Review R23: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. Port Adelaide

Hes a small forward who’s going to end on at least 30 goals in his 3rd year. Up from 23 last year. 3 goalless games vs 7 last year. Hard to say he’s not improved.

All that looks ok. It’s the squibbing and cockiness that is the problem.
I feel he has been seduced by the party glamour of the media publicity side and his footy is not foremost in psyche. Tough coaching required for some time now…….but where is that going to come from…?..?

Yeah, I still remember seeing David Holst run through a Port player at the Bay when the port player had to wait under a hospital handpass. Holst ran straight through him and these days, it'd be deserving of every week of eight but then it was clapped
I was at Prospect Oval when Nick Gill fairly cleaned up a Port player on the end of a hospital handball. Port supporters wanted to jump the fence and kill him. They would have chaired a Port player off if it was the other way around.

Let’s face it we all get a bit antsy when it’s one of our own

Hes a small forward who’s going to end on at least 30 goals in his 3rd year. Up from 23 last year. 3 goalless games vs 7 last year. Hard to say he’s not improved.

All that looks ok. It’s the squibbing and cockiness that is the problem.
Pick 6 on a soft Small Forward when we need mids.

I don't think Rachele will ever be a mid. Not physically or mentally tough enough for that.

Meanwhile Port built a very good midfield during our rebuild period.

Thanks Hamish

I don't understand the pile on for Gollant.
Fringe player playing his first game in 4 months and everyone is carrying on like he lost us the game.

Plenty more experienced players out there that should be copping it
How about ROB's non-effort all night ?

It's clear that VB isn't up to coaching the midfield

I don't understand the pile on for Gollant.
Fringe player playing his first game in 4 months and everyone is carrying on like he lost us the game.

Plenty more experienced players out there that should be copping it
How about ROB's non-effort all night ?

It's clear that VB isn't up to coaching the midfield
He just shouldn’t have been selected and Curtin played as a permanent forward

They just have more

This is what Port fans don't get. It's not about the teeth. It's the encompassing values that are associated with ferals with no teeth. The
abuse of Rachele/Rankine, defending Houston's thuggery at the ground and all over social media and the abuse Adelaide players got as they walked off just reinforce Rachele's point. Few supporter bases have a worse proportion of fans like this.

This is what Port fans don't get. It's not about the teeth. It's the encompassing values that are associated with ferals with no teeth. The
abuse of Rachele/Rankine, defending Houston's thuggery at the ground and all over social media and the abuse Adelaide players got as they walked off just reinforce Rachele's point. Few supporter bases have a worse proportion of fans like this.
Been happening as long as I have been involved in footy

Whatever was said, Hinkley had no reply or disagreement. Just interpreting the body language.

Nicks was clearly complaining about something. Might have been the booing of Rankine...or the alleged racist comments from the Port crowd.

Whatever it was, Hinkley didn't have a response.
Doubt Nicksy is asking Ken about the booing that he had no control over, or comments that he wouldn't have seen or heard.

Surely it's something like "That's what you'll do to win?"

Or knowing Nicksy, probably something as benign as fishing for an apology like "Not great when your star player goes down like that..." and then Ken gave him donuts which resulted in the shake of the head.

Pick 6 on a soft Small Forward when we need mids.

I don't think Rachele will ever be a mid. Not physically or mentally tough enough for that.

Meanwhile Port built a very good midfield during our rebuild period.

Thanks Hamish
I don’t disagree that he’s probably not going to live up to a pick 6.

It was painfully obvious early it was a ground ball night Taylor should have started
Takes the young guys a little longer to acclimatise to the game too. It's one of my biggest beefs with the continual selection of our least experienced as the sub. They don't have the experience, usually, to come on and impact straight away.

Rachele's comments were correct and he was right to mock the Port fans.

If anything him having an average game and still rubbing it in their faces elevates his troll status

Kinda says that even if Port end up winning the Crows are still the morally superior side, and nothing on field will ever change that

It seems there is a genuine dislike which is fantastic.
When I am kidding around with my partner and have used some bullshit as a joke, she gives me THAT look and I say,
"Whaaaa? It seems like you don't believe me" and she comes back with:
"There's no seems like about it. I don't believe you :rolleyes: ".

Likewise, I have more than 'seems there is a genuine dislike' for PA. I despise them, and "despise" doesn't really cover it.
It's a spillover from the SANFL, of course, but their carry-on, their knuckle-dragging fanaticism, their us-vs-the-world paranoia is laughable; cringeworthy.
The AFL should have a close look at the info provided by another poster above about the concussions they dish out to oppo players; they exist to win by the dirtiest tactics possible, the mongrels.

Who’s laughing now?

It’s an incredibly dumb thing to do. If it was the game winner, then maybe.

All it does is motivate the opposition.
It backfired spectacularly. It’s embarrassing for him, it’s embarrassing for the club, and he is now very much on the wrong side of showdown folklore.

Completely disagree

What Port fans don't get is that them being flogs that the AFL world despises won't change through winning.

Reserving any criticism of them and holding back on mocking them only for when they lose reinforces that winning improves their image and makes them immune. It doesn't. They are a flog club whether they win or lose.

The fact that this moment is living in the heads of Port fans rent free despite their victory is exactly why it was a good move. Because deep down his comments were genuinely hurtful and not something that can be healed through a win

Whatever was said, Hinkley had no reply or disagreement. Just interpreting the body language.

Nicks was clearly complaining about something. Might have been the booing of Rankine...or the alleged racist comments from the Port crowd.

Whatever it was, Hinkley didn't have a response.
I reckon it was Nicks talking about targeting Rankine

Pretty obvious Houston lined him up and Nicks probably knows Hinkley has no issue with such tactics.

Game on line, take out the opposition's most threatening player.

Good: Liked Worrell’s and Bond’s games
Securing Pick 4

Ugly: Yep, that’s always been the Port MO, even in their SANFL days. Take out your best player and throw your team off their game. Very much reminded why I hate them so much.

Bad: Our response after that hit

Who’s laughing now?

It’s an incredibly dumb thing to do. If it was the game winner, then maybe.

All it does is motivate the opposition.
It backfired spectacularly. It’s embarrassing for him, it’s embarrassing for the club, and he is now very much on the wrong side of showdown folklore.
He now needs to learn how to perform through the boos.

Will be booed every Showdown.

If you are going to make such comments and double down during the game, back it up with action.

Review R23: The Good, Bad and Ugly vs. Port Adelaide