Opinion North Melbourne Priority Picks Part 2 - 2023/2024

If only North took an initiative that no one else in the competition wanted, say like Friday night footy, which nearly every other VFL club (other than Sydney) shunned, and turned it into the number 1 revenue generating match of the round for marketing and viewership….

Gee then they might be able to make a go of things.

They haven’t got the strategic vision and leadership though….even if they did, the AFL would probably share the fixture around to make things fair right? The same way they share Dreamtime, ANZAC day fixtures and return games vs Vic Clubs….
Friday night footy didn't take off until later in the piece, when it involved clubs that weren't North Melbourne. It was Channel 9 and Eddie McGuire that really made it a thing.

I reckon any third WA club would be down south; the Busselton, Bunbury Margaret River region
That's because you don't come from WA. It would be like the third SA team being started in Port Lincoln. Not enough population and no stadium. You just use the 1.3 Billion stadium we have already built and base them in Perth with the 2m people right there.

WC & Freo have even left the Perth moniker all ready to go. Call them the Perth Pointers & they can have a shark on their jumpers.

Picks 1, 2 and 3?

The club presidents will burn down the AFL if that happens. Even the ones the AFL own.

2 at the start of round 2 is far more likely.
So you're suggesting for the 2024 draft they are getting another two at the start of the second round IN ADDITION to the pick 19 & 20 they have already been given in this draft?

So that would be picks 19, 20, 21, 22 given to them in this years draft!

FMD, just pack them up at the end of 2027 and avoid the future weekly bye

Their first step is to develop a strong financial pathway from their Tassie exit. Has this been articulated to members yet?

Do you think that the North Melbourne board wouldn't be planning an exit strategy from Tasmania?

A letter from Sonja Hood to members dated 4th May 2023, said the following

"In light of the news about the AFL’s confirmed plans to introduce a 19th team in Tasmania, I thought it was an opportune time to pave the way for a discussion about what this means for North Melbourne.

"Via our relationship with Spirit of Tasmania, we will forge ahead with our plans to play four AFL games at Blundstone Arena for at least the next three years
[2024-2026], and our plan is for the AFLW team to play one match each in Launceston and Hobart in step with that timeframe.

"Our partnerships with government and the local business community, and our commitment to our members, supporters and talent pathway programs in Tasmania will stay strong well past the expiration of our current match-day agreement.

"In terms of the bigger picture, for some time we’ve had an eye on the possibility that our time in Tasmania would eventually come to an end.

"Our Board and executive team has already done some work on what an exit strategy might look like, and the timeline the AFL has presented gives us a further three-year runway to plan for what the next phase looks like.

"There are a number of key elements to consider – where we play those four Hobart AFL games, our relationship with Spirit of Tasmania and where our Next Generation Academy recruiting and fan development zones will be.

"Again, we’ve started some of that work, and we’ll continue engaging with the AFL and other stakeholders on how we can shape a future in the long-term alongside the introduction of the competition’s newest team."

I imagine that once that exit strategy is developed it will be announced to members and the wider AFL world.

So you're suggesting for the 2024 draft they are getting another two at the start of the second round IN ADDITION to the pick 19 & 20 they have already been given in this draft?

So that would be picks 19, 20, 21, 22 given to them in this years draft!

FMD, just pack them up at the end of 2027 and avoid the future weekly bye

They have already traded those picks for this year, havent they? So they could get another couple of picks and can use or trade those as well.

But they already have a team filled with young players, what they need is cap relief to throw money at a couple of experienced KPP. Or the AFL to give them some GWS type assistance with the Amassador rort/scheme.

Do you think that the North Melbourne board wouldn't be planning an exit strategy from Tasmania?

A letter from Sonja Hood to members dated 4th May 2023, said the following

"In light of the news about the AFL’s confirmed plans to introduce a 19th team in Tasmania, I thought it was an opportune time to pave the way for a discussion about what this means for North Melbourne.

"Via our relationship with Spirit of Tasmania, we will forge ahead with our plans to play four AFL games at Blundstone Arena for at least the next three years
[2024-2026], and our plan is for the AFLW team to play one match each in Launceston and Hobart in step with that timeframe.

"Our partnerships with government and the local business community, and our commitment to our members, supporters and talent pathway programs in Tasmania will stay strong well past the expiration of our current match-day agreement.

