Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 29

I reckon the limit should be 25 AFL games, not age. That way you can still have a Podsiadly or a Marlion Pickett start on the roomie list, which is exactly what it's for.

Not bloody Jack Gunston or Lindsay Thomas.
That's probably a better call as I was thinking 23 and can included players who have been on an AFL list before, but stuffed up and got delisted.

The original rookie list was for kids and state league players who missed the national and preseason drafts, went and trained with the club for 6 weeks or so, (the rookie draft was late February) and not for players who were 30 and just got cut.

It's long since morphed into a supplementary list and should be renamed as such. To shut people up.
Its not just about shutting people up, but its the fact its used for salary cap management, when it wasn't invented for that purpose.

They should just go back to having a veteran list. I can’t remember what the old criteria was but they could make it games based too. Say 250 games at the same club or something similar.

That was an even bigger rort as part of salary cap management tactics.

Here's a novel idea - you could have something called a playing list where clubs can pick a set number of players and pay them a set amount and that's that.

Only exception would be a supplementary list for project players from other codes, etc, where you would also be allowed a set number with a set amount of pay.

It is what is now is - and will no doubt further evolve into. The only thing wrong with it is the name Rookie list.

Here's a novel idea - you could have something called a playing list where clubs can pick a set number of players and pay them a set amount and that's that.

Only exception would be a supplementary list for project players from other codes, etc, where you would also be allowed a set number with a set amount of pay.

I don’t mind the idea of a veteran’s list as a mechanism for rewarding loyalty.

It’s wild how blessed the club was for backmen in those first so many years.

• Didn’t pick Nathan Bassett for the inaugural squad

• Traded Tom Harley for magic beans

• Let Joel Patfull (then considered very much a forward) wither on the vine

• Gave a trial to Nick Maxwell, “we’ll call you m8”

• Didn’t really rate Stephen Gilham, “play in a flag at Hawthorn”
That’s some serious deep cuts from the ‘B’ sides bro.

Sydney have played a lot of finals footy in the last 12 years and lost 4 GF.

The last two were shocking defeats, it’s time for a change and a smart move all round.
Cox walks into a very good side and Longmire gets a nice job while he waits for Tassie to enter the comp or rides off into the sunset a happy man.
The only real reference to Port Adelaide out of this is an example of two footy clubs that are run totally different.
I concur with your views towards Sydney’s actions being proactive but that wasn’t the context of my reply.
The inference of not wanting to compete for the fear of losing is what I took from the temperature of your posts. I was probably wrong.

I concur with your views towards Sydney’s actions being proactive but that wasn’t the context of my reply.
The inference of not wanting to compete for the fear of losing is what I took from the temperature of your posts. I was probably wrong.
Sydney have made a change because they haven’t been able to achieve the ultimate goal.
It’s pretty stock standard stuff that 99% of sporting clubs do.
Unfortunately for you and me there’s always an exception to this common practice.

It's great they are creating this doco. Would love to see the behind the scenes when Port won both games... ahh those tears:tearsofjoy:

That 'Hawk-tua' chick has a lot to answer for! Hawthorn this, Hawthorn that - a fly on the wall doco, and now Dwayno declaring effusively that they're gonna be the biggest club in the league in a year's time. Gee, they wouldn' want to miss the eight, hey?

Hawthorn be like ...
Drunk Happy Hour GIF

Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 29