2nds Port Adelaide vs North Adelaide - Round 8 @ Alberton

Hayes has something special too. Strong already for a tall wiry kid, fiercely competitive, can ruck and take a grab. Engine still needs work but he could easily be knocking on the door next year.

Patmore has good hands, smooth mover and competed terrifically in a tough position.

Farrell had a quiet game but has shown plenty already.

Frampton rucked hard and was aggressive. In his customary couple of blues. Not as influential around the ground as he can be.

There were definitely aspects to like in terms of individual performances.
Yeah had Hayes down for long term ruck prospect he is tracking well big tick from me already...Davidson wasn't drafted!!big upside there

RussellEbertHandball and I had a chat with Jenny Williams after the North game. Jenny is working with North in what I would call an organisational development role. She is very committed to building a positive enjoyable team first football environment where young men learn about football, life and being a supportive teammate.

It was fascinating hearing Jenny's views and her positivity and enthusiasm are infectious.

It is disappointing we can't find a role for her at Port. Josh Carr was quick to get her to North.

I like Jasper but he was putrid today that's the point best players rated on numbers in that dross is highly misleading.
I actually thought Jasper worked his way into the game well. Made good decisions, intercepted well.

It wouldn't be easy playing his role in that rabble.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

RussellEbertHandball and I had a chat with Jenny Williams after the North game. Jenny is working with North in what I would call an organisational development role. She is very committed to building a positive enjoyable team first football environment where young men learn about football, life and being a supportive teammate.

It was fascinating hearing Jenny's views and her positivity and enthusiasm are infectious.

It is disappointing we can't find a role for her at Port. Josh Carr was quick to get her to North.
I do a long car trip most weeks and often catch bits of Graham Cornes' interviews. Depending on who it is, I sometimes keep listening. Heard the one with Jenny Williams not long ago and it echoed the same things that you talk about.
The other thing that came across was her absolute thirst for knowledge and continually looking for new ideas and information that she can use. She had some interesting comments about Port too and gave the impression that she would have been happy to work with them if given the opportunity. She also said that very same enthusiasm that we see as a positive, some find intimidating, maybe don't like their opinions or philosophies to be challenged.
I think GC's interviews are on a podcast somewhere if you are interested in listening.

Kane Mitchell is a good example of that. Trengove isn't, he's the youngest ever AFL captain, that doesn't happen by accident.
You're right, it doesn't happen by accident it happened by piss poor management by Melbourne FC. Trengove was barely finding his way into AFL life when the captaincy was loaded on his shoulders. Jack is a super young man but that sort of responsibility was unwarranted and way too premature.
I hope like hell Jack T gets another good crack at AFL with Port - and sticks it up the MFC.

Geez you lot carry on like sooks after a loss.. wah wah wah everyone is against us.. wah wah wah oppo supporters said bad words wah wah wah lets find a weaker comp that bends over for us wah wah wah the sanfl cripple us wah wah wah everything should be handed to our precious ones on a teal platter.. jeez softness overload...
The simple fact is we lost key position players in the depth role at the club, lost a ruckman fb ff plus jackson trengove who spent time at the pies. Instead of replacing them we picked a ruckman 5 flankers and trengove..
Thats where the issue is, thats all. We have no key position player depth at the club.

This isnt just about the maggies. We are playing with fire.. if watts and dixon get injured... we are fked as noone is there to replace them. Similarly at the other end, lose a couple of key defenders and we have nothing to replace them. Poor list management is our issue. That is all, leave all the sooking and blaming others to the perennial loser clubs.