"In terms of the bigger picture, for some time we’ve had an eye on the possibility that our time in Tasmania would eventually come to an end.

"Our Board and executive team has already done some work on what an exit strategy might look like, and the timeline the AFL has presented gives us a further three-year runway to plan for what the next phase looks like.

"There are a number of key elements to consider – where we play those four Hobart AFL games, our relationship with Spirit of Tasmania and where our Next Generation Academy recruiting and fan development zones will be.

"Again, we’ve started some of that work, and we’ll continue engaging with the AFL and other stakeholders on how we can shape a future in the long-term alongside the introduction of the competition’s newest team."

I imagine that once that exit strategy is developed it will be announced to members and the wider AFL world.
Thanks for sharing.
Yes that was over a year ago that was written.
It’s basically an acknowledgment they need to do something about it.
No word on progress since then?

Thanks for sharing.
Yes that was over a year ago that was written.
It’s basically an acknowledgment they need to do something about it.

By May 2023 they had already started work on it.

"Our Board and executive team has already done some work on what an exit strategy might look like....."
No word on progress since then?

Not that I know of. They have until at least the end of 2026 to come up with an exit strategy. What do you expect to be announced by now?

By May 2023 they had already started work on it.

"Our Board and executive team has already done some work on what an exit strategy might look like....."

Not that I know of. They have until at least the end of 2026 to come up with an exit strategy. What do you expect to be announced by now?
Well they have to work on losing a sponsor, losing significant Tassie govt dollars, and the logistics of where they are going to play.

They should be well under way of developing up a plan to build an appealing business proposition for two new major sponsors in an incredibly tough market. Obtaining new sponsors take 12-24 months of work with these parties before signing them on. So they don’t really have a massive amount of time to get their product right and sell it.

Do you think that since they progressed this work well over 12 months ago they have worked to develop a product that brands would see as appealing to sponsor?

Of course there’s always the crutch of AFL financial support to help them if they can’t grab these lucrative $$$ from business.

Well they have to work on losing a sponsor, losing significant Tassie govt dollars, and the logistics of where they are going to play.

Yes?

Didn't they say that they were doing that?

They should be well under way of developing up a plan to build an appealing business proposition for two new major sponsors in an incredibly tough market.

Yes? Why wouldn't North be working on this?

"....the timeline the AFL has presented gives us a further three-year runway to plan for what the next phase looks like."
Obtaining new sponsors take 12-24 months of work with these parties before signing them on. So they don’t really have a massive amount of time to get their product right and sell it.
"....the timeline the AFL has presented gives us a further three-year runway to plan for what the next phase looks like."
And when would expect any announcement of what will happen? Sometime in 2025-2026?
Do you think that since they progressed this work well over 12 months ago they have worked to develop a product that brands would see as appealing to sponsor?

No doubt they're taking the "12-24 months of work with these parties" to work out a plan.
Of course there’s always the crutch of AFL financial support to help them if they can’t grab these lucrative $$$ from business.

In the meantime they also have their existing revenue from their four Tasmanian games from 2024-2026 to exist on. When that ends at the end of 2026, no doubt North hope to have an alternative source of revenue to move on with from 2027 onwards.

Yes?

Didn't they say that they were doing that?

Yes? Why wouldn't North be working on this?

And when would expect any announcement of what will happen? Sometime in 2025-2026?

No doubt they're taking the "12-24 months of work with these parties" to work out a plan.

In the meantime they also have their existing revenue from their four Tasmanian games from 2024-2026 to exist on. When that ends at the end of 2026, no doubt North hope to have an alternative source of revenue to move on with from 2027 onwards.
Sounds good and you’ve convinced me that there’s nothing to see here.

In fact based on that statement over 12 months ago it could be fair to say they are working on getting it all right and even though past history has suggested otherwise, this statement was definitive work was being done.

Even though we haven’t heard or seen anything, they are definitely probably working on it.

Now with the understanding that the financial aspect of the club is all shored up, all we need to do is wait for the kids to develop and long term sustained on and off field success will follow. Right?

Sounds good and you’ve convinced me that there’s nothing to see here.

What are you looking for?

You asked "Their first step is to develop a strong financial pathway from their Tassie exit. Has this been articulated to members yet?"

I've told you what they've articulated to members.
In fact based on that statement over 12 months ago it could be fair to say they are working on getting it all right and even though past history has suggested otherwise, this statement was definitive work was being done.

