Pre-season training. Bring it on! - Part 2

hurry-i-gotta-shit.jpg

Righto folks.. apologies for the delay. Missus has been effectively out of action with a bad neck since wednesday so I've been doing double duties.

Still managed to convince her to pull into training again on friday as we drove past after the docs and saw the boys out again ;) Priorities folks priorities ;)

Thursdays Training - Junior membership day.
Important news is that I got the girls signed up for silver membership so that I can get them guaranteed tix to AO when the allocations are made this year. Inner sanctum of the offices is very.... you would want to get out and watch training at every opportunity :)

Got a coffee before training started and bumped into Sando. Had a quick chat and asked him if he was going to flog them.. he promised he was and that he had a surprise for them at the start. Im assuming that was the 5 minute runs as they did it once only (they normally do that twice with a break in the middle right?) Seemed quite happy with himself and excited to be out on the track.

Before we get further into details.. gotta say I had a terrible time trying to figure out who was who from the young guys. Too busy chasing the young girls half the time. So sorry.. but questions like how does crouch look I won't be able to answer.

They kicked of with the 5 minute runs in the 3 groups as described earlier. Was interesting to see how the different players attacked it. I was quite impressed with Jaenschy really pushing himself (despite as it turned out he was possibly in the slower group). He was out in front for most of the last lap or so on that run and really pushed himself. Some players just go steady and strong the whole way (e.g. tex). Others save a bit in the tank and push hard the last minute or so (e.g. danger). Others start strong in front and just power through to finish a good 30 to 40m past where everyone else did... VB. What a machine he looks when he's fit.

Actually just on that.. the last few preseasons Thommo/VB in particular have been on lighter/separate duties and really looked ginger at times and trying to get back their fitness. Not this preseason - both fit and firing and in all the main drills. VB in particular looked really good - but he always does with the running stuff. (Thommo did look good through the middle in the mini-game).

As ChiefCrow indicated young Irra was out there and I was one of the many looking at around wondering who the heck he was. Kennedy looked even smaller than usual at an AFL session with a bunch of boys who are starting to look like they might burst from their skins! I'll need to see him play a bit more than I have to be convinced he'll be a better than average player at the top level. He looks like Nahas would physically man-handle him at the moment.

Oh yeah.. on the size of the boys.. they look good. Rory was one that has really filled out across the chest and shoulders. Much deeper and broader through that part of his body.

After the runs they went into a series of drills. Only really managed to keep my eyes on the one closest to me. Sando was running it. Definitely another of his attempts to get comfort into the boys in contested footy. The boys basically went 6 on 6 in a small circle around 10m in radius. The team with the ball basically ducked and weaved around each other using hands to free each other up. As soon as giving off the ball they were expected to take a body with their own to create space/time for their teammate to find another. Just continuous ducking, weaving, hitting, tackling, shoving, bouncing off each other whilst sharing the ball by hands. Switched every minute or so and they always had a few subs that came in and out. Really noticed Tambling and Tippett take great pleasure in taking a body with their own. The flesh slap sounds when those boys were amongst it was very audible. Hendo still needs a ton of work in a contested situation... just doesn't like the body on body stuff.. even when running around creating an option or guarding a player. Jacobs also showed how comfortable he was receiving a handball and giving an option for a big guy - he's got great tools and a natural feel for the game compared to alot of big guys.

The mini game was good to watch. Tips was the main forward at one end, Tex was the main forward at the other. Thommo and Pets impressed me through the middle - both very active and vocal and provided good intensity and often seemed to be creating an option just forward of centre as the ball moved quickly from defence to the forwards. Tips still a bit flat footed for my liking... its almost as if the boys don't know how to gauge how far to put it in front of him... he still got a reasonable amount of ball stopping and propping with an opponent or two able to be in the contest.

Tex at the other end was dominant I thought. Always finding space and the footy. Even when he had poor delivery he was picking it cleanly off his toes etc.. and then using his great lateral movement to find space to dispose of the ball. I gotta admit after watching training I did look in on the goal assists stats of the comp. He was already 16th in the comp in goals contributed, per game, (goals+assists). The geelong forwards have been consistently high in the goal assists category for years. Alot of that has to do with the way the geelong forward line has played and structured IMO. (and bets between johnson/mooney on how many assists each can get...) Well after watching training and doing some thinking it would not surprise me in the slightest to see Tex really rack up the assists this year. He was constantly finding that few steps of space and hitting targets running into open goals. He's got the perfect skillset for it and if we can put a gameplan together that creates the space he needs he'll carve it up. The side playing through him probably won the mini-game IMO.

After a break they went back to a series of drills including the tackle drill someone described a week ago. Lying on the ground, jumping up running around a cone, tackling a teammate with a bag and trying to grab the thigh just above and behind the knee. I reckon the group doing it was the guys who weren't good enough at it yet... they were struggling with showing great intensity and competency in applying the technique. What was great to see was tex standing 10m off the drill doing a little kick to kick... obviously he's nailed it ;)

That's about all I remember from Thursday's session - I think they went back to a broader set of drills but had my hands full with the 2 girls. I started to walk around the oval with one whilst the other went off to do mini-golf with the missus. Half way around the oval (far side from aami) they finished up and so I cut back across the oval. Dogga was out doing kick to kick with Campo. He was really filthy at himself in not being able to swing around and drill the ball low and hard to campo each time. Campo was talking him through the action to get it right. Good to see him putting in after the main session was over.. and better to see him learning to kick better rather than handball backwards ;)

Friday's Training
As I indicated above it was just luck we saw the boys out training after taking the missus to the doctor on Friday. Pulled right in and we were the only ones there from what I saw.

