Roast Media Shakes Head, Part 7

View attachment 1353890

team america vomit GIF

He's just thanking his lucky stars...

"As the Power and rival clubs have sought to tap into building team connection in recent years, Hinkley has been reading about gratitude, including over summer.

Gratitude helps people to focus on positive things happening in their lives each day.

“Typically we’re all reading and we’re looking for a little secret or a little recipe that can help us overcome some of our challenges, that’s no different for me,” he says.

“I’ve spent some time in gratitude and what it means to reflect and look at what’s good that’s going on, plus what the challenges are coming in front of you.

“It’s something that I’ve been strong on for three or four years now and continually look for and want to learn more about."

"As the Power and rival clubs have sought to tap into building team connection in recent years, Hinkley has been reading about gratitude, including over summer.

Gratitude helps people to focus on positive things happening in their lives each day.

“Typically we’re all reading and we’re looking for a little secret or a little recipe that can help us overcome some of our challenges, that’s no different for me,” he says.

“I’ve spent some time in gratitude and what it means to reflect and look at what’s good that’s going on, plus what the challenges are coming in front of you.

“It’s something that I’ve been strong on for three or four years now and continually look for and want to learn more about."

Glad he's still getting paid $800k a year

Glad he's not currently coaching Tooleybuc Colts

Glad he's guaranteed a lifetime supply of Coke

Glad he's ........

I bet David Koch was pretty high up on his gratitude list.

I blame everyone asking "where's Hinkley?" in the off- and pre-season. Let him secrete himself in Fort Australian Outdoor Living. Life was so much more tolerable when there wasn't a regular reminder that he remains senior coach.

Headline from Advertiser -
EXCLUSIVESport

Inside the brilliant mind of Ken Hinkley

The Adelaide Now subbie hoping for heaps of clicks from an incredulous readership with that headline, but the article itself has:

Port Adelaide coach Ken Hinkley in one of his most revealing interviews​

Even in the off season, Ken Hinkley doesn’t switch off from the game he loves. His kids even had to plan their weddings around footy. He opens up on how he’s survived a decade in the job.

As for that last sentence, all I could find in the article was this:

"Hinkley says growing as a coach and being at a football club that “understands the importance of stability and building” have been instrumental to his longevity."

How's the stability!

"Building" lol
90-100 years ago it took 9 years to build the Sydney Harbour Bridge

ie. Even way back then with limited resources and inferior technology it took them less time to build the bridge than it has for Hinkley to "build" a premiership team and he still hasnt got there

The Adelaide Now subbie hoping for heaps of clicks from an incredulous readership with that headline, but the article itself has:

Even in the off season, Ken Hinkley doesn’t switch off from the game he loves. His kids even had to plan their weddings around footy. He opens up on how he’s survived a decade in the job.

"Hinkley says growing as a coach and being at a football club that “understands the importance of stability and building” have been instrumental to his longevity."

How's the stability!
Love it. Basically says guy on over $800k works a bit more than the minimum 26weeks of football each year.

Also his kids need to plan their weddings around football as they've all been employed at the f@*King club

90-100 years ago it took 9 years to build the Sydney Harbour Bridge

ie. Even way back then with limited resources and inferior technology it took them less time to build the bridge than it has for Hinkley to "build" a premiership team and he still hasnt got there
It's not about the destination, it's all about the journey and being in today. The journey will go on as long as Koch is willing to keep paying for the stability of not actually going anywhere.

He sounds like a 17 year old girl.

How's the stability!
Another reason to add to a very lengthy list if why to never buy or pay a subscription to the advertiser 😳

haha - I reckon there is a sub editor at the Tsier that reads this board and knew that type of summary headline - even though its not the article headline or what Matt Thomas has said in his article, is going to get lots of clicks.

I bet that isn't the headline in the paper edition.