Ratten To Be Sacked

Middle of the pack ..

I call it “ drifting aimlessly in the vast endless cosmic soup of seasons gone by with no hope or purpose “
Which going by what Basset and Lethlean said in the press conference is exactly why they made this decision.

They did a review who’s main purpose was to find out whether we were on the path to premiership success, or whether we were looking like being stuck in “no man’s land” for the foreseeable future, and they said that what they found was the latter, which is why they’ve made this decision, and why we didn’t look to trade away our picks during trade week.

We want to build the foundations much stronger and eventually get ourselves out of the middle of the pack, and the only way to do that is to get elite talent- on and off field- and clearly the review found that Ratts wasn’t that “elite guy” that we believed could take us all the way.

He, like the playing list, was evidently considered “mediocre”, and as such we made the only call we could, if we want to get anywhere, and that’s to move him on and look for someone we do believe has what it takes to take us all the way.

Which is of course probably part of the reason lots who don’t barrack for St Kilda are bent out-of-shape about this.

They would rather we stay this unthreatening club, with a coach who’s like a big cuddly teddy bear, rather than a ruthless club, who might actually be a threat to their particular teams chances of winning a flag.

Which going by what Basset and Lethlean said in the press conference is exactly why they made this decision.

They did a review who’s main purpose was to find out whether we were on the path to premiership success, or whether we were looking like being stuck in “no man’s land” for the foreseeable future, and they said that what they found was the former, which is why they’ve made this decision and why we didn’t look to trade away our pucks during trade week.

We want to build the foundations much stronger and eventually get ourselves out of the middle of the pack and the only way to do that is to get elite talent on and off field and clearly the review found that Ratts wasn’t that “elite guy” that we believed could take us all the way.

He, like the playing list, was considered “mediocre”, and as such we made the only calm we could if we want to get anywhere and that’s to move him on and look for someone we do believe has what it takes to take us all the way.

But they should have made this call in September. And they certainly shouldn't have extended his deal earlier this year

Now that I look back at our drafting, it’s easier to say we made some poor choices. However, hindsight is a wonderful thing. Your mob can attest to this, Fiora over Pav, Tambling over Franklin…I’m sure there has been more. It seems like this year is going to be the same, where you have GWS chasing Cadman - eerily similar to the Saints taking McCartin with him being a key position player.
Yeah you are right, but that Tambling mistake is 13 years removed from Richmond’s 2017 flag. It’s almost another generation in football terms.

I reckon Saints can challenge again within the next 10 years, but there will need to be some sort of rebuild before that happens.

Maybe worry about your own backyard . In a way it’s a positive we are prepared to make changes when we were not far from the top 8 . It’s only taking Essendon 20 years to realise change was needed
It's ironic you're telling people to worry about their own backyard whilst potting a club irrelevant to a thread about St Kilda.

This may be a massive shock to you but who you support doesn't actually preclude you from talking about other clubs on a discussion forum.

But they should have made this call in September. And they certainly shouldn't have extended his deal earlier this year

Apparently they did make the call in September, they just didn't tell the rest of the world. Makes more sense to fire him after trade week rather than before, because that would have just created uncertainty around what happened there (players cracking the shits and asking to leave, for instance).

And yeah clearly they shouldn't have extended his deal. The club is quietly putting most of that blame on Finnis though and he's gone.

Brett Ratten has been ruthlessly sacked as coach twice and been made a scapegoat on both occasions. First at Carlton which was ironically almost exactly 10 years ago and now at St Kilda.

His results at both clubs were average without being spectacular, but there's been many coaches who have performed at the same level or worse yet been allowed far more slack.

Examples such as:

Hardwick in his first seven years.
Buckley between 2014 and 2017.
Dew during his whole coaching tenure to date.
Alan Richardson throughout his entire tenure.
Brad Scott during most of his tenure at North.
Hinkley between 2015 and 2019.

That's just off the top of my head but I'm sure there's more.

In my opinion, Brett Ratten is the unluckiest/most hard done by coach in recent times, especially given the fact he's been unfairly shafted not once, but twice.

Would you agree?
There is only one successful coach in your list of examples. 5 of 6 are not. The question is: why couldn't those clubs identify it wasn't working earlier? Getting rid of Ratten now may accelerate club success. They've shown cajones, they have, the Saints.

But they did extend it. So what do you do when faced with the repercussions of a bad decision? Just roll with it to avoid looking silly?

According to Bassatt and Lethlean, at the time if his extension there were doubts, but they wanted to give Ratts the opportunity to address the concerns and try to right the ship.

That clearly didn't happen. At some stage one must make decisions for the future, not the past. They've owned it.

All these pundits having a go in the media with the should haves and withering put downs make me laugh... most don't know the first thing about the situation at the club and wouldn't even care, just looking for an easy target.

We don't need the approval of some sad sack ex footballer or half baked footy journalist trying to sound relevant.

Saints have to be nuts trying to bring Ross Lyon back. Closest he got to any success was with a game plan that's so outdated it's now the complete opposite of what teams are doing. The game now couldn't be any further from his nature.

No chance he's coming in with some amazing attacking game plan tailored to 2023 that Ratten couldn't pull off. Combine that with him being one huge stubborn bastard that won't change anything when it fails, odds are they end up sacking him within a year or two.
Which teams have an amazing attacking game plan tailored to 2023?
Everyone still bases their game plans on pressure and defence.

Dude you support Essendon, you've had 3 worse decisions in the last month. As to perennially overrating lists; glass houses mate, glass houses.
This thread isn’t about Essendon and it’s on the main board. If you want input from Saints fans only then piss off to your club board.

Maybe worry about your own backyard . In a way it’s a positive we are prepared to make changes when we were not far from the top 8 . It’s only taking Essendon 20 years to realise change was needed
People are entitled to an opinion on the main board. You and a few snowflakes need to go back to the saints board if you’re that sensitive.

But they did extend it. So what do you do when faced with the repercussions of a bad decision? Just roll with it to avoid looking silly?

According to Bassatt and Lethlean, at the time if his extension there were doubts, but they wanted to give Ratts the opportunity to address the concerns and try to right the ship.

That clearly didn't happen. At some stage one must make decisions for the future, not the past. They've owned it.

All these pundits having a go in the media with the should haves and withering put downs make me laugh... most don't know the first thing about the situation at the club and wouldn't even care, just looking for an easy target.

We don't need the approval of some sad sack ex footballer or half baked footy journalist trying to sound relevant.

Media muppets have never run anything bigger than a footy tipping comp so they don’t know much about decision making in the face of uncertainty

Honestly most of us have no idea if Lethers is any good or not but he’s here and we can’t change that so I guess we’re just accepting it
And regardless, I think he’s always been better suited to a job in the front office, so he’s now in the job he’s almost certainly better suited to, and as a bonus he now knows what’s it’s like in the footy department, because he’s now been there and done that.

Having Walsh now running the footy department and hopefully someone with a harder edge than Ratts coaching the team, I’m excited to see if they can do a better job of consistently getting the best out of the team.

A team who moved above Geelong on the ladder when we beat them earlier in the year (the last game they lost).

Ratten To Be Sacked