If the Maggies aren't important the club needs to F****** tell us and stop trying to sell them as a viable membership option, as I doubt I am the only member who is asked every year if I'm renewing both memberships. :rolleyes:
The Maggies are a product of how the sanfl wanted the PAFC model to be. Basically a replica of the crows model.
The old Maggies are gone but no-one in the club wants to kill them. Was it KT recently who said "there'll always be the Magpies in sanfl"
it always amazes me how a bunch full time professional footballers can be well beaten by a bunch of part timers. You would think AFL players would be fitter, more highly skilled and better coached than their SANFL counterparts.
Imo it's Ken's gameplan. It's a fact we have a lot of talented kids playing so given that they're up against seasoned men with hardened
bodies and experienced in how to "hurt" the oppo it doesn't make sense to have a gameplan built around manic bash/crash effort.
A defence obsessed style with such a high press that outside a centre clearance our forward zone is often empty.
Apparently our average scores are down .... sheesh who'da thunk it.
Reminds me of the olden days legend/myth that Fos had the boys tackling goal posts in an era when Oatey had Sturt humming along
with fast organised smart play-on footy using handball to great effect. North were hard enough yesterday but their style less
demanding on the players more efficient with the ball and a better spectacle to watch.
How often did/do we go coast to coast quickly. It seems under Ken we're consigned to playing harder rather than smarter.
Now aint that something to look forward to for the next 4yrs.

Good news that he'll be OK to play. His return to AFL should be his call when he is ready mentally, and he may need to get his fitness up to scratch too after his time away. Last year when his Mum was ill they held off bringing him into the AFL side, so they'll no doubt look after him again now.

I do a long car trip most weeks and often catch bits of Graham Cornes' interviews. Depending on who it is, I sometimes keep listening. Heard the one with Jenny Williams not long ago and it echoed the same things that you talk about.
The other thing that came across was her absolute thirst for knowledge and continually looking for new ideas and information that she can use. She had some interesting comments about Port too and gave the impression that she would have been happy to work with them if given the opportunity. She also said that very same enthusiasm that we see as a positive, some find intimidating, maybe don't like their opinions or philosophies to be challenged.
I think GC's interviews are on a podcast somewhere if you are interested in listening.
Seems to echo the thoughts as to why we dont employ a specialist kicking coach? Those in charge do not want analytical criticism of any shortcomings on their part.
Bit like the Camry's - muzzle any negatives.
:oops:

Seems to echo the thoughts as to why we dont employ a specialist kicking coach? Those in charge do not want analytical criticism of any shortcomings on their part.
Bit like the Camry's - muzzle any negatives.
:oops:
If we're talking Ben Perkins, there seem to be some differences of opinion of him from the posters on here. I have absolutely no real knowledge of what he's like but it sounds like he may be a bit 'out there', which can be good, or divisive, not so good.

I think we have to get a bit real about the Magpies. Changes from last years GF side

Traded out 3 Ah Chee, Lobbe, Austin

De Listed 3 Eddy, Palmer White

Injured 2 Lienert, Drew - both long term

Moved on 4 T. Gray, Sharrad, Rudloff, R. Young

Playing AFL 3 Neade, Bonner, Howard

Played in GF 6, Summerton, Snelling, Toumpas, Atley, Johnson, Marshall

Edit 15 ins Ruck Frampton and Hayes "KPD" Mckenzie
mid size players Pittard, Barry, Trengove, Amon, Thomas, Hewett, Irra, Farrell, Patmore, Garner, Kluske Davidson,

How would Sturt go against North with 15 of its Grand final side missing and the equal of Marshall playing first game in 6 weeks??

So our spine and first ruck has been removed, Austin, Howard, Ah Chee, Lobbe and Eddy missing and Marshall first game back. that is a massive change.

Yes we got some tough conditions from the SANFL and they have made some BS changes but its not all an impossible task. When you have 11 changes to the 45, pick up a few injuries, 4 of the best contracted Maggies move on plus a few others leave, of aren't offerd a contract, pick up a few injuries to that group of 15, refuse to draft enough depth in certain positions, and the Maggies continue this fetish ofrecruiting 180cm or less players we are going to be tested. I know its pretty tough to attract an Eddy to the Maggies but go find another Bruggerman or two.

Last year when we had a decent run with injuries the Maggies and academy team went into finals top 2 and the AFL side wasn't far off top 2 either in terms of games needed to win.

