News Media Thread, 2024: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

Assume by that one you mean the Camfield?

The Casino is just up the road, plus 2 breweries in Burswood. In East Perth there's the Royal and a couple of other small bars close by. Plenty of options imo

Yep, there is a lack of options before or after games in the stadium surrounds which has so much space.

This is one of my biggest gripes.
Taxpayers pay for the stadium to be built. They then tender the whole place out to some shit food company that producers below average food and still charges a fortune for it. And we are told we've been given a world class facility.
Tender each stall out to businesses that actually make half decent food so we have a selection of stuff to eat.
I had some of those popcorn chicken bites and just about threw up. It's takes some serious work to make your chicken nuggets taste worse than McDonalds. As I'm sure Maccas have cornered the market on how to claim that something is "chicken" because it was around or near the chicken at the time it got "processed" to make theirs.

i saw this scrolling reddit one day.
i havnt been since to scout them out, or even been able to eat real food for the past month xD
but it seems like there are stalls out there doing gods work.

also as an actual inciteful post, heard this chatted about on a schoey pod, and saw it again on giants socials, apologies if i missed it in here scrolling back, and feel free to take it down if so mods.

But this quote sounds like an elegant thoughtful post out of bigfooty.

looks like someone shat, then blew all over some chips.

"I'm worried that butter chicken isn't unhealthy enough to attract your typical sportsfan, I think we should look into ways to increase its calories by adding something fried to help up its sales."

We need to avoid drafting Jagga Smith this season, otherwise we're going to be subject to months of 'Moves like Jagga' variations on the front of the west. Same for Wes Walley the following year, if the editor is still employed by then.

Or, and this is a big brain play. We grab Jagga. This way the media move their target from Harley to Jagga for the Jagga puns.

This is one of my biggest gripes.
Taxpayers pay for the stadium to be built. They then tender the whole place out to some shit food company that producers below average food and still charges a fortune for it. And we are told we've been given a world class facility.
Tender each stall out to businesses that actually make half decent food so we have a selection of stuff to eat.
I had some of those popcorn chicken bites and just about threw up. It's takes some serious work to make your chicken nuggets taste worse than McDonalds. As I'm sure Maccas have cornered the market on how to claim that something is "chicken" because it was around or near the chicken at the time it got "processed" to make theirs.
This is exactly what they have done at ENGIE (Giants) Stadium. Each stall is a different small business, offering a wide showcase of options for the punters. It creates an almost musical festival type vibe – when there is a decent crowd there!

I went to watch the Sydney Derby last weekend there and was very happy with the dagwood dog stall. IMG_5473.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
This is exactly what they have done at ENGIE (Giants) Stadium. Each stall is a different small business, offering a wide showcase of options for the punters. It creates an almost musical festival type vibe – when there is a decent crowd there!

I went to watch the Sydney Derby last weekend there and was very happy with the dagwood dog stall.

Looks like something you’d expect to get at a Geelong (BODE) home game

I went to watch the Sydney Derby last weekend there and was very happy with the dagwood dog stall.View attachment 2032923

have heard they even have a kebab shop in there

Get to the game half an hour early, drunk by quarter time, pick a fight at half time, get a kebab at 3 quarter time and stumble out by the end of the game having fulfilled a drunken outing all on time.

Stocksy having a punt at WA's hypothetical state of origin team.
Hough pretty stiff to only be an emergency...
Backs:Sam Taylor (GWS)Tom Barrass (WCE)Brandon Starcevich (Bris)
Half-backs:Nic Martin (Ess)Jeremy McGovern (WCE)Jordan Clark (Fre)
Centre:Blake Acres (Car)Elliot Yeo (WCE)Chad Warner (Syd)
Half-forwards:Shai Bolton (Rich)Jake Waterman (WCE)Liam Baker (Rich)
Forwards:Bobby Hill (Coll)Jesse Hogan (GWS)Logan McDonald (Syd)
Followers:Luke Jackson (Fre)Patrick Cripps (Car)Tim Kelly (WCE)
Interchange:Mitch McGovern (Car)Stephen Coniglio (GWS)Tim English (WB)
Bradley Hill (St. K)Trent Rivers (Melb - sub)
Emergencies:Darcy Cameron (Coll)Brady Hough (WCE)Toby Bedford (GWS)

Grand moves: AFL ponders concessions for non-Victorian clubs on footy’s biggest day

https://archive.ph/eaZOB
Someone posted here previously that there was an AFL document that used the term ‘interstate’. I was highly dubious because I just couldn’t believe that even the AFL would be so arrogant, insensitive, amateurish, small minded, petty etc. Well I apologise to that poster because it’s mentioned in this article.

He was encouraged by Andrew Dillon to put his observations in writing after a conversation with the new AFL boss shortly after the grand final. Longmire (Sydney) and Adam Kingsley (Greater Western Sydney) also contributed to the AFL document entitled: “The case for fairer treatment of interstate clubs.”

Also couldn’t help noticing this also - correctly could be seen as petty but could also be seen as symptomatic of the organisation we call the vAFL.

The following instances might seem petty, but they are also symbolic. In 2015 West Coast entered the finals as ladder leaders but were placed below Hawthorn on the MCG scoreboard on grand final day with the Hawks also handed first choice of venue for their post-match function.

In 2016 at the grand final parade both handles of the premiership cup were tied with the Bulldogs’ coloured ribbons of red, white and blue. Cup ambassador Michael O’Loughlin asked for one handle to be changed to adorn Sydney’s red and white but was refused.

The AFL were like: "Mickey...come on mate...you wait until you see the umpiring in this game...your lucky we're letting you touch the cup at all"

Their theory behind Melbourne missing out on Reid was their inability to add a 2025 R1 pick to their existing offer of 6,11,42 and their 2024 R1

It assumes that Melbourne would have offered it and that we would have accepted it.

The only thing, according to them, preventing the trade from happening was the rules as Melbourne couldn’t offer anything more

That ignores the fact they weren’t prevented from adding a player to the trade package or trading a player to another club to access another pick to offer

It’s hypothetical bullshit

And something I’ve become quite accustomed to seeing from Victorian journalists when it comes to Harley Reid

Someone needs to remember this come 2025, and see hypothetically see what players would have been selected.

It looks like a heck of a deal if R1 2025 could have been thrown in.

Pick 6 - Ryley Sanders
Pick 11 - Connor O'Sullivan
Pick 42 - Luke Lloyd
2024 R1 Melbourne - ?
2025 R1 Melbourne - ?