What past history has suggested otherwise? North Melbourne have eliminated their debt, achieved record membership and have had $17 million poured into their training and administration base at Arden Street since 2018 by the Victorian government.

In 2023, the club posted their 12th consecutive operating profit and have net assets of $19.2 million.

Even though we haven’t heard or seen anything, they are definitely probably working on it.

Why does the public need to know at this stage on the progress of perhaps sensitive negotiations, especially in the competitive nature of the AFL and corporate world?
Now with the understanding that the financial aspect of the club is all shored up,

Where did I say or imply that the "financial aspect of the club is all shored up" beyond the end of the Tasmanian deal?
all we need to do is wait for the kids to develop and long term sustained on and off field success will follow.

I imagine North would be attempting to work on improving their playing list by further developing their youngsters and by working to attract other ready made players through free agency to improve their on-field performance.

What are you looking for?

You asked "Their first step is to develop a strong financial pathway from their Tassie exit. Has this been articulated to members yet?"

I've told you what they've articulated to members.

What past history has suggested otherwise? North Melbourne have eliminated their debt, achieved record membership and have had $17 million poured into their training and administration base at Arden Street since 2018 by the Victorian government.

In 2023, the club posted their 12th consecutive operating profit and have net assets of $19.2 million.

Why does the public need to know at this stage on the progress of perhaps sensitive negotiations, especially in the competitive nature of the AFL and corporate world?

Where did I say or imply that the "financial aspect of the club is all shored up" beyond the end of the Tasmanian deal?

I imagine North would be attempting to work on improving their playing list by further developing their youngsters and by working to attract other ready made players through free agency to improve their on-field performance.
Thanks. All makes sense.
No need to give them additional assistance on or off the field. Sounds like it’s all under control. 👍

Thanks. All makes sense.
No need to give them additional assistance on or off the field. Sounds like it’s all under control. 👍
You have such a weird obsession here.

No need to give them additional assistance on or off the field.

That's up to the AFL. Any additional off field assistance will be commensurate with the assistance given to various other clubs who have similar inherent disadvantages in terms of fixture, ground sharing arrangements and so on.

On-field assistance will be up to the AFL. Whatever form it takes, if it is given at all, doesnt change the fact that North will be attempting to work on improving their playing list by further developing their youngsters and by working to attract other ready made players through free agency to improve their on-field performance.
Sounds like it’s all under control. 👍

It appears to be promising. Debt free. $17 million poured into North's admin and training base since 2018, record membership in 2023, assets of $19.2 million and twelve consecutive annual profits. Board is working on replacing the revenue when the Tasmanian deal ends at the end of 2026.

No need to consider a relocation or merger for many years.

Those hoping for a North merger or relocation must be gnashing their teeth.

That's up to the AFL. Any additional off field assistance will be commensurate with the assistance given to various other clubs who have similar inherent disadvantages in terms of fixture, ground sharing arrangements and so on.

On-field assistance will be up to the AFL. Whatever form it takes, if it is given at all, doesnt change the fact that North will be attempting to work on improving their playing list by further developing their youngsters and by working to attract other ready made players through free agency to improve their on-field performance.

It appears to be promising. Debt free. $17 million poured into North's admin and training base since 2018, record membership in 2023, assets of $19.2 million and twelve consecutive annual profits. Board is working on replacing the revenue when the Tasmanian deal ends at the end of 2026.

No need to consider a relocation or merger for many years.

Those hoping for a North merger or relocation must be gnashing their teeth.
Thank you , my old man grew up in Fitzroy. When it was a working class area. I remember him taking me to the Junction oval and the mighty Roy's slaughtered us. From memory Quinlan kick about 10.

But it to this day is a wonderful memory of mine .

There are some strange posters around these parts. I only venture here for the off chance you read a post that is of value.

we sent you a 36 year old and a 202cm stepladder, thank you
Yes you did. We’d be ducked without them, thank you.
The Big Lebowski Thank You GIF

Let’s not start on the relocation or fold nonsense again.

Equally, let’s not start on the nonsense of giving them even more picks.

Extra soft cap space for recruitment and development and priority access to the best, experienced, state league footballers.
I'd say the problem is we already have too many players who are state league level. I can't see how getting more of them would help at all.