hardly means he's not intelligent either.

AFL footy show last night highlighted one thing... and that is that Sam Newman might be one of the only living media personalities capable of speaking against the AFL.

Damien Barrett... what the hell is your role as a hard hitting investigative journalist when you had nothing to say on this topic. Brayshaw didn't want to touch it. Quite clearly these guys know what is at stake for them if they don't tread a careful line. They know who has the power to impact their club or career. Talk about conflict of interest.

The AFL footy show had a chance to really cover this issue given there is only 1 game this weekend and completely avoided it. Talk about trying to airbrush events out of history.

The issues at play now extend well beyond what has happened to Matt Rendell... but the AFL machine as a whole. Trust no one!
Brayshaw was pathetic. Couldn't get away from the topic quickly enough.

Didn't have the guts to even go there himself. Pretty obvious why.

What a muppet.

Ive always had a fair bit of time for James, but that was really very poor last night.

With the exception of Newman and Thomas the football media have been absolutely gutless on this issue.

I have never in my time on BF seen such universal agreement on an issue and yet no one in the public eye has had the guts to speak up.:thumbsdown:

What a muppet.

I don't like JB but cut him some slack, it was a very emotional night for everyone, with Garry Lyon too distraught to continue after his wonderful tribute to Jim Stynes, don't think the time or mood was right for hostile/negative questioning on a very sensitive issue.

The Footy Show's mandate is still to be a light entertainment, and frankly I didn't want to hear anymore about the Rendall issue on a night the Footy Show celebrated the life of Jimmy Stynes.

I don't like JB but cut him some slack, it was a very emotional night for everyone, with Garry Lyon too distraught to continue after his wonderful tribute to Jim Stynes, don't think the time or mood was right for hostile/negative questioning on a very sensitive issue.

The Footy Show's mandate is still to be a light entertainment, and frankly I didn't want to hear anymore about the Rendall issue on a night the Footy Show celebrated the life of Jimmy Stynes.

How very convenient for you - using Stynes sad and untimely death as a reason to sweep a perceived injustice under the carpet.

The irony being that is diametrically opposed to the values and the core of the man you are celebrating.

How very convenient for you - using Stynes sad and untimely death as a reason to sweep a perceived injustice under the carpet.

The irony being that is diametrically opposed to the values and the core of the man you are celebrating.

I am not against the vindication of Matt Rendall, who seems like a decent chap who was made a scapegoat, but I think last night wasn't the right time, considering how emotional Sam and JB would have been feeling.

I think Footy Classified is a more appropriate forum for the Rendall-gate inquest anyway.

I am not against the vindication of Matt Rendall, who seems like a decent chap who was made a scapegoat, but I think last night wasn't the right time, considering how emotional Sam and JB would have been feeling.

I think Footy Classified is a more appropriate forum for the Rendall-gate inquest anyway.

Vindication of Rendell is not really an option as what he said was wrong. There is no doubt. Make no mistake, Rendell deserved to be called on his views.

The real injustice in the situation was how he appeared to be rail roaded by Misfud, Demetriou, and Trigg to protect the public image of the AFL in general in regards to racial equality in the AFL.

Rendell was made an example of. The problem might be now that others who share views similar to Rendell will just keep their heads down and their mouths shut. So nothing was gained other than to cause great distress to a good man who just got it a bit wrong, although his heart was in the right place. If that makes sense:rolleyes:

Don't confuse knowledge for intelligence.

On topic; I have never seen such a stark contrast between perceived public opinion (conveyed by the media) and actual public opinion.

I really think every footy fan is just about ready to run the AFL admin out of town.

The PC nature of society these days is ridiculous, and this issue has just emphasised it. I think it's appalling no one has called the AFL on how this has all gone down.

Some interesting posts over recent hours.

Agree it's embarrassing the "news breaker" Ratboy Barratt decided this story was not worthy of his genius, but rather the stunning news of Dustin Martin changing his manager is more important. Can't forget the stunning news that Travis Cloke used google earth, although to be fair it is pretty amazing any Cloke can use anything more advanced than an Atari 2600.