Was definitely more of a 'tactics/skills' session.

On the main oval saw the following:
- Rory, Bernie, VB, Macay (the blonde brigade) kicking back and forth to each other in a square. Just kicking. Around, across, diagonals etc. Just kicking and taking it fairly easy. Both sides of the body obviously. Got the impression they were given a bit of a different training to some of the younger or non-22 lock guys as there was a biger group of mainly players I didn't know doing a bit of fitness stuff over near the westpac centre.
- Jacobs and Tippet with Thommo/Wright doing ruckwork. Both hands, tapping down/behind, running different patterns etc. Was interesting to see Tips in there, but I guess after Jacobs he would be first choice Ruck at this point. Jacobs just has that extra comfort with going up preferred hand, switching to non-preferred and holding his body upright to get the highest leap. Tips looked decent through - just doesn't seem to have the balance jacobs has with his leap at the contest.

Rory got a mis-kick at one point and jogged over to the ball near us. Said hi to the girls and then to the missus and I. I swooned.

Went to grab a coffee when they finished up and watched a bit of the other crew. Was at a bit of a distance from the cafe but they had essentially moved onto a drill I believe others have described focussing on how to defend incoming high balls to the forwards. Could really see some of the boys pushing back hard into the contest to take a good leap at the footy away and then see one or two defenders focussed on really killing/spoiling the marking attempts, often Gibsonesque two-fisters, whilst some of the smalls attempting to read the spoil, crumb and be away and running. Blinga/Johncock both seemed quite good at spoiling.

Another little game started up closer to the cafe with Sando directing traffic.
Essentially a handball game with a target at each end as the 'goal'. Roughly 25 to 30m long 'field' and about 15 to 20m wide. 5/6 on 5/6. To begin with everyone lined up on their own 'goal line' and teams took it in turns trying to break through each others line with hands and then score a point handballing the ball into the target.
Switched to having a 'forward' on the opposition goal-line after awhile.
Focus seemed to be on how defend the space but also know when to attack the ball carrier. As we were walking back to the car (and to check out the goal kicking that had started up) I stopped to listen to Sando stop the game and give a little direction. He really seemed to struggle to spit his words out (as in not sure what he wanted to say), but when he did he was focussed on getting the players to understand they HAD to commit to the contest but also be more aware when they had to not overcommit. "Attack okay. but also be concious of where so and so is' etc.

He also had Mitch Grigg pulled aside for a little advice at one point. I really apreciated that so I knew who the **** he was ;) Must say that after knowing that was grigg I was quite pleased as the kid was working with the regular backs in Ottens/Johncock/Reilly/Truck etc. Really seemed to be a drill for the backs to build some chemistry, deny space when defending and find break away opportunities when they had the ball. Both Grigg and Johnstone were the new boys in the thick of it and could be possibilities for defensive slots this year if that was anything to go by.

Goal kicking was a bit concerning when we watched it. They had moved not banana's snap/shots etc.. but not many were going through the hi-diddle-diddle... porps and tex definitely showing they are a class above though.

Had to move on before they finished, girls were getting toey and my guilt over making my suffering wife sit there and watch when she couldn't move her head was starting to overwhelm me ;)

Happy to take questions but had distractions both days and don't really know the young boys enough yet...

My thanks goes out to the bigfella and his work place for quietening down long enough to allow him to attend trainging and produce this wonderful report..

Well wishes to your wife as well, hope she gets better.

What's our casualty list looking like? There's been no noise on that front so I'm assuming we have close to a full list on the track.

Will Young and Luke Thompson doing laps most of THursday.

WIll Young at a much slower clip. Just seems to be getting his body moving again atm.

Thommo was not charging through them but looked to be going strong on the last set as well.

Many thanks bigfella for 2 excellent reports done under the handicap of 3 members of the femnine sex and their various demands on you. :thumbsu:

Hope the missus is improving and as for the other 2, having had daughters, let me assure you that it only gets worse. :D

This article confirms that only will young and the lt not part of main training.

http://www.afc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4417/newsid/128019/default.aspx

Interesting that symes was struggling, in his own words. During the 5 min run he was really labouring and getting a ton of support from the boys. S he recovering from something? Or just in fear of falling off a vehicle... It is that time of year or him...

This article confirms that only will young and the lt not part of main training.

http://www.afc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4417/newsid/128019/default.aspx

Interesting that symes was struggling, in his own words. During the 5 min run he was really labouring and getting a ton of support from the boys. S he recovering from something? Or just in fear of falling off a vehicle... It is that time of year or him...

Symes is just building for a breakout year. Hopefully, out of the side.

A question to the guys (& girls) that go to trainings, how far do the players run in the 5min runs and how far does VB run ?

Pre-season training. Bring it on! - Part 2