The SANFL is a bit slower, not as skilled, so the possession game, especially when the wind and rain of winter comes, means its harder to control the footy and SANFL grounds have mud that AFL grounds have now eliminated. So you have to work physically harder in the packs and there is more one on one footy. That is a good training ground for the young AFL listed players. AFL listed Players have to adjust their game style and most weeks it will be Port's boys vs SANFL experienced men's teams especially in the mid field.

But if you aren't playing with heart and passion then all the poor selection and positional issues and SANFL constraints become even harder.

Summo has had 2 average to poor games and so has the rest of the side. He is the heart and soul player so if he isnt pumped, its hard to see the young guys taking charge of the situation. When our players went forward they were kicking to smalls against their talls and when North went forward they had a target in Barns who towered over our "key" defenders. So you only have to drop your head a bit and have a few **** ups and everything seems to turn to crap. Our players tried but they didnt have a lot of belief.

Its a tough balancing act but we have to get smarter with our recruiting, as much as we can and are allowed. The Maggies will yo-yo when massive changes happened compared to stability we all crave. Its the price we have had to pay. I think the club has to sit down and plan better what it is trying to achieve across its 3 teams. The lure of coming to Port to work in an AFL environment isn't working year in year out. Not sure what the answer is but better depth in KPP's and rucks gives both our B's and C's a better chance of winning.

If we're talking Ben Perkins, there seem to be some differences of opinion of him from the posters on here. I have absolutely no real knowledge of what he's like but it sounds like he may be a bit 'out there', which can be good, or divisive, not so good.
I don't care if Perkins is 'out there' as long as his methods work.

“Hamstrung by the rules, top up players” and so on are just bullshit excuses.

A team with Pittard, Trengove, Atley, Toumpas, Amon, Thomas, Johnson, McKenzie and Snelling should all be a class above SANFL level, and that’s not including players like Summo.
and not a KPx player in that lot... that's why we struggle. Our KPx stocks are razor thin.

Yeah I enjoyed that 15-20 minute chat that covered lots of areas.

Good on Josh Carr for giving Jenny a call. Jacob Surjan is also at North so they a little team within the off field team. He is in his last year of 3 year contract at North so he had to do something after going 4-14 in both of his two previous seasons. She must be helping, given they are top of the table. Said she has offered to help Port, but she hasn't received any favourable replies from the club.

She made an interesting comment about injured North player James Craig who was on the bench for the reserves team. He was on Adelaide's list 6 or 7 years ago, he was injured, but was talking to the payers as they came off and encouraging them. She reckons he was probably worth 3 goals to their reserves side.

She was right that the Maggies were playing in a very dispirited way. She said the gap between the 2 sides wasnt that big, but if you are playing with a negative attitude and no positive re-enforcement then you wont play well. She talked about Jasper going backwards with all the negativity and then 5 minutes later he comes up and says hello, they give each other a hug and Ford and I said goodbye to them. I hope she can talk to Jasper and pep him up because he needs something to get him back to 2016 form.

We talked about what's happened to the Magpies. Talked a bit about Choco. Jenny reckons he would be great fit for the academy programs teaching more than just footy stuff, and said he would do a great job there. Said she didn't think Choco's wife wants to come back to Adelaide. Janus I mentioned the China academy idea that if it was fully funded and tied in with other elite sports in Shanghai and education stuff and if Choco would be interested in that, and she didn't dismiss the idea.

She is a strong smart women so she would stir things up where ever she goes. The Rob Gerard and Yiros nights story was interesting. Hope she gets her reward if North do pull off the flag. Any AFLW club would be mad not to ask her to get her involved. Maybe that is the way she gets back involved with the club if she threatens a few of the blokes. When we finally get an AFLW team, Erin Phillips as coach and Jenny as Footy Ops manager and her mentor. Would make for an interesting off field team I reckon.

Might be inline for an AFL game soon.
Nah whilst he played well, HBFers/small defenders aren't our problem. If we play all of Jonas, Howard, Hombsch and Clurey, then DBJ, Houston, Bonner, Pittard and Mckenzie, depending how we play him, are all in line before him.

2nds Port Adelaide vs North Adelaide - Round 8 @ Alberton