Agree also with one poster on Mufsid becoming untenable. Given he has acknowledged that made a private conversation public because his cultural obligations took priority, surely no club could agree to have any of their staff privately advising him any more. If he cannot get open and honest comment form those at the coal face, is his ability to work with the clubs viable?

Vindication of Rendell is not really an option as what he said was wrong. There is no doubt. Make no mistake, Rendell deserved to be called on his views.

The real injustice in the situation was how he appeared to be rail roaded by Misfud, Demetriou, and Trigg to protect the public image of the AFL in general in regards to racial equality in the AFL.

Rendell was made an example of. The problem might be now that others who share views similar to Rendell will just keep their heads down and their mouths shut. So nothing was gained other than to cause great distress to a good man who just got it a bit wrong, although his heart was in the right place. If that makes sense:rolleyes:

Kudos to you CF - when you first joined this debate I found your views very narrow, perhaps ignorant in my view, and 'straight down the line' for want of a better phrase (I certainly wont use the obvious one for it's 'racist' connotations :rolleyes:) however whilst your initial view still stands you have been able to understand what others are saying to you and take that on.

Even modify your opinion somewhat - and that is deserving of respect.

As for the Adelaide supporters in P1 & 2 - the deal is guys that you close ranks and defend the club to the hilt - that you are so outraged that you, to a man and woman, have come on here and not only expressed your utter disgust at this travesty, but been at the forefront of exposing and 'educating' the masses is a testamount to you as individuals.

Whilst you may not give a shit about my view, your convictions and passion have forever ended the concept of Adelaide being a 'franchise' in my (ignorant) opinion.

This will peter out from here, blown over by the seasons' start and Jimmy Stynes funeral - hopefully Matt can get his life back together, and maybe, things will improve.

;)

I am just trying to get my head around the idea that Mifsud and the guys on the Marngrook panel want to see a change in the attrition rate of Aboriginal players in the AFL, but when someone comes up with a plan (however good or bad it may be) it is not discussed openly and the only thing being discussed is whether Rendell is a racist or not.

These people who are vilifying Rendell know there is a problem and yet so far have zero ideas on how to combat it. And now with the one person man enough to at least take a stab at a solution being run out of town because he may not have fully thought through the cultural ramifications of his plan (or maybe was ignorant of them), who else will bother to offer a solution now?

Rendell thought he had a good plan and instead of being told during the meeting by Mifsud and whoever the other bloke was that his plan was misguided and that they thought his plan was offensive (although I am not sure how you can be offended by someone trying to help you), they chose to stay silent and continue on with the conversation as if nothing was wrong and then arc up about it later.

If they really were friends, Rendell deserved the respect of being told to his face then and there that this idea of his was ludicrous. To let him continue on and believe that what he said was ok is disrespectful to Rendell. If he truly thought what he was saying was a helpful plan and not trying to denigrate the Aboriginal players and Mifsud disagreed, then he should have been set straight then and there.

It was a gross misuse of trust and his position. Mifsud should be ashamed with how he has treated his "friend".

Does anyone expect serious football discussion on a show where Sam Newman was dacked by Shane Crawford, and forced to lick his rear end, and also once threw A pie in The Ox's face ???

There are people who don't follow Footy who watch The Footy Show for laughs.

Some people are reading too much into it TBH

I betcha he knows who Edmund Barton was, though.

Does anyone expect serious football discussion on a show where Sam Newman was dacked by Shane Crawford, and forced to lick his rear end, and also once threw A pie in The Ox's face ???

There are people who don't follow Footy who watch The Footy Show for laughs.

Some people are reading too much into it TBH

So Lyon's heartfelt tribute to Stynes should be seen in the same light as highjinks?

Because that is what you are saying.

They've discussed plenty of other serious issues on The Footy Show before which are far less relevent than this issue. They got all the Jim Stynes stuff out of the way early and there was plenty of time left to discuss the Rendell issue, it's not like they had many games to discuss this week or that Barrett the Parrot had anything worthwhile to contribute. However apart from Sam's brief rant they pretty much ignored it.

The time to discuss this issue was this week, they won't discuss it next week as it will be old news then and there will be all the games next week to talk about. The media have well and truly dropped the ball on this issue and unfortunately it's probably too late now for them to pick it up.