Topkent
Confirmed ITK Drafting King
Yeah nah that's rubbishYeah but I don't think pick 1 should be a priority pick. End of first and you have to trade it.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yeah nah that's rubbishYeah but I don't think pick 1 should be a priority pick. End of first and you have to trade it.
getting an established B grade player would do more for a club than a no.1 pick coming into a shitholeYeah nah that's rubbish
I think instead of a priority pick the team struggling should have the ability to sign a set number of out of contract non-free agent players as if they are free agents.Yeah but I don't think pick 1 should be a priority pick. End of first and you have to trade it.
Then give them salary cap room. Having an asset you HAVE to trade takes away all its power.getting an established B grade player would do more for a club than a no.1 pick coming into a shithole
good theory but would be impossible to implementI think instead of a priority pick the team struggling should have the ability to sign a set number of out of contract non-free agent players as if they are free agents.
Maybe the AFL even allow players to break contract and be signed by the struggling club, perhaps with a concept where the prior year’s premier can protect only 18 players against that, the runners up 19 players protected, and so-on so other weaker teams can’t be raided.
Then the team losing a player gets the free agency compensation pick - which is effectively like a traded priority pick.
That way the weak team is more likely to be able to bring in a couple of ready made senior players who can help them onfield in the short term, and it’s also far more likely they bring those players in from what was a stronger team from the prior season.
To play that through, North lure James Harmes with the promise of starting midfield role and more cash, or maybe it’s Spargo or Sparrow or ANB or Jordon. Melbourne get a compensation pick at 19 which helps to bring in a decent 18 year old, plus get some salary cap relief by losing the established player’s contract.
helps attract free agents but the contracts would have to be front loaded because what happens when they take the extra room away? The money can't just disappearThen give them salary cap room. Having an asset you HAVE to trade takes away all its power.
I stole it a bit from US sport new team expansion draft concept.good theory but would be impossible to implement
Give them a tapering cap. Give em an extra 700k over 3 years and slowly taper it back as they get better.helps attract free agents but the contracts would have to be front loaded because what happens when they take the extra room away? The money can't just disappear
yeah the AFLPA need some serious reform to their views on player movement. Control has to go to the clubsI stole it a bit from US sport new team expansion draft concept.
I agree with you that it would be near impossible to implement because in US sport culturally players expect to move without having any say in it.
Culturally, and from AFLPA perspective, I don’t think it would fly in the AFL.
or you could just give them a lump sum maybe. Here's a million, get some playersGive them a tapering cap. Give em an extra 700k over 3 years and slowly taper it back as they get better.
I don’t reckon it takes away all its power, but it does rely on there being a market of at least two bidders keen to acquire the pick. So these must-be-traded picks would need to be tasty.Then give them salary cap room. Having an asset you HAVE to trade takes away all its power.
Free agency is all wrong here.yeah the AFLPA need some serious reform to their views on player movement. Control has to go to the clubs
They were 17 year old access picks though, nothing like that is going to be available.I don’t reckon it takes away all its power, but it does rely on there being a market of at least two bidders keen to acquire the pick. So these must-be-traded picks would need to be tasty.
The mini-draft picks Gold Coast and GWS were given were a bit like this concept, and those clubs got good value for them.
I agree, with the current contracts and culture it would be very difficult to get a quality senior player to agree to move to create the bidding war and a market for the must-be-traded priority pick.They were 17 year old access picks though, nothing like that is going to be available.
It's also relying on 2 clubs bidding then actually having a player who wants to leave to the shit club. Can't just go oi Harmes off ya go to north he can say no.
Honestly neither are solutions. They need to get a top line footy department and list manager. North created their own problems ******* off every senior player they had. There gonna get stuck at the bottom for 5 years again
Vince, Cross, Tyson, Pedo, Melksham etc did just as much to get us up the ladder as Trac, Gus and Oliver etc. North's kids don't have to be better than anyone to get a game they just have to exist.I agree, with the current contracts and culture it would be very difficult to get a quality senior player to agree to move to create the bidding war and a market for the must-be-traded priority pick.
Ultimately Melbourne proved the fallacy of priority picks spent on 18 year olds = success.
Like you said, it was getting competent people in key roles off field, and giving them space and time to fix things that did the trick. Plus a bit of luck doesn’t go astray either.
Neither addresses the problem of a club being stuck in a death spiral. What's some 18 year old or bog-averege player gonna do to fix that if the club is a complete mess in other areas.getting an established B grade player would do more for a club than a no.1 pick coming into a shithole
Yeah it's a strange coincidence that when we were a bad club all our draft picks failed, and now that we are a good club they all hitNeither addresses the problem of a club being stuck in a death spiral. What's some 18 year old gonna do to fix that if the club is a complete mess in other areas.
Quarters calling for the umpire to be drawn and quartered why Blight and Walls go "Cmon mate he's got kids to feed."All the boos from the Geelong fans...."I was saying Boo-urns"
Clarry as a commentator would be hilarious. Probably I’d only want that for a cameo in one game tops thoughimagine Clayton as a commentator, he'd make me pine for Nathan Jones.
I reckon the solution is a handicapping system with weightsThey were 17 year old access picks though, nothing like that is going to be available.
It's also relying on 2 clubs bidding then actually having a player who wants to leave to the shit club. Can't just go oi Harmes off ya go to north he can say no.
Honestly neither are solutions. They need to get a top line footy department and list manager. North created their own problems ******* off every senior player they had. There gonna get stuck at the bottom for 5 years again